View Full Version : Backhanded casting with baitcaster - how?

Sea-Dog
13-09-2007, 07:30 PM
I have been practicing with my baitcaster in the front yard and am fairly happy with my efforts.

One cast has me beat though! Almost every time I try backhanded (as in tennis - right arm across body, rod held to left of body) I can't seem to get any decent distance or accuracy.

I always seem to "hook" the cast (goes way to the right of where I'm aiming) and quite often get a mild birdnest - easily pulled out though.

What is the secret to backhanded baitcasting?

- Sea-Dog

Steve B
13-09-2007, 08:39 PM
I double hand cast both over head and back hand. I find it easier and more accurate. You dont even have to swing you arms just flick your wrists and let the rod do the work.

Just dont grunt like the women tennis players do!!! I scares your deckie;D ;D

cdg81
13-09-2007, 08:52 PM
is it accruate cos it hits the water steveo

Steve B
13-09-2007, 08:56 PM
Gippsy, if it doesnt hit a tree and it makes a splash....thats accurate enough for me!! ;D ;D
stevo

cdg81
13-09-2007, 09:05 PM
your a friggan unit.

Fafnir
13-09-2007, 09:20 PM
What is the secret to backhanded baitcasting?

Try it with a bit of an upward flick, so rather than completely horizontal, drop the tip downwards on the back-swing and bring it forward in an arch so the rod tip is traveling along more of a straight line towards the target. The upward motion will help with distance and accuracy, and should also eliminate those little over-runs, which can get bigger if casting into the wind, or as you try for a bit more distance out on the water. As you get better at it, you can try to get closer to being horizontal to the ground. But to start with it should almost be like an upwards backhand flip than a true backhand tennis shot type of action. This works for me anyway.

13-09-2007, 11:03 PM
I think it's a wrist thingy as well.

Might also pay to test out ....if possible, different tapers. You may find a fast tapering rod suits your style over one with a medium or slow taper.

I also find a backhanded cast difficult. Plenty of practice!!!!

good luck.

aussiebasser
14-09-2007, 07:16 AM
The closer to vertical you can keep the rod, the more accurate your cast will be. For back hand, keep your elbow up and the rod tip as close to the ground as possible.

Fafnir
14-09-2007, 10:49 AM
Couple of other things to try as well. Firstly, heavier weights are easier to learn with, as the keep better tension on the line as it leaves the spool. You can then gradually decrease weight as you become more proficient.

Secondly, back your casting control and braking system off a bit. Don't worry about adjusting the casting control to suit the weight of the lure. A better way to set it is to make sure you have some side play in the spool, not that it should be sloppy, but you should be able to slide it a couple of mm from side to side. Because you are unlikely to be applying as much force in the cast as you would when casting in a more conventional manner, backing of the braking system can help get the spool spinning more easily. Less resistance = increased distance. Just watch for over runs.

wamjam
14-09-2007, 08:28 PM
Gday Sea Dog
Mate I just turn my body 90 deg and cast through in front of myself and your arm will end up pointing straight to your right and sort of upside downish:-/ . If that makes any sense?. Good luck
wamjam

Sea-Dog
15-09-2007, 09:03 AM
Thanks for all the tips.

This arvo I will combine all of the above tips in the method described below:

I will find a fast tapering rod, use heavier weights to learn with, back my casting control and braking system off, use a double hand cast with a bit of an upward flick, bring it forward in an arch, keep my elbow up and the rod tip close to the ground, turn my body 90 deg and cast through in front of myself.

If I don't manage to kill myself, I will turn out to be the world's best backhanded caster. ;D;D;D

Millby
15-09-2007, 04:28 PM
just change sides on the boat and cast normal!