View Full Version : Where can i buy fishing tackle online
dribbls
29-08-2007, 03:55 PM
I have just recently got into fishing and my mates buy their products online they say that it is heaps cheaper. Firstly what are peoples thoughts has anyone else purchased products online and what type of quality did you recive? or am I better off just going to my local tackle store?
Please help me any suggestions welcolme
ffejsmada
29-08-2007, 05:12 PM
dribbls, I reckon if you are just starting out with your fishing, you are much better off dealing with a local tackle shop. Good free advice is invaluable, you can't get that online! The little bit extra you might pay for your tackle at the local is well worth it for the free advice.
Once you get familiar with your tackle needs and requirements, the savings you can make on rods and reels etc. by buying online, can be quite substantial if you online shop correctly. All comes back to knowing the product you want to buy.
Do your research.
Initially though, I'd be dealing with your local tackle shop until you get a handle on things.
Cheers, Jeff.
Zac_87
29-08-2007, 06:10 PM
http://www.plat.co.jp/shop/catalog/default.php
this is a great site in japan if you are looking for some high end stuff.
ive bought a fair bit of gear through them and am allways impressed with shipping times and the care taken to package your goods. you really need to know what your after though.
carpel
29-08-2007, 07:00 PM
look on ebay under sporting sections .. buy off reputable dealers either powersellers or guys with 1000s of sales for big stuff .. be careful to equate your shipping and insurence costs into the overall price of anything .. mo tackle is also on line these days .. bass shop pro are a good US site to .. the american and singapore sites are generally heaps cheaper than the jap sites .. AUD dependant. but like someone says u gotta know what u want ..
rayken1938
29-08-2007, 07:03 PM
MO tackle are a good on line store and prices are very hard to beat.
If buying from ebay only buy known brands there is a lot of rubbish there. Also check postage charges some charge $10 for a $2 item.
I buy a lot from the U S A but you have to do a lot of looking. You have to look on ebay america as if you search ebay australia it often doesnt show all sellers who ship overseas.
My most recent purchase was 3 X 300 yard spools of sufix 50 lb braid from seller outlaw0707 for $39 dollars landed in Australia. This is a savings of well over 50%
It takes around 5 to 7 days to arrive.
Hard bodied lures are also good buying but do not buy soft plastics as customs will impound them if they detect them,particually if they are scented or salt impregnated.
Just buy small and feel your way around and I am certain you will be happy with the results.
Ray
shaneomack05
29-08-2007, 08:14 PM
i think if everybody buys off the internet (especially overseas) thats all we'll be doing, because all the tackle stores will have to close down. it angers me. dont get me wrong, i've bought off the net and i probably will again, but you can get so much help from tackle shops and most shops will try and match the internet price. within reason
SUPPORT THE LOCAL SHOPS!!!!!!!
SHANE
snelly1971
29-08-2007, 09:19 PM
I use Wellseys tackle...great prices and they are No1 for customer service and postage times...
Fafnir
30-08-2007, 07:48 AM
because all the tackle stores will have to close down
Many will regardless, because of the pricing of larger chain stores, who commonly sell at under cost to put smaller guys out of business. The smart operators who saw this coming, have their own online stores. Still have a physical store (companies like Shimano will ONLY supply physical stores in Australia), but sell a heap of gear online as well. The internet gives them a chance to sell well beyond their physical location, growing much larger databases of clients. Mo's, Wellsys, the Perth mob are all good examples of this. I struggle to have pity for smaller tackle stores who don't even have their own website to promote the benefits of buying in store.
carpel
30-08-2007, 02:19 PM
Fafnir I know what your saying but its a different story in regional towns..I reckon tackle stores could be kept alive if distributors and importers cut them a break .. They could just load them with catalogues and fast deliver stock requests to the store as well as keep a display case there .. and supply a decent commision .. THE IDEA THAT THEY CANT BUY A REEL AT THE SELLING PRICE OF ##### SPORTS IS JUST WRONG ..and could be avoided to no ones detriment with 3 letters RRP.
Cos the other side of the coin is that not everyone wants to be a major company and run an on line business , they're happy to just earn a living in a seaside town and provide a service ... they dont want to be tycoons .I dunno exactly how but I think these people should be supported by us and given a much fairer crack by the industry then they are now and personally I dread the day they all pack it in.
1lastcast
30-08-2007, 03:35 PM
Jeff your advice is spot on mate.
the local tackle store is the best place to start it could save buying the wrong gear for the job you want it to do and could stop you buying some of the CRAP !! some sites offer.
Fafnir
30-08-2007, 04:33 PM
Carpel I appreciate where you're coming from, but the reality in business is you're either growing, or your dying, there's no middle ground, just that some die faster than others. I know that smaller tackle stores don't WANT to be a major company selling online, but what any of us WANTS and what we GET are unfortunately 2 different things. I want to be a photographer for Playboy, but it's never going to happen.
I have good friends who have had to close their tackle stores down because they couldn't compete. Sad yes, but it's the way of the world. Their only chance to survive was to take the plunge and get bigger fast, but they chose not to. So in effect, they chose to be in a position where they had to close the doors.
But you make some EXCELLENT points about RRP. As someone who knows many of the wholesale prices on tackle, and recommended retail prices, I can honestly say it's getting harder than ever. The only people making money are the suppliers plain and simple. If suppliers put their foot down and said to all retailers 'Agree to these terms or we won't supply you', then the small guys could compete, but it's never going to happen. Besides, it would then not be our, the purchasing publics best interest.
Don't get me wrong, I love little out of the way tackle stores, with top quality service and advice from people who have fished their whole lives. But that's not going to save them, they either grow, or they close their doors, plain and simple.