View Full Version : 70 series V8 landcruiser UTE

dfox
19-08-2007, 03:19 PM
The new V8 diesel utes (troopy's) have been out for a little while now, has anyone got one or have friends with one. Im interested to hear how they are in the real world on fuel (not what toyota promote) and has anyone had any problems, dislikes or prases to share about the vehicle. Rumours circulate, but im yet to hear from accual owners ...foxy

Luke G
19-08-2007, 03:45 PM
There's a heap of TD V8 work utes up here that get tharashed. No problems at all and very good on fuel. A mate has a wagon 70 series with the same engine and thats also bloody good on fuel and heaps of grunt.

dfox
19-08-2007, 09:35 PM
Thanks Luke, i guess your up in the mines somewhere? ...

Luke G
19-08-2007, 11:54 PM
Yeah mate northwest of W.A

Brett1907
20-08-2007, 09:42 AM
A client of ours has a new ute, he loves it!! Uses it to carry some VERY heavy loads (he is the workshop manager for an earthworks contractor). He built the tray himself so it would be exactly what he needs.

20-08-2007, 10:20 AM
Some of my customers (earthmoving industry) have them and are very pleased. A mate from work (Darrmun on Ausfish) has one on order, he hasnt shut up up about it since he ordered it and I dont expect that situation to change any time soon! He tows a 6.8 - 7m coke can so no doubt the v8 will get a good workout. From all reports the economy is pretty close to what Toyota are claiming.

Cheers and Beers

gawby
21-08-2007, 12:52 PM
Foxy,
I am putting 4 of them on my truck thisarvo and going to Emerald with them.:o

Hijack me and you can get one for free;D ;D ;D ;D

Graeme;)

Tim_N
21-08-2007, 01:32 PM
The work vehicles (Troopies and utes) have a V8 turbo and the passenger type vehicles will have the twin turbo version of the same engine. I'm thinking 1 turbo will be great, but 2 ??????????
The guys I know who have them, love 'em, good on juice and heaps of go. They do cost a bit though.

dfox
21-08-2007, 04:12 PM
Foxy,
I am putting 4 of them on my truck thisarvo and going to Emerald with them.:o

Hijack me and you can get one for free;D ;D ;D ;D

Graeme;)

I may as well take all 4 ;D ;D sell you one back ...