View Full Version : bottom bouncing the shelf

madjewiefisher
30-08-2007, 06:55 PM
going to the shelf soon and we are thinking of bottom bouncing the 200-25- meter mark (south coast nsw)
Can anybody shed some light on what we should do
Cheers Steve

Sean
30-08-2007, 07:18 PM
buy a lot of line.

30-08-2007, 07:37 PM
going to the shelf soon and we are thinking of bottom bouncing the 200-25- meter mark (south coast nsw)
Cheers Steve

I think you need to talk to snelly mate.
He's from tassie and fishs 400 pound braid to depths of 600 metres with an electric winch( I think).http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/undecided.gif
Or maybe it just seems like that.
But for sure he's your southern deep water man!http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif

loophole
30-08-2007, 07:41 PM
try posting in the offshore section u might get a better reply there btw what species are you targeting?

30-08-2007, 08:03 PM
pm" onerabbit" he on the nth coast and does this abit.

jigsnreels
30-08-2007, 08:26 PM
Get some braid. Use tuna circles or baitsavers, 3 or 4 at a time. Squid's the best bait. Get a big sinker.Look for reef just above the 600' line. Mark yr drifts on the plotter - if you score, go back over it.

Not sure if it's legal in NSWbut in Tas we use droplines for this caper, down to 1500' - set the line, 10 - 20 hooks, clip on a float, mark it on the gps come back in an hour, Don't forget to use a pressue float or all yr hooks will be in a pile on the bottom.

You can get trumpeter on top of the shelf, the occasional latchet. Over the edge, it's blueye, gemfish and grenadier, all top table tucker. You also see the odd ooglie like rays bream, sabrefish etc. Its great fun go for it, but b
Be prepared for a steep learning curve and sore arms.

Here are a coupla clips of some mugs at work
http://youtube.com/watch?v=vAyBu7B0FhU
http://youtube.com/watch?v=XAZ-jyBn6W0

Yockman

madjewiefisher
30-08-2007, 09:08 PM
Cheers Yockman not allowed to do any type of long lining in nsw we will be on 25kg braid and stand up strokers and a new type of pain not experienced (lol) Will try the bricks i was gonna use car axles chopped and a half chain welded on and light line to release it i have some 11cm glow squid would they be good to go on the hook line and then some squid or stripey,what about a live slimey or yakka(yellowtail) again thanks for your help
Cheers Steve

jigsnreels
30-08-2007, 09:31 PM
We always stick with bait but I've got a mate who uses sp's and he does well. Livies would prolly begood too but bait works good enough for us. Would suggest that you try around the 600 feet are fir trumpeter or go out to about 1000, that about where the blueye start.

Further north in Tas there are places the blueye congregate, but down south where we fish, we just head out to about 12-1500' and fish, regardless of whether we get shows on the bottom or not. They seem to be widely dispersed.

Re sinkers, if it's ok weather ( and we only do this in good weather) we just use big snapper leads. Even in deep water we still get down ok using braid. It's all good fun and is a good break from trolling epecially on those days when tuna aren't cooperating

Yock

onerabbit
31-08-2007, 10:04 AM
Hi MJF,

congratulations on your sporting approach to shelf fishing.

We usually fish between 240-350 mtrs with our normal stand-up gear, 24kg stick, Sealine 600s & 30lb braid.
Normal size strip bait is good enough, but if you pull up a small nannygai or job fish, drop it back down with a good hook .
No need to go overkill on line strength, 25kg will be plenty, we rarely break 30lb, except on real monsters, ( hehehe, I saw a big cod drag Ida all over the boat one day, in the end he had to just hang on & beg for the line to break, which it eventually did).
Same thing on hooks, keep a few 8/0s handy, but we find 3/0 & 4/0 Big Guns to be ok.
Make sure you have a big brekky before you go, there's nothing like watching your gear freespool for 5 minutes before your 2lb sinker hits the bottom, knowing you will have to wind it all back up again.

31-08-2007, 10:22 AM
Hi MJF,

Make sure you have a big brekky before you go, there's nothing like watching your gear freespool for 5 minutes before your 2lb sinker hits the bottom, knowing you will have to wind it all back up again.

Geez muzz,
That sounds more like punishment than fishing!http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/shocked.gif
What sort of fish are in the photo?

onerabbit
31-08-2007, 05:34 PM
Geez muzz,
That sounds more like punishment than fishing!http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/shocked.gif
What sort of fish are in the photo?

Hehehehe, & some people dont see fishing as a sport.

Hi Scott,
I fish off Ballina, Nth NSW, the fish in the photo are Bar Cod, & are one of the best eating fish there is.

I believe that fishing for these terrific fish in the way described not only gives the angler a good work out, but helps to preserve the existing stock, only a very fit person could take the bag limit of 5 fish.
By the way, I'm 44, 5'8" & 59kgs, so it can't be THAT hard.

With the exception of our southern members like Snelly, who fish far deeper than we do, I am totally against the use off electric reels, even deck winches aren't really all that sporting. I guess it comes down to why you are there.

All that said.............if you want a challenge, there's nothing like the tussle with a good cod ( our average fish is 8-10kg ), the jelly feeling in your arms & legs when you finally get it to the top after an up to 30minute wind up, or the terrible suspicion you may need the gaff handle to put your vital organs back in place:-/ :-/ :-/ ..........it's all part of the fun.

will put up a couple more pics, last one is my 15 year old.

madjewiefisher
31-08-2007, 07:02 PM
Hi MJF,

congratulations on your sporting approach to shelf fishing.

We usually fish between 240-350 mtrs with our normal stand-up gear, 24kg stick, Sealine 600s & 30lb braid.
Normal size strip bait is good enough, but if you pull up a small nannygai or job fish, drop it back down with a good hook .
No need to go overkill on line strength, 25kg will be plenty, we rarely break 30lb, except on real monsters, ( hehehe, I saw a big cod drag Ida all over the boat one day, in the end he had to just hang on & beg for the line to break, which it eventually did).
Same thing on hooks, keep a few 8/0s handy, but we find 3/0 & 4/0 Big Guns to be ok.

Muzz Cheers Muzz what times of the year are best,We are going start of Nov. I'm using a tld 25 with 600 mtrs of 5 color 50 pound braid stand up stroker and as much mussle i can muster after we try this we are thinking of the trying deeper I cant see the point of trolling all day and not getting a fish,I'm originally from Adelaide and when we go for blue fin tuna we get a kingie or 2 first or a red then go trolling or cubing.
Again thanks for your help.

onerabbit
31-08-2007, 10:00 PM
OH MY GOD, just watched the 2nd clip on jigsnreels post.............................................. ..............................I supose some people think that is fishing???????????????????????????????

31-08-2007, 10:30 PM
OH MY GOD, just watched the 2nd clip on jigsnreels post.............................................. ..............................I supose some people think that is fishing???????????????????????????????

Yeah, well it looks to me, about as much fun...
as sticking a wad of hemorrhoid cream, right up me bum...http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif.

31-08-2007, 11:19 PM
Yockman,

Next time you're looking for crew let me know. I'm down in Hobart now with plenty of free time on my hands.

Just send me a message.

hhhmmm Blue Eye.

snelly1971
31-08-2007, 11:55 PM
Cheers Steve

Buy an electric reel...Miya Epoch make the best models..anywhere from 800-14000 bucks...We have tried the old method of using your arms...but that aint much fun when its 300-400 fathom deep...

Good quality...very sharp!!...Circle hooks are a must as ...especially blue eye...will blow up and just float off your hook if they are winched up too fast..

Alvey Deck winches are good ..

Another hint...in these depths...the fish seem to love glow beads..especially the green fluro ones...

Cheers Mick

snelly1971
31-08-2007, 11:56 PM
PS...Deck winches use normally 200 lb braid...

Electric winch 80/ 130/ or 200 lb...your choice..

But i run 80 and 130 lb..

Cheers Mick

jigsnreels
01-09-2007, 03:59 PM
The "clump" of blueye in the second clip occured after a seal attack on the main dropper line - the sinker was gone and all the fish had floated to the surface. When fish float up from that far down, they get in a helluva tangle. That's how they got into the clump. Normally, they come up in a more orderly way.

That's the way we fish. It's a 600 km drive for us to the fishing grounds then its a bout 24kms out, then about 1500 feet down. There's only a small number of days per year when this is possible, so am I gonna muck round with a single hook?
Not when I want food for my family and my crew mates tribe too.

If you think this is exploiting the fishery, then remember the effort involved in making a trip there. Not like we're doing this daily. Last time was in late June. We rarely see another boat out there. If you want to read about exploitation, get hold of "Hooked" by G Bruce Knecht. It's about patagonian toothfish and in particular the chase across the bottom of the world by Australia's Southern Supporter after the Viarsa, a pirate ship. Great reading, but unbelievable to think of them destroying whole fisheries in less than 2 years. The Atlantic cod fisheries took centuries to ruin.

Bugman, you're welcome sometime, maybe late January?? Won't be back down there again before then.

Cheers all

snelly1971
01-09-2007, 04:11 PM
We get approx 4-5 days a year where it is safe enough to venture out the 25 nm to our blue eye spot...

I can appreciate using drop lines as we do ourselves...

banshee
01-09-2007, 05:41 PM
How do you blokes prepare/cook your Blue Eye?

samson
01-09-2007, 06:26 PM
Good read fellas any descriptions on how you rig your drop lines would be much apreciated,eg hook set ups, intervals apart and do you use any weight between hooks to keep them in the strike zone or are they just set verticly in the water.
Cheers samson

jigsnreels
01-09-2007, 07:27 PM
That's the way it is , eh snelly.

Blueye is #1 fish, imho. It's versatile. Great in breadcrumbs, great with tarragon sauce, grilled on the barbie, etc, etc. You can't go wrong with it. Last night 13 of us dined on big pieces of blueye in spicy coconut sauce. It was great.

Our droplines are 400lb mono. The rig goes like this, from the seabed: sinker, 5 -10lb, usually a window weight, on a piece of cord, clips onto a loop at the end of the "bottom". The bottom is aabout 60 metres of 400lb mono. It has a pair of crimps spaced about 50mm apart every 2m or so. Then there's a big ss swivel with lead in it, then the rest of the mainline, about 500 metres. The hooks (tuna circles or baitsavers) are on a short dropper, about 200mm, attached to a shark clip. The ones with swivels are good.

Setting it goes like this - bait up the hooks on the way out or while trolling, find spot x, clip on the sinker, then start clipping on the hooks between the crimps as it goes down. We use 15 per line. When you get to the end of the "bottom", clip on a pressure float. When she's all down, clip on a coupla big floats, mark it on yr gps. The whole thing now is hanging vertically in the water.Sometimes the fish are all on the bottom, sometimes at the top.

Somewhere in all this, work out first which way the currents going, so if the line drifts, you know where to start looking.

We usually leave it down for about 90 mins while we set another, or go trolling.

It takes a while to get it all together but it's good when it starts working.

Anymore questions, just ask. I'm sure snelly's got some good info to add to this.

jigs

onerabbit
01-09-2007, 07:32 PM
How do you blokes prepare/cook your Blue Eye?

Good question Pat, think we have talked about it before, I didn't find the Blue-Eye all that good.

samson
01-09-2007, 07:52 PM
Thanks mate much appreciated.

snelly1971
01-09-2007, 11:41 PM
I just buy the fish coating at the local supermarket...and fry it in butter...

Drop lines we use are 6mm rope...25 kg lead weight...and we space our hooks about 2 meters apart...we also use glow sticks and a burley bag tied to the weight...This is where a pot hauler comes in handy..

As for retrieving the line...steady as she goes.....By pulling the rope up too fast will loose the fish off the hooks....

Good quality circle hooks are a must...

Our biggest problem is those stinking theiving fish snatches..(seals)...

Cheers Mick

02-09-2007, 08:43 AM
Great thread and very interesting replies, have really enjoyed reading how you guys fish 'the deep'.
My hat is off to you gents, you really put a lot of time, effort and money into your fishing, and IMHO truly deserve every fish you catch.
Cheers, may your seas be slight and your lines tight!

madjewiefisher
02-09-2007, 11:05 AM
Thanks to all who answered,a great help ,hanging out to get out there cheers fella's.
Great thread and very interesting replies, have really enjoyed reading how you guys fish 'the deep'.
My hat is off to you gents, you really put a lot of time, effort and money into your fishing, and IMHO truly deserve every fish you catch.

snelly1971
02-09-2007, 08:45 PM

Thanks Nigel....

I do sometimes worry that by posting how we fish the deeper side of the shelf may offend people..ie...drop lining or long lining..

Here in Tassie we are allowed 30 hooks each..or max of 5 long lines/ drop lines per boat...As we are venturing so far offshore and the cost of fuel is so great then setting a few longlines and drop lines helps us maximise our trip...we are not looking to go out and bag 50 blue eye ..just enough for a feed for the crew....

But i must admit..there have been times when we have set 30 hooks and caught 25 School shark...we are only allowed 5 per boat..so the rest just get set free...

The is a fine art to real deep water fishing..a lot of people just think you go out wide and drop your line over...but that is just not the case...

We have found very productive fishing grounds by just plainly covering big areas and depths...and with the help of local fisherman and trawler operators....who do not mind talking and giving advice on what to look for and what depths to fish in...and occasionally giving me gps Co for Spot X really helps...

I like all sorts of fishing but the really deep blue yonda get me excited ..because you never know what you are going to catch ...and usually the fish are way...way bigger than anything being caught inshore...and as we all know...deep water fish are the better eating fish..eg...blue eye..harpuka..stripey trumpeter..ect..

I would just like to finish off by saying that anyone reading this thread who wishes to venture out to the deep blue ...just be very...very careful and respect the weather..as mother nature can be really nasty when things turn sour out past the shelf...and travelling 20-30 kn miles home can turn into a life threatening experience...

Had a few of those trips...

02-09-2007, 10:42 PM
[quote=jigsnreels;676018]Get some braid. Use tuna circles or baitsavers, 3 or 4 at a time. Squid's the best bait. Get a big sinker.Look for reef just above the 600' line. Mark yr drifts on the plotter - if you score, go back over it.

Not sure if it's legal in NSWbut in Tas we use droplines for this caper, down to 1500' - set the line, 10 - 20 hooks, clip on a float, mark it on the gps come back in an hour, Don't forget to use a pressue float or all yr hooks will be in a pile on the bottom.

You can get trumpeter on top of the shelf, the occasional latchet. Over the edge, it's blueye, gemfish and grenadier, all top table tucker. You also see the odd ooglie like rays bream, sabrefish etc. Its great fun go for it, but b
Be prepared for a steep learning curve and sore arms.

Here are a coupla clips of some mugs at work

Yockman " Not sure if it's legal in NSW but in Tas we use droplines for this caper, down to 1500' - set the line, 10 - 20 hooks, clip on a float, mark it on the gps come back in an hour"

Yockman....... Is this fishing or harvesting>:( ..... These are the sought of practices that should be banned everywhere ( IMO) :thumbsdown: :end: :cry: :hanged: :argue: ....... Might as well use dynamite ...... Nagg

jigsnreels
03-09-2007, 09:30 AM
Nagg, there's no doubt about it, these are food gathering trips to feed my family. You walk into a shop with money in your pocket, you look for the best value. We go out there, we're looking for best value too.

Please spare me the "it's not sporting" line. All of us use boats made from high tech materials, high tech engines to get there, high tech electronics, including hardware courtesy of the US military to find our spots, high tech rods and reels to present a bait. Against a simple 1, 2 or 20kg fish. You call that sporting?::)::)

Now if you paddle out in your own hand made dugout canoe, with your line made from twisted plant fibre, and a hook you've fashioned from bone, and take on a fish your own size, then I'm ready to say "you're a sportsman".

Jigs

samson
03-09-2007, 01:05 PM
Jigsnreels with the pressure float on the top of the bottom what type of float do you mean or advise is it just a smallish round one to control the rig so you don't get a tangled mess?
Cheers samson

jigsnreels
03-09-2007, 03:05 PM
Pressure floats are high density, pressurised plastic floats. They're designed to withstand pressures at depths that would crush other floats, and to provide a given amount of bouyancy.

http://www.chsmith.com.au/cgi-bin/hex4.pl?Type=global&Search=pressure+float&Show=Full+Results&index=IN&Number=2

We usually use FLE508

Jigs

03-09-2007, 08:40 PM
Nagg, there's no doubt about it, these are food gathering trips to feed my family. You walk into a shop with money in your pocket, you look for the best value. We go out there, we're looking for best value too.

Please spare me the "it's not sporting" line. All of us use boats made from high tech materials, high tech engines to get there, high tech electronics, including hardware courtesy of the US military to find our spots, high tech rods and reels to present a bait. Against a simple 1, 2 or 20kg fish. You call that sporting?::)::)

Now if you paddle out in your own hand made dugout canoe, with your line made from twisted plant fibre, and a hook you've fashioned from bone, and take on a fish your own size, then I'm ready to say "you're a sportsman".

