View Full Version : kilo Bream from the bay

flickflack
28-08-2007, 10:22 AM
Hi All

Headed up to the bay to have a pre fish for the brissie boat show tournie on the weekend. Fished around the islands casting over the flats and basically just trying to have a good look around as I have only been up this end of the world 1 before. The best fish we got of the morning was this 1.12kg bream caught on a shallow running minnow and 3lb flouro. Could see the fish from the time it hit the lure till it went into the net with rocks everywhere. While we were chasing the bream a pocket of longtails popped up next to us. I looked at my bream rod and $20 Japanese lre and went yeah why not. A quick flick of the handle and the drag was screaming. I recon I was doing okay until the fish manged to get itself tip wrapped. It didnt take long after that to saw through my leader. Still had heaps of fun and laughs chasing it around on 1lb braid. Must admit the 1000 size reel is a bit stiffer this morning. What a beautiful place to fish and the iptions are amazing looking forward to the comp and plenty more time spent harrasing you brissie boys in the bay.

Cheers Rod

Tailortaker
28-08-2007, 10:52 AM
Well done ! thats one nice bream mate.
Cheers TT
________
Ship sale (http://ship-sale.com/)

TheSaint
28-08-2007, 06:15 PM
Nice Breambo Rod..

ON-THE-CHEW
28-08-2007, 06:24 PM
You have already beaten most of the local brissy boys PB's on your second trip. I don't think you need to come up here too often you will catch all of the decent fish and will have to start fishing back down at the tweed.

shorty 01
28-08-2007, 06:59 PM
mate that is a grate bream well done.

cheers davo

yellahunter
28-08-2007, 07:08 PM
great Bream Rod,

keep them reports coming mate

richieboy
28-08-2007, 07:27 PM
Finally seeing ya up in our neck of the woods hey Rod. We'll keep an eye out for ya Sat/Sun mate.
I don't think you'll miss my boat. Great Breambo, and there are a few other spots that hold em just as big and bigger at the right times. ;)
Good luck in the tournament mate.

Richie

breamnut
28-08-2007, 08:05 PM
Hi All

Headed up to the bay to have a pre fish for the brissie boat show tournie on the weekend. Fished around the islands casting over the flats and basically just trying to have a good look around as I have only been up this end of the world 1 before. The best fish we got of the morning was this 1.12kg bream caught on a shallow running minnow and 3lb flouro. Could see the fish from the time it hit the lure till it went into the net with rocks everywhere. While we were chasing the bream a pocket of longtails popped up next to us. I looked at my bream rod and $20 Japanese lre and went yeah why not. A quick flick of the handle and the drag was screaming. I recon I was doing okay until the fish manged to get itself tip wrapped. It didnt take long after that to saw through my leader. Still had heaps of fun and laughs chasing it around on 1lb braid. Must admit the 1000 size reel is a bit stiffer this morning. What a beautiful place to fish and the iptions are amazing looking forward to the comp and plenty more time spent harrasing you brissie boys in the bay.

Cheers Rod

can you take me to the gravel patch??:P:P:P;D
i suppose it an ok bream aswell:P

28-08-2007, 08:06 PM
Yes the bay is an amasing place to explore Roderick.
I've been exploring it for a couple of years now and something new pops up all the time.
The fish are there...you just have to find them and you seem to be able to find them anywhere...goodo :D

Why-ting
28-08-2007, 08:36 PM
Hey Rod. Thats a nice breambo mate, what did he go 38-39 FL? Guessing you were fishing the shallows off Mud. Would of been a bit of fun around the coral. Hope ya smack a few on the weekend. Good luck. Who ya fishing with?

Whytey

Foxy4
28-08-2007, 09:27 PM
A nice bream for sure... Wonder if there are any bigger lurking around out there?

ashh
28-08-2007, 10:55 PM
Hey, I know you! ;D

quality bream mate

Dodgy_Back
29-08-2007, 09:16 AM
I was fishing in the mouth of the Brissy riv yesterday going for Cod around the beacons when I saw this tinny with a bloke up the front with his rod bent over and his mate on the tiller steer chasing some bloody fish all over the place, wasn't you was it Rod ?

Who's your partner on the weekend, Kelvin ?

flickflack
29-08-2007, 10:00 AM
Ash

Hey there again mate, did you catch anything when you went back out for a fish? Spoke to Big Kev today and sounds like it could be a done deal I think there was just one thing he wanted to check out.

No mate we were in Kelvin's boat but did spend about 15 minutes chasing the longtail around just couldnt help chucking the Jackall chubbie at them. I am fishing the wknd with Steve Eldridge as Team Ford Ranger.

Richie
Mate that is an awesome fishery and once I get the new boat I will be fishing it heaps. The possibilities are endless absolutely beautiful country and so much of it. Pm me your mobile and I will give you a ring.

Whytie
Congrats on the Jew you got in the river, It went 38to the fork and was a fat male. You guys should let me know when you have a monday off and I will come and join you for a fish. I am always chasing good pics for my articles and you guys catch heaps of quality fish.

Rod

ashh
29-08-2007, 06:46 PM
nah not a touch, bottom of tide and filthy brown water didnt help.
Big Kev is now the new proud owner.

flickflack
29-08-2007, 07:47 PM
Ash

Well done mate , look forward to fishing out of it

Rod

jackextracter
29-08-2007, 10:47 PM
Nice breambo mate theres sure is some monsters in the bay, have you been after any jacks yet?