View Full Version : Saltwater Spinnerbaiting

BLOOEY
26-08-2007, 12:03 PM
Gday,Just wondering if anybody has specifically targeted fish in the salt with spinnerbaits?I gave it a crack this morning and came up with a little estuary cod.Ben

loophole
26-08-2007, 01:12 PM
ive heard its a good way to catch jewies on the new tt series soft plastic spinnerbait jigheads

cammo79
26-08-2007, 01:50 PM
Ive seen a lot of our salt natives interested in spinnerbaits. bream love them in dirty water ( seems more like an aggression strike) same as jacks will take them, flathead seem to have a go but miss a bit because of the shape.

Cod will eat just about anything, mate caught one the other day and while it was in the boat it coughed up roast bones.

Got to love the snagproof design for casting into heavy cover for jacks and bream.

Pistol_P
26-08-2007, 02:53 PM
I have caught flatties on them in the salt Ben.
...But that doesnt say much as they arent that fussy....;)

BLOOEY
26-08-2007, 03:10 PM
Excellent,Think i'll give them a bit more of a crack.Cammo 79,was running one through some serious structure today and diddn't hang up once.Weird looking things though.Ben

loophole
26-08-2007, 07:14 PM
i would try them if i knew how 2 use them lol. are they the same as a hard body lure?

bass-pirate
26-08-2007, 07:30 PM
ive heard its a good way to catch jewies on the new tt series soft plastic spinnerbait jigheads

Yea the tt spinnerbait jigheads work well on anything that will hit a soft plastic. There called revheads, however they are nothing new, they have been out for over two years. They are just another version of the gamakatsu pony heads

modo
27-08-2007, 07:45 AM
My Brother in Law trolled up a mac tuna near Flinders Reef on his bream gear and a spinner bait. I was amazed because I had my laser pro's and jet heads out. This thin rejected all mine for the spinner bait.

BLOOEY
27-08-2007, 11:48 AM
Was thinking of maybe putting a couple of extra hooks on the back of one and using it to troll pillys and the like.So many things to try so little time.

Little grey men
27-08-2007, 02:16 PM
Some are supplied with a stinger hook attached, although this does increase the chance of snags. that extra hook will increase your hookup rate though.
They can be retrieved fast, slow and everything in between.
I usually retrieve very slow as it doesn't take much to get them spinning, and crawl them really close, or over snags. They do annoy a lot of fish. I'm sure there's times where the fish are actually just hitting the bait instead of biting it.
There are some big ones on the market now, designed for Murray Cod which are about the size of a man's hand with his fingers spread out.(Codman I think)The blades are designed to whack against each other to make a good deal of noise as well as the spin flash. I'm sure this size would take some good saltwater fish.

27-08-2007, 03:16 PM
There are some ones out there, mostly around the Noosa region, for trolling for Spanish Mackerel etc. They must be made locally there. Check out the Fishing Noosa website. They seem pretty popular with the Yak fishermen you will see all through that site.

BLOOEY
27-08-2007, 05:34 PM
Ta smithy will do,No point reinventing the wheel.Ben

efc
28-08-2007, 05:06 PM
i think you could be onto a winner with the ganged pilly idea BLOOEY ill give that one a go for sure

mattooty
29-08-2007, 01:10 PM
Yeh im off to get some of my revheads and add some gangs on the back of them, see how it goes...

BLOOEY
29-08-2007, 05:48 PM
Went out this arvo and gave it a crack.It works ,got 2 tailor and two small doggys.Ben

84mick
29-08-2007, 08:55 PM
Bass-pirate: Where can you get there TT spinnerbaits from? I have been looking out for the Squidgy ones? Ive been keen to try them ever since I seen them on the squidgy DVD.

Cheers, Mick.