Jigs
Jigs ..... I didn't even go down the path of what is or is not sporting:stunned: I'm having a go at the whole process of dropping a set line with 10-20 hooks on it :'( & personally I'm disgusted that you write of such practices & then want to defend it ... Citing that your out trying to feed the family ::) . Your approach to fishing is more akin to commercial fishing ... & hence my use of the word "HARVESTING" ! ..... While I'm not sure of the regulations in NSW ... I would have no doubt it would be considered illegal ! (& I will check) ...... While I'm no great fan of government intervention ..... I do see the merit of banning Set lines , limiting the number of hooks , bag & size limits , no spearfishing with scuba gear etc etc...... It helps with the sustainability of a fishery! ........ And if your methods are common practice is Tasmania ....... God help the future generations ,because you'll end up like the rest of us:helpa: .... Nagg

poundalead
03-09-2007, 09:22 PM
Hey NAGG, these fellas are not talking about an inshore fishery. The amount of boats that would actually do this style of fishing would be extremely minimal. If you totally understood the area where they fish and read what the guys were saying i.e. "We only get out about 5 days a year" then could you honestly say that they are raping a fishery. As long as they are within the legal bag limits and fishing methods. This may open up a can of worms, but there aren't too many capable recreational boats that can do this style of fishing in the dangerous waters that these guys fish. Good on ya fellas for having the guts to venture that far to pull fish. Keep the reports coming from the deep blue!!!!

Cheers Benny

snelly1971
03-09-2007, 09:27 PM
Jigs ..... I didn't even go down the path of what is or is not sporting:stunned: I'm having a go at the whole process of dropping a set line with 10-20 hooks on it :'( & personally I'm disgusted that you write of such practices & then want to defend it ... Citing that your out trying to feed the family ::) . Your approach to fishing is more akin to commercial fishing ... & hence my use of the word "HARVESTING" ! ..... While I'm not sure of the regulations in NSW ... I would have no doubt it would be considered illegal ! (& I will check) ...... While I'm no great fan of government intervention ..... I do see the merit of banning Set lines , limiting the number of hooks , bag & size limits , no spearfishing with scuba gear etc etc...... It helps with the sustainability of a fishery! ........ And if your methods are common practice is Tasmania ....... God help the future generations ,because you'll end up like the rest of us:helpa: .... Nagg

Maybe you should shut you mouth Nagg...

Where i live..we are lucky to get out fishing...as due to our wild coast line...maybe that is why our fisheries are going so strong and get stronger..

There is a board...made up of commercial...rec..and government bodies who make the rules to which we are to abide by...

The rules are made so that all fisheries are sustainable...so why do you think they would allow us 30 hooks on drop...or longlines if it was not sustainable>:(>:(

There is alot worse things happening in our fisheries then some poor old amature..heading out doing the right thing....gee 20 or 30 hooks eh..

There have been cases here of trawlers catching 90 to 100 tons of fish and having to cut the net to let them sink back to the bottom dead..because they had no quota for the caught specie..:o:o

Nagg...How many times have you caught an undersize fish and released it::)::)

Do the undersize you catch and release always live:P:P

If Jigs is following State laws regarding to long..or drop lines...then you should shut your mouth and winge somewhere else...

jigsnreels
03-09-2007, 10:36 PM
Naggs, I just don't think you get this.

We're not talking about Spit Bridge or DeeWhy reef or the Peak, all of which I've fished heaps of times growing up in Sydney. Consider the following:

1) This is somewhere you just can't get to very often. Did you read my posts? Last trip there was in late June, and the next will be in late January. That's um....about 6 months apart. Don't think I'm going to be plundering the resources at that rate.

2) This year, we have not seen another boat, not a single one, droplining anywhere near us. Again, no rape & pillage happening here.

3) It's tough!! Very few people can handle this. Most guys who come with me are green before the sinker hits the bottom. This is the land of the rolling kings, the everpresent swell, very rarely below 2 metres, often 3 or 4. Beyond that we don't worry. Incidentally, those crew who are green before the sinker's down are having a near-death experience by the time it's back in the boat. I've only got one regular who can hack it.....

4) To me, it would be a shocking waste of petrol to go all that way by road, then do the whole boat thing, for two fish.

5) It takes, in all, about 90 mins - 2 hours to set and retrieve these 15 hooks, so we'll call that a hook/minute ratio of 1:8 (15/120). Lets compare that to your average reef fisho in 60 metres. Most use 2 hooks and in 2 hours would drop and retrieve, well, let's say once every 10 minutes. I don't think anyone would think that was excessive.Probably conservative but it'll do. So in 2 hours, you're "setting" 24 hooks =24/120, or a hook/minute ratio of 1:5. Which of the two is fishing harder?

6) <And if your methods are common practice is Tasmania...>
Think it's clear that it's not common practice, and is unlikely to be, for the reasons above.

7) By the way, there are bag limits on these things down here, which may have been exceeded once::) when the last drop may have yielded a couple more than the Gov might have liked us to have. No point putting them back, they'd be seal and seagull tucker.

Anyway, I'm not telling you or anyone else how to fish. Suit yourself, have fun. I always do.

Jigs

snelly1971
03-09-2007, 11:19 PM
You made a great point there Jigs...BAG LIMITS......

madjewiefisher
04-09-2007, 05:15 PM
Naggs, I just don't think you get this.

We're not talking about Spit Bridge or DeeWhy reef or the Peak, all of which I've fished heaps of times growing up in Sydney. Consider the following:

1) This is somewhere you just can't get to very often. Did you read my posts? Last trip there was in late June, and the next will be in late January. That's um....about 6 months apart. Don't think I'm going to be plundering the resources at that rate.

2) This year, we have not seen another boat, not a single one, droplining anywhere near us. Again, no rape & pillage happening here.

3) It's tough!! Very few people can handle this. Most guys who come with me are green before the sinker hits the bottom. This is the land of the rolling kings, the everpresent swell, very rarely below 2 metres, often 3 or 4. Beyond that we don't worry. Incidentally, those crew who are green before the sinker's down are having a near-death experience by the time it's back in the boat. I've only got one regular who can hack it.....

4) To me, it would be a shocking waste of petrol to go all that way by road, then do the whole boat thing, for two fish.

5) It takes, in all, about 90 mins - 2 hours to set and retrieve these 15 hooks, so we'll call that a hook/minute ratio of 1:8 (15/120). Lets compare that to your average reef fisho in 60 metres. Most use 2 hooks and in 2 hours would drop and retrieve, well, let's say once every 10 minutes. I don't think anyone would think that was excessive.Probably conservative but it'll do. So in 2 hours, you're "setting" 24 hooks =24/120, or a hook/minute ratio of 1:5. Which of the two is fishing harder?

6) <And if your methods are common practice is Tasmania...>
Think it's clear that it's not common practice, and is unlikely to be, for the reasons above.

7) By the way, there are bag limits on these things down here, which may have been exceeded once::) when the last drop may have yielded a couple more than the Gov might have liked us to have. No point putting them back, they'd be seal and seagull tucker.

Anyway, I'm not telling you or anyone else how to fish. Suit yourself, have fun. I always do.

JigsI wont knock qanybody for taking bag limits out there.If your law states you can fish that way then so be it.
The only thing I have a problem with is that seals and birds have to eat also,I have a problem taking more than your than your limit put them in the water seals,birds and other fish will feed on them.
Cheers Steve

hungry6
04-09-2007, 05:46 PM
Any trip to the shelf is generally a $1000 Plus prospect depending on boat size and the crew numbers. You can buy alot of fish for $1000, and unless you have fished the shelf before, please don't make any harsh judgement of the way lines are set.. As long as it's legal I can't see a problem. The methods of JnR and Mick aren't that uncommon amongst shelf fisho. Some ppls like to test their stamina by doing single hook drop with 1lb lead. After 2 drops the mind start to wander as to a more effective way of doing it.
It's probably worst to upsize a fish when ppls have bagged out on a reef, than what these fellas are doing.
You often find the people who heads of to the shelf has some sort of attraction to the DEEP blue yonder more so than catching enormous amount of fish.
You have a better chance of spotting Elvis than another boat out unless it was with your convoy.

hondaguy
04-09-2007, 08:14 PM
Good to see a report of a different fishing style. At least not everyone on this site is caffine addict using 2lb braid throwing a used franger after bream from their 150hp ski boat just to throw it back. Show me more, I find it interesting and the dediction of a few fisherman put into their fishing style. Nothing wrong with keeping a legal feed of fish.

Reef_fisher
04-09-2007, 08:40 PM
hondaguy, LMAO, couldn't agree more.

snelly1971
04-09-2007, 10:07 PM
Hope to be heading out this weekend...so if we get something worth posting then i will put up a few Pics....

Cheers Mick

04-09-2007, 11:44 PM
Sorry .... Free floating drop lines x 4 (per boat) with 30 hooks each .... just doesn't quite cut it for me:'( Regardless of what the state law allows ..... I'm ecstatic that it is an illegal practice in NSW8-) ...... Nagg
PS ..... For the record ... I've fished Browns Mnt on a couple occasions for blue eye , Gem fish & other ooglies (with 37kg dacron on a 80 stand up outfit ..... & 2 Hooks)....just to do something different:huh:

hondaguy
05-09-2007, 07:00 AM
How about a report on using the stand up gear nagg. I would find that an interesting report as well. I know I personally would not know where to start that sort of fishing stlye. Please just don't put in there you use a nuclear chicken franger with 13/64 ounce jighead with 4lb braid in this style of fishing. None mainstream fishing styles interest me the most. Thanks

05-09-2007, 08:24 AM
hhmm I must fit somewhere in between here, I use a cord line and big weights and "handline" for Blue eye and stuff (in NSW) but I still only use the number of hooks allowed (maybe if we could have 20 I would) I reckon the handline system is a thousand times easier than rod and reel, (did that for many years) but it comes down to the simple fact that if it is OK to do it in your state then it is OK!! like (say) cast nets in QLD, lots of states have differing laws, but the bag limit should take care of over fishing, and all states have some sort of bag limits.

mikeyh
05-09-2007, 01:36 PM
Really excellent thread :) :) - I'm with the others who are interested to hear about a completely different style of fishing.......certainly something I didnt even know existed....would love to see it but I would be one of the poor fellows jigsnreels talks about...a green mess on the bottom of the boat. Do you ever see sunfish or whales/orcas?

mikeyh
05-09-2007, 03:39 PM
Nagg,
forgot to ask...who the hell spears on scuba? I would hardly call it a common practice these days...in fact not for over 30 years. It was legal in WA (and maybe still is) but it sure isnt in any of the Eastern states. I have dived over a lot (but not all) of Aust in the last 15 years and never met anyone who would even consider it, legal or not.

In terms of amateur impacts which is more sustainable?? Is a fishery like tailor more sustainable when you have hundreds (thousands over a season)of people on a Fraser & Moreton Island beaches taking their bag limits daily when the tailor are on as opposed to these deep water amateurs (with small boats) who in their own words get out a few times a year and hopefully catch a good feed. These guys from the sound of things are in the middle of bloody nowhere with nary another boat in sight - what kind of impact is that? If they were doing it everyday it would be a different story

madjewiefisher
05-09-2007, 05:40 PM
I must say my simple thread turned out to be a contraversial one
Thanks to everyone who helped.
Ill see what I can come up with next to get people to enjoy.
To those who fish all types and areas please fish safe as we lost another fisho to the rocks the other day.
To all fish the way you enjoy and please adhere to bag limits everywhere as theese limits are put there to sustain our fishing future and our kids, limits are there for a reason.
Again thanks to all myself and others have enjoyed your comments.

Creers Steve.

Tight lines all

hondaguy
05-09-2007, 05:47 PM
spearing on scuba is still legal in WA but mainly used to catch crays in their holes. Anybody that scuba dives would not get many fish with spear as the fish are wary of the air bubbles expelled. Freediving (no air tanks) you get closer and the fish will come to you as they are curious. Spearfishing is more about the hunt and discipline to control your breathing and fitness than the actual spearing of the fish.

mikeyh
05-09-2007, 09:29 PM
Hey Hondaguy,
thanks for the heads up about WA. On the freediving side I regularly go out with spearos - although I dont spear but fish and scuba (not at same time). 2 of my closest friends are ex& current aus champions.....both get amazing captures and have dived to 40m breathhold...talk about breathing and fitness ;D

snelly1971
05-09-2007, 09:51 PM
Maybe Nagg should goin Green Peace and go down to Antartica and protect the Whales...and leave us LAW abiding citizens alone...

snelly1971
05-09-2007, 09:58 PM
Here is a good link for Electric reels

www.swingcast.com/

Alvey Deck winches are ok...just not my prefered method....

You can even use say...Tyrnos 30...with a 15-24 kg rod...80 lb braid and a 16 0z sinker...but it just makes really hard work of retrieveing fish from depths over 100 fathom..

Most electric reels retrieve at around 70 fathom a minute...

Even checking your bait at 70 fathom+ is a chore after awhile...so that is why i am now selling off my overhead reels and going the 12volt way...

Cheers Mick

PS....Once your are out in the deeper water...I personally think that things such as Glow beads...Sticks...ect...become a must...

06-09-2007, 08:56 AM
On my lines I have found that a longish length of "glow tube" works much better than beads, not too sure if it looks like a worm thing or something, but it certainly works better, and I also find that the Green/Yellow works heaps better than the Red Glow.

mikeyh
06-09-2007, 10:36 AM
Hey Snelly, Noelm, jigsnreels,
forgot to ask.....do you feel bites in that depth or just pull the line up and see what is there

06-09-2007, 10:54 AM
if you are using Braid or Cord and you get a good fish, you will feel it! don't worry about that, if you get a REALLY good fish, you will get a 'run" kind of exciting when you have K of cord out with a few KG's of lead on it and you have to "hang on" Blue Eye especially I think bite really hard, kind of like a Snapper or something, they seem to grab it a shake their head/body or something.

jigsnreels
06-09-2007, 11:28 AM
As Noelm said, no problemfeeling bites if you're using braid, even in 1500'. Yep, we see the very occasional sunfish and orca.

Some guys were droplining out from St Helens and their winch suddenly went berserk as they were winding it up. Really berserk. Couldn't put a hand near it, the winch handle would have taken it off. 700lb mono zipping off. A moment later, theysaw what they'd hooked,:D:D:D

a freakin' orca, all 7 metres and 7 tons of the thing. It had grabbed a blueye off the line. Exciting times for them. Luckily, it got off.

Good tips there re the glowsticks, haven't worried about them but will give them a go

Jigs

snelly1971
06-09-2007, 02:28 PM
A good source of beads...lumo tube...and little flashing light ect is Wellseys Tackle..

mikeyh
06-09-2007, 09:24 PM
Thanks guys
Top story about the orca;D ;D - bloody amazing....just as well it got off and didnt tow your boat under:o Also amazed you can feel the "bites" in that depth even with no stretch in the line

cheers, MIke

06-09-2007, 10:25 PM
:'(
Maybe Nagg should goin Green Peace and go down to Antartica and protect the Whales...and leave us LAW abiding citizens alone...

Mick ... Why is it when someone expresses an opinion that differs from some that they get labeled (Greenie or whatever) ....... Personally I think the TAS LAW is an Ass ..... Regardless of the legality or not! ...... Many legal fishing practices have nearly wiped out many species in the mainland states:-[ Professionals could use floating king fish traps ........ While totally legal ..... It virtually lead to the situation where you could not catch as an armature a legal size kingie. Then since the traps have become banned the fishery has improved 10 fold.8-)
The NT have managed their Barra fishery exceptionally well ...... & hence the fishery is healthy ..... compare it to the Qld wild barra fishery .... & it is a different kettle of fish ...... but it is improving since the laws changed:)
........ So as you can see ..... I'm not a tree hugging greenie ..... more like a concerned fisho who can see what can happens without decent sustainable practices ....... :'( & 120 hooks attached to floating drop lines is not one of them!(30 hooks x 4 / boat) .... I bet those people that used to take all of those big snapper out of PPB during the 60s & 70s would love to have changed their practices ...... Nagg

PS ..... How is the Bluefin Tuna fishery off Tasmania these days :thumbsdown: :clown: :end: :hanged: Hey a legal practice ! :bath:

PPS ..... & I dont accept some other arguments that because of the difficulties in fishing the area (weather , distance , population etc) will act as a circuit breaker ...... Lord Howe Island would be a pretty good comparison ..... & the fishery while still good (& well maintained) has declined over the last 20-30 years

onerabbit
07-09-2007, 01:50 PM
Dont let it get to you Nagg,

it's pretty obvious that some cant see the difference between sport, fishing & butcher work, but if that's what Tassie's powers that be have decided is a fair thing.................so be it.

Leave them to it, after all it's their fishery.

07-09-2007, 10:15 PM

it's pretty obvious that some cant see the difference between sport, fishing & butcher work, but if that's what Tassie's powers that be have decided is a fair thing.................so be it.

Muzz ..... Its not that it gets to me as such! ..... Its more the naivety that they are somehow protected / oblivious to the whole thing ......... But then again ... they see no problem with cutting down old growth forests .... or damming up wilderness regions:clown: ...... I guess when you have such a good thing on tap ..... you abuse it! ..... Nagg

07-09-2007, 10:22 PM

Muzz .... Part of my feelings lie in that .... I wanted to go & fish PNG (New Britain) for black bass ....... In 15 years it went from an untouched wilderness fishery .... To a pile of crap ................... all because government bureaucrats allowed it >:( ..... Nagg

snelly1971
09-09-2007, 01:14 PM

The real BIG difference between us is location and population....A day on the water up your way ...you might see 200 boats....I am lucky to see a boat offshore....and if you`s guys compared actual fishing days....(All due to weather conditions)...then I think you would see why our fisheries is going strong...with no need to change or reduce hooks/ or bag limits....

Nagg...as for the Tuna Industry...they recently had an episode on hook line and sinker where they were out on charter boats off Pedra Blanca and I all hear is good numbers Being recorded in size and Quantity...

