View Full Version : Exhaust Systems

27-08-2007, 03:20 PM

I'm toyin with the idea of getting an aftermarket exhaust my rodeo.

She's '01 with the 2.8 turbo diesel in the front, all the running gear is standard, the only engine mod would be a k&n air filter.

What kind of exhaust would give me the best performance and economy? Anyone had personal experiance?

I would like to get it done with the intention of getting a snorkel in the near future.

Kleyny
27-08-2007, 06:55 PM
I used to work at a holden dealer as a mechanic.
The rodeos respond quite well to simple mods like exhaust upgrade and snorkel.

from memory the older rodeos (same donk) responded to a 2 1/2 inch exhaust with a good flowing muffler and a snorkel.

so if it was me I'd try and get the two together to really feel/see the improvements.

As I've said once before the easiest way to make a (lazy) diesel engine work/go harder is make it breath better. just like humans really, try and breath through a straw then breath through a toilet roll. try and breath hot air then cool/colder air.

hope this helps

neil

27-08-2007, 10:45 PM

Thanks neil, I totaly agree with making any engine breathe better.

I was thinknig around 2 3/4 system myself, anyone else with experiance?

28-08-2007, 07:28 AM
2 3/4"..:o ....gees are you going to strip the downpipes off the house Dave ;)

I was always led to believe you can go too big but I'm only a broken down sparky so what would I know.

OISTA
28-08-2007, 07:57 AM
Extractors and exhaust whold make a reasonable difference. 2 3/4 shouldn't be to big for the turbo, but you might run into issues just clearing any body work, cassis, mounts. I don't think going from 2 3/4 back to 2 1/2 would make a noticeable difference.

I've heard alot of good reports about these guys and will be trying them once i get the chance.
http://www.beauexhausts.com.au/

Darren D
28-08-2007, 09:38 AM
I have had three 2.8 turbo rodeos in my time and ended up puting 2.5 inch exhaust systems on all of them and opened up the air intake (better quality air filter) and this made a big improvement. I didnt put a snorkel on as this makes air intake noise inside the cab unbearable.
You wont be disapointed.

28-08-2007, 02:53 PM

Thanks for the replies.

Hey finga, all I need you to do is help me wire up some duf duf and neon lights lol

I haven't lost my mind ;)

I was thinking in the realm of 2 1/2, 2 3/4 so looks as though i'll have a good chat with the exhaust place.

I had a set of extractors and a 2'' system put on my old hilux, men @ work at capalaba did it. good job and great price.

Kleyny
28-08-2007, 04:24 PM
I have had three 2.8 turbo rodeos in my time and ended up puting 2.5 inch exhaust systems on all of them and opened up the air intake (better quality air filter) and this made a big improvement. I didnt put a snorkel on as this makes air intake noise inside the cab unbearable.
You wont be disapointed.
the air noise all depends on what snorkel is fitted.
But i cant remember what snorkel we used to fit:-[

Blackened, if you go to big with the exhaust you will get a drone from the exhaust IMO that would be allot more unbearable more than the snorkle sucking air.
neil

28-08-2007, 07:18 PM

Only wanted it big enough to perform, had a chat to an exhaust place today and a 2.5'' system is the go.

Will have it sorted in a few weeks..... kinda hard freeing up a day with a business vehicle ;)

Will let you all know how it goes.

Kleyny
28-08-2007, 07:41 PM
did they give you a quote on the system?

28-08-2007, 08:20 PM

I only asked for a ballpark figure, will discuss pricing tomorrow.

I believe it will be in the realm of the high 200's, mandrel bent and high flow muffler.

catfishkid
28-08-2007, 08:37 PM
I know its a bit different but i have a 3L diesel hilux with a/market turbo.
It has 2 3/4 mandrel bent system including dump pipe from turbo,with snorkel.
It breathes really well.
As for induction and exhaust noise,sure there is a bit but not to bad.
A mate recently fitted a bigger exhaust to hid 2.5 t/d pajero,and that made a big improvement,but the dump pipe from turbo was going to cost almost as much as the exhaust so he didnt do that.

Cheers craig:)

OISTA
28-08-2007, 09:52 PM
Extractors and exhaust would make a bigger difference than exhaust alone, just more $$$ upfront

Kleyny
29-08-2007, 08:55 PM
Extractors and exhaust would make a bigger difference than exhaust alone, just more $$$ upfront

All the turbo diesel motors i have ever worked on or seen its impossible to fit extractors. As the turbo is fitted just after the exhaust manifold then after that is where the main exhaust starts.

Hamish73
29-08-2007, 09:12 PM
That seems excessively cheap:o
I have a custom 3" mandrel system on my pootrol 4.2 TD. Cost $900
Dont forget the dump pipe, which is the most important bit. Without that you are wasting your time.

30-08-2007, 06:51 AM
Hey Dave how about some white and blue and red and green and yellow LED's under the skirts??
Cheap as chips and waterproof.
http://www.besthongkong.com/index.php?cPath=21
;)

31-08-2007, 06:07 AM

Love your work there scotty, maybe you should open up a pimp my ride business?

They'd make great deck lights for the boat tucked up under the gunnels.

31-08-2007, 06:13 AM

Hamish, i'll let you know how i go ;)

I'm not 100% up with the turbo systems, but my theory is this.

I thought it was not possible to fit extractors on this particular turbo diesel, mainly because of the turbo, and its current position. Instead a dump pipe is fitted, which is designed to have a similar effect as the extractors, ie: to expell the exhaust gasses quicker than what would have been allowed, therefore eliminating the back pressure resulting in a freeer flowing engine and all the benefits associated.

