View Full Version : How Big ???
15-08-2007, 09:56 AM
After being laid up for a month, and winter disappearing fast and Chris pestering me for a fish, as its been 12mths since of snapper bash, last night was the night.
We headed north from Vicky Pt at 5pm in Chris's 575 to my Jew spot, bay was a little lumpy, but by 7pm and overcast conditions she glazed out by 7pm.
Picked up some pike and managed a couple of choppers from around Peel and Dunwich on the way.
By 8.30 four baits were set, as we waited for the slower waters around the 10pm high.
As the hours pasted and the tide turned, by 11.30 we thought we had missed our chance and talk was to up anchor and head home, as next good time was not until 5am.
Then the 6500/8-10kg live fibre start to lose some line, gave it 20m or more, hit the clutch and sank the 8/0 in attached to a butterflied tailor.
Then the fun started with some 150m gone, told Chris to up anchor as i sure in hell wasnt going to stop this Loco making a bee line towards Rainbow.
With some good skippering and a lot of work by the 6500 and some 30min later we were up near the Myora Light before we both stood with jaws on the floor as to what lay beside Chris's boat.:o
Took us both to lift on board, and me not having too many catch and release genes in my body, we both looked at each other and decided that something that had survived and got to this size, needed another go at life.:'(
Couple pic from Chris's camera, and a fair few minutes trying to get life back into one very stuffed fish, he gave a couple of tail flicks as he glided back into the depths.
A few high fives and rumbos, and not wanting to sit around to 5am as rain yes rain clouded gathered above, we headed back over a very smooth bay.
Thanks Chris and it was a team effort.
ffejsmada
15-08-2007, 10:03 AM
Top fish Webby, great effort!!!
You ask how big?
I reckon approx 22-25kg.
What do you think??????
Cheers, Jeff.
bayfisher
15-08-2007, 10:08 AM
Now thats a serious fish, sounds like patience paid off in the end.
Cheers Chris
Gezzz thats a fish.....great to know hes back out there too.....:)
richieboy
15-08-2007, 10:36 AM
Did it again Brian. That's a beaut fish mate. C&R even better. Well done boys on a team effort.
Rich
spook76
15-08-2007, 10:48 AM
well done webby
biggg!! fish not all can throw them back at that size
do you guy not eat fish?cos you can feed a friend and family for weeks on that fish but proud it is in the water again
Ya don't get that sort of fish on plastics :P , well dont mate , a horse of a jew.
chief
15-08-2007, 11:01 AM
Webby ,can't keep a good man down for to long, what a way to go with the first trip back and a monster .Champion
Dorado
15-08-2007, 11:15 AM
What a monster Jewie!! Well done Webby and good onya for releasing it too! :)
Dorado
Congrats on the fish and your decision to let him go. Brilliant effort
bluefin59
15-08-2007, 12:10 PM
Good on you mate you certainly have got it i am sooooo jealous good on you .....matt
Callop
15-08-2007, 12:18 PM
You are right. He did deserve to fight another day. Well done. Dave
Adamy
15-08-2007, 01:04 PM
Nice one Brian!! She sooo big the pic looks like you're carrying one very ugly mermaid across the threshold... you make a very cute couple::) pucker up baby!!:P
Seahorse
15-08-2007, 03:37 PM
Now that makes my snapp small, and have a look at the mellons and u have a shot at me?
What a top fish, unbelievable.
Good stuff webby.
talk u soon
greg
Great White
15-08-2007, 04:14 PM
Nice Jew Brian, I guess if the knee held up under that sort of a load you are back to fighting fit again ;D
Well done, is that a PB ? do thay get much bigger than that ?
Can I borrow those GPS marks ;)
Talk to you soon :)
Mate respect to you, not just for catching it but for letting the beast return to his home.
alleycat
15-08-2007, 04:24 PM
Webby thats a very good jew, and yes mate your a good sport to let it go , hope you catch its big brother next time.
15-08-2007, 04:57 PM
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!!!!!!:)
Searaider 2
15-08-2007, 05:16 PM
Webby ,
Bl#@dy Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwesome SILVER .:o
Good call to let him go .
mickstar001
15-08-2007, 05:22 PM
Wow thats a monster. Well done Webby, again.
