View Full Version : Fraser Report ..Mackeral from the beach

blufish
12-08-2007, 09:41 AM
Gday All

Just spent a week on Fraser with a heap of guys . Got around 900 tailor between us. Ate heaps and bought home our bag limit in fillets.

One morning one of our guys, Bob , hooked onto a mackeral that had taken his tailor . Took around 20 mins to land it and couldn't believe it when he got it in. Went 17kilos.

Brad

blufish
12-08-2007, 09:42 AM
Adding a close up of the tailor that was taken by the mackeral

Brad

reelchippy
12-08-2007, 09:53 AM
Great report brad those tailor must have miss GG AND BRIS cheers

rockfisho
12-08-2007, 09:55 AM
900 tailor!!!, how many people were with you?

blufish
12-08-2007, 10:03 AM
There were 26 of us altogether and we bagged out ( 30 fish per person at any one time ) on the day before we left. By the way Rockfisho that Alvey 650 C5 worked a treat , What a fantastic reel .

brad

bballfisho
12-08-2007, 10:51 AM
amazing stuff. haven't heard of a mack that size get caught off the beach before.
by the looks of that esky you will be eating tailor for a long time, was there much size to many of the fish or mainly just choppers?

good catch mate

scuttlebutt
12-08-2007, 11:00 AM
900 tailor and people worry about the pros!

blufish
12-08-2007, 01:07 PM
Scuttlebutt

The pros would take triple that or more in 1 hour! We were there for a week which averages to 5 fish each per day. If you think that is too many you should write to the govt to change the bag limits!

Most of the tailor were 35cm to 45cm long with a few larger amongst them
A great week

Brad

rockfisho
12-08-2007, 01:09 PM
great catch mate.

I agree, those 650 C5's are fantastic reels. I love mine aswell..., it's never let me down.

congrats on the mack aswell, thats a ripper

rockfisho

KOBIMAN
12-08-2007, 01:27 PM
What do you do with that many tailor? They are no good to freeze so why keep so many? I love a fresh feed of tailor but would not dream of taking that many.

Plastic_Magic
12-08-2007, 01:28 PM
Sounds like you had a heap of fun. Well done on the macky would have been a buss cachting him off the beach. Well done on the catch

Cheers Plastic_Magic

blufish
12-08-2007, 04:27 PM
Kobiman , Hows it going

We filleted then froze all the fillets in packs of 6 , then bought home 10 packs each. All the tailor were kept on ice from the time they were caught till the time they were frozen, in pristine condition. I will probably eat mine in about 2 montrhs total so there is no waste. e buy fish about 3 times a week when I havent got any so it works out well for us

Brad

Fisher4life
12-08-2007, 04:36 PM
Congrats on that fantastic mackeral off the beach. What a suprise it must have been, at any stage did you think you caught one of the sharks that frequent the area??

And i'll stand for you to say that, if the tailor are bled and put on ice soon after being caught, filleted and skinned while they are still fresh, then frozen all in the same day, they hold their eating qualities and still taste good for upto about 2months after freezing them.

Sounds like there wasn't too much quality down there though, last time i was down at fraser, the average fish were around 50-60cm long

Benno
12-08-2007, 05:07 PM
Sensational Mac.. And good catch of tailor blufish.. Have to love those trips.

Benno

ffejsmada
12-08-2007, 05:08 PM
Sounds like you had a ball Brad!
Did the Spaniard take a pilly on gang hooks?
Were you using wire or heavier mono for leader?
If you were using mono it was your lucky day mate! Well Done.;)

Jeff

~Johno~
12-08-2007, 05:27 PM
Thats a great catch. Your gunna love eating them, very tasty.

BLOOEY
12-08-2007, 06:03 PM
That mac is bloody unreal.Love to do that one day.Good on him.Ben

blufish
12-08-2007, 06:05 PM
Hi guys

The mack wasnt my catch but was caught when it attacked the tailor that was already caught on the line with gang hooks using a pilly. If you look at the second picture closeup you can see the head of the tailor left where the mack attacked it
Brad

Jaffo
12-08-2007, 08:16 PM
I was there whwn the Spano was landed (the big guy did well). That was the third landed from that gutter in a week. We also baged out in 2 days, same gutter last year at this time they were 1.5kg fish or better. I to like after taylor after it has been frozen, all in how it is cooked.

sandbankmagnet
12-08-2007, 09:07 PM
True. I used to keep tailor frozen and deep or shallow fry in beer batter. Beautiful.

I don't think tailor cooked normally/plainly after freezing tastes that good.

The tailor the mack took looks tiny.

Great haul, but size looks average.

There must have been other stories with 26 blokes on Fraser for a week.

T1
12-08-2007, 09:45 PM
True. I used to keep tailor frozen and deep or shallow fry in beer batter. Beautiful.

I don't think tailor cooked normally/plainly after freezing tastes that good.

;D ;D ;D

Each to their own but i've never not been able to stomach Tailor after it's been frozen...

That sounds like a great week! And what a Mack too! Gee i miss those nights by the campfire talking sh%t about how many (& how big) got away that day - with all to do again the next day!

Take Care T

robersl
12-08-2007, 09:47 PM
What do you do with that many tailor? They are no good to freeze so why keep so many? I love a fresh feed of tailor but would not dream of taking that many.

well done brad , tailor are all right frozen i keep mine all the time and defrost but 2 month is about the limit get a bit mushy after that ,a few mate have gone up this weekend

p.s the whiting should start hitting donnybrook about now

shane