View Full Version : Another Boaties Market at Victoria Point
17-09-2007, 07:52 AM
Gidday all,
I've just been informed by Marlin Mike that he saw a sign about another boaties market at Victoria Point on Sunday 21st October.
Can someone confirm the rumor ???
I hope it's right and I'm sure it right as MM saw the sign.
I need some more junk and the sausages are just yummm. ;D
Cheers Scott :)
rayken1938
17-09-2007, 08:02 AM
Yes you are correct signs have been up for a while locally. Full details are on viccy points vmr website.
Ray
17-09-2007, 08:07 AM
heres the link finga
http://www.vmr.org.au/upcomingevents.html
4x4frog
17-09-2007, 08:45 AM
Right this one's in reminders on the calender in Outlook so i will get hassled by SWMBO about it when the reminder comes up. I can hear it now, what's this about a boat sale??;D
Blaster Bretty
18-09-2007, 06:30 PM
Im chasing my first boat...(a tinnie) and im gonna check this vicky point thing out..
Thanks Finga for the thread on this as the "trading post" dosnt quite have the things im after! (well it does but I like to have a good look around before dispersing with 1 or 2 grand!!!)
Bretty
18-09-2007, 06:50 PM
At the last one Blaster Betty, there were quite a few boats for sale so you might be lucky this time
I am noit a boat salesman, but have you seen this one in for sale section? looks a bloody bargain to me
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=116566
subzero
26-09-2007, 08:36 PM
Thanks for posting and supporting this guys and girls.
I should have done it a while back and the one place I visit on the web 3-4 times daily I forgot to do it. Going senile I think ::) :-[
Anyway, if anyone has any further questions they can contact Ted Scovell on 3207 8116 or visit the unit web site as posted above by Marlin_Mike.
The basics are
SUNDAY 21 OCT 07
5.00 AM to 12 NOON
VICTORIA POINT STATE PRIMARY SCHOOL Cnr School Rd and Colburn Ave
STALL HOLDERS FEE $10.00
PUBLIC ENTRY IS BY DONATION
BUY- SWAP - SELL
DRINKS & HOT FOOD AVAILABLE
Cheers Lloyd
26-09-2007, 09:01 PM
some more advanced notice of the next one would be good.
Has a date been set for the next one?
subzero
26-09-2007, 09:25 PM
Gidday oldboot, no we don't have a date at this time.
Because it is held in the School grounds we are a little bit at the mercy of the school approving a date for us. I suppose their agenda for sporting events, fetes etc held at the school has to be settled first which is understandable.
Sometimes we find out on time to let people know on the day of the market, when the next one will be but this is not always the case.
The next one should be around the April mark but thats as far as I can tell you at this stage.
As soon as I hear a date, I post it on our own website but don't tend to promote it anywhere else until about a month or two out as otherwise they drift to the back of the pages and to ask mods etc to make a post sticky for 2-3 months is not probably the right thing to do. On some of the sites an event is automatically deleted after 1 month. (Event calendars, not chat rooms).
Sorry I couldn't be a little more helpful, the only thing I can suggest is you check out http://www.vmr.org.au/upcomingevents.html every so often
Kind Regards
Lloyd
28-09-2007, 05:58 AM
Lloyd said
"BUY - SWAP - SELL"
Not much point in Finga going then.
I mean, you couldn't SELL him because no one would BUY him, and what could you SWAP him for?
30-09-2007, 05:33 PM
thanks lloyd.... undestandable..... but any idea of time scale..... a month, 2 months, next september?
subzero
02-10-2007, 12:39 PM
Their are 2 markets held each year approx 6 months apart.
Normally October and April.
Unfortunately over the last 14 (I think) markets we have held, they may clash with a long weekend. We try to avoid it but if that is the only date the school can give us then we take it and still go ahead with it. I think it has happened only once so far.
Cheers Lloyd
subzero
21-10-2007, 08:19 AM
Gidday oldboot, the confirmed date for the next Boaties Market will be Sunday 9th March 2008.
The Easter break Good Friday falls on the 21st March if you or others are planing on going away over Easter so it doesn't clash.
Any inquiries phone 32078116
Cheers Lloyd
4x4frog
21-10-2007, 09:40 AM
:'( reminder came up...I have got a pearler of a cold at the moment, didn't even want to get out of bed today. Ah well, aiming for the March market now.
Hope all had a great day and bought heaps of other peoples cr*p;D or had a successful selling day.
I hope the VMR have a great day from it too.
21-10-2007, 01:09 PM
I hit the market as early as I could with Brooke in tow.
Met up with ED,and Ian and then found lots of AF members.
Shane Boese, Jeremy, thedeckie, blaze, aigutso, rakinray, colacgirl and ross, ron molle, Nugget, saw MY-TopEnder in the distance, but lost him on the round about, TOL was there, but missed wags and a couple of others.
I found my bargain and made tracks. It was certainly bigger than last years effort.
You should be happy with the result Lloyd !
21-10-2007, 02:15 PM
Yep, goodo on the VMR for organising :)
Unlike Phil my brother and I got there late but still reasonably early...5.05am
I stocked up on crap just to keep the junk levels in the dungeon up to their normal levels.
I didn't get as much crap this time though...only 2 trips needed to put all the stuff in Wally the wonder wagon.
A few bargains had and better to see a few I knew.
