View Full Version : Another Mud Snapper 1st Sept

Aquarius
01-09-2007, 05:29 PM
Howdy Ausfishers, Jim and I took Jim's Quinny out for snapper session this morning.
Left Manly ramp at 5-30am and headed over to the Curtain arty to try our luck on the bay snapper population.
The breeze was a light S/W and within the hour we were soaking a few plastics and losing a few jigheads to the wrecks.
Managed a 37cm keeper and one throwback before we decided to see what our Mates were doing over towards Tangas.
Met up with Steven 78 and his Dad and then Steve proudly displayed a nice 88cm snapper that his Dad caught.
Did a few drifts to no avail so the call was made to head off accross the bay to Mud.
A smooth ride over and into the fish so we thought but the place was quiet.
We spent about 1 hour here before we all said "hey lets try St helena" when my rod buckled over and the zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz began.
Half the spool gone in the first run so we started the motor to get back line.
After more zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz up came a healthy 68 cm snapper.
Jim did the honours with the net and dinner was in the esky.
We tried the other bay islands on the way back to Manly but they were just not on the chew today.
Water surface temp was 20 degrees so its on the way back up again after the rain we had.
105 kilometres and 44 litres of fuel not bad for a 60 hp 2 stroke i reckon.
Another glorious day for boating and a fish for a feed is a bonus.
Doesn't get much better than that.
Met up with POODRO at manly ramp and i could not believe he had my snapper;s twin brother in his Esky.
Nice to meet you mate .
Cheers Brent

01-09-2007, 05:33 PM
Nice effort guys. Was great to chat with you at the ramp. Only one thing could have topped the social event off and that would have been a nice cold beer. Nice looking fish. Great meeting you both Brent and Jim.

Steven78
01-09-2007, 05:42 PM
Good to see ya out there... I could hear your reel scream from my boat and JIM getting into action Stations.
Cannot wait to get back out there

01-09-2007, 05:46 PM
Well done. Good to see the bay producing again. Hopefully they stick around for a while. Might have to get back to Mud next time

alleycat
01-09-2007, 05:51 PM
Hey well done fella!!, got to love the zzzzzzzzz factor , would have been a nice day on the water while i was workin grrrrr.

bayfisher
01-09-2007, 05:52 PM
Good to see your back onto the fish, Seems to be fish all over the bay at the moment and while lacking in quantity they make up for it in quality.

Cheers Chris

loophole
01-09-2007, 07:11 PM
Hey well done fella!!, got to love the zzzzzzzzz factor , would have been a nice day on the water while i was workin grrrrr.

hahaha:D alleycat sorry to tell you this but it was a great day out on the bay thismorning. damn work>:( hey shoulda called in sick!;D

02-09-2007, 08:16 PM
Good work Brent,, always reliably catching a feed, your photo appears consistantly, including the Local B&B.

Good fishin!!

T1
03-09-2007, 10:53 AM
Hey Brent & Jim!

Nice fish and nice conditions too! What SP did the trick?

Take Care T

Aquarius
04-09-2007, 11:04 AM
G,Day T1, Mate would you believe a 4" zoom baby bass on a 1/8th squidgy finesse 2/0 hook.
This fish fought harder than my pb of 80cms.
I was going to release the fish but its been a quiet time in the bay lately and i thought i would give it to the skipper to feed his family.
Cheers Brent

richieboy
04-09-2007, 06:43 PM
Nice fish Brent. That weather was just like I had it Monday morning. Mid week is the only time I'm keen for Mud. Days like that on the water are just magic when you have the place to yourself.
Can't blame a man for keeping a feed. Cheers,

Richie