View Full Version : My first ever father and son fishing day

geoff72
14-08-2007, 09:36 PM
Took my son Riley(2 1/2yr old) for our first ever fater and son fishing trip. Got some worms from the shop with him yelling at the check out chick" lady gonna catch a fishes),i could tell he was very excited and so was i. got to the spot at Hope Island and baited up the hook,well as i thought as soon as the bait hit the water,the little fella wanted and started to wind in yelling " i got a big fishes dad i got a big fishes dad". finally i put the rod in the sand and kept him pre-occupied with throwing sand and rocks in to the water. After about 15 min i told him he could wind it in. Well the look on his face was worth a million dollars, didnt know he had even had a fish on, up comes a small bream. We both yelled yahoo and gave each other a hi five yelling Rileys first ever fish. He was so stoked and so was i as he did it all by himself,stuggling abit with the rod size he decided by himself to put it between his legs and wind. I took some pics and took the fish off the hook and showed him how to hold it and he walked down to the water and released it, when i say released it i mean it nearly hit the moon.
I was as proud as punch and he was so happy, looking forward to many many more years of the father and son fishing trips.
The pics tell the whole storey

geoff72
14-08-2007, 09:39 PM
couple more pics

Dantren
14-08-2007, 10:14 PM
I feel you Geoff.

Last week I took my 3 year old neice out at Noosa. She'd eaten lots of fish her uncle caught, but hadn't wet a line before. Her Dad bought her a brand new pink rod. I put a prawn on the hook & cast it out for her.

Two seconds later, she's caught a breambo. She loved it.

I made sure she watched it swim away to ensure he grew bigger for another day.

Dan.

longtail
14-08-2007, 10:19 PM
goodonya Geoff and well done Riley ;D

soon he'll be pinching ya best rod and outfishing you ;) ;)

heres to many more fish and many more days out fishing with ya son ;) 8-)

send the pic of him holding up the bream off to nugget and you might see him on the 10 news friday night ( i know my kids get a kick out of seeing themselves on tv):-X

Jason.

Synful
14-08-2007, 10:20 PM
Hi Geoff,
Awesome work by both you and the little fella!! 8-)

You've done well to put him onto a fish first trip out; my little bloke took about 4 trips before he got his first fish (http://www.agt.id.au/content/view/100/9/), a little GT ('bout 8cm) on a jig and like your son, he was over the moon with the whole experience.

Sure it's the first of many trips Geoff; just don't let him out fish you :)
If you're like me you'll be lucky to even think about getting out the door without him if you're going fishing.

Won't be long now and you'll be starting to think about planning trips to Weipa or somewhere similar with him (promised my little bloke that I'd do that when he turns 10) - enjoy it while they are little and pass on everything you know.

Soon you'll have the best fishing partner you could ever hope for!

Chas & Clarry
15-08-2007, 07:17 AM
Hey Riley

What a fantastic first fish mate, how good at fishing are you!!!;D

Just a tip though Riley, you'll have to talk to your dad about the camera work, looks like he's given away your first secret spotX, the place will be like a car park next week!

Geoff, that is great...isn't it fantastic being a dad! You'll remember that forever.

C&C

15-08-2007, 07:42 AM
great moment in time, memories like that will last forever

Peter4
15-08-2007, 08:33 AM
Hence, another fisherman is born!

SCOTTYGC
15-08-2007, 08:59 AM
No stopping him now

i get woken early on sunday mornings by my young fella

"dad ,dad,daaaad are we going fishing"

well done

Pistol_P
15-08-2007, 10:00 AM
Great to hear Geoff,
The little bloke will be asking you to fish all the time now....I am sure you will be ok with that somehow....;) .

Sea-Captain
15-08-2007, 10:40 AM
nice work - get them interested in the outdoors and you won't look back. cheers

chief
15-08-2007, 11:08 AM
Mate, Fantastic that little bloke must have been beaming. Thats the way to go get them on the water early and its quality memories that they remember for ever. Congrads to riley with that fine fish and a bigger congrads to dad

Callop
15-08-2007, 12:11 PM
I started with my son at the tender age of 6 weeks. He wasn't doing a lot of fishing at that age but did enjoy a snooze in the boat while his mum and I caught a couple.
He is now 22 and still rings the old man to go fishing with him.
I can still remember the look on his face when he pulled in his first fish. Last year we went up to Munduran near Gin Gin to try and get a Barra. I saw the same look on his face when he landed his first Barra. Absolutely made my day.

Tailortaker
15-08-2007, 12:46 PM
Is'nt it great, my son is 5 now. He started fishing with me a couple of years ago. I dont get to take him out as often as I would like but he loves it when I do.
________
Lovely Wendie (http://www.lovelywendie99.com/)

RayDeR
15-08-2007, 07:31 PM
Gday Geoff

That is absolutely great. And is what fishing is about!

I remember the joy of taking my grandkids fishing for the first time . The eldest caught a whiting that was 22.5cm. My wife and I debated whether to let her keep her first fish but decided the lesson about fishing laws were important.

We felt bad about releasing it but later realised the kids' experience of fishing was watching Rex with me and they did not know you could keep them. So they were not disappointed.

