View Full Version : Hardest fighting estuary fish for there size
jpart10
17-09-2007, 12:49 PM
what do u think the hardest fighting fish is in the estuary pound for pound?
theclick
17-09-2007, 01:02 PM
Only caught 4 out of the 6, but the jack for sure thus far
17-09-2007, 01:05 PM
estuary perch::)
What about Grunter Bream? They fight hard, or do they come under the same heading as Bream?
I haven't caught enough Jack to vote :-(
sunny
17-09-2007, 01:59 PM
Not on your list, but pound for pound, whiting gets my vote. A 3Kg whiting would be on the awesome list.
Rodman
17-09-2007, 02:06 PM
I believe that an estuary cod is the hardest fighting fish.
There is a cod in Carlo creek that is a brute.
Rdman
loophole
17-09-2007, 02:13 PM
what about a trevally a 2 kg trev would fight more than a 2kg jack same said for baby trevs they fight harder than baby jacks.
jpart10
17-09-2007, 02:21 PM
i only want to no what u think the hardest fighting fish is out of what is on the list.
But i really want to know does every body agree that Mangrove Jack are the hardest fighting fish pound for pound?
loophole
17-09-2007, 02:29 PM
i only want to no what u think the hardest fighting fish is out of what is on the list.
But i really want to know does every body agree that Mangrove Jack are the hardest fighting fish pound for pound?
oh ok well i voted flathead:P :o hey you not posting while at school are you;D
jpart10
17-09-2007, 03:05 PM
ha ha yeah i was at school about ten mins ago good observation. I have changed my mind to bass there just such a good sport fish.
jpart10
17-09-2007, 03:08 PM
i am joking mangrove jack fight harder than bass any day are we all agreed
loophole
17-09-2007, 03:14 PM
ha ha yeah i was at school about ten mins ago good observation. I have changed my mind to bass there just such a good sport fish.
good on ya i used to be able to do that untill the techies banned the website on the schools server.>:( anyway i spoused to be there today but get rdo because of footy finals yesterday today mad monday celebrations lol;D 8-)
jpart10
17-09-2007, 03:17 PM
no i am not at school lol but i can access ausfish from my skool computer any way.
loophole
17-09-2007, 03:20 PM
no i am not at school lol but i can access ausfish from my skool computer any way.
your allso not onlline wtf.. how do you post if your not online?
hey u fishin flatty clasic ?
17-09-2007, 03:23 PM
I haven't caught a Threadfin but from the list the jack has my vote.
Cheers Chris
jpart10
17-09-2007, 03:35 PM
yer mate i am fishing the classic how about urself
fish05
17-09-2007, 03:40 PM
TEAM JBC FOR THE CLASSIC 07! sorry i have only cuaght big threadies so i would have to say threadies
loophole
17-09-2007, 03:44 PM
yer mate i am fishing the classic how about urself
no unfortunly:( mayb nxt year
Didley
17-09-2007, 04:17 PM
Pound for pound, a 500g bream up against 500g jack, the jack would hit harder no doubt but after that even, close to the boat the bream. That’s my 2 bobs worth anyway.
fish05
17-09-2007, 05:13 PM
Pound for pound, a 500g bream up against 500g jack, the jack would hit harder no doubt but after that even, close to the boat the bream. That’s my 2 bobs worth anyway.
Im with you on that. Won't a jack not put up such a great fight any way because in most cases the drag will be locked on the reel, so all it is, is just a matter of steering it out of the snag any way not to shore open to critisim
I'll go with that assumption and add that I reckon a 500gm bass will pull the bream backwards and still hit every bit as hard as a jack. I've only caught 2 jacks and so far Id say they are a good fighter but not quite the top of the class. they do get the gong for being the dirtiest fighter tho'. The last one I got i called for a bream:o and it was on a 1-3kg stick with 6lb main and 10lb leader. goes to show, even a dirty fighter can have a bad day;)
marty+jojo
17-09-2007, 05:33 PM
I reckon it depends on how healthy/fit the particular fish is i have caught some good bream that have pulled exeptionally hard, same goes for bass i reckon in fish up to 1kg bass and jacks are on par over a kilo i would say jacks, as for threadfin i have not caught one, flathead they go ok but it is a different kind of fight, but i still enjoy catching them.
Marty.
