View Full Version : Tires... Hankook or Maxxis
20-09-2007, 05:10 PM
I'm due for more tires on my truck, 2001 dual cab tray back 4x4 rodeo turbo diesel.
Currently running standard 16x6 rims with 205/75/16 on it, looking to upgrade to some 225/75/16.
Here's the dilemma, I have a choice between Hankook RF09 and Maxxis Bravo 751.
Anyone have first hand experience with either tire or brand??
Pricing is the same, whats the stronger, better value a/t tire out of the 2?
20-09-2007, 05:23 PM
Gday Dave, I can't help you with either brand as I ran Toyo A/T's on my old rodeo. Sorry I can't help you.
Wags
20-09-2007, 05:24 PM
i've had a set a maxxis, they were fantastic. a/t's
a mate had hancooks and got 1/2 the mileage
granted he was hard on them.
20-09-2007, 05:43 PM
Thanks mike,
thanks lippa, was your mate doing a lot of off road driving? or running them at low pressures?
bay_firey
20-09-2007, 05:45 PM
G'day Dave
Got a set of the maxxis on my 99 rodeo, done nearly 40 k on them and there is still plenty of life left in them.
Mainly on road use but are adequate for the limted sand driving that i do.
Great in the wet, not an overly noisy tyre and would consider them again when time for new tyres
Hope this helps
Handyman
20-09-2007, 05:52 PM
I currently run Hankook RT01's. They are just about stuffed now after about 30,000 k's which sounds bad, but not really considering they are muddies and I do carry a lot of weight.
What is bad is that although they wer fine when they were new, they have become considerably worse as they got older for noise and rough ride. Again, they are muddies, but I've had others that grew old a lot more gracefully.
Overall not too bad for they money, but I've got a set of Bridgestone's ordered. I've had them before and I'd rather pay the bit more money.
Can't help you with the Maxiis. Never tried them.
20-09-2007, 05:53 PM
thanks lippa, was your mate doing a lot of off road driving? or running them at low pressures?
nah, just divin his 4b like an ss commodore, hes the only bloke i know that can get a 2.8d hilux to do a line lock!
needless to say, his hilux has gone to heaven!
fishingjew
20-09-2007, 06:29 PM
Had the hancooks on my landcruiser and put new Maxxis Bravo 751.
4 weeks ago got nowhere near the milage on the hancooks not impressed with them.
Russell.
20-09-2007, 07:40 PM
Lippa, thanks again, he's doin pretty well to get a line lock out of a hilux of that aspiration,
Thanks on the mileage feedback mark, and russel
4x4frog
21-09-2007, 09:44 AM
I reckon that you'd be better off to get tYres as the tires would cost heaps coming in from the US, shipping would be a killer;D;D;D;D
Back on track though, I'd go with the Hankook...quieter @ highway speed from what I was told.
Heres a helpful link.....
http://www.tyresave.co.uk/tyresize.html
SeaHunt
21-09-2007, 12:47 PM
i've had a set a maxxis, they were fantastic. a/t's
a mate had hancooks and got 1/2 the mileage
granted he was hard on them.
So how many K's did you get out of them?
I got Kelly Safaris now with 86,000 on them and will be up for a new set probably before XMAS. I am not overly happy with the Kellys , was looking at Maxxis, but I would be looking for at least the same Ks.
BenDover
21-09-2007, 04:00 PM
Have you thought of going bf AT's? In the size you want they should be fine. But in 35" most of them have big buldes in the sidewall. :). It hasnt affected its balancing or k's though...
But im due for some new road tyres soon aswell. Do you know what sidewall each tyre has? out of the hankook or maxxis?
BD
21-09-2007, 04:30 PM
I started with kelly safari on my old truck, then went to BFG A/T, they were great.
Sizing is an issue, price is, but more so availability.
I went to a number of tyre dealers in underwood today,. there's ALOT of choices.... and each one told me a different story regarding height and width legalities, the best most informative were JAX and Good Year.
Most of the others have a she'll be right attitude, kinda makes you wonder how many vehicles out there not running on oem are technically illegal?
21-09-2007, 05:34 PM
Tires......... ? you a yank Dave ?
Tyres... mate..... tyres....... ;D :P 8-)
as for advice, mate sells maxxis, but only the extremem offroad stuff and swears by them, dunno about the 751's, but bloke at work has just put them on his navara and gives them the thumbs up so far. Great in wet.
21-09-2007, 05:39 PM
Thanks Phil,
I know it's tyres... The bloody spell check says it's wrong, so I changed it :P
Been looking at the american sites as well
4x4frog
22-09-2007, 11:05 AM
Thanks Phil,
I know it's tyres... The bloody spell check says it's wrong, so I changed it :P
Been looking at the american sites as well
;D;Dx1000 the ad below this post as I am reading it is for just that, a yank tire site. Laughed so hard it hurts....
FWIW I have Michelin Synchrone 4x4 on my Scenic(don't laugh it not a bad vehicle:P ) and they are good off the beaten track actually. I have done a few dirt track climbs and the tyres were OK, mileage is about 45,000km so far and I think they will go another 30K or so.
BenDover
23-09-2007, 02:28 PM
HA HA, funny story. I noticed today that on my patrol i am running maxxis bravo 751's laugh... They have been on the truck since i bought it so i cant give you any k's. But they have warn uneven. Im not sure if its due to lack of rotation or not though.
BD
Nine Lives
28-09-2007, 07:38 PM
I work for a tyre store that sells Maxxis all day everyday and i have the 751s on my subaru. I love them. Every time someone comes in for rotate bal etc with 751s on im supprised at how well they are wearing.
Cant recomend them enough.
cheers Brian.
28-09-2007, 08:12 PM
Well my wife has been running Hankook on her Pajero and they seem to be doing okay although she is not a high mileage sort of person like I am. As far as being relatively inexpensive and great for wear and tear I go the Kumho tyres every time. 120,000klms on the first set and then when I replaced them I went for the A/T's this time around. Have had them on since the start of the year and have now clocked 30,000klms on them and they are once again wearing very well. Still heaps of tread on them and I am putting them through their paces on these M&G's and on the road averaging 150-180klms a day. They cost me $195.00 each fitted and balanced.
11-11-2007, 05:30 PM
Just an update, ended up with Maxxis 751's. Sizing is 225/75R16. This is the maximum I could go under the current laws,
They're so far performing well, corners a lot sharper now, and a lot quieter on the road.