View Full Version : ultimate bass tournament boat

searchinthebay
24-08-2007, 02:28 PM
What would you like to see in a tournament bass boat?

bassfanatic5
24-08-2007, 02:49 PM
Prefferably plenty of big Bass.:D

scoocer101
24-08-2007, 03:08 PM
Everything a skeeter tournament bass boat has:D . I'll have 1 of those boats anyday.

searchinthebay
24-08-2007, 05:14 PM
but how much would you want to pay for one?

Sniper
24-08-2007, 09:20 PM
One that floats!!! Oh and thats comfortable to fish out of and gets you to where the fish are in a reasonable amount of time safely and doesn't cost a fortune to buy and run. Thats why I've got a 445 Hornet Balance boat. Everything I need at the moment. Would love a Lab or iclass Skeeter but the bank account doesn't have that many cents in it. Bugga.
Billyboy

searchinthebay
24-08-2007, 09:24 PM
you guys may want to go to the Gold Coast boat show at the end of October. Might be something new there that just may interest you. And way cheaper than a Skeeter. I'll keep you updated

breamnut
24-08-2007, 09:27 PM
skeeter,stratos,ranger,triton there are only a few awsome bass boats.
there are way better stuff out there!
skeeters are old in the usa

the_matrix
24-08-2007, 10:43 PM
skeeter,stratos,ranger,triton there are only a few awsome bass boats.
there are way better stuff out there!
skeeters are old in the usa
Thats the funniest thing Ive heard.;D ::) ;D ::)
Better go over there and check it out mate, those boats you mentioned are by far and away at the top of the tree in the states.
Plenty try to copy them, none have managed to do it.................unless you believe their own bs PR.
If theres a better boat than the above mentioned, I'd like to have one. Problem is there isnt.
That simple.
60+years development in a hull??? Mate your doing something special to knock that off in a few years...............no matter how much you copy.
Cheaper boats out there that are "supposedly"as good or better?
Yeh right, like Volkswagen and Porsche.............you get what you pay for.
Simple formula that applies to most things in this world.
JW

Big_unit
25-08-2007, 12:05 AM
Its a pity they dont hand out fish handling etiquette with big $$$ bass boats or for that matter too tournament anglers in general.

James

25-08-2007, 12:36 AM
Webster twinfisher 4.3 or 4.9 in Bassmaster Platinum would do me for sure. around 34k for the 4.3 and would do everything i would need it for.

Cheers Chris

Hardb8
25-08-2007, 08:21 AM
This one's easy to answer.........Me! :laola: :laola: :laola: .

TheSaint
25-08-2007, 05:42 PM
Would love a high end Skeeter but a Attack 470 would do it for me but if the bank knocks that back a 435 Hornet will do me fine..

bassfanatic5
26-08-2007, 11:24 AM
Billyboy hows the balance going sounds like your still happy with the choice. Is it much different to fish out of compared to sniper.

Damien

Sniper
27-08-2007, 09:08 PM
Oh yeh. This ones got a steering wheel. But no seats. But me only sitting on my but going form a to be then the rest of the time standing. Heaps of deck space. Love it. Small enough to handle by myself no problems and big enough for 2 or 3 to fish out of comfortably. Has the doggy going?? Still giving those fast skiers the sh*ts when you fly past them and they are going full noise??
Billyboy

Sean
27-08-2007, 09:46 PM
Thats the funniest thing Ive heard.;D ::) ;D ::)
Better go over there and check it out mate, those boats you mentioned are by far and away at the top of the tree in the states.
Plenty try to copy them, none have managed to do it.................unless you believe their own bs PR.
If theres a better boat than the above mentioned, I'd like to have one. Problem is there isnt.
That simple.
60+years development in a hull??? Mate your doing something special to knock that off in a few years...............no matter how much you copy.
Cheaper boats out there that are "supposedly"as good or better?
Yeh right, like Volkswagen and Porsche.............you get what you pay for.
Simple formula that applies to most things in this world.
JW

I'm not so sure......I know not a lot about USA:'( But recently was talking to a fella from the US and he hadn't even heard of them....skeeters that is, and he was right into Bass fishing, he might have been a LLLLLLoser though!!!
I don't want to cop crap BTW I'm just saying what I came across.....as I said there isn't much not to know about USA that I don't know.....I think.;D

the_matrix
28-08-2007, 08:52 AM
I'm not so sure......I know not a lot about USA:'( But recently was talking to a fella from the US and he hadn't even heard of them....skeeters that is, and he was right into Bass fishing, he might have been a LLLLLLoser though!!!
I don't want to cop crap BTW I'm just saying what I came across.....as I said there isn't much not to know about USA that I don't know.....I think.;D

Sean, yeh thats pretty surprising.
However, I once met a yank that thought the Statue of Liberty was only built for the CIA to spy on the American public.::)
And another notorious one who..................well lets just say WMD.