17-09-2007, 05:47 PM
In the selection list it is the Jack for my money, however I think Mr Jack would be hard pressed to match Mrs. Bonefish or the little fella Giant Herring. Totally different fight but pound for pound i think they might be dragging Mr. Jack backwards.
Mangrove Jack for me ..... I would not even try using my bream gear if I knew a 1 kg Jack was on the cards:P ..... But in reality their environment has a lot to do with it ... + they strike on the way back to their snag:o ..... Nagg
cdg81
17-09-2007, 06:49 PM
i love to catch jacks dont get me wrong, but i think the size bream would pull a mj out of its skin, just imagine hooking a 2 kilo bream around bridge pylons. it would dust you over that quick, your knees wouldn't have time to tremble, bream for me.;D
manchild
17-09-2007, 06:54 PM
Whiting without a doubt,but its not on your list unfortunately.
George
vertico
17-09-2007, 07:01 PM
where is tarpon ?
loophole
17-09-2007, 07:13 PM
where is tarpon ?
where do you catch tarpon?
gaintsquid
17-09-2007, 07:37 PM
id say giant herring.
imnotoriginal
17-09-2007, 08:24 PM
I haven't caught a jack yet, but pound for pound out of the fish I've caught in estuaries I'd put GTs and whiting ahead of any others in the list.
Joel
jpart10
17-09-2007, 08:37 PM
Whiting are good fun to catch but they are not fantastic fighters i dont understand how u think they are.
geoff72
17-09-2007, 09:09 PM
From the list I would have to say a Bass,i havent caught many big ones,my biggest going 39cm,they hit bloody hard and go hard till they are in the net,have had alot harder fights with them than my biggest jack of 43cm.
But a couple that arent on the list that would be my hardest would be trev and definatley,giant herring and tarpon for sure.
Fisher4life
17-09-2007, 09:15 PM
trevally would be up there, but the jacks are alot dirtier fighters....
They get my vote... Only landed 2 legal's, but lost count on how many have buried me in the snags or rocks
imnotoriginal
17-09-2007, 09:42 PM
Jpart10- You have to remember that by weight they're much smaller than most other bread and butter species. If you actually caught a whiting of a similar weight to a 30cm bream, I think you'd find it quite a fight. Just look at the body shape, same sort of shape as a bonefish, and look how much fellas pay to target them in the Florida Keys.
Joel
childers
17-09-2007, 10:21 PM
50 cm + jacks have some go in them ,found bream to be weak fighters and only get them as by -catch, bass are ok ,flathead hopeless got em up to 77 cm ,not caught other 2 ,thats my opinion .
Chas & Clarry
17-09-2007, 10:39 PM
I know its not an estuary fish, but Clarry caught a little cobia in the Noosa River once....wow did that thing go off on the bream gear, beating anything else we've ever caught in an estuary!! (not meaning to hijack the thread)...We'd vote for Trevs as a more "standard" estuary species.
jackextracter
17-09-2007, 10:51 PM
when a jack is around the 40- 45cm mark they fight ok but once they reach the 50cm plus mark they pull so much harder for that size then the 40-45cm fish.
jpart10
18-09-2007, 06:33 AM
Jpart10- You have to remember that by weight they're much smaller than most other bread and butter species. If you actually caught a whiting of a similar weight to a 30cm bream, I think you'd find it quite a fight. Just look at the body shape, same sort of shape as a bonefish, and look how much fellas pay to target them in the Florida Keys.
Joel
I suppose yor right but still If it was a 1kg whiting and a 1kg Jack i think a jack would be harder to get to the boat.
Synful
18-09-2007, 06:46 AM
I voted for a Jack but I agree with another poster that the Trevally should be in there; some of these fish will pull your arms every bit as much as a Jack.
That being said, looking forward to seriously targeting some red fish this year 8-)
zedjack33
18-09-2007, 07:43 AM
Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, Jack, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Did I happen to mention Jack??????
shin25
18-09-2007, 11:56 AM
Not on your list, but pound for pound, whiting gets my vote. A 3Kg whiting would be on the awesome list.
have to agree with that
but from the list jacks get my vote but fish under 50 seem to give up a bit easy
and ive never got a threadie and would imagine theyd go hard
plus theres the trevs,giant herring,tarpon and bass would go into my top 5
richieboy
18-09-2007, 12:19 PM
Estuary fighters, have to be a Jack. Sorry boys, just keeping it real.
