View Full Version : windy wet snapps
Fish_gutz
24-08-2007, 01:15 AM
the chat boards have been quiet due to the weather so I thought I`d put one up. was already saturated through thurs night so figured I`d throw a line in and ended up with two nice keepers. both on pillies one 55cm the other 61cm the wind was roughly 30 knots and raining sideways but had a little bit of shelter so wasn`t too bad; pulled hooks on something that didn`t feel like a snapper and took plenty of line of me then got cleaned up on 60lb handline a little bit later. the fun started just before top of the tide and finished about 9.00pm. :)
Cheers Fish_Gutz
Chas & Clarry
24-08-2007, 05:44 AM
Hero!! Great to see such dedication rewarded (fishing in this blow). Nice catch Fish_guts, looks like mother nature saw justice done for your effort!!
Where were you (rough approximation, not details of secret spot X...(unless you want to)? Was it land based?
C&C
Fish_gutz
24-08-2007, 08:44 AM
yeah land based, I work at fishermans Island and keep some pillies in the freezer at work for quiet times.
richieboy
24-08-2007, 09:40 AM
Nice stuff Gutzy. Gives us all an expectation of what's to come in the next few weeks........Hopefully. Cheers,
Richie
Hey FG!
Yeah, i tried soaking a pillie in one of the puddles outside at work but i only ended up with a tyre tread...
Man, that is well rewarded for the effort indeed! Well done!
Take Care T
PS: Hey RICH, on the money bro! It will be like Queen St at the ramps from Tuesday onwards... I can see some stealth night missions coming up...
zigfreed
24-08-2007, 10:54 AM
Fish Guts
Love your work!!!!
bayfisher
24-08-2007, 12:13 PM
Nice pair of river snaps!
Cheers Chris
chief
24-08-2007, 02:31 PM
Nice fish mate, wondering how much run off and fresh was affecting the river, but those two came on thursday night . To cool, i've got a few mates working at fishermans I was going to ring tonight and find out whats the go.
Foxy4
24-08-2007, 02:43 PM
Is that a Fringe Benefit or what. Lucky bugger
Seahorse
24-08-2007, 03:33 PM
cant wait till monday arvo. i will be gone. the snap are waiting. tide? who cares.
greg
SWANY22
24-08-2007, 05:02 PM
mate you are gonna need a bigger frezer soon or a new job to much time to fish .i will try for a rdo tuesday or wednesday and well go out and try and smash that 60cm mark.
woppa
24-08-2007, 05:31 PM
You're a better man than me!!!
Great White
24-08-2007, 06:50 PM
Well done Fish Gutz, 2 great fish :o anyone out in those conditions deserve a feed even land based is a top effort !!!
Murph77
24-08-2007, 09:46 PM
Couple of nice snaps mate. Bring on the next couple of weeks I reckon, I've even got a little bit of leave coming up too, perfect timing!
Blaster Bretty
25-08-2007, 04:35 PM
Hey Fish_gut's...Any job's going with you guy's at the mo
Bretty
Fish_gutz
25-08-2007, 05:09 PM
cheers for the reply`s fella`s
Chas I won`t accept the hero status just doin what comes natural when working so close to salt water
Swanny it`s on for tuesday so tell bum fluff to give you the day off ..... I`ll give you a buz.
T1 wrong bait and wrong puddle! you needed a plastic on!
Blaster just keep your eye on the paper as ther is some casual jobs coming up but depends if you want to live by the phone for the rest of your life! If labor get up at the next election it could mean a better chance at permenancy but I wont get started on the political side of things.
hope every one gets some good fishing in after this wet cheers FishGutz.
ddobson
27-08-2007, 02:42 PM
I fished 33 knots in the brissy river on thursday and you went out on that wind. They are two of the fattest snappers i have ever seen for that size. Cheers.