So Getting back to the numbers Game...If Boaters up north can get out 10 times a month compared to our TWO times then who is taking the more fish do you think...

Occasionally here we have months...yes...months where we cannot even venture outside the harbour...hence why our rec...and commercial fisheries are so strong...

snelly1971
09-09-2007, 01:16 PM
PS....And another point which also affects Bag Limits/ Hook Limits would have to be the Population....

09-09-2007, 07:40 PM
PS....And another point which also affects Bag Limits/ Hook Limits would have to be the Population....

Hey Mick

We all know there are only a few hundred thousand bodies in tassie, but there are double the heads!!;) And this means double the mouths to feed!!!;D I would use fifty hook droppers if my kids had 2 mouths!!;) They keep the fridge bare atm with one mouth:-[

snelly1971
09-09-2007, 09:18 PM
Here is a few pics of what can be caught down here....These fish were caught on Friday and Saturday...

PS...Notice The electric Reels ;D;D;D

snelly1971
09-09-2007, 09:19 PM
Hey Mick

We all know there are only a few hundred thousand bodies in tassie, but there are double the heads!!;) And this means double the mouths to feed!!!;D I would use fifty hook droppers if my kids had 2 mouths!!;) They keep the fridge bare atm with one mouth:-[

Good Point Ian...:P:P Two heads are better than One:P

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 12:12 AM
:'(
Mick ... Why is it when someone expresses an opinion that differs from some that they get labeled (Greenie or whatever) ....... Personally I think the TAS LAW is an Ass ..... Regardless of the legality or not! ...... Many legal fishing practices have nearly wiped out many species in the mainland states:-[ Professionals could use floating king fish traps ........ While totally legal ..... It virtually lead to the situation where you could not catch as an armature a legal size kingie. Then since the traps have become banned the fishery has improved 10 fold.8-)
The NT have managed their Barra fishery exceptionally well ...... & hence the fishery is healthy ..... compare it to the Qld wild barra fishery .... & it is a different kettle of fish ...... but it is improving since the laws changed:)
........ So as you can see ..... I'm not a tree hugging greenie ..... more like a concerned fisho who can see what can happens without decent sustainable practices ....... :'( & 120 hooks attached to floating drop lines is not one of them!(30 hooks x 4 / boat) .... I bet those people that used to take all of those big snapper out of PPB during the 60s & 70s would love to have changed their practices ...... Nagg

PS ..... How is the Bluefin Tuna fishery off Tasmania these days :thumbsdown: :clown: :end: :hanged: Hey a legal practice ! :bath:

PPS ..... & I dont accept some other arguments that because of the difficulties in fishing the area (weather , distance , population etc) will act as a circuit breaker ...... Lord Howe Island would be a pretty good comparison ..... & the fishery while still good (& well maintained) has declined over the last 20-30 years

Well maybe Nagg you should get out of that little BUBBLE you live in and come down to Tassies West Coast....I dont see how you can comment on the weather conditions here when you have never fished here....Why is it here that the commercial fisheries are so strong..????....Because NAGG...even they cant fish it a lot due to the conditions...

And this point of 30 hooks and 4 lines per boat...WHO CARES...There are bag limits...and the limits here are 2 YES 2 do you get it.....2 Blue Eye per boat per person...

Nagg...Are you that niave...that you think by setting 30 hooks then you are going to catch 30 fish..????...

Bag Limits...yes...they are there to manage the fisheries...I am all for BAG LIMITS and i obey them at all times....but to have some one winge about me going out 20 to 30 NM to set a couple of drop lines ..:-X:-X

Thats Just what i dont get.....I occasionally get out due to weather conditions...:o:o:o But still get frowned upon ...even though i am obeying all laws and BAG limits.....

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 12:17 AM
Muzz ..... Its not that it gets to me as such! ..... Its more the naivety that they are somehow protected / oblivious to the whole thing ......... But then again ... they see no problem with cutting down old growth forests .... or damming up wilderness regions:clown: ...... I guess when you have such a good thing on tap ..... you abuse it! ..... Nagg

Abuse it...>:(>:(>:(....Well Nagg...compare our fisheries....Need I say no MORE.:P:P:P

10-09-2007, 07:35 AM
Abuse it...>:(>:(>:(....Well Nagg...compare our fisheries....Need I say no MORE.:P:P:P

AND :lost: That is exactly what I'm talking about ......... Having sustainable practices while you have something to sustain ....... not after you've decimated the fishery::) NSW had an awesome (Kingfish & Tuna fishery ... 20-30 years ago & Qld a great wild Barra fishery ...... Now we have in place strict regulations to try to get some recovery:hammer: but it will never be the same)...... Cheers .... Nagg

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 03:28 PM
AND :lost: That is exactly what I'm talking about ......... Having sustainable practices while you have something to sustain ....... not after you've decimated the fishery::) NSW had an awesome (Kingfish & Tuna fishery ... 20-30 years ago & Qld a great wild Barra fishery ...... Now we have in place strict regulations to try to get some recovery:hammer: but it will never be the same)...... Cheers .... Nagg

The situation in which NSW and QLD fisheries face would have nothing to do with the amount of boaters on the water now would it NAGG...Go back 20 to 30 years and compare the amount of rec boaters there are now....MORE people catch more Fish...its no rocket science...That is the point i keep trying to get across but you just keep picking little things without fully answering all the statements i have made....EG...Fishing days due to weather conditions/ and population ....

If i was to go out 30 nm and catch 2 blue eye on a rod...you would have no problem...but if i set 30 hooks and bring home 2 blue eye then you have a winge...This does not make sense to me...

Why do you think that commercial Crab fisherman ect are allowed to use more gear these days in Tassie...Because it is all Quoted...Once they have caught there quota then they stay home...so it does not matter if they catch 5 tonn of crays in 50 pots or 100 pots...once they are caught then they are finished...just makes it more cost effective to use more gear..

Ammature Cray fisherman are the same ...4 cray rings per person plus 1 pot...5 crays is the daily bag limit...10 in possesion....so it is the same thing....

I dont hear you winge about the trawlers catching hundreds of tonns of fish then dump them because they have no quote for that specie....so get on a real cause and complain about something that is really damaging our fisheries..

onerabbit
10-09-2007, 07:46 PM
Snelly,

I'm really surprised at the attitude you have given Nagg,
before this thread I have given you space on your use of electric reels, you are one of the few who can justify the use of them ( I have stated that in other threads)..............I also held you as a respected member.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/image.php?u=29181&dateline=1187149566 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=29181)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/_postbitspacer.gif

Re: bottom bouncing the shelf
Here is a few pics of what can be caught down here....These fish were caught on Friday and Saturday...

But now you seem proud of it ????????? Are you trying to rub our noses in it??????????

If you choose to call winching fish up in the way described fishing, well good onya,
but the excuses that you use dont really cut it, As JNR quite happily said, you are "gathering", butcher work in short .

I can understand also your comment on the weather controlling your "gathering",
ok, so you cant get there that much...................................still looks like a fish kill, more than fishing.

I guess we have to accept that what you do is within "the law",.....but it's not fishin'.

Open to comment,

onerabbit
10-09-2007, 07:55 PM
By the way, we have been 23 NM out & caught bugger all & still come home happy.

10-09-2007, 08:28 PM
The situation in which NSW and QLD fisheries face would have nothing to do with the amount of boaters on the water now would it NAGG...Go back 20 to 30 years and compare the amount of rec boaters there are now....MORE people catch more Fish...its no rocket science...That is the point i keep trying to get across but you just keep picking little things without fully answering all the statements i have made....EG...Fishing days due to weather conditions/ and population ....

If i was to go out 30 nm and catch 2 blue eye on a rod...you would have no problem...but if i set 30 hooks and bring home 2 blue eye then you have a winge...This does not make sense to me...

Why do you think that commercial Crab fisherman ect are allowed to use more gear these days in Tassie...Because it is all Quoted...Once they have caught there quota then they stay home...so it does not matter if they catch 5 tonn of crays in 50 pots or 100 pots...once they are caught then they are finished...just makes it more cost effective to use more gear..

Ammature Cray fisherman are the same ...4 cray rings per person plus 1 pot...5 crays is the daily bag limit...10 in possesion....so it is the same thing....

I dont hear you winge about the trawlers catching hundreds of tonns of fish then dump them because they have no quote for that specie....so get on a real cause and complain about something that is really damaging our fisheries..

Mick .... I tried to cite examples that showed little or no pressure (compared to the Eastern seaboard) ..... a couple of days ago I mentioned Lord Howe Island & New Britain (PNG) ...but you chose to ignore what I said! ... so be it ......... Being a travelling fisho .... I see or hear about the results ...... & the status quo can change in a blink of an eye :o The amount of hooks (well if you dont target more than a couple of fish ... why would you use 30 x 4 ? ..... just like I use a 6 hook bait jig to catch more bait ... & quickly:P (Free floating drop lines :'( ) ..... Anyhow lets just agree to disagree with each other & leave it at that ... otherwise we just go back & forth ..... Cheers .... Nagg
PS .... PROS ..... Dont start me on them ! ..... :evil3: :thumbsdown: :alien: :end: :veryangry: :jester: ..... The majority just think of how much money they can put in their pocket ... NOW!

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 08:34 PM
Snelly,

I'm really surprised at the attitude you have given Nagg,
before this thread I have given you space on your use of electric reels, you are one of the few who can justify the use of them ( I have stated that in other threads)..............I also held you as a respected member.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/image.php?u=29181&dateline=1187149566 (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/member.php?u=29181)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/_postbitspacer.gif

Re: bottom bouncing the shelf

But now you seem proud of it ????????? Are you trying to rub our noses in it??????????

If you choose to call winching fish up in the way described fishing, well good onya,
but the excuses that you use dont really cut it, As JNR quite happily said, you are "gathering", butcher work in short .

I can understand also your comment on the weather controlling your "gathering",
ok, so you cant get there that much...................................still looks like a fish kill, more than fishing.

I guess we have to accept that what you do is within "the law",.....but it's not fishin'.

Open to comment,

No i was not trying to rub anyones nose in anything thing...this thread was started about deep sea fishing...I was only trying to show how we fish down here in the deep water..whether you agree or not with the way we fish isup to you...But ...but the post was about techniques for fishing deep water...I Got my nose out of joint with Nagg...because I was made feel as though i was doing something wrong....I obey Bag limits...I dont get out alot....So what is the problem...

Have you`s ever used and electric reel...or deck winch..????...Might suprise you how much fun it is...especially when there are 4 people using them in the one boat....

Most of the people fishing with me are over the age of 55...so in respect to them....they cannot handle the hard work by winding a Blue Eye up out of 200 + Fathom...

Netting...Diving....probably have the worst impact on fisheries...But i see this doesnt even get mentioned....even though they are legal here...

If Nagg wants to have his say FINE....but when he picks problems in the way i Fish ...STILL Fine.....But have the respect to answer the questions in which i reply...not just take snippits out and Winge...

It started out on deep sea fishing and ended up with Statments Like.....Cutting down old groth forests..ect....What has that got to do with this..!!!!

We might not see eye to eye on this and i respect your opinion...but just maybe i know a little bit more about the fisheries...the conditions...ect than those who are judging us so harshly.....

Nagg....Stated that he does not ..and will not take into account...Weather condition...population...ect.....well need i say anymore...

Tasmanias Fisheries are going strong....TUNA numbers were mentioned.... Nagg should get his facts right before opening his mouth...This year has been the best year for Blue Fin in Tassie..and is the first year that they have been caught in great numbers here on the West Coast...I know Blaze will Back me up about this...

We have been judged on catching a feed of Blue Eye..2 Each...if we catch 2 each...but Nagg would not even respond to the damage in what the trawlers do....1 trawler would do more damage than all the rec fisherman put together....

And my main point is the conditions here and boat numbers....Honestly...there would not be another Rec boat offshore here...we sort of pioneered it here...I do believe you`s just dont understand what kind of conditions we get here..and to make comments on would not be just....

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 09:04 PM
PS..Muzz...I was just reading an old thread started by you about 1 KW transducers....and see that another mate of Mine....High profile member made a remark about drop lining over the shelf in his response to you .....any reason why you didnt pull him up for being a butcher...

10-09-2007, 09:57 PM
No i was not trying to rub anyones nose in anything thing...this thread was started about deep sea fishing...I was only trying to show how we fish down here in the deep water..whether you agree or not with the way we fish isup to you...But ...but the post was about techniques for fishing deep water...I Got my nose out of joint with Nagg...because I was made feel as though i was doing something wrong....I obey Bag limits...I dont get out alot....So what is the problem...

Have you`s ever used and electric reel...or deck winch..????...Might suprise you how much fun it is...especially when there are 4 people using them in the one boat....

Most of the people fishing with me are over the age of 55...so in respect to them....they cannot handle the hard work by winding a Blue Eye up out of 200 + Fathom...

Netting...Diving....probably have the worst impact on fisheries...But i see this doesnt even get mentioned....even though they are legal here...

If Nagg wants to have his say FINE....but when he picks problems in the way i Fish ...STILL Fine.....But have the respect to answer the questions in which i reply...not just take snippits out and Winge...

It started out on deep sea fishing and ended up with Statments Like.....Cutting down old groth forests..ect....What has that got to do with this..!!!!

We might not see eye to eye on this and i respect your opinion...but just maybe i know a little bit more about the fisheries...the conditions...ect than those who are judging us so harshly.....

Nagg....Stated that he does not ..and will not take into account...Weather condition...population...ect.....well need i say anymore...

Tasmanias Fisheries are going strong....TUNA numbers were mentioned.... Nagg should get his facts right before opening his mouth...This year has been the best year for Blue Fin in Tassie..and is the first year that they have been caught in great numbers here on the West Coast...I know Blaze will Back me up about this...

We have been judged on catching a feed of Blue Eye..2 Each...if we catch 2 each...but Nagg would not even respond to the damage in what the trawlers do....1 trawler would do more damage than all the rec fisherman put together....

And my main point is the conditions here and boat numbers....Honestly...there would not be another Rec boat offshore here...we sort of pioneered it here...I do believe you`s just dont understand what kind of conditions we get here..and to make comments on would not be just....

Mick .... My response re PROs (referring to Trawlers) was in while you were bagging me ..... unfortunate timing!

No Mick .... I cant see how you justify the techniques because of weather , population etc ..... You have fished more than me over the last week ! ( I couldn't get out because of the weather) ..... What stops you from fishing inshore ? ... Nothing I reckon ::) Just like I could have fished up a local river over the past 3 weeks ;) ...... In the past , When conditions allowed .... I too would go out wide .. but to chase YFT ... 30NM off shore in a 18 ft CC ..... but it did not give me any special rights (not that I'm saying that you do anything that is illegal) .... My gripe is with the fishing practises & the TAS regulations that allow it! ....... So it really isn't anything personally aimed at you! ....... However please dont think that Tasmania will be free of the pressures .... either recreation ally or professionally in the years to come ! ..... Remoteness & lack of population .... did not isolate FNQ , PNG , Lord Howe Island or the NT in the past !!!! ....... Finally ... My mention of OLD GROWTH Forests ..... was done for the attitude shown ( No dramas down here mate!! .... the weather is lousy & there are only a few of us.... so we will cut down any/ every tree that we can ;) .... as long as its within the Regs) ...... Can you see where I'm sought of coming from ??? ..... Cheers .. Nagg.
PS ...... There are probably many fishing practices that I dont agree with ..... But the thread mentioned DROP LINES that allow 30 hooks & you can have 4 of them ...... & you can just let them float around the ocean & pick them up at your leisure ...... but hey its legal in TAS (but not in NSW;D )
PPS .... You might have had the best Tuna fishing for years ..... but its easy when bugger all was caught over the previous years;) (TAS / VIC & SA) was home to regular catches of 100kg + BFT) .... Its funny but I heard the same comments about last years YFT fishing off NSW ...:-/ ... Only because SFA has been taken over the last 10! ........ SMILE:)

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 10:32 PM
Fish Inshore...Yeah lovely.....5 - 8 meters swells...that would be lovely...as for fishing the harbor....Well i have worked with Salmon and trout for over ten years on fish farms and the thought of catching them is boring to me...That is the really the only specie to be caught in the harbor...so offshore fishing is the way i go....

Drop lining....casting a bait net...graball netting...diving....Setting a crab/ or cray pot...what is the difference...they are all types of fishing ...we may differ on opinions....but as long as they are legal...and bag limits are aheard to then i have no problems with any of them being practiced...

There are greater threats to our fisheries ...as i have mentioned....

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 10:41 PM
As for the Tuna....there never has been a Blue Fin tuna that anyone knows of being caught on the west coast of Tassie...They were caught and seen in great numbers...all the way along the west coast....

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 11:14 PM
PS...MUZZ..i also forgot to mention that we have a real problem with fish thieves here...(seals)...they are here in plague proportions and to get a fish from 70 + fathom up to the boat is most of the time impossible...Hence the electric reels..this gives us a distinct advantage in landing fish...Without the electric reels we would be lucky to land a fish somedays....

If anyone caught the episode recently on hook line and sinka at Pedra Blanca when they were catching massive blue fin tuna...then they will know what i mean about seals in plague numbers...

10-09-2007, 11:28 PM
As for the Tuna....there never has been a Blue Fin tuna that anyone knows of being caught on the west coast of Tassie...They were caught and seen in great numbers...all the way along the west coast....