Richie
justangler
18-09-2007, 12:56 PM
i would definatly go with the jack even though i havent cought a basss
geoff72
18-09-2007, 01:05 PM
one that also hasnt been mentioned is a good size cattie,they go hard to.
breamnut
18-09-2007, 01:23 PM
i voted for jack but a giant herring would be the fastest,hardest running fish by far!
breamnut
18-09-2007, 01:29 PM
i also thing it is were the fish is caught.
i have pulled jack from under pontoons and they still fight good but the dont fight nearly as hard as a jack from say a oyster encrusted tree or rockwall.
has to be a certain type of rock wall too.
same goes for bream. a bream from a pontoon doesnt go as hard as bream from the racks.
tarpon and trevally fight good but not as hard as the giant herring
In order
GH
Tarpon
MJ
Trev
the rest.......
poundalead
18-09-2007, 04:48 PM
Threadies fight differently than a Jack. A Jack is won or lost in the first 5-10 seconds. Generally the fight with a Threadie is more drawn-out. From the ones that I have captured a Threadie will take a heap of line then try and head for the closest structure throughout the fight. If you can keep them in open water you should win the battle. Both an exhillarating fish to catch Threadie by a nose for me.
yellahunter
18-09-2007, 07:08 PM
trevs hands down for me
Tropicaltrout
18-09-2007, 08:12 PM
J.a.c.k. For sure, but hey imagine the Black bass that would have to be the hardest by far just not in Australia.
shorty 01
18-09-2007, 09:07 PM
i voted flathead thay put up a good fight but i havent hooked a jack yet
jackextracter
18-09-2007, 10:20 PM
IT depends what size jack you catch one over 50cm pull alot more harder then the 45cm fish other then that i would say.
M JACK
giant herring
trev
tarpon
bream
flathead
fish05
19-09-2007, 06:38 AM
have to agree with that
but from the list jacks get my vote but fish under 50 seem to give up a bit easy
and ive never got a threadie and would imagine theyd go hard
plus theres the trevs,giant herring,tarpon and bass would go into my top 5
Mate threadies go just as hard as jack when there big that is it seems like every different thready that i catch that is around 50cm fights differently the the one i got before it.
fish05
19-09-2007, 06:42 AM
Threadies fight differently than a Jack. A Jack is won or lost in the first 5-10 seconds. Generally the fight with a Threadie is more drawn-out. From the ones that I have captured a Threadie will take a heap of line then try and head for the closest structure throughout the fight. If you can keep them in open water you should win the battle. Both an exhillarating fish to catch Threadie by a nose for me.
I totally agree plus mine jumped in the middle of the river which is exilerating
Leeann
19-09-2007, 09:25 AM
definitely Whiting but not on the list :)
Eagle
19-09-2007, 10:09 PM
A good whiting like around 1 1/2 kg on a 1kg line is hard to beat but it can be done. Try catching a 1 1/2kg Tripple Tail on on 2kg line. These things fight with amazing strength and speed. I reckon an Oxe-eye herring on light line is also about equal to a good barra. For me, I go the Tripple Tails.
Eagle
jpart10
19-09-2007, 11:26 PM
what the #### is a triple tail?
Synful
20-09-2007, 06:27 AM
what the #### is a triple tail?
Hi jpart; have a look at http://www.sunfish.com.au/html/triple_tail.html for details.
Never caught one myself but they are renowned for their fight.
the gecko
20-09-2007, 02:20 PM
Jack
(big gap)
GT
Tarpon
daylight
the rest
ps- I agree with the thoughts on whiting pound for pound.
pps- If Id caught a jew, they might be in the top 3???
Eagle
20-09-2007, 09:11 PM
The info posted by Synful showing the Triple Tail is the exact fish I have been catching in Waterpark Ck/Corio Bay just north of Yeppoon. I cant understand why they are called "Jumping Cod" 'cos they look nothing like a cod. They are listed by the AGFA as a true game fish because of their fighting abilities. If they had been on the original list of fish at the begining of the thread, they would have been the first choice of most of you fellas. Then again, how many of you fellas have caught a Triple Tail. No-one? Oh, what a pity. Do they make a Jack look like sick mullet? Well you have to catch one to find out.;D ;D ;D
Eagle
sandbankmagnet
20-09-2007, 09:25 PM
squire that you catch in the estuary go hard. You think you've got something decent until a 34cm squire pops it's head up.
