View Full Version : Scarborough \snapper
robersl
12-08-2007, 09:00 PM
Hi All
well with the my boat virtually sold ,A mate wanted to go out to scarborough this afternoon so i sugested we take his boat so i did not dirty mine, hit the water about 2pm headed out to a new spot of his where he tells me he has been getting snapper to 10 lb(well we don't call him pinocchio for nothing) we pull up throw the anchor start to burly up he hangs the landing net over the back of the boat with a kilo or so of squid to defrost .Then decides we are not in the right spot so hauls anchor and starts the motor forgetting the squid next minute we hear plop ,you guessed it in goes the landing net and squid strait to the bottom,after a few swear words he moves to the new spot anchors back up burleys up againset a few rods, just as well i took some yellow tail pike and brought a one kilo and a half pike (1 fish a monster) at morgans cut slabs off off that and waited for the turn of the tide and right on 3pm rods just started screaming we had for snapper in the boat in 5 five minutes all around the 52 cm mark, burleyed up some more waited 20 minutes and another couple of runs and up come 2 x 62 cm models mine still had a line with a hook and bait down its throat. this kept up right till sunset where we run out of bait all in all we boated 13 snapper released 3 to fight another day. 6 over 60 cm and lost at least 15 fish due to line breakages hooks snapping ect ect and all these fish felt over the 60 cm mark. weater permitting will be heading out tomorrow evenong for another go as i have an rdo tomorrow,
ps will post photo's of the four i brought home tomorrow when i clean them on ice now i kept my 62 cm and a few of the smaller ones for dinner
shane
12-08-2007, 10:00 PM
Mate I am surprised that the fish were biting at all when there was a smorgasboard of hookless squid sitting on the bottom for them to eat at their leisure.::) ;D You landed some quality fish in the end and bagged out. Well done.
chief
13-08-2007, 04:56 AM
Great effort.that sounds like a quality session. No good drowning baits,you got to search them out and find them. Well done
robersl
13-08-2007, 10:24 AM
Just Had A Piece Of The Big One For Brekky Damn Nice Heading Out Again Today At This Stage
Shane
shabss
13-08-2007, 12:12 PM
gee did you clean the fish in your wife's kitchen
my wife will kill if i clean fish in the kitchen
i have to clean my fish out in the backyard
good catch though
well done shane
sunny
13-08-2007, 01:38 PM
You da man!!
Gee Shane, don't know how you do it. When we got there at 4pm on our way back from Cape Moreton, North Reef looked like a car park. I'm guessing that you guys weren't sitting in the crowd but were off at a quiet spot somewhere.
We spent half an hour flicking SPs around but couldn't raise a nudge. Didn't realy matter as we had two nice kingies in the esky.
hungry6
13-08-2007, 03:06 PM
nice fish from close inshore there Shane. Might be going to same area tomorow night if it doesnt rain.
TOP session Shane! That is a good haul (for the bay) in anyones language! You giving the tailor a swerve?
Take Care T
Foxy4
13-08-2007, 05:09 PM
You scored well out there for sure. My missus wouldn't mind me cleaning a catch like that in her kitchen thats for sure.
robersl
13-08-2007, 07:02 PM
gee did you clean the fish in your wife's kitchen
my wife will kill if i clean fish in the kitchen
i have to clean my fish out in the backyard
good catch though
well done shane
shh chubby she will hear you she was at work and does not know where i cleaned them however i did scale them outside lol
HI sunny you guessed right but i was not to far away from the main reef how did your trip to the cape go saw a couple at the ramp just back from tempest with a few reds and a pearly.
nah t1 after reading all your adventures over that side of town thought i would try and upstage you ,just joking i have sold the boat so i am limited to where i can head to and the tailor normally buzz off from mud at this time of year and head to fraser
shane
steve20v
13-08-2007, 09:42 PM
Great catch shane! I wish my scarborough trips were that successful. Last weekend i tried scotts point early sun morning and it was terrible.. couldn't buy a bite! The weekend before we did fairly well on the bream at scarb reef, got a dozen around 30cm and a 45cm trevally. Couldn't raise any squire though, just one big bust off was the only hint they were about.
Chubby i'm in the same boat as you mate my wife makes me clean them down the yard. She cracks it every time i rinse the fillets in the kitchen sink! ;)
sunny
14-08-2007, 08:39 AM
HI sunny you guessed right but i was not to far away from the main reef how did your trip to the cape go saw a couple at the ramp just back from tempest with a few reds and a pearly.
Quite well:D see this post for the details http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=114709
robersl
14-08-2007, 02:17 PM
thanks guys
steve i think the water is a bit clear at woody point scotts point area at the moment even the pike have buggered off from there so not much bait about if you go to scarorough be there at the turn of the tide pushing up if you have a sounder just look for any rubble on the bottom we had no snags where we were just a bit of wirey weed on shells
shane
hungry6
14-08-2007, 04:52 PM
i'm packing right now to go scarbo. hopefully to get a couple of squire, otherwise, I'll have a successful time feeding them
ddobson
14-08-2007, 05:51 PM
I will go out and drop a net full of squid because it shure fired your snapper up and got them buggers on the chew.Good session boys.
robersl
14-08-2007, 07:20 PM
I will go out and drop a net full of squid because it shure fired your snapper up and got them buggers on the chew.Good session boys.
yeh nothing like a bit of burly to get them going
haggis
14-08-2007, 08:31 PM
great catch , havent done much good at scarborough yet . might just have to think outside the square and through my bait overboard to see what happens .
cheers fae haggis...............................
BillyT2382
01-01-2012, 10:32 AM
Hi everyone and awesome!!! shane..as much as i would love to put my boat out on the water the bloody thing decided not to go lol not once but 3 bloody times hahahaha it start at home runs perfect but as soon as it goes in at scarbie it decides it doesnt want to go grrrrr lol....i'm the biggest fan of snapper and when the boat does get on the water i will hunt down those beautiful tasting fish you call snapper,squire, all i can say is "Think Big!"...Billy
softplasticsdude79
01-01-2012, 01:21 PM
hey billy,
How the hell you find this post,its from 2007.
yeah,ill take you out fishing real soon - promise !!
Adam
gruntahunta
01-01-2012, 05:14 PM
Don't forget to invite me Adam...Actually come out in my boat and teach me.
01-01-2012, 07:10 PM
Don't forget to invite me Adam...Actually come out in my boat and teach me.
you can pick me up on the way through..LOL
fisho8
02-01-2012, 08:08 AM
Well done mate good lot of fish there Scarbrough reef and surrounding areas has been fishing quite well over the last week I picked up a few good Grassy Emporer, and a few resonable size Bream throughout last week. Unfortunatly no snapper but it is good to see they are stiil around the place. :)