RayDeR.

geoff72
16-08-2007, 09:36 AM
thanks for all the great comments guys,told the wife what you had all said and was over the moon,told riley as well but as soon as you say the wording fishing now he want s go. Good sign
Looking forward to the next how many years.
geoff

theVan
16-08-2007, 10:29 AM
great story mate.... thanks for sharing.

Now you have an exuse to by more fishing gear!

Little grey men
16-08-2007, 10:52 AM
"YAY RILEY".....top fish little man...
Nice one Geoff. Keep him interested mate. My young bloke is five and he has his own gear including rod, reels, collection of soft plastics and hard bodied lures as well as his spinner baits ( his favourite by far ) We fish every weekend, and I usually let him choose the place. nine times out if ten it's usually fresh water fishing. A good idea is to start a fishing album and take photo's of every species and all the interesting things you see when your by the water. Those memories are really something special.

16-08-2007, 02:44 PM
Hey Geoff,

I don't reckon theres one of us that will read this thread and not get a lump in the throat and choke back a tear...

Warms an old blokes heart it does to see the littl'ns getting into a good addiction!

may you both have many more fond moments and rich memories. Mate well done! and Congratulations to Riley...may his rod bend often!

16-08-2007, 07:12 PM
One word Geoff "GOLD"

Brenno
16-08-2007, 07:54 PM
well done, to you and the young fisherman. he dose love rather pleased with himself.

while i dont have any kids (that i'm aware of) one of my mates has a 3yr old son,
it was funny to watching sneak out of his house to go fishing, n to see the look on his face when he was on the phone, when his son rang and said why didn't you take me fishing with you.

when i get around to having kids i'll be taking them out to wet aline when every i can.

theclick
16-08-2007, 07:58 PM
My dad was a spear fisho. Took my uncle to get me into it.

But i tell ya, when ya 6 and you catch ya first lizard from a fairly arbitrary place, it'll get ya hooked on fishing forever.

For me, it's like...discovering what you cannot see

Dunks
17-08-2007, 04:50 PM
My girl is 2 1/2 and I didn't think they would be able to at that age, time to get to the local fishing shop and get her a rod, me thinks.

OB1
17-08-2007, 05:16 PM
Great story Geoff,

My wife is 24 weeks pregnant with our first boy - I can't wait until he is old enough to hold a rod!

Ollie

slickas
17-08-2007, 10:59 PM
Absoloute GOLD mate.

Well done and yes another fisherman is born. If he is any thing like my son he will pester you from now on.... Gotta love it.

Bubs

REEL ACTION
20-08-2007, 10:48 PM
THATS AWESOME GEOFF, THE LITTLE FELLA LOOKS WRAPPED,IT SURE IS A
GREAT FEELING TO WATCH THAT,HEY!
HOOKED , HOOK LINE AND SINKER ;) :thumbup:

21-08-2007, 04:41 PM
Wonderful story mate, I have started taking my boy out, he is 6 and wants to fish, but gets bored quickly. I hope he catches a decent one soon so he gets the bug (more than he has now)

Russ

frankgrimes
21-08-2007, 04:58 PM
Awesome stuff Geoff!

I'm sure that will be the first of many fish for the young fella with all your "spot x's"!!!

tanglefoot
21-08-2007, 06:06 PM
Well done there old mate, the boy will allways love fishing if you keep putting him onto fish.

dave-h
22-08-2007, 02:51 AM
just reading your thread..
i will be coming over in late sept.. i have a 3yr old son and 2 daughters aged 6/7 they are all mad on fishing so its good to here there are some good places on the gold coast..:)
as long as they catch fish they will continue to enjoy this great sport..

Took my son Riley(2 1/2yr old) for our first ever fater and son fishing trip. Got some worms from the shop with him yelling at the check out chick" lady gonna catch a fishes),i could tell he was very excited and so was i. got to the spot at Hope Island and baited up the hook,well as i thought as soon as the bait hit the water,the little fella wanted and started to wind in yelling " i got a big fishes dad i got a big fishes dad". finally i put the rod in the sand and kept him pre-occupied with throwing sand and rocks in to the water. After about 15 min i told him he could wind it in. Well the look on his face was worth a million dollars, didnt know he had even had a fish on, up comes a small bream. We both yelled yahoo and gave each other a hi five yelling Rileys first ever fish. He was so stoked and so was i as he did it all by himself,stuggling abit with the rod size he decided by himself to put it between his legs and wind. I took some pics and took the fish off the hook and showed him how to hold it and he walked down to the water and released it, when i say released it i mean it nearly hit the moon.
I was as proud as punch and he was so happy, looking forward to many many more years of the father and son fishing trips.
The pics tell the whole storey

childers
22-08-2007, 11:19 AM
good on ya geoff ,my kids started young also ,some highlights lure caught jack when eldest was 7 ,seen him pull a few barra ,large brown trout ,daughter started at 2 but not that keen,cheers.

shayned
22-08-2007, 11:50 AM
Top story mate, warms your heart. My little bloke has 2 rods now and will be 2 soon, hopefully my little man will have his first fish by 2 and a half years old like your son.

Great photos too, I reckon if his chest puffed up anymore he would have been floating.