Now ... In English ;)

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 11:33 PM
Nagg...No one has ever caught a Blue Fin Tuna on the west coast of Tassie down our way...am i going to fast for you.....this year there was heaps caught...and local commercial fisherman seen schools of them...boiling...and i know ...by talking to Blaze that they were being caught up his way as well in great numbers....which is another spot not reconised for Blue Fin....

10-09-2007, 11:34 PM
Mick ..... you talk about Seals .......... Try fishing the NE corner of Montague Island with live bait for Kings ......:'( Loose all your livebaits & worst still ... any fish hooked! ....... but still good fun:P ..... actually how come the buggers never get hooked up:-/ .... Nagg

snelly1971
10-09-2007, 11:47 PM
:-X:-X:-X After all that has been said in this Thread..:-X:-X:-X:-X

I wont even reply to seals getting hooked up:P:P

onerabbit
11-09-2007, 12:05 AM
Snelly,

where we go, we dont EVER see another boat either, not too many have the balls .............................

My posts were not to start an arguement either.

I was shocked to learn this type of fishing was LEGAL anywhere in our fine country.

I have never used a winch of any kind, I just cant imagine it being fun.

Mate, if you want your kids will be able to do the same that you do now, it may well be time to re-evaluate your fishing methods,
when I was a kid, there was no end of fish to catch, but now..........................

Dont let it happen to your kids too,

snelly1971
11-09-2007, 12:33 AM
Snelly,

where we go, we dont EVER see another boat either, not too many have the balls .............................

I was shocked to learn this type of fishing was LEGAL anywhere in our fine country.

Mate, if you want your kids will be able to do the same that you do now, it may well be time to re-evaluate your fishing methods,
when I was a kid, there was no end of fish to catch, but now..........................

Sorry Muzz....I am going to let this Post Die....We differ in opinions...And i am fine with that....

I dont see the harm in catching 2 Blue Eye..whether it be on a normal overhead rod/reel....electric reel...Hand line...or on a drop line...

No different to catching 5 crayfish in either...pots/rings or diving...there are just different methods....and what it all come down to is Bag Limits....I obey them....and thats what really counts in my book...

I probably get the chance to do it twice a year....and as i have stated...there are no other boats offshore here...

Cheers Mick

11-09-2007, 06:02 AM
Tuna have been caught on the west coast of tassie, Late in the season I got 2. Only small ones 15 and 20kgs, on the day we boated 4 and lost one at the gaff.
Image fishing this coastline, its wild and unforgiven. Go out in a flat sea and if it gets above 3 metres you cant get back in. So if you get the chance to fish it you need to maximise your opitunities.
Nothing wrong with the way Mick fishes with a drop line or electric whinch either. Maybe we have managed our fisheries better in tassie than any other state which still allows us to fish these methods or is it the fact that our weather is so rough and unpredictable that our fish stocks are preserved, either way its a healthy fisheries. Tell me any other state where you can catch 30 to 50 flathead an hour and if you wanted you could do it all day. If its legal its fine by me

11-09-2007, 06:07 AM
Snelly,

Hi Muzz
If any thing, our fisheries in Tassie has improve in the last 10 years. You relise of course that we dont allow any netting in our eustaries of any sort, we look after our breeding grounds, maybe its time other states had a look at the tassie way.

11-09-2007, 10:08 AM
Snelly,

Muzz ..... Let em be ! ..... Its clear that if they are catching fish there is obviously nothing wrong with the fishery (In their opinion) ...... Nor will there be in the future:zzz: ....... Nagg
PS ...... If the fishery is so healthy .... why would you need 120 hooks (as the regs allow;) )

snelly1971
11-09-2007, 11:27 AM
Muzz ..... Let em be ! ..... Its clear that if they are catching fish there is obviously nothing wrong with the fishery (In their opinion) ...... Nor will there be in the future:zzz: ....... Nagg
PS ...... If the fishery is so healthy .... why would you need 120 hooks (as the regs allow;) )

You dont need 120 Hooks...You are taking things out of context Nagg...Each person is allowed 30 hooks each...max of 4 lines per boat...which does equal 120 hooks....But I never mentioned on this thread that i use 120 hooks....

11-09-2007, 12:34 PM

Dont worry about Nagg , he lost this arguement about 4 pages ago, but he's to pedantic to admit it!!

Your abiding by the bag limits , what does it matter how many hooks you use!! I notice Nagg also had a little chip at the pro fisho's, well they follow the rules as well, and pay big bucks for the privalage, why pick on them? Nagg if you dont like the rules in tassie why dont you address your complaints to the tasmanian government after all they make the rules!!! And leave the little bloke to fish how he likes, as long as he's following the guidelines and not wasting what he catches , it all sweet imho!!

Hey Muzz

It's abit hard to compare the waters off the west coast of Tassie to those of the East coast of Australia, Our weather patterns are fairly stable as were protected by the continent unlike the tassie guys also almost all the east coast of the mainland is easily accessable to many more fishos than tassie that has heaps of virtually unaccessable areas ( unless you have a large very safe boat) and very feww fishable days a year, add to this a low population, i think there fishery is quite safe!! You can't compare to nsw as Nagg tried to do!! Still keen to get down your way one day!!

snelly1971
11-09-2007, 12:45 PM

Dont worry about Nagg , he lost this arguement about 4 pages ago, but he's to pedantic to admit it!!

Your abiding by the bag limits , what does it matter how many hooks you use!! I notice Nagg also had a little chip at the pro fisho's, well they follow the rules as well, and pay big bucks for the privalage, why pick on them? Nagg if you dont like the rules in tassie why dont you address your complaints to the tasmanian government after all they make the rules!!! And leave the little bloke to fish how he likes, as long as he's following the guidelines and not wasting what he catches , it all sweet imho!!

Hey Muzz

It's abit hard to compare the waters off the west coast of Tassie to those of the East coast of Australia, Our weather patterns are fairly stable as were protected by the continent unlike the tassie guys also almost all the east coast of the mainland is easily accessable to many more fishos than tassie that has heaps of virtually unaccessable areas ( unless you have a large very safe boat) and very feww fishable days a year, add to this a low population, i think there fishery is quite safe!! You can't compare to nsw as Nagg tried to do!! Still keen to get down your way one day!!

Thanks Ian....At least someone on here can see th big picture....I dont have a problem with Nagg...Its is just when people shoot there MOUTH off about things that they dont fully understand...I have never fished up your way...so I would dare not to try and tell you`s how to manage or fish your area....

I was accused of Butchering...which got my back up....

And I did sort of refer to Nagg as a Greenie...but ....the way in which he has expressed his opinion...then no wonder.....

Ian....Isnt it strange that there are no Marine Reserves here on the West Coast of Tassie...except for Port Davey.....I know the Gov Fisheries monitor it here alot....so maybe they just might think that because of our adverse weather cond then our fisheries are substainable....and as Blaze Stated....Ours have actually picked up ...due to Quota`s being introduced....

Nagg should put in for a job with the Gov Fisheries...he seems to know alot about our State....Even though he has not fished down our Way...Hmmmm...Strange thing That....

Enough Said...

snelly1971
11-09-2007, 12:48 PM
PS...Ian ....You are welcome anytime to come down fishing...so are any other Ausfish Members....I welcome anyone to give me a call ....I would be more than happy to take them fishing..

I just hope that when you`s do finally come down that i dont offend fellow Ausfishers with my fishing Practices...

husserhunter
11-09-2007, 02:06 PM
now now boys play nice! lol

rob tranter
11-09-2007, 02:17 PM
PS...Ian ....You are welcome anytime to come down fishing...so are any other Ausfish Members....I welcome anyone to give me a call ....I would be more than happy to take them fishing..

I just hope that when you`s do finally come down that i dont offend fellow Ausfishers with my fishing Practices...

Hi Mick hows it hanging,
Just started reading this, and although I,ve only read this page i can't help myself.;D

Why not invite him down to that Beautiful river that Grand marlin fished when we were down enjoying you and your lovely brides hospitality:D

Hope you've been able to get out mate, is it starting to warm up yet?::)

Not long and the Cray's should be on, is that right, you lucky b@$t@rd.;)

You keep on looking after that Great part of Aus Mick I will be back. And when I am I hope the weather is good to us.
And the only offence is that when you do get out, I'm not out with you, catching
great fish.

Cheers Mate, and say hi to the Family, have you started to expand on that?
Rob8-)

snelly1971
11-09-2007, 02:33 PM
Hi Mick hows it hanging,
Just started reading this, and although I,ve only read this page i can't help myself.;D

Why not invite him down to that Beautiful river that Grand marlin fished when we were down enjoying you and your lovely brides hospitality:D

Hope you've been able to get out mate, is it starting to warm up yet?::)

Not long and the Cray's should be on, is that right, you lucky b@$t@rd.;)

You keep on looking after that Great part of Aus Mick I will be back. And when I am I hope the weather is good to us.
And the only offence is that when you do get out, I'm not out with you, catching
great fish.

Cheers Mate, and say hi to the Family, have you started to expand on that?
Rob8-)

You will be impressed with the new boat when you come back Rob.....No I havent staretd on the family ext yet....net year....I have a few toys to buy yet...:P:P:PPot hauler...generator...sounder...hehe...the list goes on...

Dont even mention about the river which Pete Fished...Nagg...would have a nervous Break down if he seen that...

11-09-2007, 03:30 PM
lol at rob

11-09-2007, 06:20 PM
Mick .... Please dont refer to me as a greenie ... or even imply it ! ..... You have no idea of what I'm about! ........ :-X Yet without any surprise you are very selective with what you want to comment about! & as for others that support the practices of Tas .... Well! ... Please explain at what point I lost the argument .... As far as I'm concerned nobody has convinced me of that, I'm off the mark
While I have no experience with fishing Tasmanian waters , I have fished many remote destinations in our region as previously mentioned ..... Most under a local guide! ..... & the general consensus is that they have a declining fishery (for many reasons)! ..... So at what point are you better off than LORD HOWE ISLAND (incl Elizabeth Reef), THE OUTER BARRIER REEF , MADANG PNG , D'URVILLE R (NZ) ..... ??? ...... these are all isolated / little population / long distances involved etc ..... but they have all declined over recent years.:( :'( :'( Further more there has never been an attack on the uses of electric winches , deck winches etc .....Just the need for 120 hooks ,That free drift around the ocean:P ...... bag limits that are set by local authorities still dont go far enough IMO .....They should include a in possession total ..... that would stop clowns that do or can go out regularly .... bag out ... go in ... unload .... go out again .... bag out .... go again !!! ............. day after day! ...... I know because on many occasions I could have done just that ( 5 x 10kg jewies ... over 7 days ... EACH) ... totally legal ...... BUT IT STINCKS ...... I'm glad that after we had a fair feed .... we let the rest go! .... or another practice is to have the missus & 2 toddlers on board & claim they have 4 fishoes in total ( I saw that argument first hand with a fisheries officer about crabbing>:( ) ....... Now you may just have a better incite to who I am & what I'm about .... Nagg

PS ..... I forgot to mention my gripe with PROs (Trawlers) .... as someone pointed this out! ..... My beef is when you see two local Bermagui boats (quite large) come into port with all of their fish boxes full (both above deck & below) .. while the remaining rear deck area is piled 1M high full of fish (& please spare me ... the just making a living line .... or that the times that they go out & catch bugger all::) ) ...... i'll go on ..... For me the worst part was that of the fish that littered the deck ..... The majority were undersized or barely legal fish ... with the standout being Kingfish , trevally & John Dory which made up a high percentage of the catch:'( ..... Maybe this explains why in 22 years of boat based fishing .... I've never landed a JD & only have seen a hand full caught.:-/ Finally when you go out the following morning & follow a trail of dead fish (predominately toads) but also masses of very small bycatch . :o ..... I dont think this would be an isolated example!
Or when you hear the stories (first hand) from what happens when a longliner shoots their line .... Targeting YFT ..... & they end up with several hundred striped marlin over a weeks fishing:thumbsdown: :end: :cry: ..... Personally I would love to see that the only way fish can be harvested professionally is by rod & reel , handlines & even better Aquaculture (no nets , traps , longlines & drop lines) .... Yes fish prices will go up ..... but hey from what I've seen ... Its expensive already:o ..... So thats my gripe with the pros ...... & by the way ... Since the NSW gov started the buyback of licences over the past 7 years .... It not just a coincidence that the fishing has improved 10 fold (even with increased amature pressure);D 8-)

snelly1971
11-09-2007, 06:55 PM
Mick .... Please dont refer to me as a greenie ... or even imply it ! ..... You have no idea of what I'm about! ........ :-X Yet without any surprise you are very selective with what you want to comment about! & as for others that support the practices of Tas .... Well! ... Please explain at what point I lost the argument .... As far as I'm concerned nobody has convinced me of that, I'm off the mark
While I have no experience with fishing Tasmanian waters , I have fished many remote destinations in our region as previously mentioned ..... Most under a local guide! ..... & the general consensus is that they have a declining fishery (for many reasons)! ..... So at what point are you better off than LORD HOWE ISLAND (incl Elizabeth Reef), THE OUTER BARRIER REEF , MADANG PNG , D'URVILLE R (NZ) ..... ??? ...... these are all isolated / little population / long distances involved etc ..... but they have all declined over recent years.:( :'( :'( Further more there has never been an attack on the uses of electric winches , deck winches etc .....Just the need for 120 hooks ,That free drift around the ocean:P ...... bag limits that are set by local authorities still dont go far enough IMO .....They should include a in possession total ..... that would stop clowns that do or can go out regularly .... bag out ... go in ... unload .... go out again .... bag out .... go again !!! ............. day after day! ...... I know because on many occasions I could have done just that ( 5 x 10kg jewies ... over 7 days ... EACH) ... totally legal ...... BUT IT STINCKS ...... I'm glad that after we had a fair feed .... we let the rest go! .... or another practice is to have the missus & 2 toddlers on board & claim they have 4 fishoes in total ( I saw that argument first hand with a fisheries officer about crabbing>:( ) ....... Now you may just have a better incite to who I am & what I'm about .... Nagg

Well Nagg...that goes both ways...you implied that I am for cutting down all the trees...This to me ....sounds VERY GREEN.....I just want Tassie to have a renewable ....which they seem to have ...forest industry....

Maybe you should stop and think before shooting your mouth off about things that you know nothing about...You have never fished here...been here...or seen how remote...and wild our coastline is...regardless of where you have been...you should not comment on such things...

Our waters down here are regarded as some of the wildest and most dangerous in the world...And this is one of the reasons why our fisheries...as Blaze said...is safe...it cannot be overfished....It is just humanly impossible...But of course...you know best...even though you have never been here...

As for Bag Limits....Use you Brain...The laws are may be different her...

Example...5 crayfish per day....possesion limit is 10...that means you are only allowed 10 ...no more...yes go home and unload...but they can and do raid peoples houses....

And we dont and cant get out alot...I have stated that over and over agin...but you just like to twist things...

As for the so called attack on electric reels/wiches...put your flamin glasses on and read the posts .....

BigE
11-09-2007, 07:09 PM
snelly stop teaseing the greenie it not nice. nice set up you got there. never fished more than 100m, but would love to do the shelf one day. good to hear how its done.

BigE

snelly1971
11-09-2007, 07:11 PM
Here is a link showing Tasmanias Bag and possesion limits for scale fish and sharks....I also mis printed about Blue Eye...Our daily bag limit is 8
www.dpiw.tas.gov.au/inter.nsf/WebPages/HMUY-5TA4EU?open#Scalefish

snelly1971
11-09-2007, 07:13 PM
snelly stop teaseing the greenie it not nice. nice set up you got there. never fished more than 100m, but would love to do the shelf one day. good to hear how its done.

BigE

Come down Big E...I can take you out and show you how to BUTCHER...Fish...

Please leave poor old Nagg alone...he is not a Greenie:P:P:P

Geee...doesnt his Ausfish Name suit Him....sounds like my Misses...Nagg..Nagg...::)::)::)

11-09-2007, 09:28 PM
I think we need to put this in perspective.

What is fishing?

A couple of people have different definitions.

If I fish with a rod and reel ?
If I fishing with a rod and electric reel.

If i fish with a handline and 2 hooks.
If I fish with a handline and 6 hooks (or 20 hooks if the regs and my arm allowed)

If I go and catch crayfish with a pot (just like the pros)
If I go and pry abalone of the rocks with a knife (just like the pros)

As far as I'm concerned I'm enjoying recreational fishing in all of these cases.

As long as recreational fishing regulations are followed then we're all recreational fishing.

NAGG - there's two ways through regulation to ensure the success of the fishery.

1) Keep the biomass of the breeding population above the required level to self sustain - done through bag and size limits as well as restricted fishing zones to ensure breeding.

2) Regulations on gear to ensure only target fish (not juniors) or the correct amount of fish are able to be caught.

It would seem in Tasmania that the offshore fishery regulations feel the current requirements are fine.

As a former West Coast Tasmanian - I think you would have to know the place to understand the pressure (or lack of) that is on this fishery from the recreational sector.

Even as gear and equipment changes the weather curtails even the avid fisherman.

Bugman

PS Nice fish Mick - I'm up for the next run in the new girl.

snelly1971
11-09-2007, 11:36 PM
Your welcome anytime Brett...

Cheers Mick

snelly1971
12-09-2007, 12:32 AM
Interesting Reading Nagg....

The purpose of bag and possession limits is to leave enough mature fish to ensure that the species can continue to breed. Bag limits help to ensure that fishing resources are shared equally among the many users and that the catch is not wasted. Remember only take what you need for a feed.

