View Full Version : Windy River Sesh

richieboy
20-08-2007, 06:38 PM
G'day all.
Glad to finally be back in Brissie after spending a few weeks away in the Territory. Yes I did manage to wet a line up there and although we didn't land what we were targeting I managed to get into a few nice cod and bring back some fillets of Black Jew.
After catching up with Chief and Garret Sunday arvo for a bit of rugby viewing, to say I was keen to get out on the water was an understatment. Seabreeze showed a bit of wind forecast for today but the SE wasn't gonna affect me much. So I thought anyways......
Gentlemans launching hrs for me saw me on the water around 1130am and it didn't take long to reach the mouth and begin drifting. The constant Westerlie made things tough with really quick first 2 drifts yeilding nothing. :-/
A quick change up to 1/4oz soon fixed things and I boated 2 healthy squire in the mid 40's. 4th drift and another nice squire pulled some string before I got smoke by a brute.
5th drift same again, another deep take and the leader's busted with another blistering run on the Sol. Note to self, up it to 10lb for next time. :P
Cutting a long story short, although the weather was tough I managed a bag out and some, releasing all fish to fight again. Home by 3pm. Nothing crazy but still a great time and especially enjoyable considering the 40km/hr winds forecast for the next few days. ( I'm still on a week off! ) Cheers,

Richie

Pic attatched of the average size ;)

fish05
20-08-2007, 06:44 PM
good report mate im keen to get out either to the river or bay to chase some squire on plastics

Murph77
20-08-2007, 06:50 PM
Sounds like a decent sess richie, well done mate. Still keen for a session soon although the boss is jerking me around a bit this week!

20-08-2007, 06:56 PM
Good effort to bag out in those condition. Were the smokers Snapperry runs or getting mugged by Cod?

ddobson
20-08-2007, 07:07 PM
Nicely done on the snapper. Well done on getting the most windiest week for a holiday.

richieboy
20-08-2007, 07:07 PM
Murph: Hmmmmmmm, the boss must really suck. It's about time he let the real workers off for a change. LOL!

Horse: Definately snapper mate. Blistering first run, thump thump thump. Every hit on the drop. I reckon they were high up in the water column as it was almost instant after the cast. Very tough to turn em when they are that deep under cover though. ;)

Richie

OB1
20-08-2007, 07:29 PM
Outstanding in that weather Richieboy, I had a trip planned to the same area for early this morning but pulled the pin when I saw the forecast - I'm obviously going soft!

Ollie

Sea-Captain
20-08-2007, 07:45 PM
good session mate- those bruisers make ya want to go back - again and again.

bayfisher
20-08-2007, 07:52 PM
Sounds like some good action in the river mouth. Hopefully these 40 knot southeasters and the rain will improve fishing out around the islands.

Cheers Chris

2DKnBJ
20-08-2007, 09:37 PM
Well done Richie
For someone who hasn't fished the river a great deal it seems as though you have it sussed.Maybe they are attracted to the colour of your boat....

Cheers Dazza

Pistol_P
20-08-2007, 10:48 PM
Richie is back....:D

Always a good report mate.

chief
21-08-2007, 05:10 AM
Hey mate, theres some brutes there. I cant wait till someone actually gets one of these critters to make a mistake and get caught out in clean water and we can see one of the bruisers. You get a feel on fish 60-70 cm because they come pretty regular but its the sudden wham bam Wow what the? that keeps you hopeing to pull one of these guys out.Someone told me Gavin dunn landed a 90 cm river squire? I didn;t see the report but maybe someone could comfirm that or saw it.If he hasn't one of us will.

Silent
21-08-2007, 07:39 AM
Hey Richie good to see you back and assault some squires to produce a report for us...:)

T1
21-08-2007, 07:59 AM
Gee RICH, i was sitting here last night looking for a window of opportunity to sneak out for a few hours one night this week when i saw your report 'WINDY' sesh! Think i'll give it a big swerve but well done on getting out there and getting smoked a few times... Planning my new sounder and perhaps a leccie...

Guys, don't discount that perhaps they're not Snap's but Threadies - they still have the headshakes :2vrolijk_08: , big runs :whip: and easily ping you around pylons:lipsrsealed:...

Take Care T

richieboy
21-08-2007, 10:36 AM
Thanks boys.

Chief: You are on the money mate. You get the feel for em at there respective sizes. The 40-45's pull distinctly differently to the larger specimens in the river. The 62cm I got out of the cover went super hard, I was just lucky he came out for his 1st run. the ones I got smoked on definately had that feel to em.

Dazza: The boat's still holding it's luck! ;)

OB1: You were prolly glad you didn't head out. I had the same plan for the morning to hit the jewies on the low but took a look out the window. After the rain let up I was straight down there. I'm just lucky I live 5 minutes from the ramp.

T1: Threadies did occur to me and you're right, never discount em. Hopefully I get into a few when it warms up.

Now.........what to do today..........Sun's out (for how long).....maybe a bream spin up the canals????? Hmmmmmmm.......

Richie ;)

21-08-2007, 12:22 PM
Goodo Richie :D
Can't wait until you get a bruiser up for a Kodak moment.
I still reckon the boat acts just like a beacon for squire. Just like a big green lure ;)
I reckon little 'Junior' might have to make an appearance to do a bit of channel fishing whilst the weathers crook and the winds blowing. Love fishing in the rain :)

mickstar001
21-08-2007, 03:24 PM
Well done Richie, great performance again!

Mickstar

ffejsmada
21-08-2007, 03:27 PM
Good on you Rich, well done mate!

Just curious,,,,, what is the biggest snap you or chief or whoever has seen come out of the Bris River?
I said seen as there's plenty of "heard of" stories.

Cheers mate.

BTW, I've got a step daughter ACW Calleja, Logistics Clerk at HQ Reserve Training Wing RAAF Amberley. She might supply you some of your parts mate.;D

richieboy
21-08-2007, 10:48 PM
Hey Jeff,
my PB from the river went 62cm and went like a freight train. Chief stated earlier that Gavin Dunn may have pulled a 90cm model from the mouth recently but nothing physically seen. In the recent QFM there is a solid one in the reports scene I think.
I work at 1 SQN and possibly a bit of liasing with your step daughter has occurred. When did she get up there? Isn't it funny the co-incidents eh? If she does pop down to the SQN tell her to look for "Lucky" ( the big black fella so I've been called). All the boys down there know me. ;)
Cheers mate,

Richie

chief
23-08-2007, 07:09 PM
ffejsmada, hi mate my river p.b. is 72 cm but mate i've been bricked by some bigger models. Hey richie ,why did they call a big black fella'' Lucky'', No No don't tell me mate ;D

plaztix
23-08-2007, 08:20 PM
jeff or is it adam?? - seems to be quite few snappery squire caught in the river around the 60 - 62cm mark that have upped a few ausfishers PB's lately (including mine;D)

The mate of mine who convinced me (well it was probably seeing the fish that convinced me):o:o , that big snaps are more than willing to gobble down a lump of synthetic , boated a 78cm model from the river about 2 months ago. The couple of times i've been out with him he's hooked some monsters but it seems the big buggers always know the best way to dump you, head straight for structure. Last time we were out he upped the anti, 30lb braid and 30lb leader just to try to land another one of the BIGGER buggers, caught a surprising number of smaller squire (considering the 30lb gear) but no interest from anything sizeable.:-/ Dang it

Theres some monsters in the river for sure, they just seem a bit more cunning than the average size snaps.