View Full Version : Barratta's Creek

31-08-2007, 10:27 AM
I am interested in fishing this system but have a few questions; any info and/or tips would be greatly appreciated.

I am unsure first of how to get to a suitable ramp to launch the boat, I have had a look on Google Earth and found a likely road that runs along the northern side of the creek (Jerona Road), and was wondering if there are any suitable boat ramps that are within reach of a falcon ute also of a 2.4L Rodeo (2WD) towing a 16ft runabout.

What tides will I need to navigate the system, considering I can get through shallow water to 0.7m without much trouble? And what way from the boat ramp would put me onto better fish (not after anyone’s spot X, just after a general direction to start my fishing).

If anyone has fished this area before and can give me some info that would be great.

Also if anyone is fishing this area this weekend and is in need of a deckie don’t hesitate to ask and if anyone is willing to come along in my boat and give me the tour let me know and I can organise something.

PS I had to type this 3 times because of the backspace button and it’s starting to drive me nuts

STUIE63
31-08-2007, 11:13 AM
that's the one travel south go past shell greenacres servo couple more k's there is a boat ramp sign on the left i think it is called jerona road.it is a dirt road that has corrugations at times but you could get through no worries with the ute or rodeo just keep speed down. there is a great ramp there. i don't know tides but if is like anywhere else shouldn't be a problem I only fished it once and had no troubles plenty of spots to get bait crabs and barra.

31-08-2007, 11:57 AM
Thanks Stuie, I just wasn't sure about the cars making thru, that was my biggest concern, now to just check out google earth to find some likely fishy areas. Also what are the mozzies and sandflies like around there? If there's still a bit of wind around on Sunday I might head down then as the wind is good for keeping sandflies at bay.

childers
31-08-2007, 03:47 PM
saw some photos of jacks ,i think they got about 17 jacks in one session .

Alan TSV
31-08-2007, 04:18 PM
On the biggers tides the road leading into the Ramp has salt water over it at the spoon drains

My 6M boat drags it ass on a few spots.

Good creek to fish

Al

Fisher4life
31-08-2007, 05:03 PM
Scott, this weekend (saturday) i'm heading down the haughton with my wife to do some bait fishing and a bit of an explore trip. If you can get a deckie (Dr_Dan), your more then wecome to follow us down that way. Ive heard a few good reports from down there this week especially as the water is now warming up...

Josh

31-08-2007, 05:23 PM
Scott .... I haven't fished Barrattas itself .... but I had a look at it 2 years ago (twice). The road out (Jerona) is a bit corrugated ... but I made it out in both My Subaru Liberty GT & a Corolla hire car:P ..... Just take it easy when towing. The lowdown was that there are some good spots up river. The crabbing is pretty good too (did some at the boat ramp)
speaking of the boat ramp (at the little .. settlement:-/ I guess you'd call it! ) ..... Its not too bad from half tide up 8-) Use the tide to go up the creek & come back with the falling tide. Live baits are the go ... as the water can be pretty muddy ...... Nagg12081

31-08-2007, 06:11 PM
old uncle lives at the "settlement". i havent fished there for years. all reports the netters have given the joint a floggin. starting to be hard work to land a decent fish.
most locals are goin out through the cape now and fishing isloated creeks or patches of reef. check for green zones, and pack plenty of bushmans!!!!

31-08-2007, 08:49 PM
Tomorrow's out again, dad's just booked my services to help him with his reno's.

Probably head down for a look see in the car towards the aftrnoon to checkout the roads and ramp, I'd rather not get stuck with a boat in tow.

As for the bugs, I've got my own concoction (spelling?) that works better than any other stuff I've tried and its cheaper, which means I have more money to spend on fishing yay!

If the roads are deemd OK i'll head out on sunday, mainly for an exploritory mission with a couple of pots.

Main reasonI want to chack it out is I've heard some report from mates about their mates getting onto some fingers and jacks and want to check it out for myself.

Thanks all for your help and if my deckie wimps out I'll give Dr_Dan a yell if he's keen for sunday.

BTW the crystal creek info I got earlier won't be put into action until the October full moon, gonna head up there for a couple of days camping and sinking piss, may even get some fishing done haha.

Fisher4life
31-08-2007, 09:23 PM
crystal is definately worth the look, i just get a little turned off by the corrigated dirt road, wet aluminuim boat.... cracks, dirty... and also the netters that i found out from last trip

31-08-2007, 09:48 PM
dad's just cancelled reno's for tomorrow....HE'S decided he wants to go fishing with his mates, so looks like I'm free again.

