View Full Version : Show us ya toga
scottym
14-08-2007, 06:30 PM
Saratoga have to be one of my favourite fish to catch. To get the ball rolling, here are a few of the toga I have caught over the years at a majic little waterhole near the upper reaches fo the fitzroy river.
Lets see everyone else's pics of these prehistoric fish.
scottym
14-08-2007, 06:34 PM
Our toga camp.
yellahunter
14-08-2007, 07:36 PM
nice fish mate, hopefully i can add a pic or two to this thread after summer.
hey by the way, what else do you catch up at the camp there mate
scottym
14-08-2007, 09:02 PM
There are plenty of sooty grunter and catfish there as well. Some of the catfish I have seen caught there are absolutly huge.
wamjam
14-08-2007, 11:43 PM
I'm the same as yella ,hopefully have some pics next month ,cross fingers.
Good pic wamjam
setthehook
21-08-2007, 10:27 AM
Nice pics mate!! Im yet to catcha a toga so nothing to display.... Hopeing to team up with Peterm very soon for a toga mission.
flyfisho
21-08-2007, 03:27 PM
My PB in July this year 90 cm give or take a cm
sight cast at Borumba
fishytales
21-08-2007, 07:34 PM
Some great toga there.
I have only ever caught 2, and I got them within 15 minutes of each other at NPD late last year. Only small though, one went 45cm and the other 42cm.Here's a pic of the monster 45cm specimen. ;)
Pound for pound they went harder than anything else I have ever caught, I would love to tangle with a larger model.
jackextracter
24-08-2007, 11:04 AM
My PB in July this year 90 cm give or take a cm
sight cast at Borumba
Thats a monster toga you got there,how big is the biggest ever caught?
flyfisho
25-08-2007, 10:55 AM
Jackextracter,
I have seen guys like Gavin Platz and Kim Strathearn catch fish at Borumba over a meter but I think the honours go to Johnny Rowe , the former Guide at Borumba I have heard of fish being pulled out of threre around 1.2 m by him , however I was told by the guy at the Gerry Cook fish hatchery that the ANSA record for the southern strain comes from Lake Macdonald I think he said it was around 1.3 m.
So I have heard anyway
tiges
25-08-2007, 03:43 PM
Yeh, that's a cracker that one ya got there Chris. I've only managed to stay connected and boat 3 fish. The 2 best unfortunately when I didn't have a camera with me. This is the only one I've got a pic of.
jackextracter
25-08-2007, 07:12 PM
Jackextracter,
I have seen guys like Gavin Platz and Kim Strathearn catch fish at Borumba over a meter but I think the honours go to Johnny Rowe , the former Guide at Borumba I have heard of fish being pulled out of threre around 1.2 m by him , however I was told by the guy at the Gerry Cook fish hatchery that the ANSA record for the southern strain comes from Lake Macdonald I think he said it was around 1.3 m.
So I have heard anyway
1.3 is a big fish i can only imagine how hard one that size would go do they jump at that size?
flyfisho
26-08-2007, 11:04 AM
I reckon they would , the meterys do , that one of mine did , but another 40cm of Toga slab is a lot of beast to launch from the water !!
scottym
26-08-2007, 10:20 PM
wow!! 1.3 meters is huge. I never relised that these fish could get that big. Catching a toga over the meter mark would blow my mind I think. having said that, 90cm is not that far off. Great fish flyfisho.
Bassjunky
17-09-2007, 09:12 AM
Nice one from boumba
barkers creek
26-09-2007, 10:23 PM
Jackextracter,
So I have heard anyway
when i was recently out at cania we were talking o this lad that he rekons lost a meter plus togo on a spinner ...soo i dunno much bout togo but i thought that was huge
75cm Borumba taken on a purple Zonker buggerer
barra_mauler001
01-11-2007, 06:38 PM
70cm specimen caught at Cania Dam
Cammy
19-11-2007, 11:50 PM
i would put a pic on here of my toga i have in a tank,he's about 25cm jardini, his names toga lol. but for some reason i cant post pics,
thats a ripper 90cm toga there good job
cam
I've caught 2 saratoga's in my life. I got my lure snagged on a stick the same day. It was a toss up between the stick and the toga on which pulled harder:)
BrandonH
29-11-2007, 09:20 AM
I have only ever caught 2 toga, one from yaba creek just out the front of our camp the other from Borumba dam.
first one was on an unweighted plastic, second was on a live shrimp 10foot under a float!!
Brandon...
francey
02-01-2008, 04:58 PM
68cm toga from Cania dam
Cammy
07-01-2008, 09:02 PM
heres my toga he's 30cm now, and if you look closely you can see my stonefish in the bottom right corner, his names ceaser;D
cam
warrior
08-01-2008, 02:10 PM
got this one fron lake macdonald last year on tango dancer just on dark
Cammy
12-01-2008, 10:10 PM
whoa warrior thats a niccccce specimen, what did he go?
cam
warrior
13-01-2008, 09:59 AM
he went 800mm but it was one of he deepest toga i have seen for a while
Cammy
13-01-2008, 08:58 PM
yer he is nice and deep and shiney, i rate it the best so far!
cam
slyman
14-01-2008, 10:13 PM
I've just recently caught my first ever two on saturday at Borumba, the first we forgot to measure, but the second fish on the mat went 74 with his mouth open so maybe 72 if was closed? I reckon the first would be around the 60cm mark?
