View Full Version : rod suggestions for Daiwa Alphas

yellahunter
07-08-2007, 08:04 PM
hey guys,

im looking at getting a daiwa alphas at the moment,
can anyone suggest some good rods to look at matching it up with.

i will use the setup primarily for bass.

TheSaint
07-08-2007, 09:40 PM
Mate this is the rod i'm getting for that exact reel..

http://products.gloomis.com/gl/products/alltackle/detail.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524441760463&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302032500&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474395181201&bmUID=1186486744198

turley
07-08-2007, 09:41 PM
What is your price range? For bass, and with an alpha, I reckon either a shimano t-curve XL or river raider would match up quite well for good value.

TheSaint
07-08-2007, 09:46 PM
or if your budget is tight then get a Dam or Bass raider..

wheezer
07-08-2007, 11:00 PM
pm me if you are interested in something custom made

yellahunter
08-08-2007, 07:51 AM
Mate this is the rod i'm getting for that exact reel..

http://products.gloomis.com/gl/products/alltackle/detail.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524441760463&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302032500&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474395181201&bmUID=1186486744198

nice looking rod mate, might be a bit heavy for what i want though,

do you know what they sell for..?

TheSaint
08-08-2007, 08:10 AM
You could get the 6-12lb if you want lighter version.. you can pick them up off ebay for $230..

yellahunter
08-08-2007, 07:54 PM
geez thats a good price,
is there a specific ebay store you get them from or just random secod hand etc

yellahunter
08-08-2007, 10:50 PM
does anyone know what the entry level loomis rods are like,
ir gl2 etc.

are they much better than a raider for instance

wheezer
09-08-2007, 09:56 AM
IMO pretty ordinary for the price, the alphas is an awesome reel, try and pair it with a rod that will make the most of it. maybe take the reel down to your local and try it on a few rods....

yellahunter
12-08-2007, 09:47 PM
any more info on the entry level loomis ie GL2 as opposed to say a bass raider,

yellahunter
13-08-2007, 07:37 AM
i guess my next question is how do the daiwa procaster or tierra rods compare to say a raider

TheSaint
13-08-2007, 08:51 AM
Mate I would go play with as many rods as you can & find what you really like.. It's the only way you will know.. You said you like your brother's Bass Raider which is great value for money but maybe you want a longer rod for casting distance?? There is alot things to consider when you are buying a rod.. I like alittle my grunt in my rod hence why I'm getting 4-7kg in my Loomis but it will be not only be used on bass but jacks in the salt in summer. I use a Dam Raider which is 3-8kg which is great on bass but has the power to stop Jewies when i need to. Everyone fishes differently hence different rods & weight rating you just need to find what YOU like not what everyone says is good cause if this was the case i would be still using Squidgies SP's & Shimano reels..

Shimanervana
29-02-2008, 01:34 PM
G'day Fellas,
looks like I have joined a long list of potential Alpha fans?? I too have recently become extremely interested in this reel and I am thinking of pairing to a Ian Miller T Curve Flight series.

"TCurve 'Flight' is Shimano's new top-shelf baitcasting and spinning rod series. They offer higher performance with upgraded components, improved handle designs, and new blank actions."

Supposedly the latest and greatest graphites, with uncorrosionable and flexible unbreakable guides, at a fraction of a Loomis cost.
I think a 3/6 kg would suit the Alphas to perfection.

I cannot help but think that the Alphas 5 pound of drag is a bit on the light side, but I suppose carbontex washers can beef that up. And its line capacity is not outstanding. My fishing is mainly the creeks rivers and beaches of mid north qld, and odd Spanish, queenfish GT or large fingermark /salmon etc is always on the cards, so I would not want to blow a great fish for lack of drag or line capacity. And I am wondering if the upgraded version may not be the better option though is is about $100-00 or so dearer.
Input will be greatly appreciated.