Although one or two extra or undersized fish does not seem a lot, it is important to remember that there are many fishers out there and, if everyone took one or two, a few would become many. All undersized fish should be carefully returned to the water and given the best possible chance to survive the experience.Scalefish

http://www.dpiw.tas.gov.au/inter.nsf/Images/SSKA-4X79S3/$File/top.gif (http://www.dpiw.tas.gov.au/inter.nsf/WebPages/ALIR-4YAVA8?open#top)Daily bag limits no longer apply and have been replaced by a personal possession limit for each species. Possession limits apply everywhere, including the home.
The overall limit on the number of fish (all species combined) also no longer applies.
Unless otherwise stated, a personal possession limit of 15 fish applies for any species.
You may clean fish at sea. For fish that have been filleted, two fillets are deemed to be the equivalent of one fish. A fillet is defined as a longitudinal section of flesh removed from a fish, not including the head or gut. Proof of purchase is required if you have fish in excess of the possession limit.

A possession limit of two school and gummy shark (combined) applies. You may also have possession of two other shark species (including elephant fish). A boat limit of 5 shark carcasses applies.

The possession of shark fins is prohibited unless the shark trunks or bodies are with them.
Bait species such as anchovy, pilchard, sprat, blue sprat and hardyhead have a combined possession limit of 5kg per person.

Below is a summary of the possession limits. Please note that unless specified a possession limit of 15 fish applies. For more information on individual species see the fish species and information (http://www.dpiw.tas.gov.au/inter.nsf/ThemeNodes/RPIO-4Y94S3?open) pages of this site.

Scalefish

http://www.dpiw.tas.gov.au/inter.nsf/Images/SSKA-4X79S3/$File/top.gif (http://www.dpiw.tas.gov.au/inter.nsf/WebPages/ALIR-4YAVA8?open#top)Daily bag limits no longer apply and have been replaced by a personal possession limit for each species. Possession limits apply everywhere, including the home.

rob tranter
12-09-2007, 07:40 AM
Righto Mick,
You've had a big day here on Ausfish and it's time to say goodnight;D

Je zuzz, don't you sleep?:D

Lets talk about fishing in Sydney Harbour, that sounds more interesting?
Thats right I don't think you can, because of all the mercury or some other chemicals in the Water;)

I've had a look on some maps and was going to put in a DA for a pulp mill in the Sydney Basin, but all the timbers been replaced with Concrete, bricks and Tar, and what timber is left isn't big enough::)
Apparently they have to bring any timber in for more house frames from else where, like the North Coast of NSW and even Tassie (Tassie Oak makes for good Kitchens).

I'm selling up and moving into a cave to do my bit to stop the distruction;)
And I'm giving up eating and breathing to help preserve Oxygen(which some people seem to waste) and to stop the whole sale pillaging of native forest for farm land to grow our food;D

Ok I've had my fun
See you
Rob8-)

snelly1971
12-09-2007, 05:55 PM
LOL....Rob...

Someone with a Big Mouth...seems to have lost his voice....
I suppose it is a sign that just maybe he was wrong....and should have made sure he had the right facts....

hungry6
12-09-2007, 07:48 PM
After reading all that I want to see one of these electric reels in action sometime soon, as my arms are way to skinny to be doing the lift and wind from 300m down all day.

snelly1971
12-09-2007, 07:53 PM
http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/yhst-54657111091737_1955_7650 (http://store.swingcast.com/index.html)
http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/yhst-54657111091737_1955_28203
http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif
http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/yhst-54657111091737_1955_815529

http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/yhst-54657111091737_1955_844225

It is so powerful that you can bring in a 1000 lbs. fish in no time. The newly developed automatic tension control system works perfectly well with your catch to keep the drag in right tension so the fish has less chance to break the line or unhook. Another great feature is the quick spool releasing lever. This one touch spool releasing lever releases the line quickly back in action, but still keeps the same previous drag tension.

With the full command system, powerful moter, a new airtight drag system, manual overide handle and heavy-duty body construction, this reel is the ultimate fishing machine. So, take the challenge with this Command X-50 reel for unexpected large catches!

CommandX-50 PRO/AM
cx50http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gifhttp://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/yhst-54657111091737_1955_846727http://us.st1.yimg.com/store1.yimg.com/Img/trans_1x1.gif

That one should fit your needs...

12-09-2007, 07:59 PM
LOL....Rob...

I suppose it is a sign that just maybe he was wrong....and should have made sure he had the right facts....

Mick you must have missed this today;)

PS ..... I forgot to mention my gripe with PROs (Trawlers) .... as someone pointed this out! ..... My beef is when you see two local Bermagui boats (quite large) come into port with all of their fish boxes full (both above deck & below) .. while the remaining rear deck area is piled 1M high full of fish (& please spare me ... the just making a living line .... or that the times that they go out & catch bugger all::) ) ...... i'll go on ..... For me the worst part was that of the fish that littered the deck ..... The majority were undersized or barely legal fish ... with the standout being Kingfish , trevally & John Dory which made up a high percentage of the catch:'( ..... Maybe this explains why in 22 years of boat based fishing .... I've never landed a JD & only have seen a hand full caught.:-/ Finally when you go out the following morning & follow a trail of dead fish (predominately toads) but also masses of very small bycatch . :o ..... I dont think this would be an isolated example!
Or when you hear the stories (first hand) from what happens when a longliner shoots their line .... Targeting YFT ..... & they end up with several hundred striped marlin over a weeks fishinghttp://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Smilies/thumbsdown.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Smilies/end.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Smilies/cry.gif ..... Personally I would love to see that the only way fish can be harvested professionally is by rod & reel , handlines & even better Aquaculture (no nets , traps , longlines & drop lines) .... Yes fish prices will go up ..... but hey from what I've seen ... Its expensive already:o ..... So thats my gripe with the pros ...... & by the way ... Since the NSW gov started the buyback of licences over the past 7 years .... It not just a coincidence that the fishing has improved 10 fold (even with increased amature pressure);D 8-)

12-09-2007, 08:20 PM
LOL....Rob...

...... I reckon that person may just be getting a little bored with the responses:zzz: Maybe he just couldn't care what happens! ......... Maybe even a little surprised at how few Ausfishers bought into the discussion .... ONE WAY or THE OTHER ...... a little apathetic maybe:-X ........ Anyhow enjoy yourself on the water .... & I'll enjoy my sportfishing adventures (while I can);) ..... Nagg

madjewiefisher
12-09-2007, 08:25 PM
Mick you must have missed this today;)

Or when you hear the stories (first hand) from what happens when a longliner shoots their line .... Targeting YFT ..... & they end up with several hundred striped marlin over a weeks fishinghttp://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Smilies/thumbsdown.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Smilies/end.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/yabbfiles/Smilies/cry.gif ..... Personally I would love to see that the only way fish can be harvested professionally is by rod & reel , handlines & even better Aquaculture (no nets , traps , longlines & drop lines) .... Yes fish prices will go up ..... but hey from what I've seen ... Its expensive already:o ..... So thats my gripe with the pros ...... & by the way ... Since the NSW gov started the buyback of licences over the past 7 years .... It not just a coincidence that the fishing has improved 10 fold (even with increased amature pressure);D 8-)We all know the bluefin are comming back from people like Sam Sarron and Tony Sarunik,if it wasn't for people like these men who seen that bluefin were diminnishing and learnt the importance of farming we wouldn't have bugger all blue's as for other states they are learning how to preserve fish for the future,
I have no idea of the ecosystem in Tas,
I don't know if they way you fish and the limits you fish are susstainable(I hope they are).
I find you all have valid points and you both are right in your own way,
while you have laws that let you do this type of fishing then so be it when the laws change then so be it.

I in my personal view and i'm only talking of my view I don't call using electric (or any other type of fixed winch) as fishing,thats my view in a free country we have the right to have our own views right or wrong.

So all have the right view as they think laws deem this.

Thanks Steve

loophole
12-09-2007, 08:50 PM
wow hasnt this become a very large thread i remember when it first started and i suggested to MJW to post it in a few different sections.
also about what page did this environmental talk start cause i dont want to go through 112 posts lol

rob tranter
12-09-2007, 08:55 PM
Bermagui must be the place to go far the Pro's
Nagga are these caches typical?
Anyway by catch is a Government induced problem as they hand out the license and make the laws that restrict such license.
If all Pro's were allowed to sell there by catch then it would not be a waste.
Anyway toads are a pain in the arse.
Naggs I'm sure that the Pro's are Policed even more than us Reco's, don't you think, so maybe the number of undersized by catch may be a bit of an exageration?
I have always thought that John Dory where a rare fish to catch, hence the price of them at the fish mongers.
No idea of what YTF is so I can't comment.
The buy back scheme may not be as successful as you think
Locals in Lake Macquarie aren't jumping up and down with the number of fish they're catching.
These blokes in Tassie are lucky to get out once a Month, so they have to make hay while the sun shines.
The time to rape and pillage the fish stocks as we main landers do isn't quite there.
Naggs
When you go down to Tassie, make sure you drop into the Pubs along the West Coast
On the wall of some of these Pub's (one in particular) Mick can tell you about it, are the Names and Pictures of local Fisho's both Pro's and Reco's that have lost there lives in the treacherous Seas of the West Tasmanian Coast, it is certainly an eye opener.
Ther Laws are set up for there waters and conditions, for any of us to question this without first hand knowledge is a bit ordinary at the least.

Any way thats my say on this
Catch up with you Mick and Blaze

madjewiefisher
12-09-2007, 08:57 PM
Scary for my first thread hey lol
Now what contraversy can start lolh
Well loophole I did get some good info out of it not just contraversy.
I did post in other sections and got nothing like this .
Cheers mate MJF
wow hasnt this become a very large thread i remember when it first started and i suggested to MJW to post it in a few different sections.
also about what page did this environmental talk start cause i dont want to go through 112 posts lol

snelly1971
12-09-2007, 09:10 PM
Anyway by catch is a Government induced problem as they hand out the license and make the laws that restrict such license.
Naggs I'm sure that the Pro's are Policed even more than us Reco's, don't you think, so maybe the number of undersized by catch may be a bit of an exageration?
I have always thought that John Dory where a rare fish to catch, hence the price of them at the fish mongers.
Locals in Lake Macquarie aren't jumping up and down with the number of fish they're catching.
These blokes in Tassie are lucky to get out once a Month, so they have to make hay while the sun shines.
The time to rape and pillage the fish stocks as we main landers do isn't quite there.
Naggs
When you go down to Tassie, make sure you drop into the Pubs along the West Coast
On the wall of some of these Pub's (one in particular) Mick can tell you about it, are the Names and Pictures of local Fisho's both Pro's and Reco's that have lost there lives in the treacherous Seas of the West Tasmanian Coast, it is certainly an eye opener.
Ther Laws are set up for there waters and conditions, for any of us to question this without first hand knowledge is a bit ordinary at the least.

Dont waste your time trying to explain to Naggs Rob...He made a gripe about Bag limits...so i posted up the info direct from DPIW...but....once he had seen he was wrong...he just winged about something else....

Nagg...would be quite welcome down here...it just probably isnt the place to go sprouting off about how we rape ....pillage...and plunder our fish stock....

Local fisherman...and rec`s here can and do get really Nasty....when an outsider upsets them...then .....?????.....GM you know what i am talking about...

snelly1971
12-09-2007, 09:26 PM
PS...Nagg...this is in no way a threat...just advice....Bob Brown...Leader of the Greens Party came down once and upset the locals......He left town battered and bruised...

12-09-2007, 09:39 PM
Local fisherman...and rec`s here can and do get really Nasty....when an outsider upsets them...then .....?????.....GM you know what i am talking about...

Hey Mick,

Just wondering if there was any truth to the rumour that the sequel to Deliverance is to be filmed down your way.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif

Anyway naggs,mick....sorry to interrupt the interesting dialogue.It actually sounds like tassie is a different country than the Australia I know and grew up in.

12-09-2007, 09:44 PM
Naggs

YFT = Yellow fin tuna
are these catches typical .... I dont know but myself & a few mates were horrified ..... went to take a photo & were threatened with life & limb :o Regardless ... & NO EXAGERATION with the size of the catch on both boats ..... What is the point of minimum sizes .. if a net doesn't discriminate!
Finally .... while I dont have a particular knowledge of the West Coast Tas fishery ... I can base my comments on other so called Isolated fisheries .... that have declined. My comments on Southern Bluefin Tuna is relevant ..... because these are the same shoals that swim from SA , TAS to Southern NSW .... & I know that a once plentiful fish off Eden is no longer a viable Target species ( & Eden is not an easy area to fish for the very same reasons as the W Coast of Tas) .... big boats & long distances are required..... Comments about still being able to catch them ... while may be true does not reflect the diminishing quality .... 50kg was normal , 75kg didn't raise an eye brow , 100kg started to get some attention & 150kgs were a seasonal possibility ........ These days 30kgs is about it ...... & this comes from people that I know personally (relatives, mates) & from others who I met at ANSA conventions & NSWGFA tournaments (which included boats from NSW , VIC & SA) ..... As the topic was always raised at some point..... Nagg
PS Lake Macquarie was fishing very well prior to the floods & have started to pick up again ... with good snapper caught around the old wrecks & the new artificial reefs ..... its a stretch of water that I fish. It does have good bream & flathead fishery:) (It was a poor Tailor season though) ...... I do not know of any estuary system in NSW that has not improved since the banning of commercial fishing in 2000 :)

snelly1971
12-09-2007, 09:54 PM
Hey Mick,

Just wondering if there was any truth to the rumour that the sequel to Deliverance is to be filmed down your way.http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif

Anyway naggs,mick....sorry to interrupt the interesting dialogue.It actually sounds like tassie is a different country than the Australia I know and grew up in.

Yes Scott..people can be a bit different down here...small town syndrome i suppose.....Some Fisherman think they own the seas...loggers own the forests...ect...see where i am coming from...

Not everyone is like that....most of us are just peaceful..law abiding citizens....but the bad eggs...if you can call them that...once upset ..get really ...really Nasty....

40% of our forests are locked up...our fisheries are strong...weather in general is kind...(storms...wind....Floods)...and Tassie is a great place to live....

12-09-2007, 09:58 PM
PS...Nagg...this is in no way a threat...just advice....Bob Brown...Leader of the Greens Party came down once and upset the locals......He left town battered and bruised...

Mick ... when I do venture down to Tasmania .. it will be to chase those Derwent River bream or maybe a Fly caught sea run brown trout from Arthur River ..... any local interaction will be with the civilised element;) ... Nagg

snelly1971
12-09-2007, 10:01 PM
Mick ... when I do venture down to Tasmania .. it will be to chase those Derwent River bream or maybe a Fly caught sea run brown trout from Arthur River ..... any local interaction will be with the civilised element;) ... Nagg

Yeah Thats the sort of comment that will see your visit to Tassie most memorable:-/:-/

12-09-2007, 10:21 PM
Mick - it is a nice part of the world. I had to spend 3 months in Zeehan few years ago while starting up some underground equipment and had a ball on the weekends but it was too cold and too wet for a Qld boy.

Good to see a bit of debate in here opening a few minds. Fishing is a lot of different things to people. For me - I love chasing summer fish and the whole visual aspect of fast fish hitting surface lures. I cant really get excited about pulling bottom vermin from 30,50,80 or 100m let alone what you guys do but that is just me and lots of others love the bottom bashing :-X

Keep posting some of them pictures though - show us some of the lead :o

13-09-2007, 07:53 AM
Yeah Thats the sort of comment that will see your visit to Tassie most memorable:-/:-/

Mick ... dont tell me you cant see that I'm taking the Mickey out of ya Mick:beer: ... Nagg

hungry6
13-09-2007, 09:28 PM
$14K for a reel? was it built by the pope and the handle covered in DODO neck skin? LOL. I was under the impression they were around 1-2k, that is sort of my price range and it would only be used once or twice a year. Other than that I'm too busy or weather is too tough for me.

snelly1971
13-09-2007, 11:14 PM
$14K for a reel? was it built by the pope and the handle covered in DODO neck skin? LOL. I was under the impression they were around 1-2k, that is sort of my price range and it would only be used once or twice a year. Other than that I'm too busy or weather is too tough for me.

That real was the top of the range...1000lb pulling power....You can pick them up starting from around 800 bucks...to 1500

14-09-2007, 06:48 AM
Mick ... dont tell me you cant see that I'm taking the Mickey out of ya Mick:beer: ... Nagg
probable wont cut it after some of the comments, takes a bit more than that to settle the hackles on the back of a tasmanian's neck (after all we have two bloody heads and 2 necks to settle the hackles on). Naggs, if you ever come to tassie I will take U for a fish for your arther river browns or hobart bream BUT I will also insist you fish the shelf, do a launch and retrieve of a 6m plus trailer boat off the west coast etc. Tassie is a great place to live, leave keys in cars at boat ramps for over nighters, dont lock houses or sheds, kids can kick the footy on the street, live 40km from the cleanest air in the industrised world (they measure cow farts from 5km). Dont be negitive about tassie or our regs without first experincing our great state.
ps we better not talk about eating mutton birds, I got hammer a few years ago on this site for that.

snelly1971
14-09-2007, 03:15 PM
I will be available for the Shelf Fishing Trip....Maybe a day when its 3 to 5 meters with 30 knots NW winds....That should open his eyes

rob tranter
14-09-2007, 04:26 PM
probable wont cut it after some of the comments, takes a bit more than that to settle the hackles on the back of a tasmanian's neck (after all we have two bloody heads and 2 necks to settle the hackles on). Naggs, if you ever come to tassie I will take U for a fish for your arther river browns or hobart bream BUT I will also insist you fish the shelf, do a launch and retrieve of a 6m plus trailer boat off the west coast etc. Tassie is a great place to live, leave keys in cars at boat ramps for over nighters, dont lock houses or sheds, kids can kick the footy on the street, live 40km from the cleanest air in the industrised world (they measure cow farts from 5km). Dont be negitive about tassie or our regs without first experincing our great state.
ps we better not talk about eating mutton birds, I got hammer a few years ago on this site for that.