Am I right?

Kleyny
31-08-2007, 05:26 PM

Hamish, i'll let you know how i go ;)

I'm not 100% up with the turbo systems, but my theory is this.

I thought it was not possible to fit extractors on this particular turbo diesel, mainly because of the turbo, and its current position. Instead a dump pipe is fitted, which is designed to have a similar effect as the extractors, ie: to expell the exhaust gasses quicker than what would have been allowed, therefore eliminating the back pressure resulting in a freeer flowing engine and all the benefits associated.

Am I right?

spot on sunshine;)

31-08-2007, 06:03 PM

Love your work there scotty, maybe you should open up a pimp my ride business?

They'd make great deck lights for the boat tucked up under the gunnels.

Ezacally ;D

07-10-2007, 04:56 PM

Just an update for you all, finally made a weekend when the shop and I were available with the truck.

I took it into Caboolture Exhaust Brake and Mechanical, they're up on beerburrum road at caboolture, just up from the train station.

I dealt with the owner, glen and he's done an excellent system for me.

It's 2.5'' from the back of the turbo and a free flowing muffler. Good service and a good price, highly recommended,.

Rosco4x4
08-10-2007, 07:39 PM
Another good contact is Taipan at Narang in QLD. They make an exhaust and tweak a few hings to get heaps more go go. Well worth the call. Over.

The-easyrider
10-10-2007, 06:06 PM
Must agree with Roscc4x4 had the tiapan vortex system fitted to my 4.2td gu , un bee leve a bull!!makes those little 3 litre patrols look silly at the lights.;D

29-01-2008, 03:03 PM

Another Update for those of you who are interested

Did some detailing work for Glen, and whilst I was there, he stuck my truck on the dyno at his mates workshop down the road.

Standard Rodeo was putting out around 40KW. and around 175NM.

After the Dyno Tune, Exhaust and a boost controller, it's now producing 52.2KW at around the same revs, and 240NM, with the torque peaking much earlier.

The KW thats being produced is more than a turbo 3.0L hilux of the same vintage with same mods, so they guys at the shop tell me.

These figures are of course at the wheels.

A massive improvement it is:)

Kleyny
29-01-2008, 04:04 PM
i think you'll find that the standard figures from the lux and the rodeo are at the flywheel.
so those figures you are getting at the wheels is more than i thought you would get.

amazing on how something as simple as an exhaust can make
you have to be stoked

neil

29-01-2008, 04:54 PM

I totally understand the figures standard are flywheel figures

The hilux comparison is by the same guys who dyno's mine, same mods, same era

Totally stoked... I worked it out to be from standard... 27% increase in power and 34% in torque.

Kleyny
29-01-2008, 05:45 PM
thats impressive in any mans eyes

neil

04-02-2008, 12:18 AM
Neil what sort of $ did he charge? i live in Caboolture and might see him about a muffler for the patrol.

Kleyny
05-02-2008, 08:58 PM
Neil what sort of $ did he charge? i live in Caboolture and might see him about a muffler for the patrol.
i got my muffler for my cruiser from Bruce McCleans on M.Field rd
couldnt have been happier with the job and the price.
it was around 200 bucks from memory for the 2.5" straight through and roughly a metre of pipe as well welded onto the extractors (which were in a shit of a spot)

neil

eagle1
11-02-2008, 08:43 AM
hi all, im also thinking of putting exhaust system through my 3lt intercooled turbo nissan wagon, used to have toyota landcruiser 4.2 turbo with 3in exhaust system on the wagon went really good till the daughter wrote the car off,
i like the nissan but would like abit more pulling power before i update to a barcrusher, has anybody put an exhaust system on a nissan 4cylander, and will it make that little bit extra power that i need to haul the larger boat long distance, thanks for any info

budge
11-02-2008, 09:47 AM
Eagle1, an after market exhaust added to any factory turbo car will normally increase performance figures in the vicinity of 5-20% dependent on the model. Standard systems are designed largely with emissions and the bottom line dollar value in mind. The main ingredient in obtaining good performance gains over a factory system is in the dump pipe, which is the primary pipe off the exhaust/turbine housing of the turbo. A turbocharged engine does not require the same degree of back pressure created by the exhaust like a naturally aspirated engine therefore size is more so about providing free flow of exhaust gasses. In providing this better flow to the engine you will normally find the turbo will start to boost slightly lower but it will greatly increase the mid and top end capacity of the engine.

Also depending on the money you would like to spend on the car to increase its power and more importantly when towing torque figures you may want to look into the gains you may achieve through products such as a induction system such as a snorkel, a after market management system or piggy back ecu system like Dtronic or similar and also diesel gas technology that will increase your power and also give you better fuel economy.

As for people to carry out your work there are a lot of good guys around now but I have to agree with Neil, Bruce Maclean at Morayfield is a great guy I have known him for years and he has been in the industry for a long time and is always more than happy to help you out with anything that you require.

Brady

eagle1
11-02-2008, 12:44 PM
thanks for the info brady, the deisel to gas convursion sounds alright,they give a rebate of $1500,ill go out and check this out this arvo,the wagon has a factory snorkle fitted, and has 2 1/4 in pipe or 60mm, ill get back with some info this evaning,thanks again for your help
cheers david

cobia
13-02-2008, 09:30 AM
hey mate do you have this guys number who did your exhaust?he sounds pretty good.im about to get mine done on my 2.5td mazda bravo..

thanks buddy

13-02-2008, 05:38 PM

Glen Caboolture Exhaust and Mechanical 5495 6511

Let him know Dave, Precision Detailing sent you