F4L if you still want a tag alond txt message me a time and meeting place and I'll tag along, let Dr_Dan know he's got a place on my boat if he still wants to come.

I've never fished the Haughton before as I just got my boat licence a few months ago and never had the urge to go there...til now, so I've no idea where/how to get to the ramp so maybe we could meet up and I'll follow you down, any meeting place will be fine as I'm on the northern side of Townsville anyways.

Cheers Scott

Fisher4life
02-09-2007, 04:04 PM
sorry scott, didn't read this again till today....

You didn't miss much, 11 crabs, all under size, and a shark.

alot of action on the water, but the fish just didn't like my offerings, or anyone else's from those i spoke to

Mozza
02-09-2007, 11:27 PM
The Barrattas, Morriseys and Haughton are all essentially very similar creek systems with the Haughton delivering the most amount of fresh water. As Part of the Bowling Green Bay (BGB) wetland complex you'd expect very similar species populations given equal fishing pressure. The Haughton is the only one that zoned Yellow under State legislation which means the Pro's can't net there.

Which explains that ~70% of the rec fisho's tend to hit the Haughton rather than the creek systems further south as well as being the closest to Townsville. Given a month of fishing and exploration, you'd still not be able to explore all the creeks in BGB. Having said that, it seems that the Barrattas can fire better than the Haughton at times and yes, as F4L says, higher up. Scott, some of the smaller creeks further into the bay look absolutely delicious - I've given one of a go - called it ZigZag creek because it has these chevron-shaped bends. Really tight bends that, upon inspection have to be seen to be believed. At times the creek is less than a metre deep and then drops into 5/6m of gnarly, snag-filles bends that I'm itching to fish when the fresh is falling off the floodplains.

Trouble is its a good 15km out of the Barrattas and if the SE'er blowing, you haven't a snowballs... which of course, makes it all the more attractive although I'm sure the Pro's would already know that. Interesting, that Wazza made sure there was a good-sized block of Blue right inside the BGB isn't it? Nothing to do of course with Grunter spawning aggregations sites.....

I'm of no real help but let me know when you guys are going because I might be able to join in as well and it'd be good to meet you guys. Actually, I'm hoping for a day on the water, either Tues or Thurs.

Mozza

Mozza
03-09-2007, 10:08 AM
Here's a quick pic of the route to ZigZag.

If anyone goes there let me know how you went.

Mozza

03-09-2007, 02:48 PM
I went down to inspect the road and ramp on Sunday, I will have no trouble at all, in places there were only small corrugations along the dirt road.

When I was looking at the ramp, there was someone retrieving their boat and after a bit of a chat they showed me there catch. I was dumbfounded, once I had picked my chin up off the ground, I counted 4 Barra between 60-90cm, as well as ½ doz good grunter to about 60cm and 5 of the biggest jack I have ever seen in the flesh, the biggest went 92cm!!

Of course my next question was “Where did you get them?” and the reply? “oh just a couple of spot x’s we know of” bastards!! They did however tell me that the jacks and grunter were caught outside the creek (that’s all the info they give me) and the barra were caught trolling the edges of the creek over a couple of hours. Also that the jack and grunter were on baits (big squid baits and live whiting and mullet, from what I could tell from the remnants of their bait bucket), and all but one barra was caught on a gold bomber, the other, on a trolled whiting.

Unbelievable, now I can’t wait to fish the system, I’m thinking of next weekend (15th) to try my luck. Anyone else interested? We might be able to get a few boats together and make a good day out of it, we could even try zig zag crk and see whats there.

ozbee
03-09-2007, 04:01 PM
a little clue for you scot out from barratas there a place called sand island which is in green zone now used to be great for grunter over 10 lbs but alas its only for dreams now but look carefully the green zone ends at the northen tip of alva beach just twenty yards off the beach is a drop off on sea side. one last clue large javelin run 3 days aside on a certain moon. happy fishing

Fisher4life
03-09-2007, 05:10 PM
I have a mate you used to (2yr ago) regularly fish the baratta's creek, and claimed he's never come home without a good feed. i haven't been down that way yet, so yeah, i'll pencil the 15th in the diary

Guido
04-09-2007, 10:59 AM
Don't overlook ozbee's post. The point can be the hottest spot around when you get the moon right. Big catches of fingers, barra and grunter. So close to the beach that land based anglers on 4-wheelers from Alva Beach (Ayr) can cast out to it.