Looking at the American Bass scene, one which I do follow a bit, the rigs used are Rangers, Skeets, Stratos, and a few others.
If you look at the results of the ESPN Outdoors Bassmasters 06, you will find that 8 out of the top ten boats are from the big three.
Theres surely other boats, but not quite sure that they are better considering that everything in those comps is cutting edge.
Jas

Little grey men
28-08-2007, 10:47 AM
A ten ft flat bottom aluminium tinnie, 12 ft is just showing off. Lot's of messy silicone repairs inside to stop a lot of the water coming in.
It probably should have a motor on the back, something punchy, like a 6hp.
The live well could be substituted for an hessian sack hung off the back.
Wouldn't need a radio as I can yell pretty loud. It would need an older style foam esky as they are better to hang onto in the water in case something bad happens.
Oh yeah, and a cushion to sit on. That alumunium gets bloody hot.
Lot's and lot's of stickers as they cover small holes.

That's about all I can think of..

roydsy
28-08-2007, 11:27 AM
Full boar 5.5m which might be put into the for sale section of this website soon..... any takers?

hehehe :P

McCod
28-08-2007, 02:46 PM
One of these suckers...... Skeeter 22i with @ 300 HP to go ;D he he he!
http://www.skeeterboats.com/product_pages/i-ClassBoats/22i.html

cobia
28-08-2007, 08:47 PM
i still cant uinderstand the need for a motor over 100hp for dam fishing unless your skiing.

as for a perfect nass boat i dont think there is one.

i catch just as many fish as the "pro's" in there skeeters etc.

my boat is a humble 4M blue fin with a 30hp outboard and a elec bow mount,some false floors and plenty of room to fish a few.

makes spending big money on those boats pointless cosidering i can also take my little boat in the bay with a fairly decent swell and chop wear those boats cant???

i can understand people buying these tornament boats.sure they look nice,go fast.btu i cant honestly justify buying one.300hp at wide open throttle with the cost of fuel these days...the fuel bill must be horrific

McCod
28-08-2007, 09:49 PM
i still cant uinderstand the need for a motor over 100hp for dam fishing unless your skiing.

as for a perfect nass boat i dont think there is one.

i catch just as many fish as the "pro's" in there skeeters etc.

my boat is a humble 4M blue fin with a 30hp outboard and a elec bow mount,some false floors and plenty of room to fish a few.

makes spending big money on those boats pointless cosidering i can also take my little boat in the bay with a fairly decent swell and chop wear those boats cant???

i can understand people buying these tornament boats.sure they look nice,go fast.btu i cant honestly justify buying one.300hp at wide open throttle with the cost of fuel these days...the fuel bill must be horrific

Yeah mate your right in most of what you say! You need not to have 4 mtrs and 30 hp etc either.... but it's a want thing hey?
It's good to have something nice mate as you can't take it with ya eh! Yeah i have a Skeeter..... Pro' NOT!!!
Just a fisho haven fun:D

Are yeah' they handle chop OK as well 8-)

Cheers Les:)

aussiebasser
29-08-2007, 02:23 PM
:d:d :d :d :d :d

fish05
29-08-2007, 07:25 PM
I think they have te 100hp's so they can cover ground quicker so they don't waste good fishing time but that only really applies for tournament fishing but fishing leisurely doesntneed more than a 30hp plus

TinarooTriumph
29-08-2007, 07:51 PM

Let me guess... he thought it was some sort of Firearm?

I reckon my 385 Dart is the ultimate Bass vessel. Got it the way I like it. Plan to fish a few ABT Bass events in a few years for sure... maybe even load her up with Minn Kota's and do a Bass Electric or 2. Plenty of stickers to keep the water out... no half arse silicon jobs ::)

Will have a Skeeter in my shed one day... fitted with a Rockford Fosgate PUNCH audio system to let the trollers know Im coming ;D

Theo.

Dunco
30-08-2007, 09:06 AM
I would have purchased a Tracker Boat. But they are not to big in Australia yet. I opted for a locally built 4.6m with a 70hp. Not as quick as the big boys but not a leisure boat. I think I got the mix right for Bay work and Tournament style boat.