Blaze,

Key's in the Car's, Houses & Shed's not locked?

I'm on my way for an extended stay then, may be bringing a Removalist's Truck, a bloody big one;D

Us NSWelshmen will sought it all out for ya;)

Mick,

Hope I'm not invited on the Big Shelf trip, I don't think the Ticka could stand the thrill of the roller coaster ride, definitely know the gut couldn't;D

Rob8-)

jigsnreels
14-09-2007, 10:02 PM
Well I'd pretty much bought out of this debate causeI'm not interested in telling anyone how they should fish, and even less interested in having someone else tell me this. I go fishing to get away from this stuff.

All the same, some contributors here think that all worlds are equal. Well, they're not. Check these websites for an indication of the difference between snelly's world ( west coast Tas), mine (lower SE coat Tas) and Southern - mid qld.

http://www.stormsurfing.com/cgi/display.cgi?a=spac_wave

http://www.wetsand.com/swellwatch/swellwatch.asp?CatID=288

https://www.fnmoc.navy.mil/ww3_cgi/dynamic/ww3.b.glo.sig_wav_ht.000.gif

http://www.stormsurfing.com/cgi/display.cgi?a=melbourne

And remember, while the water temp in Qld is 22 degrees, it's 12 at the moment down here. You can fall overboard and survive for a while; we can't.

These are the things that make comparisons between your style of fishing and mine very difficult. That's the last word on this from me, tight lines to all.

Jigs

14-09-2007, 10:32 PM
The trouble is ... I'm not actualy negative about what you have , do etc etc ..... I just wanna see it remain for many years to come :) .... There are not too many places like this in Aust ..... specially one where you can tow your boat to & be fishing with 36 hours ... from sydney for pristine or reasonably so water ....... Currently I have to tow my boat 2500 kms to fish reasonable water (Hinchinbrook) ... Add to that another 1000kms for Weipa ... & add the potential to destroy your tailer ......:'( ... Then I'm looking a the top end or Kimberleys ... & all the logistical nightmares that go with it. .... Nagg

snelly1971
15-09-2007, 12:59 AM
Great info jigs....but i still dont think certain Ausfish members fully comprehend conditions down here...ah..we will just compare you with Lord Howe..ect...ect...ect....Well i cant compare ...cause i have never been to those places....SO I WOULD NOT COMPARE...until i have been there.....

snelly1971
15-09-2007, 01:09 AM
The trouble is ... I'm not actualy negative about what you have , do etc etc ..... I just wanna see it remain for many years to come :) .... There are not too many places like this in Aust ..... specially one where you can tow your boat to & be fishing with 36 hours ... from sydney for pristine or reasonably so water ....... Currently I have to tow my boat 2500 kms to fish reasonable water (Hinchinbrook) ... Add to that another 1000kms for Weipa ... & add the potential to destroy your tailer ......:'( ... Then I'm looking a the top end or Kimberleys ... & all the logistical nightmares that go with it. .... Nagg

Not negative my Ar$e....what would you call it then Nagg...

And my last question to you Naggs...what makes you an expert on Tasmanian Fisheries....and weather conditions....you seem to jump the gun and compare us very quickly to others parts of Aus without ever being here..

I am pretty sure that those in charge of our fisheries .....understand...and have a lot more knowledge of how to run a sucessful Rec...and Commercial ...substainable fisheries for future generations.....Not some outsider who has never been....or seen the place...and then making such strong comments..

15-09-2007, 06:46 AM
Hi Mick
Going to slip out for a fish when we get a bit of water in the river today, about 11.00, only forcast for 25 knts today

flyingfish
15-09-2007, 08:20 AM
hi Snelly1971,

Just wondering if you have to drop anchor at those depths and if so what type of setup do you use?

flyingfish

snelly1971
15-09-2007, 12:57 PM
hi Snelly1971,

Just wondering if you have to drop anchor at those depths and if so what type of setup do you use?

flyingfish

I will posts some pics tonight for you of what we use...

PS..Its going to be a nice day then Blaze....LOL

15-09-2007, 06:08 PM
Not negative my Ar$e....what would you call it then Nagg...

And my last question to you Naggs...what makes you an expert on Tasmanian Fisheries....and weather conditions....you seem to jump the gun and compare us very quickly to others parts of Aus without ever being here..

I am pretty sure that those in charge of our fisheries .....understand...and have a lot more knowledge of how to run a sucessful Rec...and Commercial ...substainable fisheries for future generations.....Not some outsider who has never been....or seen the place...and then making such strong comments..

OK ... I'm negative ..... I have no knowledge .... cant read or listen .....:o .. But I will continue to express an opinion :thumbsup: .... Nagg

snelly1971
15-09-2007, 06:37 PM
I will posts some pics tonight for you of what we use...

PS..Its going to be a nice day then Blaze....LOL

There you go...These are what Commercial Fisherman call Morris Anchors....only difference between mine and there`s is they use 50mm by 12mm solid hooks instead of 12mm or 16mm rio....These are great because they grab the bottom so easily....if they foul up then give them a tow and this bend the rio bars...grab a large shifter and just rebend straight again....we usually use 6 or 8`` water pipe...about 500mm long ....any more info needed then just ask...

snelly1971
15-09-2007, 06:46 PM
Sorry...Flyingfish....I meant to add...yes i usually drop anchor...we have sort of put our own FAD buoy at spot X to tie up to...its a very rare day here when the tide is slack enough to just drift...and i have found that by anchoring up and burleying heaps then more fish seem to turn up..

snelly1971
15-09-2007, 06:53 PM
OK ... I'm negative ..... I have no knowledge .... cant read or listen .....:o .. But I will continue to express an opinion :thumbsup: .... Nagg

Express all you like ::)::) Thats what Ausfish is about:P:PJust dont expect me to sit back and let you dribble about our state and its laws :-X:-X when you have never been here and dont fully understand our circumstances;);)..

PS...Dont believe everthing you read or hear...

15-09-2007, 07:23 PM
Express all you like ::)::) Thats what Ausfish is about:P:PJust dont expect me to sit back and let you dribble about our state and its laws :-X:-X when you have never been here and dont fully understand our circumstances;);)..

OR HAVE BLIND FAITH IN YOUR STATE GOVERNMENTS ADMINISTRATORS;D ... Nagg

snelly1971
15-09-2007, 07:27 PM

OR HAVE BLIND FAITH IN YOUR STATE GOVERNMENTS ADMINISTRATORS;D ... Nagg

One big difference.......I fish here...i know my state... I have fished as a Rec ...and on Commercial boat....all over Tassie....So I DO have knowledge...FIRST hand KNOWLEDGE...unlike some who just go on hear say....or what they may have read....

15-09-2007, 07:57 PM
One big difference.......I fish here...i know my state... I have fished as a Rec ...and on Commercial boat....all over Tassie....So I DO have knowledge...FIRST hand KNOWLEDGE...unlike some who just go on hear say....or what they may have read....

:brood:
OR THOSE THAT HAVE A VESTED INTEREST .... Nagg
PS ... This seems to go deeper than just a disagreement over ideologies & state laws:oops:

Grand_Marlin
15-09-2007, 08:08 PM
G'day all,

What a boring read ... a dozen pages of arguement over a topic where the accuser could have gained a lot by checking AFMA catch history, and in particular the proven stable catch effort / rate per 100 hooks.

Can we get back to talking about gear setup and techniques?

The shelf is a lonely place.

If you are venturing wide, make sure it is in a shelf capable boat in tip top condition.

A 1kw + sounder is pretty much essential.

Fishing the deep water over the shelf is an art in itself - lots of fun, a very steep learning curve, and a lot of disappointment until you learn the techniques.
Running out 35+ miles to find you cant drop because the current is too strong is heaps of fun :'(

Also, if you understood the nature of where you find trevalla on the shelf, you would understand that 30 hooks per line is far from excessive... you are targeting a specific 30m area in a water column 500m deep, not just "bottom fishing with 30 hooks"

It is nothing like inshore reef fishing - take that as gospel.

The hardest thing I found about bottom bouncing the shelf is getting 1/2 a ton of fish up on the plane ;D

Is now a good time to post photos?

snelly1971
15-09-2007, 08:09 PM
:brood:
OR THOSE THAT HAVE A VESTED INTEREST .... Nagg
PS ... This seems to go deeper than just a disagreement over ideologies & state laws:oops:

Go and chain yourself to a tree or bulldozer.:P:P...Just worry about where you fish and not other peoples back yard..

Vested interest.....Sure Have....I live here...fish here...and have forgotten more about our fisheries than you seem to know........

15-09-2007, 09:01 PM
G'day all,

What a boring read ... a dozen pages of arguement over a topic where the accuser could have gained a lot by checking AFMA catch history, and in particular the proven stable catch effort / rate per 100 hooks.

Can we get back to talking about gear setup and techniques?

The shelf is a lonely place.

If you are venturing wide, make sure it is in a shelf capable boat in tip top condition.

A 1kw + sounder is pretty much essential.

Fishing the deep water over the shelf is an art in itself - lots of fun, a very steep learning curve, and a lot of disappointment until you learn the techniques.
Running out 35+ miles to find you cant drop because the current is too strong is heaps of fun :'(

Also, if you understood the nature of where you find trevalla on the shelf, you would understand that 30 hooks per line is far from excessive... you are targeting a specific 30m area in a water column 500m deep, not just "bottom fishing with 30 hooks"

It is nothing like inshore reef fishing - take that as gospel.

The hardest thing I found about bottom bouncing the shelf is getting 1/2 a ton of fish up on the plane ;D

Is now a good time to post photos?

Pete ! .... yes it has become boring ..... But the gripe goes back to
30 Hooks x 4 / boat (120) .... That are free drifting drop lines .... as the TAS laws allows .... This is an amature version of a commercial practice ... That is probably not allowed anywhere else in Aust :hanged: Nagg
PS ..... There is no need to go to the difficulties of fishing the shelf & beyond ... & the skills involved ..... I have tried it (nice feed but not for me) ... & there is no problem with it ! .... NOW , Having said this ... Its time to leave it at that:-X ...

15-09-2007, 10:27 PM
Pete ! .... yes it has become boring ..... But the gripe goes back to
30 Hooks x 4 / boat (120) .... That are free drifting drop lines .... as the TAS laws allows .... This is an amature version of a commercial practice ... That is probably not allowed anywhere else in Aust :hanged: Nagg
PS ..... There is no need to go to the difficulties of fishing the shelf & beyond ... & the skills involved ..... I have tried it (nice feed but not for me) ... & there is no problem with it ! .... NOW , Having said this ... Its time to leave it at that:-X ...
Hi Nagg
dont forget your commercial guys can rape and pilage the eustaries, the breeding ground. No one can do that in tassie, our backward laws dont allow it. Dont knock our laws mate, come down and have a look, as others and myself have mention the hand of hospitality still goes out. Come with an open mind, look listen and learn. Thats what I do when I fish in some elses back yard and love the differences.

Grand_Marlin
16-09-2007, 07:07 AM
Pete ! 30 Hooks x 4 / boat (120) .... That are free drifting drop lines

30 hooks, yes ...

Free drifting - NO

A dropline that manages to break loose and free drift either becomes lost or doesnt catch any fish (usually)

The aim is to get the line into the correct spot and have it stay there.
The trevalla are usually not on the bottom - so hitting the correct spot, and being able to keep your hooks in the part of the water column where the fish are is very difficult.

30 hooks never means 30 fish.

30 hooks usually means 0 - 5 fish.

4 lines per boat is the maximum, but rarely will we set more than 2

After you have pulled 2 lines from this depth on a deckwinch, you are stuffed.

As jigs n reels said earlier ... we usually drop a couple of lines as part of our day trolling for tuna.

I dont know anyone in tassie that has ever gone out and set heaps of lines and spent all day doing it just to get as many fish as they can.
Even before bag & hook limits were introduced to rec fisherman, no one did this.

If 30 hooks = 30 fish on a regular basis, then yes, I would be totally against this practice too.

The commercial trevalla fishery exists mainly in Tasmania and NSW.
The trevalla do live off the shelf in QLD, but commercial fishing found it too "hit & miss" to be a viable commercial venture - due to the long distances travelled, the ever running strong current and the difficulties in targeting these fish in the areas they live (as mentioned before)

I think you will find that most recreational fishermen have taken conservation to heart these days - even the drag knuckle, one eyed, inbred, west coast tasmanians ;D :stupid: ;D

The commercial dropline industry is, and always has been very strong in Tasmania.
The Trevalla only live in certain places on the shelf - they do not inhabit every square inch of the place.
You cant just pull up anywhere on the shelf and expect to catch trevalla - it just wont happen
Therefore, the same places are targeted regularly similar to inshore reefs.
Commercial fishing in tasmania has always been proven a strong industry - again referring to AFMA catch / effort data.
This commercial fishery has been happening for at least 30 years that I know of.
If the fisheries were being decimated, catch data would reflect this.

The recorded historical data , combined with current management techniques, has proven that the fishery is alive and well, sustainable, renewable, and definitely not being decimated.

16-09-2007, 08:15 AM
To me the situation in Tassie seems pretty clear. It apears to be a well managed recreational fishery that is thriving. It looks like they have sufficient safeguards in the form of bag limits to ensure sustainability. The low population pressure and difficult access are certainly factors to be taken into consideration when deciding what methods are sustainable.

This whole issue is coming up more and more. The number of people who chip someone for taking a couple of Squire or farmed impoundment Barra is quite disconcerting. If its legal within our current fisheries management structure then it is a personal decision how you fish and what you keep. It is important not to try to impose personal ethical beliefs onto others when they have little or no scientific support

From what I have seen here it requires a fair bit of skill and a well setup vessel in order to fish these remote areas and I for one would jump at the chance to experience a shelf trip

flyingfish
16-09-2007, 09:51 AM
Hi Snelly1971,

Thanks for the pictures and info. :)

Flyingfish

hungry6
16-09-2007, 03:53 PM
From what I have seen here it requires a fair bit of skill and a well setup vessel in order to fish Cheers

That would be an understatement in it own right!!
Also I would have to add a small remarks as in $$$ terms as everyone refers to $$$ and fish nowaday if you catch more than 2 fish it's almost a criminal offense..

Most of the frequent shelf fisher alsway say a steep learning curve, well all I wanted to say, that steep learning curve = many thousands of $$$$ = no fish.
Just my 2 cent. that's all I ot left.

It is not always about maximun fish number, it's a well balance time management plus abiding by the law and safety margin at the same time making sure it is sustainable, but most important of all, that you have fun getting bashed around learning!!

snelly1971
16-09-2007, 07:33 PM
As GM said....many days are spend venturing out to the shelf...only to find the tide ripping....and when it rips out there then trying to fish is useless....I have seen on Crab boats working here...they have 5/ 8 inch poly buoys spaced over 5 fathom...all been pulled under due to tide...

As for Costs...well i wont even go there....those of you who do venture offshore...understand costs....

GM...I like you description of us West Coasters....just remember....you had 2 heads once....

reidy
28-09-2007, 04:17 PM
Maybe you should shut you mouth Nagg...

Where i live..we are lucky to get out fishing...as due to our wild coast line...maybe that is why our fisheries are going so strong and get stronger..

There is a board...made up of commercial...rec..and government bodies who make the rules to which we are to abide by...

The rules are made so that all fisheries are sustainable...so why do you think they would allow us 30 hooks on drop...or longlines if it was not sustainable>:(>:(

There is alot worse things happening in our fisheries then some poor old amature..heading out doing the right thing....gee 20 or 30 hooks eh..

There have been cases here of trawlers catching 90 to 100 tons of fish and having to cut the net to let them sink back to the bottom dead..because they had no quota for the caught specie..:o:o

Nagg...How many times have you caught an undersize fish and released it::)::)

Do the undersize you catch and release always live:P:P

If Jigs is following State laws regarding to long..or drop lines...then you should shut your mouth and winge somewhere else...

yeh to right snelly.
Reidy

28-09-2007, 06:30 PM
yeh to right snelly.
Reidy

IN HITLER WE TRUST! ... Nagg

28-09-2007, 07:29 PM

I wasn't going to get involved in this thread, but with the above comment,.... wtf?

28-09-2007, 07:59 PM

I wasn't going to get involved in this thread, but with the above comment,.... wtf?