Mickstar
Aquarius
15-08-2007, 05:22 PM
Gee Brain that is a monster Jew.
Well done that must have been some fight and yes i reckon you made the right decision giving the beast its freedom.
If there's a bigger one out there your the man to catch it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cheers Brent
15-08-2007, 05:28 PM
How big you ask ? It doesn't matter. The photo and the look on your face says it all :o
15-08-2007, 05:32 PM
Thanks fellas, yes was a hard decision to release, but one look in his eyes and the scares he carried was enough. Didnt have time or means to weight, but from past catches i reckon somewhere in the vicinity from 25-30kg.
Like all big fish you just have to in the right place at the right time and have something out that will tempt them.
The reason we gave chase is i only use 15kg mono/main and 20kg leader when targeting jew.
rakinray
15-08-2007, 05:38 PM
G/ day Brian i was gonna blame you for our shit trip on Saturday but anyone who can C/R a monster jew like that one carnt take the blame ::) Mate i reckon with a girth that thick id say it would have to go 30 kilos or more and im sure i can see that old dodgy knee SHAKIN! Once again mate top effort that.
CHEERS RAY :D
15-08-2007, 05:40 PM
You have outdone yourself again Brian:o
Looks well over 50lb and is truly a monster for a Bay Jewie. Nice to know it is still out there for another to have a crack at ;D
Congratulations
2DKnBJ
15-08-2007, 06:04 PM
Awesome fish Webby.
You have the knack of nailing the big ones.
I reckon the only reason you let it go was that it was too big to fillet.
Cheers Dazza
15-08-2007, 06:50 PM
impressive fish webby; must of been a hell of a fight, so have you had your jew fix for the year?
mike
holy F:-X k !! what an awsome fish :o
well done
Pistol_P
15-08-2007, 07:00 PM
TOP JEW webby....I reckon somewhere between 20-25kg!...
Awesome fish.8-)
3rd degree
15-08-2007, 07:29 PM
Now thats a Horse!
Good on ya Webby
15-08-2007, 07:33 PM
Fantastic jew there webby, good decision on the c&r,
I think I can even see a little smile there, musta been good!
masterdusky
15-08-2007, 07:47 PM
damn fine jew mate well done, and props to u for releasing the big girl back to the depths.
foggy
15-08-2007, 09:49 PM
You could put a saddle on that and ride it. Well done Brian and crew.
Foggy
tanglefoot
15-08-2007, 09:56 PM
Bloody hell that is one Awsome fish there mate. No wonder you stood in disbelief at the size. I too am jealous of you
:o WOW!:o
What a beauty! Congratulations Webby!
I bet that the pain in the knee was overshadowed for a while!;)
Janine
16-08-2007, 01:01 AM
MONSTER!!!
Webby you should be doing some sort of guide business. I recon there's 3 pages of people right here that would have you booked up for each winter ;) If you do decide to.... let me take the first booking :)
I can only seem to hook soapies i think my P.B. is 55cm i got nothing lol
Cheers Chris
snasman
16-08-2007, 11:36 AM
Awesome fish Webby,well done
loophole
16-08-2007, 01:22 PM
webby is that a PB jew for you?
Sandman
16-08-2007, 02:33 PM
Brian,
Think i asked you that on Saturday , I think your reply was "its been awhile since i have gone out chasing Jew" You can thank me later for planting the thought in your mind :)
Nice fish ,hopefully our next trips produce size as well fish
shin25
16-08-2007, 03:22 PM
awesome jewie webby that is a horse it would have to 55lbs plus easy well done
pics of mates 24kg, 52lbs fish from illuka
WTF WEBBY?!?!?! Brian, what's the world coming too when you're releasing fish? I can perhaps understand that filleting a fish that size at that time of the night would be a pain in the arse and therefore i'd be tempted to put him back, but probably not...
Still You little ripper!!!
Take Care T
Bull Shark
16-08-2007, 03:51 PM
Catch and release.... That's how you do it when you are a legend.... :D
Khama will reward you - be assured......
:)
Crisp Bee
16-08-2007, 04:35 PM
WOW !
