View Full Version : Brissie river sat sesh.
chief
11-08-2007, 06:25 PM
Had the plan to meet John and Troy( Hodges 4) for a assult on the Brissie river this morning. John and Troy in their boat and myself and a mate Garry fished in mine. Hit the water at 5.30 and found things a little quiet with myself hooking our first keeper 36 cm quickly followed by Garry with another solid lizard. Caught a few more returns and Garry gets smashed by a good fish which took more of a shine to its freedom then ending up in our esky.;D Continued through the morning with a few undersize fish and the ocassional fish hitting the esky. John and Troy seemed to be finding it quiet but john cleaned up during the week on some quality squire. Overall it was pretty dam quiet but we fished hard for 4 keeper squire and 1 flathead.John and Troy had to leave and johns last remark was about Nuggets tip for a hot bite at 12 noon. Well at 12 noon Garry hooks a horse that takes him deep into the pylons to no mans land . Dam No way to pull this bugger up where we were fishing . A fishs escape heaven. So next was my turn 2 minutes later with a nice river squire that tried to run me into the pylons but some nice work on the motor from Garry had us in clean water and after a few tense moments we had him in the net. We motored back to that headache of a spot and i cast again to be mongreled by a horse that ran like a train . I turned his head and Garry had us heading to good water but the fish had other ideas and just went balistic .Dam straight into the hell hole of structure:o and left me blown away . No way of getting him out but he had me big time so for the next few casts i had Garry on strike on me on the motor but we had done our dash for the day. Sorry John the fun started as you and Troy left mate. Nice to run into Silent again8-) and nice to meet Peter ,one of Garrys mate who had scored a couple of squire as well. We all fished hard but it was just one of those days. Thanks fellas and next time Garry i'm determined to land you a squire over 60cm;) Cheers
foggy
11-08-2007, 06:35 PM
Nice work Chief. You are a brave man fishing in the strucute you do, but I guess frotune favours the brave. Must catch up for a river session soon eh
Foggy
hodges4
11-08-2007, 06:53 PM
Hi Chief, nice to have met you and Garry and thanks once again for showing us around. Shame the fish didn't co-operate but that's fishing.
I checked the Solunar Tables and the peak was 10:21am this morning with a 50% rating. I gave you the wrong time but sounds like it was just as well you hung around anyway. I don't suppose the action started around then?
The fish we caught earlier in the week did coincide with the tables.
Hopefully I'll catch you out on the river again and you can show me how you catch those big ones you get reliably.
Aquarius
11-08-2007, 07:31 PM
Good report Chief.
Those big brutes know how to elude capture by heading for the structure.
I did battle with a monster this morning and the fish won the day when the hook pulled.
Tim had better luck but thats another post coming soon.
Cheers Brent
11-08-2007, 07:35 PM
You are a legend, Chief!!!
Great report! Nice fish! Nice Esky! :)
Sea-Captain
11-08-2007, 07:56 PM
well done chief - especially on a Sat in the brissy river! Cheers
ffejsmada
11-08-2007, 08:04 PM
well done Chief, you da man!
Mate you've got that place sussed, good on ya!;)
Jeff
Silent
11-08-2007, 08:48 PM
It was pleasure to catch you & your deckie this morning...
I didn't get any luck at Mud so I decided to return river and found you and shot a picture...8-)
Unfortunatey I couldn't spend more hours and promises to do house work after short fishing session...:-[
Byway the result shows you're still champion...8-)
Callop
11-08-2007, 10:23 PM
Well done. Chief strikes again.
The young fella and I tried the mouth from 4.00pm to about 7.00pm today and couldn't raise a scale. Going to have another crack at them on Monday morning.
plaztix
11-08-2007, 10:42 PM
Nice work chief, there are definately some horses in the river but the big ones always seem to know where a nice barnacle covered bit of structure is to bust you off. How else would they get so big. Seems the bigger they are, the smarter they are.
I bet they keep a collection of old hooks and jig heads to show their mates how many they busted off.
chief
12-08-2007, 06:47 AM
Foggy... One spot today was horrific but if you weren't in the zone ,you could forget it.FUN..you bet
Hodges4..Hey john,bugger Nuggets predictions ;D.Whats your prediction for next weekend.We couldn;t believe midday and bang.
Charlie..now where have i seen that esky? Mate my 2 boys gave me mine for my birthday last week.
Silent..you can't avoid the housework mate,rule no1 .. a happy wife lets you go fishing ;D
Plaztix..That last fish was a dam fine fish.I just hope with his jig collection,he doesn't end up with to many of mine ;D
12-08-2007, 09:55 AM
Charlie..now where have i seen that esky? Mate my 2 boys gave me mine for my birthday last week.
That is a pretty good birthday pressie. Good sons! :)
Happy birthday for last week, old timer! ;D
ddobson
12-08-2007, 04:33 PM
Still good to see big reds in amonst the structure. Even getting smoked is better than getting no hits. I pulled my pb of 63 through the week in the dark and hope to have another day like yours cheers.
chief
12-08-2007, 06:51 PM
Hey ddobson, Congrads on the p.b. mate .Hope you up the size again this week mate.Out of interest did you nail the last one on placies or bait?
Hey charlie,'' OLD TIMER'' , thanks for that mate ;D