childers
20-09-2007, 09:48 PM
triple tail i never heard of them ,are they maybe not so common in the bottom corner of qld, seen a few sick mullet about though !
jackextracter
20-09-2007, 10:14 PM
I caught a triple tail up north they do fight hard for there size.
basskid
21-09-2007, 09:00 AM
i reckon whiting for sure then threadfin then jacka then bream , i do alot of lurer targeting fo bream but whiting put up a very good fight
Little grey men
21-09-2007, 12:40 PM
One of my fish books has a triple tail in it. It states that they can be caught around the Brisbane area, but I've never heard of one being taken. They sure are a solid unit, and they apperar to grow to some pretty good size as well. Looks a little like a Tilapia on steroids.:-/
I don't know.....one thing I do know is that at one stage or another Andrew 'ET' Ettingshausen would have called each and every one of these fish,
"pound for pound, one of the hardest fighting fish!!"
I don't know about you blokes but Flathead?????? if you troll for flatties you have a tough time deciding weather you have a fish or weed!!!!
Jacks of the mangrove variety for me.
I would have to say the mighty Australian salmon would definitly be up there as well, they are found in the estuaries down south, although more a pelagic than an estuary fish. And then for that matter Yellowtail Kingfish, they are prolific in the harbour, and they fight dirty and long.
youngy
22-09-2007, 10:14 PM
HARDEST FIGHTING FISH IN ESTUARY
I am with Sunny pound for pound whiting fight harder and longer.
If they grew to the same size as a flathead you would not get them out off the water.
YOUNGY
loophole
22-09-2007, 11:26 PM
true wayne gotta be whiting for me
Livey
26-09-2007, 03:56 PM
pound for pound you cant beat whiting
breamnut
26-09-2007, 04:14 PM
i still rekon giants fight the best by far! whiting do fight well though.
still depending on what enviroment you catch the fish.
my mate caught a 40cm jack over a weedbed last year and it didnt even pull line.
a whiting on 2lb is awsome fun but a jack the same size or herring would bust you off.
breamnut
26-09-2007, 04:15 PM
i got a new fish for the list.
how about a big mullet! have many people ever caught a 2-3kilo mullet? they pull some bloody line!
fish_on
26-09-2007, 04:30 PM
35cm whiting on 4lb mono is fun but gotta go the jack. they destroy you before you even know it
kingtin
26-09-2007, 05:56 PM
Not on the list and they aren't so prolific down here so not many can judge, but I know for sure that if you got a giant herring on your bream gear (even a small one) you'd put 'em at the top of your list. Only ever caught two but they tail walked, leaped like a marlin, somersaulted, and were still thrashing around in the boat. They pickle nicely too :-)
fishin_till_late
27-09-2007, 10:05 AM
yer I'll agree with kev with the Giant Herring
the other weekend my oldman caught one
I couldn't believe it when I saw it jumping and thrashing around
Still I havn't landed a jack yet...hopefully this summer that will change
reidy
28-09-2007, 01:56 PM
must be fun up north.Down here in cold old Tassie i would say 3-4 kg blue wahoe (snotties).Fight hard all the way.
Cheers all
Reidy
logan_whiting
01-10-2007, 07:41 PM
i reakon for there size whiting are the best fighters
bigbass
06-10-2007, 08:54 PM
Without a doubt Big Bass. Niganis Goldiei....Rivers up here are full of em...
Just need to find the best way of getting em into my boat. 80lb Braid and a whole lot of courage.
09-10-2007, 06:34 PM
Tripple tail are a fairly common catch for ppl in the know in Moreton bay. You just need to pay particular attention to what is around in what locations and you will fond them easily.
B_E_N
12-10-2007, 12:51 PM
yeh ive heard of a few people getting triple tail at shorncliffe, would love to catch one myself.
have not caught a jack yet but would think a 1kg whitting would be pretty close to a 1kg bream, just have a look how hard bones fight on the flats
Kurichan
13-10-2007, 01:32 PM
'Pound for pound' is a great idea, but there's just no way to realistically measure that.
As someone said above, a 3kg whiting would be awesome ! Jacks, while hard, are mainly hard cause they're dirty (or from their perspective, smart...)
fish-n-dive
13-10-2007, 06:42 PM
Based on the poll options given to choose from, the Jack is the clear winner however, some of the suggested species given by members in this thread rate merit as well.......................8-)
Gold_Coast_Chaser
28-04-2008, 02:34 PM
Hey,
Ive never caught a Jack :( , so on this list i chose flathead, ive caught about 5 trevallys and every single one fought really well so if that was added to the list it would definetly be my choice. I donno what my whiting do differently to everyone elses?? most of mine swim straight at me then put in a fight as it gets close to the boat, i suppose pound for pound comes into but I dont think a whiting fight really compares to things like Jacks and Trevs.
