View Full Version : Green/St Helena/Mud/Harry's/Wello

TimD
11-08-2007, 09:42 PM
Well with my beautiful wife to be (Amanda) going shopping with her bridesmaids today i thought ok it's time me and brent went for another session,I was packing my fishing bag last night and thought hey its time i tryed these lures i got off foggy ages ago any see how they go,We dropped brents rig in at manly around 5:45-6:00 am and headed for Green,We flicked for a while but didnt get any hits,Then brent said hey that looks like Steven (Steven78) in his galeforce so we cruised over and it was him,After a quick G'day we ventured over to St helena and had a flick but no action here either,Brent then suggested lets go to Mud so off we went,Brent was using a rather large squidy flick bait with some secret enhancer when all of a sudden his plastic got slammed.He was losing a fair bit of line but regained some back only for the fish to do some more big runs zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (thats for T1 hahahaha) This went on for about 3 minutes and in the end the hooks pulled and the fish won the fight,I flicked out my plastic javallon lure in pumpkinseed and gripped the rod between my legs as i decided to take my jumper off,When i grabbed the rod from between my legs and wound up the slack i could feel a bit of weight so i set the hook zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (for T1 again hahaha) and i was losing a bit of line off my Sol 2500 but got into it and dragged him up from the depths,Brent saw colour and had the net ready and said hell yeah its a nice snapper mate just take it easy so you dont lose him at the boat,once the net slipped under him i knew it was a new PB replacing my old 45cm Pb,We took some photos and gave him a measure,He just made 70cm and went into the esky to meet the ice slurry,After that we decided to head to Harry's where we couldnt raise a scale either,Then we tried St Helena again where i picked up a tiny moses perch and side jagged a little tiny fish,Brent took a picture cos it looked funny cos the plastic was 2 or 3 times bigger than the fish,We then tryed around Green again without a touch then to wello but that was dead also so we called it a day and headed for home.

It was a top trip and im stoked about getting a decent bay snapper finally :)

I would also like to thank Foggy for the javallon's and if he has anymore ill buy some ;D

P.S - I only had like 2 hours sleep last night before the trip so i hope i havent left anything out of the report ;)

cheers tim

plaztix
11-08-2007, 09:52 PM
70cm is a very nice fish.

Nothing beats the feeling of a PB, hugh.

Good work

Aquarius
11-08-2007, 09:54 PM
Tim thats a good report of todays events and you did well to land that 70cm snapper on 10lb gear.
A rather skinny fish for 70cms but still had plenty of fight.
You get the prize for the biggest fish of the day and also the smallest fish of the day..lol
Greedy little fella was determined to eat that 5" gulp!!!
The fishing was slow but i enjoyed the company and it was great to see you get that new PB.
Cheers Brent

loophole
11-08-2007, 09:56 PM
what were these special plastics

TimD
11-08-2007, 10:32 PM
what were these special plastics

Imakatsu javallon's :)

alleycat
12-08-2007, 05:29 AM
Nice fish well done, and anyone using the wellington point boat ramp please dont forget to pay homage to the 3-5 wise old fellas who meet there every morning to oversee proceedings.

chief
12-08-2007, 05:52 AM
Great Report and congrads on the p.b mate,Top fish.Well done Brent, sounds like the perfect Wedding gift getting Tim onto a fish like that. Now i wonder what he;ll remember more fondly , that fish or his wedding day? ;D

12-08-2007, 07:27 AM
Nice fish there Tim, congratulations. There's still some fish around but if you work out the dollars per Kilo we are spending to get them, it's no wonder our non fishing friends are calling us NUTS:2vrolijk_08: I see you gave the Lime Tigers a go, they still are my Favourite.

Well done

Silent
12-08-2007, 07:39 AM
TIM D
Many congrat's and that's a pretty big jump 25cm to your new PB
Time to update your avastar...;)

foggy
12-08-2007, 09:39 AM
Nice one tim. I reckon we need a good dose of south east winds to dirty up the water a bit before we start to see regular results anywhere in the bay. I got a few goods snaps over at moreton last week, but am bypassing mud for the time being.

I will give you a bell sometime this week after I talk to my contact re the Javallons

Foggy

12-08-2007, 09:50 AM
Thats a great new PB. Looks like the Javallons might have made the difference. I have never seen a better action in a placky and in the clear water they may be the weapon of choice

jackextracter
12-08-2007, 11:47 AM
Nice snap there.

ddobson
12-08-2007, 04:23 PM
Nice fish and a great upgrade to bute. I am still going the lime tigers only in the darker dawn and dusk but the javellin did em all well done.

T1
13-08-2007, 10:08 AM
Nice work Tim! As for ZZZZZZZZZZ, there's nothing wrong with that - in fact, i don't think you used enough....

Take Care T

PS Which side of Mud were you guys at? Surprised we didn't run into you!

TimD
13-08-2007, 10:28 AM
PS Which side of Mud were you guys at? Surprised we didn't run into you!

Mate you will have to ask brent im not sure if he would want me saying anything :P

cheers tim :)

T1
13-08-2007, 11:38 AM
Mate you will have to ask brent im not sure if he would want me saying anything :P

cheers tim :)

No worries Tim - hardly a secret naming a side when there is so much water/area at Mud to cover - i dare not say it was the western anyway...

Take Care T

mickstar001
13-08-2007, 01:31 PM
Congrats Timbo well done - it had to come eventually. Well done mate.

Mickstar