View Full Version : Boating Caddie

jamesryan30
22-08-2007, 07:56 PM
I am about to take delivery of the new toy and due to being green I am going to intially stay in the Estuaries however I am also keen to visit the blue water and Morten Bay and was wondering if any of you guys would be interested in accompaning me out there as a second boat of course or whether there is a club I can join to.

Any wisdom would be appreciated.

JR

Chris Ryan
22-08-2007, 08:28 PM
There is a bar crossing course to do. I haven't do it myself yet but it comes very very highly recommended. Do a search and you will get the details.

As for a "caddie" (the boating term is a deckie :) ) if you place a message in the Meet & Greet section you might get a deckie for your trips. Alternatively you might get some that will go with you in their boats in a little floatilla as well.

Puff

jamesryan30
22-08-2007, 08:37 PM
Thanks mate I appreciate the advise. Can you steer me in a direction of the bar crossing course. The MRs and I are going for the boat licence with Archie on the 1st September. Bring on the bluewater.

Thought the caddie was a nice touch seeing most of us play golf.

Roger that

22-08-2007, 08:59 PM

The bar crossing course is a very good idea, run by a bloke by the name of bill corten.

You will have a lot of fun with your new toy, just take it easy at first and the rest will come.

fez
22-08-2007, 09:08 PM
James,

Hi mate welcome aboard, where are you based? You will get heaps out of the licence to get you started.

What sort of boat do you have/will you be getting?

Get out and enjoy it.

Fez

jamesryan30
22-08-2007, 09:10 PM
Thanks Dave How do I get in touch with Bill.

Mate according to people I know it might be worth my while to talk to the big fella.

JR

22-08-2007, 09:15 PM

Do a search here, his number will pop up.

Failing that, google his name and bar crossing course, it's bound to come up.

Failing that, call wellington point marine, nu marine or budds bait and tackle, as they are all in the general area as bill, I think he's based around cleveland.

23-08-2007, 05:45 AM
Bill is based in ormisto, and launches from raby bay. 3286 3647

23-08-2007, 08:52 AM

looks as though the number did pop up!! Thanks mike

jamesryan30
25-08-2007, 09:15 PM
Thanks Fellas for your help. I have the boat which is a Mustang 1750 Tournament in my possession towed from the Gold Coast today on the back of my BMW 325I. Was an experience I can assure you. Will look Bill up thanks for all your help.

Roger that

Chris Ryan
26-08-2007, 07:39 PM
Hey James,

No worries, anything for a fellow Ryan :) and looks like the boys have come out for help as well.