Sensational fish, and top points for setting it free. I hope it rewards you with a few thousand offspring
16-08-2007, 05:23 PM
Ah yeah it's ok but the real reason is that you didn't have a esky big enough.
16-08-2007, 05:36 PM
29kg.....................
I want to know where you got the tailor ???
Cheers phill
ps. nice work.
i think 25-30kg...the one in my avatar was weighed at 25kg, it doesn't look as long as yours but a little fatter. I got mine on a butterflied yellowtail on 6kg line. Well done mate. Sean
17-08-2007, 07:03 AM
I had to grab some gear from the tackle shop Yesterday and everybody there was talking about your jewie. I don't want to be the odd one out and not congratulate you! Well done!;) ;)
rando
17-08-2007, 12:49 PM
Gee thats a good fish Brian.
Ill bet it put a smile on your dial.
rando
jackextracter
17-08-2007, 01:07 PM
Thats a good jewie mate, good going on the catch and release, did you get the length of the fish at all.
gecho
18-08-2007, 11:16 AM
top fish well done
loophole
19-08-2007, 04:27 PM
is this a pb for you webby
vertico
19-08-2007, 04:35 PM
we got one @ 1.2 m 18 kg the other week that one you got seems alot bigger than that.
once_a_fortnight
20-08-2007, 04:41 PM
wow what an awsome jewie was it a pb looks like a fish of a life time congradulations im so jeolous
CHRIS aka GWH
20-08-2007, 05:53 PM
christ brian thats awesome
I havn't been fishing or looged onto ausfish for a bit then log on and see that...
jesus i'm going fishing ....
i've often wondered how many blokes have put a run and lost fish like that down to a shovely or whatever makes the ego feel better
I remember a few years back at the pin big mal hooked onto a freight train on a butterflid tailor and in the middle of winter stripped back to a t-shirt he was working so hard because I decided NOT to up anchor and chase to the bar - he turned the fish and the hooks pulled after about 25m of pulling a big mouth against the tide...
good on ya - right place, right time (although the tides weren't ideal but the moon was cool), right bait & good decisions - congrats.
ah pooh i want a jew that big !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
CHRIS aka GWH
20-08-2007, 06:07 PM
i also want jessica simpson ....
CHRIS aka GWH
20-08-2007, 06:08 PM
she's a really good singer ...
ya know ;) ::)
RAT-KING
21-08-2007, 11:29 AM
Well done! Hows ur back holding up that monster!! great to hear that its still out there 2!!!!!
22-08-2007, 10:37 AM
Brian you old bugger .... what broke on you now?
As for the fish... well I think one day you'll get caught out using photoshop!!
You just can't keep putting those ridiculously large fish on here and expecting people to believe you>:(
I say more like 10kg ish, especially if you don't hold your arms out.:-X
So tell me is it you or Dianne on the Photoshop. Leanne could do with some lessons.
BTW Barry says hi. We were over there last week.
22-08-2007, 12:27 PM
Well if Leanne can give me some lessons, might be able to find some bigger fish;D . say Hi to her and bubs.
Whats this i hear that you snuck up here the other week, and kept it secret;) , i also believe you were looking for a boat?????????.
tell barry will be down early next year, for a onslaught on the crays, and maybe you could give us a few trout expeditions;D .
childers
25-08-2007, 09:23 PM
mate thats a monster well done ,released too champion effort,cheers.
craigie
27-08-2007, 05:21 PM
Webby,
Mind boggling fish there mate !!
What does your big Jewie and Jessica Simpson have in common ??????
MAGNIFICENT HUGE OTOLITHS !!!!!!!!!!!!
Craigie.
on ya Brian ..... that will put some bums on seats at the boat show
BigE
loophole
27-08-2007, 09:04 PM
true. iam going and want to hear all your secerts about catching the big one webby lol
shorty 01
27-08-2007, 09:37 PM
webby what a fish mate. i bet your arms would of been pumpen after that. well done.
i dont know how big 25 kg maby............ u tell me haha:D
cheers davo
serge975
27-08-2007, 09:43 PM
awesome. so good to see more and more of us letting these big fish go. such a buzz i bet.congrats!.