View Full Version : Am I a mug or what?

castlemaine
06-09-2007, 02:24 PM
Need some advise. Been catching PB of 42cm squire using single, 3/0 Mustard Big Reds. Mostly on pillies and squid. Aiming to break the 50cm mark:o . Lost lots of hooks to smaller fish because they were gut hooked, released with hooks. So I went to local Bait & Tackle store(not a chain), asked for advice and was given 5/0 Gamagatsu Octopus Circles. Didn't think about it till later, 'Circles' require a different technique of hooking-up ie not striking. Should I take my $30 box of hooks back or is he pretty well on the ball? Should I change my fishing technique? I would like some experienced advice.
Cheers, Castlemaine

Tailortaker
06-09-2007, 02:41 PM
Not sure what most use but I use a 4/0 mustard big red but my pb is only 52cm. I bought some bigger sized tha other day but if you go through some reports you'll find that some guys are catching 70cm plus snapper on 3/0 hooks...
Cheers TT
________
The Cigar Boss (http://thecigarboss.com/)

castlemaine
06-09-2007, 03:16 PM
This is exactly my point TT, have I been given a hook too large and one that doesn't suit my usual fishing technique???

Dan5
06-09-2007, 03:21 PM
Mate i've used gamma's for about 5 years in 5o/6o in the circle pattern for chasing golden snapper to black jew and every thing else that wants to "jump on" and reckon that they are the best hook for dead bait fishing i've ever used i've even used them for live baiting barra.The strike should be a firm lift and not a short sharp quick strike as with suicide or other non circle patterns.Put one in your closed hand and try pull it out without hooking yourself then try a standard hook you'll see the difference immediatly but be carefull!!!!!Dan.........

06-09-2007, 04:20 PM

If you've been given 5/0 gamma circle, I bet you've seen graheme at wellington point marine.

If thats the case, listen to every word he says, he's genuine and put it into practice.

Learn to use the circles, you will not look back.

06-09-2007, 04:32 PM
Gotta agree, great hooks them circles! You will rarely miss a fish.
Just make sure you don't hide the point of the hook in the bait, just pin it in the top corner.
I generally use o/h reels for snapper, I just leave them out of gear with the ratchet on, when a fish runs just click reel into gear and wind.
When using a thready, I leave the bail open, when a fish runs, just close the bail and bingo, she's on.
I caught some very nice spotties on circles last summer, on slabs of fresh tailor run on 8/0s on 100lb mono trace.
5/0 gamas are not to large IMHO, I use 8/0s and catch undersize fish on them as well as snapper to 9kg, spotties to 7kg, cobes to 16kg, etc, for example.

honda900
06-09-2007, 05:14 PM
castlemaine,

I use circle hooks and since using them have found them to be great. Inside the bay I usually use a snapper rig with 2 hooks, I use a 5/0 youvenalla on the top with a 2/0 or 4/0 circle on the bottom. So far the results have shown that the circle hooks are winning, and I strike the fish hard, squire @ 50cms tend not to muck around with the bait too much so you should find no problems giving them a bit of stick.

Honda.

land-lubber
06-09-2007, 05:32 PM
i use 4/0 or 5/0 gama circles for snapper, work a treat (have caught heaps of yakkas on them too, theiving so and sos)

castlemaine
06-09-2007, 05:59 PM

If you've been given 5/0 gamma circle, I bet you've seen graheme at wellington point marine.

If thats the case, listen to every word he says, he's genuine and put it into practice.

Learn to use the circles, you will not look back.

Dave,
Good guess.

castlemaine
06-09-2007, 06:08 PM
Guys
Thanks I'll give it a shot. Sometimes it's hard to work out if it's a marketing ploy or reality if you're not in the know. I appreciate greatly your experiences and words of encouragement. Here's to my PB of 50cm with the circles. Will keep you informed. Cheers, Castlemaine

death_ship
06-09-2007, 08:33 PM
bloody good hooks, i swear by them for snapper. not too big either.

Tailortaker
06-09-2007, 08:38 PM
I think that I'm gonna have to get me some of those hooks...........
________
WEED (http://wwweed.com/)

castlemaine
06-09-2007, 08:46 PM
Let me know how you go too. TT

Tailortaker
06-09-2007, 09:03 PM
Let me know how you go too. TT
Yer I will, when the weather gods decide to let me take the boat out, it's been 3 weeks since i've had a fish :'( between work and weather things have not been kind to me...
________
Lovely Wendie99 (http://www.lovelywendie99.com/)

imnotoriginal
06-09-2007, 10:46 PM
There's an article on another website by geoff wilson which describes a process using circle hooks and fish heads to fish for snapper. It also goes into how the hook is set and the drag pressure necessary etc... Give it a go, it may help.
Joel

07-09-2007, 07:00 PM

No worries, What I said about graheme stands true. I have known him for about 9 years now, best bloke in the industry.

castlemaine
08-09-2007, 04:05 PM
Thanks Blackened
So do you rig your bait up with these hooks. Single/snooded? Bait? Cheers, Castlemaine

08-09-2007, 10:16 PM

When I use bait (rarely these days) its on a single hook, and with some secret bait (see graheme again for that one). Otherwise just single, and treat them like any other hook when baiting up, just leave some barb exposed.

Outside i use the 7/0 into fillets of fish when fishing the reefs.