The thing is, I dont really care how hard they fight , i have as much fun when im catching whiting and bream in the river as in comparison to catching mackeral and Marlin in the Open Ocean, thats the beauty of fishin i guess.
Orrsum
29-04-2008, 01:25 PM
i reckon whiting, those little buggars sure pull hard for their size.
BARRAkid
29-04-2008, 07:47 PM
Triple tail can be caught in hervey bay :)
But what about barra ::) every one have there thoughts about stocked barra but what about a big salty in some mangroves or sticks
Then i would think thready and jacks very close but very different fight one runs like all hell all over the place and one runs very hard back to the snags or rock bars. 8-)
my vote goes to barra but on the list jack and thready a tie ;)
Mangfish
01-05-2008, 11:09 AM
my vote goes to a diferent fish, one fish we call the "happy moment" a 500gr happy moment fights a hell of a lot more than a 500gr bream. also i once picked up a 6kg tripletail on the reef off mooloolaba , i picked it for a 10+ kg cod, fought real well.
barkers creek
01-05-2008, 06:28 PM
this is a frustrating topic
jack is smashing in the votes but i would luv to know how many people have accaully cought 1
a 2kg jack and a 2kg cod are pretty much the same iv cought up to 6kg jack and 10kg cod and mate...not much different same as salmon ....it would be intriguing to see how many people have cought a salmon. to me a salty catfish with out lie in centrel qld fights harder then a jack and that a salty blue catfish not a freshwater blue catfish that is like pulling up a wet paper bag.
if anyone would like to debate this topic further plz pm me
Jeremy87
03-05-2008, 01:51 PM
'Pound for pound' is a great idea, but there's just no way to realistically measure that.
So true.
The pound for pound notion to me is just a way of saying the fish was small but here's some points for trying. I'm more interested in outright pounds, that is why even though there are very few fish i won't target i'll choose a chance of a solid jack over a guarenteed 20 bream, or while i could be sitting up on the banks in the bay catching a feed of whiting i'm fart ass!ng around trying to get a longtail to cooperate.
MeePee_99
05-06-2008, 06:02 PM
Trevally for sure, although a jack isnt far behind!!!
snatch
05-06-2008, 07:26 PM
The poll isn't covered enough. I voted the jack but fingermark are along side. Those two fish are afterall related to New Guinea bass .
Also we are talking pound for pound of course.
kingyfisher
06-06-2008, 12:51 PM
In Sydney there is only one,and it's not on the list,it grows to 70cm @ 5kg,has a leatherlike skin surfaced with sandpaper :'( and coated in poison slime:o (like a Happy Moment).Numerous sharp spines,a deep musculer body,a small jaw jammed full of sharp teeth;D (think of the monster from Alien) that can & does bite through quality 25lb mono and Razor sharp scutes on it's tail also capable of cutting straight through heavy mono:o
I know many fisho's who have accidentally hooked this fish,and ended with lost tackle ,rods, reels,etc,and line cut fingers from using braid.They mostly have NO idea what it is they have hooked as these fish are just about never caught over 50cm in size. I have been lucky enough to land a few to 55cm on Yellowtail Kingfish tackle and they would pull a king backwards ,through a carwash, over a short distance.They are dirtier fighters than even kings,and head staight for structure with unbelievable force (seen rods snapped in two)when hooked.Their name ? Commonly called Sawtail Surgeonfish after the 'scalples' on thier tails......:evil:
kingyfisher
06-06-2008, 12:58 PM
Oh and I left out the two good things..... They taste like heaven,beautiful white delicate delicious fillets(the pro's don't target them cause they ruin nets and can't be handled !) and they are numerous and you only need bread for bait !:D :D :D
mullet66
06-06-2008, 06:54 PM
Big Grunter will tow the same size Jack backwards after the jacks first big run.
caught some in the Burrum up to 65cm on 4kg and they were really strong fish.
adds31
08-06-2008, 11:04 AM
Bone fish for me. They go pretty hard and go a lot harder than fish mentioned for poll.
Adds..