View Full Version : Bay Trip 1/9/2007
Steven78
01-09-2007, 05:32 PM
We left Manly at 5:30am for a quick run across the bay at 60km all the way to Morton Island.
Dad was the first to drop is SP, he was very keen. We did not get any hits or see any bait so we move to another site. Dad was first in the water again then BAG ZZZZZ ZZZZZ ZZZZZ. Lots of ZZZZZ Started the electric to keep chase. After 5 minutes of getting a little bit of line then losing a little I see a big sliver shaped fish coming up from the bottom. I netted the fish for Dad and he was stoked he was the happiest I have seen him in a long time as he has been in and out of Hospital the last few years. That was our first and last fish over at Morton so we decided to head back to mud to where I got my only keeper which was only 37cm. Then we meet up with Jim and Brent for a few drifts. Dad and I decided to head home as the day could not get any better.
1 x 37cm not worth taking a photo
1 x 88cm 6.8kg beats dad’s last PB by 40cm
01-09-2007, 05:37 PM
Wow.. what I wouldn't give to haul in a fish like that. That's a fantastic catch. Solid fish indeed. Congratulations.
01-09-2007, 05:37 PM
What a great fish. Thats got to be the best early Father's Day present you could give. Top fish for the bay
What did the damage?
bayfisher
01-09-2007, 05:41 PM
Thats a nice fish looks like the east side of the bay is firing at the moment.
Cheers Chris
Aquarius
01-09-2007, 05:52 PM
Mate thats a nice fish indeed your Father will have a smile on his face for a week now.
I will now have to call him KING SNAPPER instead of MR COD..LOL
HE MAY NOT CATCH ALOT OF FISH BUT WHEN HE DOES THEY SURE ARE BIG ONES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cheers Brent
Steven78
01-09-2007, 06:00 PM
MR cod sounds better. The Nuke Chiken in five inch 1/2 3,0 did the damage
rafaa
01-09-2007, 06:35 PM
Well Done to Steaven's dad
If we went with our dad we would catch the twin brother.
cheers Tanya & Julia
i enjoyed the day out. Was a good boating day for me, bit quiet fishing wise.
Congrats for your dad.
reidy_g
01-09-2007, 06:44 PM
What a fantastic Nobby. Well done. Wasn't it a superb day out there today. I got to Mud at 4.30 and there were 20 boats there on the eastern and northern side already. I reckon 40 by 8.00am.
Great White
01-09-2007, 07:39 PM
Wow :o :o :o well done to you and yor dad. Give him a few weeks and the story will go "I taught my son every thing about catching big snapper he knows!" ;)
Good to see a son take his dad fishing normally it's the other way around :)
Could I ask what depth of water he caught it in and time of day if thats not to much info to be giving out.
Steven78
01-09-2007, 07:47 PM
It was caught around 7am in about's 15m of water. There was no bait on the sounder just the odd very large arch.
cervelo
01-09-2007, 08:03 PM
That's a real monster, congratulations to both you and your Dad a fish like that makes for a very memorable day on the water.
Glenn
Mike_W
02-09-2007, 11:39 AM
Great Snapper, congrats! Mate and I met you at the servo in the morning (white tinny with Merc). We only managed one throw back snapper and about 40 pike on plastics around the bay.
richieboy
02-09-2007, 03:22 PM
Great snaps. Well worth the accolades. Cheers,
Rich
Murph77
02-09-2007, 08:32 PM
Awesome snapper by your old man - well done
Give me a large arch over a bait school on the sounder any day!
Congrats 'DAD' on a TOP fish! I'm sure you would have felt ecstatic for him Steve! That is one awesome Snap!!!
GW, what do you want to know about that spot for? You've got to be able to get out there first... I share your pain though!
Take Care T
Great White
03-09-2007, 05:34 PM
Give me a large arch over a bait school on the sounder any day!
Congrats 'DAD' on a TOP fish! I'm sure you would have felt ecstatic for him Steve! That is one awesome Snap!!!
GW, what do you want to know about that spot for? You've got to be able to get out there first... I share your pain though!
Take Care T
Hey T you and I are becoming what I fear the most "armchair fisherman" you were invited for a quick bay fish but no reply :P :P :P 15 meters of water I need to go exploring all the guy's I fish never seem to fish deeper than 7 meters ::) ;) :-X 15 meters is deep sea fishing for me ;D ;D ;D
Adamy
03-09-2007, 07:14 PM
Top fish that Steven's Dad! Looks like he tried to rub you off a few times - with the missing scales... fish of a lifetime!!
Well done Steve - if you cant get on to them yourself - the next best thing is to get your deckie on!
Adam
03-09-2007, 07:45 PM
I remember in my childhood days playing marbles they used to call the bigger ones "Stonkers"
I think any fish over 80cm I will call a "stonker" from now on, this one fits the bill!!
Congrats to you guys, both of you. I met you at the R2M and know how much a team effort you put in, and the effort you go through getting Dad in and out the boat safely.
Brilliant effort!!:thumbup:
Durnick
03-09-2007, 07:56 PM
That's an awesome fish mate, your dad would be stoked!! Hope when Trev and I come down you can deliver similar quality!
That is one top quality snapper from the bay well done. Makes me feel like jumping in the boat and trying to get one too.
Hope your dad can break his P.B again
Hey T you and I are becoming what I fear the most "armchair fisherman" you were invited for a quick bay fish but no reply :P :P :P
GW, must be something wrong with your phone man!! Left a voicemail message and sent you a text - soccer Mon nights...
Armchair? Just you wait till 1 November - i'm counting the days down!!!
Take Care T
Steven78
04-09-2007, 06:01 PM
Thanks for the post's. Dad said thanks :)
T1 is the indoor soccer a Ausfish comp as i have to loss a few KGs my self
Thanks for the post's. Dad said thanks :)
T1 is the indoor soccer a Ausfish comp as i have to loss a few KGs my self
Hi Steve!
No mate, we play '7-a-side' over 30's outdoor - trust me, you run a lot harder in outdoor... (i really need to get fitter!) Know any good Strikers - we need someone (or 2) who can convert the million opportunities we keep creating?
Take Care T
Great White
05-09-2007, 06:58 PM
Hi Steve!
No mate, we play '7-a-side' over 30's outdoor - trust me, you run a lot harder in outdoor... (i really need to get fitter!) Know any good Strikers - we need someone (or 2) who can convert the million opportunities we keep creating?
Take Care T
I know of a good Goal keeper ;D ::) :o .......well use to be very good 20 years ago :-X