View Full Version : Sunday Morning out on the Bay 26th Aug

Aquarius
26-08-2007, 01:36 PM
Howdy folks, Jim and I headed to Manly boat ramp at 5-30am for a squire session around the southern bay islands.
I could not believe we were the only car/ trailer in the car park and almost the only boat out on the bay.
A light S/W wind greeted us as we made our way out through the Manly leads towards a few of my favourite haunts.
Plastics were in the water before sunrise but the fish although good shows on the sounder just did not feel hungry.
The water surface temp was a cool 17.8 degress and last weekend it was 24 so maybe that had something to do with them being slow to feed.
After sunrise we tried a few different locations and finally they fired up.
Got a steady run of 34cm squire before i nailed the first keeper at 42cms.
It was good to see the fish active again after a few weeks of shutdown.
The water clarity is still clear in places and i was surprised after all the rain we have just recieved.
Gee can it get any better than to have the whole bay to yourself and a few fish hitting the plastics.
10 knots max all morning and even close to a glassout at one stage. 15 to 20??????????????????????????
Sorry no pics today i'm sure you all know what a 42cm squire looks like.;D
Cheers Brent

tfish
26-08-2007, 01:56 PM
g'day Aquarius, just curious as to what time they started to come on the chew!wish i went with my gut feeeling, and went fishing. good onya!:)

Silent
26-08-2007, 02:38 PM
Thanks for report and I'm so keen about clarity water...
Yeah we know what 42cm look like...;D ...so one is better than nil!

chief
26-08-2007, 03:30 PM
Hey brent ,mate very interesting about the water temp mate . The river over the last few weeks has always been around that 16-17 degrees and mate she has not dropped after the rain.At least you ended with a bit of action though .Good on ya .It was dead quiet this morning on the river.

Aquarius
26-08-2007, 03:56 PM
tfish they were quiet until the run out.
We found an eleven metre ledge rising up to 2 metres and worked the drift until 11-30am.
Most of the fish were sitting between 7 to 5 metres.
Also got a few tailor and returned them to fight another day.
Cheers Brent

26-08-2007, 05:15 PM
Good to see some activity a least. I thought visability would have been an issue with the bay looking like a washing machine last week

At least you got a fix

bayfisher
26-08-2007, 06:26 PM
Good to see some at least some activity in the bay, did you stick around the islands or venture out into the eastern side of the bay?

Cheers Chris

Aquarius
26-08-2007, 06:49 PM
G,Day Chris, We stayed around the islands today.
It would have been ok for a Tangas trip but we thought the islands would fire up after the wind and rain.
Your favourite coloured plastic was doing the job today.
Also used Gulp 3" grub tails, 3"powerbaits and 5"nuclear chicken gulps.
Cheers Brent

richieboy
26-08-2007, 09:24 PM
At least ya got into a few Brent. Nick and I concentrated around the mouth of the river and the Fresh has pushed the squire out around the islands I reckon. Not a touch except for Whytey getting smoked in the racks on 6lb.
However, we did manage to find a few other species on the chew. ;)

Richie

T1
27-08-2007, 09:46 AM
Hi Brent!

I too headed out yesterday (last night) for a few hours just to satisfy the 'fix'. Ended up with a 46cm for my troubles but it was quite lumpy out there especially around the high - it did settle down eventually but they had shut down with the rise in wind and swell for that 30 min period on the high. Got a few throwbacks prior to that too... Still quiet though but i think it will only get better from here (hopefully).

Take Care T