View Full Version : Where to fish once the wind stops??
plaztix
23-08-2007, 08:40 PM
Just wondering where everyone is planning on heading once the wind stops and what everyones opinion is on the effect this fresh water flush will have on the fishing??
I would think that the rivers might be a bit fresh for the next week or so and the mouths might be the go. It will also be interesting to see if the usual haunts around moreton bay like DUM and HAts turn it on now that things are a bit stirred up.
haggis
23-08-2007, 09:00 PM
the water .
cheers fae haggis..........................
plaztix
23-08-2007, 09:21 PM
aye faggis, you dont say. eh
beefaman
23-08-2007, 09:52 PM
Hopefully it is all firing.
The wind and swell should stop the water being crystal clear.
foggy
23-08-2007, 10:11 PM
Sunday. Lets see. If the wind is less than 20knots I know where I will be. And I reckon there might be a few others there as well. I love a winter south easterly stir up.
Foggy
BLOOEY
24-08-2007, 06:53 AM
Might give the jew a crack off the rocks at or near a river mouth.Maybe i can finally score my bigun.Ben
Freeeedom
24-08-2007, 08:16 AM
Yeah! This is the time to concentrate on the jew at the mouths of the rivers or in gutters along the beaches near the river mouths. A big slab of mullet or tailor or a whole mullet or pike, live if possible, is the way to go with around dawn and dusk the prime time. The mud crabs could also be worth a shot by about Tuesday or Wednesday
Cheers Freeeedom
bayfisher
24-08-2007, 08:48 AM
The island shallows will be the place i suspect most will try, it's been a while since places like green and mud have really fired on the sp.
Cheers Chris
plaztix
24-08-2007, 02:20 PM
Beefa - yeah if this doesn't murk up the water, nothing will.
Foggy - ahh i see:-X, no hints from you hugh;);) spot :-X it is.
Blooey and freeeedom - Soapies ay, sounds like a wise choice. I was thinking it might be worth throwing out a few pots.
Bayfisher - I'm with you mate, heres to hoping that this is what we've needed to get the fish to come out of hiding and into the shallows.
Bring on sunday............. or maybe its gonna be monday:-/
ssab1
24-08-2007, 02:32 PM
Yeah! This is the time to concentrate on the jew at the mouths of the rivers or in gutters along the beaches near the river mouths. A big slab of mullet or tailor or a whole mullet or pike, live if possible, is the way to go with around dawn and dusk the prime time. The mud crabs could also be worth a shot by about Tuesday or Wednesday
Cheers Freeeedom
tuesday,wednesday sounds right to me.cheers alex
Peter4
24-08-2007, 04:17 PM
Got my spot picked for Sunday morning - outgoing tide, sheltered from the SE, deep hole (for Jew).
All I need is nobody else at the boat ramp at dawn to impede my progress!
Good luck to all!
B_E_N
24-08-2007, 04:33 PM
we got a good haul of muddies last week with only one pot off the jetty, nothing beats mud crab sangas for lunch,
i think it would be best to give it a few days for the estuaries, let it settle a little, may even try a bit of freshwater bassin
BLOOEY
24-08-2007, 07:44 PM
Went dowm the brissie this arvo and the bream and flatties are all fired up.Still windy but it's looking promising.Ben
alleycat
25-08-2007, 05:20 AM
Does anybody know how dirty the water will be around mud island?, ie will it be too murky for a flick with SP.?
Captain Seaweed
25-08-2007, 06:51 PM
well I will be there heading off from comslie at 5.30am
loophole
25-08-2007, 07:13 PM
captain seaweed u goin 2moro?
minno
25-08-2007, 07:20 PM
Untill the fresh water goes, Bream bream bream. They just love it. And as for the wind, put your back to it.
Minno