View Full Version : pretty jig heads
06-09-2007, 07:50 PM
Gidday peoples,
I actually brought some plastics (nuke chooks) and jigheads the other day and looked at the jigheads and thought to myself...."self, how come these suckers aren't shiney pretty colours like lures and the infamous Lucky Phil's spinners??"
Is there any reason why these suckers can't be or are not tarted up like a Lucky Phil??
I just got some nice gold holographic gold flakes that sparkle and twinkle like nothing else when they're in the sun that I could put in some lacquer or resin and coat the jighead.
Cheers then
Scott :)
breamnut
06-09-2007, 08:05 PM
Gidday peoples,
I actually brought some plastics (nuke chooks) and jigheads the other day and looked at the jigheads and thought to myself...."self, how come these suckers aren't shiney pretty colours like lures and the infamous Lucky Phil's spinners??"
Is there any reason why these suckers can't be or are not tarted up like a Lucky Phil??
I just got some nice gold holographic gold flakes that sparkle and twinkle like nothing else when they're in the sun that I could put in some lacquer or resin and coat the jighead.
Cheers then
Scott :)
you can get paint for jigheads but i prefere just the normal nitro or tt,s.
06-09-2007, 08:35 PM
No reason not to tart them up a bit. There are some powder coating paints designed to heat the jig head up before putting in the powder then heating a bit more to smooth it all out
06-09-2007, 09:19 PM
How would some glow in the dark powder go too??
06-09-2007, 09:56 PM
mmmm I like the idea Scott. A lumo jighead for my 7" Gulp dropped down to the Reds at 1770. bring it on son, bring it on
jackextracter
06-09-2007, 10:03 PM
I know a few guys that paint them there selfs but i dont really see the point.
07-09-2007, 05:34 AM
Did you buy em scotty cause they is souths colours??????????????????
07-09-2007, 07:12 AM
Adding paint onto a jighead is not only a good idea but a safe one. All too often there are concerns about handling lead and we do it all the time. Paint will cover the lead and make them safer in my opinion. I toyed with it a while ago and used nail polish because it is reasonably durable and the colours were bright and glittery. It worked.
07-09-2007, 07:18 AM
Did you buy em scotty cause they is souths colours??????????????????
Nope but they can be altered ::)
The sparkles come out red and green and some other stupid colours like gold (or calf poo yellow) and brown and the like ;)
I'm toying with what horse said about the powder coating colours.
I might have to get some to experiment some more ;D
I reckon I could make the necessary apparatii to be able to do this
Red60
07-09-2007, 08:02 AM
I buy Nitro's and powder paint them. Most successfull colors I have found are pink, black and chartruse. There is always debate whether it makes a difference or not. It is a little hard to find powder paint in most tackle stores. I found a product by TieWell. Most stores that stock flyfishing gear will either have TieWell products or can order it for you. Costs about $10 for a 35mm film sized cannister. All you need to do is heat up the jig head over a flame such as a candle or little lpg/butane burner for a minute or so then dip it in the powder paint, and shake the excess off in the powder tin. Takes a bit of practice to get the right heat, and not too much heat where the paint bubles. I find it better to slightly underheat the lead head dip it in if it does not go glossy in a second or so put it over the heat again and it will go glossy and hard. Lot's of tackle tweakers in the US powder paint their jig heads and many put them in a small electric oven afterwards to bake the paint on for a more durable finish. I don't bother, I find they either get lost or destroyed by a flattie before they get chipped beyond repair!
slabjig
07-09-2007, 01:00 PM
Hot air gun, the kind used for paint stripping, works great with powder paints. Just heat the jighead in the hot air stream, dip it, tap off the excess, back in the hot air stream for a few seconds to smooth it out, hang for 30 seconds or so to cool and voila...painted jighead
B_E_N
07-09-2007, 02:02 PM
or just get some of your rod building epoxy scott, some enamel paint, let the paint sit for a day then tip the top half (the clear stuff off) and pour the condensed paint mix into a batch of epoxy, mix about half half the coat your jig heads, can be done cheap if you already have 2 part epoxy, the small model paint comes in heaps of colours and i think its only a few $
07-09-2007, 03:25 PM
Jeez Scott, you're a bit of a worry!!
You're talking about nice sparkly stuff and an acquaintance of yours is talking about nail polish!! :-X Please leave me right out of that one.
The things people do behind closed doors.:-X
If you like, you could get a nice pale lilac or something similar which no doubt would attract the fish, if they're into that sort of stuff. If lilac doesn't work, what about a nice fuschia with a soft background of pale lemon?
I never knew, Scott. It's OK though.