View Full Version : Off moreton 16/9/07

Zulu_1
17-09-2007, 07:37 PM
Went for a fish off moreton on sunday.First thing we did was go to get some livies,there were heaps around so i thought we were in for a good day.There was me my old man my mate and my cousin. We stopped at the first spot to try to get some snapper. First drop we all pulled up 35 and 40cm fish. We all thought we would get bigger ones so we chucked them back.We were only going to keep fish over the 40cm mark ,so from then on we started to get a few 45cm and the odd 50 and 60cm fish.The biggest fish was an 82cm fish that went 5.5kg. The next best fish was 65cm and went 3kg .All up we got the bag limit and a good day was had by all. The trip home was a long one and very choppy, still got sore neck and back from getting smashed in the boat8-)

Cheers Brett;D

PBass
17-09-2007, 08:58 PM
Well done mate some nice looking fish there!!
PBass

17-09-2007, 09:24 PM
Well done Brett. It's nice to see some good fish still being caught.

Wags

Fish_gutz
18-09-2007, 04:53 PM
top feed of snaps good work, did you give the plastics a go at all?

bluwater66
18-09-2007, 07:25 PM
Great Catch. :D Where do you get the livies ? :P

I have been trying for livies in that 27.03 country SE from the Cape in anywhere between 12 & 30M, using normal bait jigs. I have caught plenty of undersize flathead, whiting, square things that look like butter bream, whiptails, scorpion cod, cardinals and mini emporer things. >:( But I haven't been able to get any slimies or yakkas.:(

Zulu_1
18-09-2007, 08:12 PM
top feed of snaps good work, did you give the plastics a go at all?
No mate didnt try the plastics the livies and pillies were doing the job.:D

Great Catch. :D Where do you get the livies ? :P

I have been trying for livies in that 27.03 country SE from the Cape in anywhere between 12 & 30M, using normal bait jigs. I have caught plenty of undersize flathead, whiting, square things that look like butter bream, whiptails, scorpion cod, cardinals and mini emporer things. >:( But I haven't been able to get any slimies or yakkas.:(
Sorry mate im not to sure its my cousins spot ,but i cant tell you that it was only about 100m off the beach in about 20m of water

Cheers Brett;)

Tassie JR
18-09-2007, 08:44 PM
Nice catch there Zulu_1.

bluewater66 try any of the beakens in the shipping channel, ive heard they have been getting alot of livies there latly.

cheers tassie JR