Cammy
31-01-2008, 10:15 PM
nice specimens there slyman!
cam
TonyM
20-02-2008, 03:03 PM
Here's a little tacker I got on a popper in the Burrum River in 06
I was chasing Bass at the time and it was a very welcome surprise :)
i got this(my first) toga last weekend @ Hinze Dam during the bass electric comp. it measured 56cm and was taken on a 50mm squidgey fish rigged on a beetle spin blade. we spotted the fish up a narrow gap, like a drain, and i must have bumped it during the retrieve as it startled then whacked the lure a few cranks later. have to say the fight was nothing special but i suppose its only a small fish for this species.
Cheers Roo.
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e351/orbyroo/P3020645.jpg
Cammy
06-03-2008, 03:21 PM
nice fish mate, cant wait till i get on myself!
Cammo
Herby13
15-05-2008, 10:34 AM
Got this one at Borumba befor ethe water rise.
It went 740mm and was caught on a green bubble pop on dusk on 4lb fireline.
whiting-wizard
18-05-2008, 06:25 PM
wow theres some massive togas in this thread including the monster 1.3 what a mamoth;)
jimbamb
18-09-2008, 02:44 PM
My first and only from Borumba last year 65cm from memory
loophole
22-09-2008, 12:22 AM
ok these 2 me and my mate caught about a month ago, Biger one is mine i dint measure it but id say it would be close to 65cm.:)
Cammy
24-09-2008, 12:53 AM
Nice Togaz mate, Thought id help ya out on your thanking metre lol
Cam
Hardb8
12-10-2008, 05:17 PM
Here's a Cania fish taken at sunrise on a pencilb8 ;D .
Cheers. B8.:)
jimbamb
13-10-2008, 08:57 AM
What did ya catch the hand on????
Hardb8
13-10-2008, 12:45 PM
G'day Jim,
The minor thumb damage is from the jaw grip.And the blood in the palm (Between the thumb and index finger) is from the front treble.
I do know better ::) .But to land,Photgraph,And release the fish as quickly as possible,A little carnage was a small price to pay :) .
Cheers. B8.;)
tiges
20-10-2008, 04:52 PM
Lol Rick. Not really a good fish to go sticking your thumb in their gob ;D .
Got a new PB :D .
Went 77cm. Caught on the quick bee, which still catch's fish despite all its paint worn off. Gotta love surface fishing.
flyfisho
21-10-2008, 06:12 AM
nice one Tim , she's a pretty solid Toga mate!! From the local puddle ?
tiges
21-10-2008, 07:49 AM
Nah Chris, the not so local puddle.
Little grey men
21-10-2008, 10:41 AM
Hey Tiges,
that first pic shows a mean looking fish, they sure have kept their prehistoric design. Awesome creatures !
Can't wait to finally catch one.
scottym
24-11-2008, 05:28 PM
I have been a bit slack in posting these pics, but these are a few fish we caught in CQ a few months back during winter.
bassfanatic5
07-12-2008, 05:47 PM
Mates wife with one she picked up at cania. Levi with a little cania toga
Stiphodon
01-02-2009, 07:39 PM
Mungkan Kandju - Cape York
Matthias
09-07-2009, 11:26 AM
Corroboree Billabong - NT, 2009
I finally get to add some fish here
all caught at Borumba over the last 2 weeks
52336 .. 52337 .. 52335
scottym
11-10-2009, 08:24 PM
Some nice fish there Chris. I went to a normally productive spot about two weeks ago up here in CQ and the only toga we saw and caught were juveniles. We were working on the theory that the larger fish where breeding or carrying young although that does not seem to be the case at Borumba. The sooty grunter made up for it though.
Scotty
NathanCooper
20-11-2009, 07:05 PM
Hi all nice little Borumba toga they go good on light line :)
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/ff225/lys33sa/DSC00225.jpg
Gator
29-11-2009, 04:32 PM
A few togas (jardini) taken from the magical Goose Creek, Melville Island.
My best from borumba was a 79cm fish on a home made scrubber head fly.
KruzinDaBloo
10-11-2012, 08:59 AM
Yaamagarra (hello) all.
Here are some pics from many dreamtimes ago........(prior to the grey hair and permanent laugh lines I sport today!)
These Togas were caught in the beautiful and pristine Dawson river, Q. Great camping area too!!!!
The water was sooo clear, we were 'sight fishing' - pickin out the ones we wanted to try and catch!!
One of my best wild river fresh water fishing experiences ......they put up a great fight, and all were taggged and released.
Gotta get back there one day............. *daydream*
85901 85902
KDB
KruzinDaBloo
10-11-2012, 09:06 AM
:2thumbsup:
KruzinDaBloo
10-11-2012, 09:11 AM
Hi all nice little Borumba toga they go good on light line :)
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/ff225/lys33sa/DSC00225.jpg
WOW....look at those colours.......they differ so much depending on the environment they are caught in.......ones I've caught blend from Rusty brown with orange and yellow dots to gunbarrel silver......GREAT photo mate....:2thumbsup: KDB
11-11-2012, 04:12 PM
Sight casting in Denison Creek near Nebo on an rdo..
shincism1
23-12-2012, 07:24 PM
Sight casting in Denison Creek near Nebo on an rdo..
Hey I live in mackay. How do you get to where you are talking about? And is it land based or is it boating only? Love finding out about new places.
If it's a secret spot than I understand. Awesome fish tho.
Daintreeboy
23-12-2012, 08:51 PM
These pics are probably my favourites of the ones I've caught.
shaynes_god
04-01-2013, 05:56 PM
Does the daintree have Toga's?
Daintreeboy
04-01-2013, 07:28 PM
No it doesn't unfortunately. This was caught up the cape somewhere.
MangroveZac
14-01-2013, 11:33 AM
Cania Dam, good take on a little popper and fun on light gear. (years ago now, 2005 maybe??)