AND ! .... we still dont see your involvement :-X ..... My comment comes from the idea of ... If it is law,,,, it must be OK ! .... No questions asked :-X :-X :-X .... because the government knows best :clown: ..... Nagg

28-09-2007, 08:39 PM
Nagg
Plenty of question are asked every year to do with tassie fisheries, both fresh and salt. Changes to regs are made quite often with in put from all parties with an interest. I really wish in stead of putting up continued negitive comments you would at least do your own research on tassie fisheries, pro, rec salt and fresh. There has been links to infomation posted in this post and you dont even seem to be reading those. Not saying every thing in tassie is right but compared to some other places we are definately in front. Like I pointed out in a previus post that we allow NO NETTING in our eustary systems but you failed to even agknowledge that that is more advance than other aust states.
Dont know what else I can say except I fish within our state laws when IN Tassie, when in another state I fish within there rules, I am not going to try and change laws in other states but for 30 years I have had an input into ours and at times had official postions.
Come down for a fish Naggs, I believe like others, you will enjoy what we have to offer.
ps
I too take offence at your reference to hitler

29-09-2007, 08:04 AM
Nagg
Plenty of question are asked every year to do with tassie fisheries, both fresh and salt. Changes to regs are made quite often with in put from all parties with an interest. I really wish in stead of putting up continued negitive comments you would at least do your own research on tassie fisheries, pro, rec salt and fresh. There has been links to infomation posted in this post and you dont even seem to be reading those. Not saying every thing in tassie is right but compared to some other places we are definately in front. Like I pointed out in a previus post that we allow NO NETTING in our eustary systems but you failed to even agknowledge that that is more advance than other aust states.
Dont know what else I can say except I fish within our state laws when IN Tassie, when in another state I fish within there rules, I am not going to try and change laws in other states but for 30 years I have had an input into ours and at times had official postions.
Come down for a fish Naggs, I believe like others, you will enjoy what we have to offer.
ps
I too take offence at your reference to hitler

Blaze ..... My response was aimed directly at one for their (short) reply & support of what I thought was an unhelpful & uncalled for response to a healthy debate :furious2: The reference wasn't meant to be offensive ( just extreme)
Nagg
PS .... Not trying to change anyone's regs .... just expressing an opinion
PPS .... There are plenty of examples of what I dont agree with , in the NSW regs too:(

mattooty
29-09-2007, 08:53 AM
Nagg dont even start on other states regulations. There's plenty of regulations in ALL states that leave alot to be desired.
Slot limits would be good in NSW, Casts nets arent great for estuarys, Bag limits need to be reviewed frequently, the commercial sector in ALL states needs to be torn apart.
This debate is about the state of tasmania's fisheries and their upkeep.
I agree with what snelly and the other guys are saying that with such limited numbers of boats fishing their area the limits imposed upon them are fair and reasonable. Otherwise it would be more economically efficient to simply go support the commercial industry which, from what i have read both publically and experienced when working in the industry, absolutely decimates certain species which occur in the region. Im not exactly sure on all of the species but orange roughy has just had a total ban placed on it as their numbers are nowhere near where they should be.
As for the hitler comment, im not even going to start on it.

Grand_Marlin
29-09-2007, 12:52 PM
Hitler??

What a stupid comment :speechless:

Hitler new SFA about fishing the shelf ;D

29-09-2007, 01:14 PM
Hitler new SFA about fishing the shelf ;D

LMAO ;D;D;D;D

Maybe we should ask bush, howard, blair, hussien and arafat whilst we're at it?

(yes I know some of them aren't around any more :P)

snelly1971
29-09-2007, 07:03 PM
Blaze ..... My response was aimed directly at one for their (short) reply & support of what I thought was an unhelpful & uncalled for response to a healthy debate :furious2: The reference wasn't meant to be offensive ( just extreme)
Nagg
PS .... Not trying to change anyone's regs .... just expressing an opinion
PPS .... There are plenty of examples of what I dont agree with , in the NSW regs too:(

The more you go on Nagg ...The bigger idiot i find you to be.....Blaze and Pete have put up info but of course you cant read the facts....

It just seems that if information is put forward to prove that our fisheries are well managed then you just ignore the facts...and go on to something else.

I have nothing against you Nagg....but the more you post in this thread...The more i think you are a Greenie Extremist...The sort that will just go on and on...even when the facts are there for all to see....

PS....We have just had a 3 week period of 30 to 40 knots ....4-14 meter seas and there is at least another week of it....Maybe that is why our fisheries are protected from being overfished.....

snelly1971
29-09-2007, 09:54 PM
This is worth a look

Cape Sorell Waverider Buoy Observations

Located at 42.12S, 145.03E
(Approximately 10 Km West of Cape Sorell, West Tasmania)

Latest data at 20:00 on Saturday, 29 Sep 2007 (EST).
IMPORTANT:- The significant wave height is the average height of the highest one third of the waves. The likely maximum wave height can be up to twice the significant wave height.
Click here for Wave Height (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDT65014.shtml#height) or Wave Period (http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDT65014.shtml#period).
Significant Wave Height (Hs) & Maximum Wave Height (Hmax)
http://www.bom.gov.au/fwo/IDT65014/IDT65014.height.png?20070929213003
Zero Crossing Wave Period (Tz) & Max Energy Wave Period (Tp)
http://www.bom.gov.au/fwo/IDT65014/IDT65014.period.png?20070929213003

Document created: 20070929213003 Key Hs Height of significant wave (metres). This is the average height of the highest one third of the waves in the record. Hmax Maximum height of the waves (metres) in the record. Tz Average time (seconds) between all waves in the record. Tp The peak energy period (seconds) is the period of the dominant waves in the record. Notes

This page contains wave observations from a moored Waverider buoy located approximately 10 Km West of Cape Sorell, West Tasmania in 55 fathoms (100 metres). Location: 42.12S, 145.03E.
These data are automatically generated and are not quality controlled.
All times and dates are in Tasmanian local time.
Each 'observation' (or record) is obtained by sampling the waves for 27 minutes.
This page is automatically updated every hour from available data.Queries relating to this service should be directed to the Marine Officer (webtas@bom.gov.au) in our Tasmanian Regional Office.

reidy
01-10-2007, 09:56 AM
And heres your reply mate
One great uncle Trobruk 1941, another El Alamein 1942 (both lost)
both 9th div 2rd A.I.F.
dont see any national socialists among the above only those who attempted to protect the free world from the ideaoligys of facism.
STICK IT COBBER.
You fish as you deem fit.
We fish as we deem fit
Live and let live
Now bugger off
Reidy

01-10-2007, 06:43 PM
The more you go on Nagg ...The bigger idiot i find you to be.....Blaze and Pete have put up info but of course you cant read the facts....

It just seems that if information is put forward to prove that our fisheries are well managed then you just ignore the facts...and go on to something else.

I have nothing against you Nagg....but the more you post in this thread...The more i think you are a Greenie Extremist...The sort that will just go on and on...even when the facts are there for all to see....

PS....We have just had a 3 week period of 30 to 40 knots ....4-14 meter seas and there is at least another week of it....Maybe that is why our fisheries are protected from being overfished.....

Mick ... You are entitled to your opinion ... As always (I just wont tell you or anyone else to shut their mouth) ........ maybe if there was a little less of the antagonistic responses ... we just may hear from a few other members:-X . .. Any how .... I'm really over the whole thing ..... & Yes I can read .... But regardless of what is posted with regardless to catch rates , weather ... what ever ..... I am happy to sit with my own opinion:P ..... Now ... Having said that , I can go back to gearing up for my North Queensland barra, Saratoga, Bass , Jacks , GT , Salmon , Coral trout , Mackerel etc etc .... & Hopefully many will swim free 8-) + Some mud crab (which if within the regs.... will be in the pot:beer: ) ... Nagg

snelly1971
01-10-2007, 07:46 PM
Thats ok Nagg....YOU can have your opinion....

Just dont try and make us...law abiding citizens... out to be fisherman who dont care about the future or sustainability of our local fish stocks...which...ONCE again...you know nothing about....

Mick..

PS....If you want to make a point...then why do you ignore information which has been posted by GM and Blaze...

PPS....Have your opinion Nagg...just seems that all the other Ausfish members who are involved in this thread take a different opinion than you..!!!!!!

01-10-2007, 09:15 PM
I've followed this thread for quite a while now, but staying out of it, since I do no deep sea fishing myself, and have nothing constuctive to offer, but Nagg, your comments about Hitler were just plain uncalled for, and frankly quite offensive to not just myself but maybe the vast majority of all ausfishers, not to mention other people around the world who won't ever read this. It is at this point that I suggest that although you direct the hitler comment at someone else, I believe it is you who are behaving as such a vicious and savage dictator by not hearing and showing empathy to others and their opinions. From reading your coments, you are quite intent on making your views not only heard, but basically saying "my way or the highway pal".

Before you start critising others fishing practices, you should be undertaking more research rather than just going at it hammer and tongs, trying to force people to believe you are right without question. In saying that, perhaps you are right in this instance, but without any sort of facts to back yourself up, and to present a more convincing case, you are making yourself out to be a walking joke, whom people will eventually stop "listening" to.

Willow1
01-10-2007, 09:37 PM
Well said, Scott Nqld, Couldnt agree more. People do find that offensive. Snelly, Quite impressed with the conditions you describe way down there in Tassy. Really cant appreciate it as I only fish inshore reefs. Be down in Tassy in December for a holiday so Ill Have a look around and see what Its really like:)

snelly1971
01-10-2007, 09:41 PM
Well said, Scott Nqld, Couldnt agree more. People do find that offensive. Snelly, Quite impressed with the conditions you describe way down there in Tassy. Really cant appreciate it as I only fish inshore reefs. Be down in Tassy in December for a holiday so Ill Have a look around and see what Its really like:)

Make sure you call around Willow and we will have a day out fishing....if the weather permits..

Cheers Mick

Willow1
01-10-2007, 10:03 PM
Thanks,Mick might take you up on the offer. Definately call around for a chat and check out your Rig. Cheers Shane

bluecat
03-10-2007, 01:45 PM
hey people,fair sort of a stouche going on here;) 4 cups of coffee and here i am .
nagg, i would have thought comparisons to Lord Howe are a bit ambitious as doesnt that get flogged by longliners from all over the world??

worst part about catching so many blue eye is it takes hours to clean them all :(

tassie bluefin numbers would be more related to how many are caught before they enter our waters wouldnt it??
we've had 2 very good sbt runs in a row ,dont forget the brilliant season in 2006 when they were also catching 120kg fish off portland in vc as well

snelly1971
03-10-2007, 04:46 PM
hey people,fair sort of a stouche going on here;) 4 cups of coffee and here i am .
nagg, i would have thought comparisons to Lord Howe are a bit ambitious as doesnt that get flogged by longliners from all over the world??

worst part about catching so many blue eye is it takes hours to clean them all :(

tassie bluefin numbers would be more related to how many are caught before they enter our waters wouldnt it??
we've had 2 very good sbt runs in a row ,dont forget the brilliant season in 2006 when they were also catching 120kg fish off portland in vc as well

Dont waste your time BC.....Nagg knows best..

03-10-2007, 10:56 PM
I've followed this thread for quite a while now, but staying out of it, since I do no deep sea fishing myself, and have nothing constructive to offer, but Nagg, your comments about Hitler were just plain uncalled for, and frankly quite offensive to not just myself but maybe the vast majority of all ausfishers, not to mention other people around the world who won't ever read this. It is at this point that I suggest that although you direct the hitler comment at someone else, I believe it is you who are behaving as such a vicious and savage dictator by not hearing and showing empathy to others and their opinions. From reading your coments, you are quite intent on making your views not only heard, but basically saying "my way or the highway pal".

Before you start critising others fishing practices, you should be undertaking more research rather than just going at it hammer and tongs, trying to force people to believe you are right without question. In saying that, perhaps you are right in this instance, but without any sort of facts to back yourself up, and to present a more convincing case, you are making yourself out to be a walking joke, whom people will eventually stop "listening" to.

scott ....As I previously mentioned ,my use of Hitler was extreme (maybe I should have said GW Bush) ..... & If you understood the context , maybe it would be seen a little different (maybe) .... Its very easy to talk about empathy & hearing others opinions .... Till someone tells you to " Shut your mouth" for expressing your opinion ...... Worst still , someone else quotes this & agrees:o ... .... Go Pauline ! ..... Hence the reference:stunned: ............. However I didn't hear too many berate someone for telling another member to "Shut their mouth" ..... But it seems that has been overlooked ::) ....... you know what .... It is interesting to quote government supplied catch figures .... Its funnier that people believe it! ..... We in NSW have had new marine parks thrust upon us (Grey Nurse shark habitats) ... based on Government sponsored research!!!!! (citing the population which has all been tagged & released sits at several hundred individuals ...... Yet in reality the population is much stronger than estimated ...... Dozens of untagged GN sharks filmed within the very same closed area......:-/ How can that be !) ..... I may have drifted here a little ... but it does show some anomalies in following government!
So back to my original point of the allowable practice of 4 set lines with 30 hooks on each / boat ..... & these drop lines are allowed to free drift:'( Hypothetically ..... If fisho A ... Goes out at 5am 60Nm (after being blown out for 4 weeks) .... shoots his 4 drop lines (with 30 hooks on each) in 500 meters of water ........ Returns 1 hour later & bags out on his Gem fish or blue eye ..... Allowing 30 mins to haul each drop ...... Its now 11am ....... What does Fisho A do ? ..... Keep fishing ??? :-X :-X :-X , Go home :bath: , ..... or say we will target something else ( What? , who knows in 500M ) ... & if you catch another blue eye ( I'll let it go !) ... even though its swim bladder has blown & its only a 10% chance that it will survive ..... Mate I've been around long enough ... & I'm pretty confident of the answer to this scenario
Disclaimer ...... This does not refer to any individual/s that may be participating in this thread! .... specially if it is one of those nice days. As I said I have been around long enough & I have seen what can happen,that flouts the laws ..... I have been questioned many times on why I have thrown No3 jewie back after 1 hours fishing ........ I'm no crusader thats for sure!
And ... then again bluecat quotes " nagg, i would have thought comparisons to Lord Howe are a bit ambitious as doesnt that get flogged by longliners from all over the world??" ..... Hey nice try .... But the main fishing areas around lord Howe Is (Balls Pryamid , Elizabeth & Middleton reefs) are Marine reserves & have been for quite a few years (10-15) ....... But hey lets not get facts in the way of a good reply ..... The reality is that the few boats that could get to a place like Balls .... Hammered the crap out of the place over 20 years( & the population declined from ball breaker 40-100lb fish down to 10-30lb fish ..... this is not anecdotal ... this is reality:'( so before I sign off on this long winded reply .... Keep in mind there is no place that is too wild , too remote that allows such a naive approach to any Fishery:'( ...... call me names if you wish ... so be it ..... Nagg ..
PS.Not too many people have called me an idiot either (other names yes;) )

bluecat
04-10-2007, 08:32 AM
yes but surely you arent saying that the deepwater fish or yellowfin off lord howe which is 400miles off our coastline,arent there due to recreational pressures???

even if it has, i am sure our fisheries departments already know what sort of pressures our national resources can handle

theres at least one boat tied up in all our major ports down here with auto/baiting/ setting longlining gear that can set up to 15000 hooks in a few hours
this sort of puts things into perspective slightly doesnt it...
go find another crew and set another 80 hooks snelly;D

04-10-2007, 09:25 AM
I’m not disagreeing with you Nagg, I too believe that 4 long lines with 30 hooks is a bit much, but with out any facts to back myself up, how can I present a convincing argument and not come across as a whinger. Now I have stated my opinion I will post no further on it until I have something to back it up unless, I am asked for my reasons, which certainly didn’t happen earlier in this thread (for those who are wondering my reasons I just don’t think its very fair on the fish, but that’s all I’ve got to go on so I won’t say anymore).

Which is exactly my point, your above post has held the only 2 facts you have presented, you still felt the need to casually fling comparisons to Hitler around to be “extreme”. Well guess what buddy, whether or not you wanted to offend people, you have, and you should’ve realised this even before you decided to make such an offensive remark. I too accused you of being the dictator here, but unlike you I did consider the consequences of make such comparisons and come to the conclusion that you are being so ignorant that you wouldn’t care anyway. After all, if you accidentally kill someone, its still called manslaughter whether you meant to do it or not. (A bit extreme here, but the principle is the same)

That’s all people are asking for, facts to back up your claims, facts I might add, that directly apply to Tasmania’s marine system, and not somewhere else around the country or world for that matter. The only reason people are telling you to keep your mouth shut, is because you have over ridden this thread from its original cause (advice for bottom bashing the shelf, in case you have forgotten) to push your own agenda, not by a convincing and factually based argument, but what started as opinion and turned to never ending whining and abuse of other members.

To sum up for you, stop trying to whinge people into taking your side, but present the data and facts to back your opinion, so it does not appear unfounded and nonsense. That’s all we are asking….

snelly1971
04-10-2007, 01:28 PM
Some good points there Scott..

Nagg has never been to Tassies west coast and fish here at that...

So that makes his statements about HOW our fisheries should be run ...more laughable...Nagg keeps on saying that we cant trust Gov bodies....well...What makes Nagg so special that we should take his advice....especially when he has never been here...let alone understand our regulations....and when Information is posted which he has no answer to...then he just ignores it and winges another way..

30 hooks by 4 lines...yes Nagg...That is the max per boat....but not once in this thread has it been said...that we use 4 drop lines...

Just think about it....If we used 4 drop lines at 550 meters...plus probably 100meters extra to allow for tide ect...that is one hell of alot of rope to carry on a boat....It would equate to 2 Plastic 44 Gallon drums full of rope....then add 16 8 inch buoys...ect...get the drift???....add the 4 crew ....needed so we can set 4 lines....

Well ...then there is no room....unless you have a 40 foot boat...which i dont think many Ausfish members have..