Funny thing though...when I got home the cook asked me what boat did I buy??? I take that as I've been the green light to buy another one :D
PS the sausage sambo's were up to the normal standard....yummo ;D
21-10-2007, 04:36 PM
Yeah Scott, you were there a lot earlier than me, because I had to pick up 2 blokes at gentlemans hours. About 0800 we got there.
Anyway, no worries, I got a Shimano Aernos 6000 and an Abu Gracia 7'6" 3-5 kg rod for a good price. There was also a bloody good Daiwa Turbo rod or somesort that I should have got for $25 but got scared off simply by its thinness at the top end and I got to thinking "this rod is too good for you, you old turd".
Pretty good all round I thought.
Ran into the miscreant, Paul the Deckie, and then quickly found that other miscreants were there as well. However all was well, as I was introduced to Bev (Colac Girl) and let me tell you people, that lady is something special! Boy, is her hubby one lucky man! Wow!
i had a good day, met some really nice people as well. didn't sell a lot, (no taste some people ;D )pity the sausages ran out around nine..was pretty hungry by then..:'(
MY-TopEnder
21-10-2007, 06:13 PM
Great day out... i got there about 7ish and by 8:30 everything was sold pretty much... got rid of most of the offshore gear i bought for Agnes that i won't use again so was happy there.
Met up with Aigutso and saw Ray walking around. Also saw nugget walk past... i was keeping my eye out for the rif raf (Phill, Paul & Blaze) but missed them. I think i was out of there by 9:30... i'd seen everything i could, and sold out of stuff... i even ended up selling some of my rarely used plastics too.
Of course it was straight to BCF to buy different ones though... and a new Loomis rod... anyone want a 1-3kg Shimano T Curve? $180...
ColacGirl
21-10-2007, 07:57 PM
Ran into the miscreant, Paul the Deckie, and then quickly found that other miscreants were there as well. However all was well, as I was introduced to Bev (ColacGirl) and let me tell you people, that lady is something special! Boy, is her hubby one lucky man! Wow!
<blushes>
Sheesh, what a charmer you are TOL ;)
It was great to meet you, other ausfishers and the stall holders we chatted to :)
We were late, arrived about 8'ish, but that didn't stop Ross from finding enough bargains to empty my wallet ::)
A huge tension wrench (wonders what we're fixing next)
50m of rope (wonders how much rope we need to own)
A funny looking handle thingy that had a few ausfishers wondering what he'd bought.....
Here's the funny looking handle thingy -
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f223/BevB2u/Play-Pen/magmahandle.jpg
and this is what it's for -
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f223/BevB2u/Play-Pen/magma.jpg
Top morning thanks Vic Point VMR.... we'll be back in March.
--
Bev
subzero
22-10-2007, 06:02 AM
Hi all, thanks to all the Ausfishers who support us by coming along and to those that cant by getting the word out there to the other Boaties.
Both Markets held this year were the largest to date.
Apart from the one held at the same time as this last year, it has grown just that little bit larger every time.
In no small part thats thanks to the people from this site and particularly Nugget pushing it along on 4BC etc.
Originally when we started this it was to make money.... at the time it was in my opinion just another pain in the ar@e fund raising event to put fuel in the boats. Now it has become so popular and with such positive feedback from those attending that the members of the unit and myself actually look forward to this event. It has just as importantly become a good pr event and a nice day out meeting good people. I was there at 7am as well, had a quick look around and saw that things were going well and that everyone was smiling and everyone appeared pretty happy.
I am pleased from the reports on here that everyone was pretty satisfied with their sales and purchases. I look forward to the day that it becomes such a large event that the school grounds are not big enough and it has to be moved to accommodate the growth. I reckon that could possibly happen within the next 5 years?
Sorry that some of you went hungry when the snags ran out, the school P&C run the BBQ and this helps them with their fund raising so we don't have any input in to this side of things. We help the school by giving 10% of all the funds that we make for giving us the valuable use of their grounds.
Anyway, work awaits, thanks to you all for supporting another successful Boaties Market and I look forward to catching up with many of yous on the 9th March 2008.
Yours Sincerely
Lloyd
22-10-2007, 06:16 AM
i had a good day, met some really nice people as well. didn't sell a lot, (no taste some people ;D )pity the sausages ran out around nine..was pretty hungry by then..:'(
Yes your right mate....no taste at all.
And I'm really sorry about the snags.
I only had 3 or 4. ::)
Next time I'll know to bring a couple over to you for breaky ;D
22-10-2007, 06:18 AM
and this is what it's for -
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f223/BevB2u/Play-Pen/magma.jpg
Top morning thanks Vic Point VMR.... we'll be back in March.
--
Bev
I saw that and thought it would be a tad big for the tinny...but wouldn't it be good cooking my own bacon and eggs in the morning for breaky or fresh fish (or prawn curry made out of the bait if no fish) for lunch....mmmmmm.... ;D
I also saw that tension wrench and thought ....bloody hell I'd need a yard crane to lift the bugger
ColacGirl
22-10-2007, 11:27 AM
I saw that and thought it would be a tad big for the tinny...but wouldn't it be good cooking my own bacon and eggs in the morning for breaky or fresh fish (or prawn curry made out of the bait if no fish) for lunch....mmmmmm.... ;D
There's nothing like being able to boil the kettle, or cook a feed while you're in the boat.
We only needed the handle thingy, as we already had the stove. Haven't used it yet, so hoping it works as good as it looks. If not we will revert to the portable butane cartridge stove.... cheap as chips and a wonderful invention :)
--
Bev