I wont apologise for telling Nagg to shut his mouth....This thread was about how to fish the shelf...not about bag limits or regulations...

So ...Nagg...if you want to winge...then start your own thread...I would be more than HAPPY...to have my say !!!!!!!

04-10-2007, 02:37 PM
gees you lot still going!!!

Nagg , give it a rest mate , we know your point of view, and who knows maybe some day someone will bother to read these 177 post and actually agree with you ( best of luck with that ) You have been repeatably told that most of the guys only use 2 lines yet you keep repeating the 4 lines X 30 hooks like your some sort of parrot. I've never done any deep droping but reading this thread it sounds like the hardest bloody fishing style in the world and that combined with the weather they have down there and low population ( less silly buggers ) i'm sure there will be plenty of blue eye for anyone stupid enough to drop a line in 500m of water for years to come.

Snelly

keep up the good work , you west coast guys are @#$%^%$ nuts!!!

Ozwald
04-10-2007, 03:23 PM
Congratulations!!!!!!!! I think this is the first time I've seen an Ausfish thread comply with Godwins Law:
The Godwin in Godwin's Law is Mike Godwin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mike_Godwin), the General Council of the Wikipedia Foundation. And Godwin has authored the most brilliant insight into the logical conclusion of all Internet chat:

“As an online discussion grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving Nazis or Hitler approach one."

Anyone know of other threads here that have reached this point? I dont read every thread.........

04-10-2007, 03:41 PM
This is just tooooooooo much!! This is Naggs best ever fishing trip report!!!

For me......A few sesions on Jewfish off Broken Bay (NSW)...I'd get to the mark a couple of hours before sunset ( coinciding with a change of tide )..... Put out 4 rods & have all the rods go off ( land a couple )8-) .......This would be the state of play until about 8.30pm ( 3 hours )..........In the end i could only fish 2 rods because that's all i could get in before a hook up( fish of 4 - 10kg ).......Best session 25 fish....24 jews & 1 nasty hairtail ( kept... 1 jew , 1 hairtail :) )

Nagg

this was your report from the "Best Fishing Session Ever !!! ( What's yours ) "thread from the 19.11.2006 and it raises a few questions about your fishing practices!!

What's the leagal number of rods one angler is allowed to use in NSW, I'm sure it wouldn't be 4!!! This would be very unsustainable for the fishery if every angler was allowed 4 rods each!!!

24 jew fish in one session ? Is this best practice? i realized you released 23 but what sort of condition were they in? And how many were cleaned up by sharks once returned to the water in a weakend state?

No wonder your worried about tassie anglers taking to many fish and using the maxium allowed fishing gear , your judging them by your own practices!!!

Reading this post i cant but help feel that you are a Hypocrite.;)

4 RODS tut tut tut!!! Very very naughty Nagg!!

04-10-2007, 04:24 PM
Actually Ian, I do believe 4 rods per person is the max permitted in NSW, but as I'm sure you are aware, you have to be very, shall I say 'hard core' to even attempt to fish with that number.

Cheers!

04-10-2007, 04:50 PM
Thanks for that Nigler

i didn't know that but it hardly affects the point i was trying to make !! Nagg is having ago at Snelly and his LEGAL and supposedly unsustainable fishing style, yet he fishes the maxium allowed gear when given the chance !!!!! And if every fisherman in NSW about 2 000 000 i would think used 4 rods how long would there already buggered fishery last!!! 8 millon rods shame shame shame!!

ps I know my arguement is DUM!!! but it's basically the same one Nagg's been using!! 4 x 30 hooks shocking shocking shocking yada yada yada!!!

ian

04-10-2007, 07:16 PM
ps I know my arguement is DUM!!!
ian

At least you got that right, Ianhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif

This set line style of fishing sounds like a hell of a lot of trouble to go to for a feed of fish.
Not my style at all, but have not actually experienced fishing in 500m.I'm spoilt for choice where I live however and dont need to go to the ends of the earth to get a feed..
However we shouldn't be critical of other fishers in other places who fish within the laws.
Nagg,you have made you point quite clearly,here.Maybe if you feel that strongly about this issue its time to take your crusade to the powers that be in an effort to be heard and have the laws changed.
Certainly been an entertaining thread,thoughhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/rolleyes.gif

04-10-2007, 07:54 PM
Yes, certainly an excellent thread!
Great to gain an appreciation of Snelly and the effort he has to make, let alone the weather he has to brave, in order to get a feed!
Interesting to read everybodys' viewpoints, certainly gained an insight into bottom bashing the shelf;) .
Cheers and may your seas be slight and your lines tight!

04-10-2007, 08:13 PM

For me......A few sesions on Jewfish off Broken Bay (NSW)...I'd get to the mark a couple of hours before sunset ( coinciding with a change of tide )..... Put out 4 rods & have all the rods go off ( land a couple )8-) .......This would be the state of play until about 8.30pm ( 3 hours )..........In the end i could only fish 2 rods because that's all i could get in before a hook up( fish of 4 - 10kg ).......Best session 25 fish....24 jews & 1 nasty hairtail ( kept... 1 jew , 1 hairtail :) )

Nagg

this was your report from the "Best Fishing Session Ever !!! ( What's yours ) "thread from the 19.11.2006 and it raises a few questions about your fishing practices!!

What's the leagal number of rods one angler is allowed to use in NSW, I'm sure it wouldn't be 4!!! This would be very unsustainable for the fishery if every angler was allowed 4 rods each!!!

24 jew fish in one session ? Is this best practice? i realized you released 23 but what sort of condition were they in? And how many were cleaned up by sharks once returned to the water in a weakend state?

No wonder your worried about tassie anglers taking to many fish and using the maxium allowed fishing gear , your judging them by your own practices!!!

G'day Ian ...... Firstly let me confirm for you that 4 rods are legal in NSW ( 3 hooks on each) ..... I used 1 hook + stinger for live bait & squid. Secondly I was fishing very shallow (15M) .... fish were knocked over quickly & some released while still in the water ..... The fish kept was a bad bleeder & I would normally not release any fish that I didn't think were in good condition......(I have been criticised by a mate for keeping a 103cm barra ... because I could not revive it adequately after trying for 15 mins) Also I do like eating fish regardless. .....
Now am I a hypocrite ? .... Probably not!( just evolving in my attitude to fishing & methods used ) ...... These days most of my fishing is lurecasting , Sps & Fly ..... One rod only! The exception (bait) is when someone tags along that is not an experienced fisho ..... My current boat is set up to enable me to release fish in the best condition possible ( live wells , enviro net , lip gripper ) ......8-) & I still take fish for the table .... but these days you will never see a photo of me with a deck full of dead fish ...... Those days are 10 years or so behind me.

Ian now to quote you "
Actually ... You are right Ian .... Except for the fact that I release a high percentage of my catch :thumbsup: ......YES! ... I really am an example of someone that understood a location & species (Mulloway)... & had the ability to go out .... bag out on both qty & size using maximum allowable tackle... pretty well every trip for 4-5 months of the year ..... My limitations were that ... I had a 90 min drive to the boat ramp .... A 40 min run & needed to fish into the night.... offshore in an open boat with the prevailing 20 knot NE wind that blows most afternoons during a Sydney summer + dodging black Noreasters & the occasional lightning storm ....while anchored over a hump on a reef :uhoh: ..Many times I would bag out & not bring a fish home.. (but usually 1 was kept) :) Now what would it be like if I had the attitude that its OK ... because its within regulations & I can & will take home the limit each trip:-X I actually fished with the idea of limiting my Kill ... Not Killing my limit ... well before it became a catchy phrase:) ...... So Ian, thank you for reminding me just why I have such a strong opinion on the subject :speechless: Cheers .... Nagg
PS ..... Enjoy .... Sorry about the quality 13837
Anyhow .... I dont think I'm a hypocrite:o

04-10-2007, 08:31 PM
105km winds today, not quite so strong yesterday or day before but more of that strenth for the next week
gotta love tassie

04-10-2007, 09:01 PM
Of course you are Nagg!! You fish your way using the maximum gear allowed and so does Snelly,both of you are following the rules yet you critisize Snelly. this = Hypocrite!!

Snelly doesn't pretend to be " Green " and catching fish for fun and releasing almost as many as he catches! I doubt the trevella would be to healthy after being dragged from 500m!! He doesn't have that luxury!

I notice from your post your a river and impoundment fisherman, with the odd venture into the deep to pull jewies from 15m of water!::) Do you have any idea how energy sapping it is to pull big fish from 100m of water let alone 500m:o No wonder they use 30 hooks, if you dont maximise your chances your going to go home empty handed!! It's not as if you'll say " argh well the last 20 drops haven't produced by we'll have another few go's before heading home. Mate i just dont think you have any concept of what's Snelly's doing, and as i said earlier you lost this arguement on page 3! Your just being stuborn!;)

Ps. organizations like PETA would much prefer a fisherman like snelly who catches for food than guy's like you and i that are more into catch and release, we are no1 on there hit list!

PPS. do you really believe that all those 23 jew you released lived to fight another day!! Maybe i'll have to add naive to the list

onerabbit
04-10-2007, 09:04 PM
105km winds today, not quite so strong yesterday or day before but more of that strenth for the next week
gotta love tassie

60+ knts, :o :o :o , sh!!!!!!!!!!t...................

snelly1971
04-10-2007, 09:27 PM

Nagg

Ha ha Thanks Ian....you have just made my day.....what a nobber you are Nagg....Fancy calling me a butcher....mmmm.....4 rods eh....You would look like a bloody trawler getting around.....Especially after your last post about....YOU KNOW WHAT WE WOULD BE UP TO IF WE CAUGHT X AMMOUNT OF FISH EXTRA......of course you would know.....your one of them....

And as for catch and release...well with my 10 odd years fish farming experience...I know first hand ...that FISH....do not like to be stressed out....So how many of your fish survive Nagg...you BUTCHER......

Sorry Fellow Ausfishers for the NAME calling...

BUT......

When you get some IDIOT bagging you out for the way you fish....only then to find out what HE is up to then....mmmmm.....Need i say anymore....

NAGG,.......you have been CAUGHT OUT:P:P:P:P:P

Mick;D;D;D;D;D

04-10-2007, 09:29 PM
Actually Ian, I do believe 4 rods per person is the max permitted in NSW, but as I'm sure you are aware, you have to be very, shall I say 'hard core' to even attempt to fish with that number.

Cheers!

Nigelr ..... As you say " Hard Core !" ..... & yes I did fish hard core during the 90s ..... It was just FUN ! ..... These days .... its different & I fish differently & I have a different approach to my fishing !
...... I wonder why ....... May be it has something to do with my own results :sick2:

As Quoted ......

PS .... These days the biggest advocates of the ANTI SMOKING debate .... Are EX SMOKERS!
PPS ....... Mr Fish Kisser ...... In his first fishing book while still a VFL player shows pictures of when he used to bag bag bag out on Snapper in Vic .... These days he is Mr Kiss Kiss & release 8-) ...... So attitudes do change

snelly1971
04-10-2007, 09:29 PM
PS....Ian....YOOOOOOOUUUUR A legend.......

Thanks ............

04-10-2007, 09:39 PM
PS....Ian....YOOOOOOOUUUUR A legend.......

Thanks ............

Mick .... Go back to my post less than 1 hour ago :oops: .... Nagg

04-10-2007, 09:58 PM
just read this thread, informative until got hi-jacked, really appreciate the efforts, guts and skills of the guys who fish on the shelf, others have expressed it better but I dont appreciate the guys who try to force their views down others throats who are fishing legally in their backyard, people can make their point yes but some of it goes to far, didnt like the reference to Hitler, uncalled for bombastic and crass,

reckon respect others in their backyard, 'glasshouses' comes to mind,
mike

snelly1971
04-10-2007, 09:58 PM
Mick .... Go back to my post less than 1 hour ago :oops: .... Nagg

Well why didnt you state this information at the start .....maybe then ...we ....Ausfishers....may have been able to understand why you felt so strong about what we are doing is wrong....BUT....NO.....your SLIM your way around....bagging others out..!!!!!!!!.....:o:o:o:o

Hi Blaze...60 knots eh.....its only a sea breeze for you:P:P

I have been working down at Sarah Island....20 NM down the bay...we had 48 knots monday week ago......The big Tri-Hull....just lapped it up....cruised home doing 18 knots....

05-10-2007, 06:08 AM
This pic looks like your trip home snelly, maybe................
I'm thinking 'Worlds' most dangerous catch' scenarios!::)

Cheers to all.

05-10-2007, 07:45 AM
Hasn't this caused a bit of a bun fight!!

Started to read this thread and found it quite interesting, reading about what's required by some people to fish around Tassie in very deep water. Then the snarls started, so I went to the last post and went backwards from there. I imagine that all the posts in the middle are just the same as the beginning and the end, so I won't read them.

It's like what Great White said a couple of weeks ago, isn't it, why can't some people just leave it alone without forcing their opinions on everybody else and spoiling what what is a very interesting thread?

The guys that fish like this are a lot braver than me and at the end of the day, they aren't doing anything illegal, so what's the problem? I also believe that the amount of fish they catch isn't going to cause too many shudders in the sustainability area.

Naggs' never ending replies remind me of another person quite some time ago who just wouldn't let it go. I wonder if Naggs is the same person by another name? Mate, just get over it and let life go on.

reidy
05-10-2007, 09:06 AM
gotta love tassie
Yeh bit of a bugger hay Blaze.Cancelled last week-ends trip to Arthurs,May have to cancel this week-end as well. Bloody web cam looks lovely up there this morning but its going to blow up again tomorrow (MAYBE).
TASMANIA HUEYS PUNCHING BAG
Reidy

rabbi
08-10-2007, 11:48 AM
Hi guys, when I go to the shelf I use a shimano short stroker rod and a shimano Torium 30 reel loaded with 22kg braid. I dont use bait just a 400gm knife jig at the bottom and a 150mm Squidgie SP 150cm up from the jig and if this does not get hit neither will a bait. The attraction of this is that it goes to the bottom at twice the speed of bait and does not drag as much as bait= easier to use. I was out at the 900ft mark one day and was winding a fishless rig back up and a 4kg snapper took the jig at around 400ft. You just never know what surprises are out there. Cheers.

08-10-2007, 02:54 PM
"and if this does not get hit neither will a bait"

I don't care who y'all are, that's some funny stuff right there.:D

Couldn't resist dude, but I'll bet an untouched nuclear chook to a 4 dozen smashed yakkas that you're wrong.

onerabbit
08-10-2007, 10:02 PM
Gotta admit Steve, I thought the same thing,

I've tried 6" glow in the dark squid above the bait for not much better result, wasn't keen to send anything down that far without a bit of bait.

You can keep jiggin' in that depth to yourself, if a 2lb sinker takes 5 minutes to hit the bottom.........................hope you pack lots of line.
Bait works just fine for us.

rabbi
09-10-2007, 10:12 AM
Hi guys, You don't have to go mad power winding this rig, just a slow bob up and down does the trick. Maybe you are not doing it properly!! Just ask some of the guys I have been out with about jig versus bait. We have cleaned up on Bar cod with jigs on days when they would not look at a bait. On the days when the fish are hungry they will attack anything and can be caught easily but when they are finicky try a jig. We just go out for the fun of catching these ooglies on rod and reel. If you close your mind off to different options you will have a lot of fishless trips. I will try everything just to satisfy my own curiousity. The jigs are more streamlined and drop at a quicker rate than a spiraling bait that acts like a parachute unless you strap half a railway track to it. Probably the reason why my arms don't get sore after spending a day at the shelf. But each to their own I guess. cheers, Steve.

rabbi
09-10-2007, 10:15 AM
Not much chop with computers though, Apparently. Steve

09-10-2007, 10:39 AM
Yeah fair cop Steve,

Proof's in the results.

My wife says the same thing.:-X

C.J.

madjewiefisher
09-10-2007, 04:07 PM
I knew sooner or later some people would post good info for me

Also what type of jigs you use and I spose the bigger the better

Cheers Steve
Hi guys, You don't have to go mad power winding this rig, just a slow bob up and down does the trick. Maybe you are not doing it properly!! Just ask some of the guys I have been out with about jig versus bait. We have cleaned up on Bar cod with jigs on days when they would not look at a bait. On the days when the fish are hungry they will attack anything and can be caught easily but when they are finicky try a jig. We just go out for the fun of catching these ooglies on rod and reel. If you close your mind off to different options you will have a lot of fishless trips. I will try everything just to satisfy my own curiousity. The jigs are more streamlined and drop at a quicker rate than a spiraling bait that acts like a parachute unless you strap half a railway track to it. Probably the reason why my arms don't get sore after spending a day at the shelf. But each to their own I guess. cheers, Steve.

rabbi
09-10-2007, 04:36 PM
This will give the game away. I found the colour button on the scanner. Anything around the 400gm works for me. The one in the pic is a cheaper brand but Knife jigs are good and try a 150mm drop bear squidgie about 1.5 to 2 metres up from the jig with a 60gm 8/0 head on 40kg plastic coated wire trace. No tangles and two hooks are enough for me seeing as the bag limit on Bar cod is 5 per person. Gives me a reason to throw the rig back over the side of the boat. This rig tends to snare big Nannigai and green eye sharks along with the odd tile fish. Haven't been as lucky as onerabbit to snare a Trevalla. cheers, Steve.

09-10-2007, 06:15 PM
Nice pic and great fish!
Interesting info also Rabbi, thanks for sharing that!