View Full Version : Couple of Arvo's chasing lizards @ Noosa

Pistol_P
06-08-2007, 03:48 PM
I have spent the last couple of afternoons chasing Lizards in the river.....Decided I was sick of the trevally.....:P .

Have caught some great flathead both in the boat and landbased throwing plastics and I managed to crack a 80cm model out of the boat on a pink Renosky Shad...(yes I have two left)....:P .Quick picture and the big girl was released.
Great to see a big flattie in clear water swim off.
While in the boat we disturbed a flattie that I swear was close to a metre....An absolute monster....:o .

The day after I got the 80cm out of the boat I went landbased and landed two flatties at 63cm and 67cm....both caught on 5inch gulps (sardine colour) on 1/4 ounce heads.Both fish released as well.8-)

Little grey men
06-08-2007, 04:01 PM
Nice lizards mate. Fingers crossed the next photo might be of that metre monster.

PBass
06-08-2007, 04:14 PM
I can here Noosa's trevally population breathing a sigh of relief all the way from Brisbane!! Good work mate is seems like you know your stuff.. PBass

jackextracter
06-08-2007, 04:21 PM
Nice flathead they are sure getting around at the momment.

OB1
06-08-2007, 04:21 PM
Beautifully conditioned flathead pistol - the season seems to have kicked in earlier up the coast than down - most of the fish around Brissie and Gold Coast have been small.

Ollie

ffejsmada
06-08-2007, 04:31 PM
Pete, you finally cracked the 80, well done. Welcome to the club!
There's heaps of lizards further upstream mate.
That's not a bad little spot there where you got those ones hey?
They just sit there waiting for bait to come around the corner.

Cheers, Jeff.

Red Bull
06-08-2007, 04:40 PM
Great lizards Pete, top stuff! Wish I could latch onto a few of those shovel headed critters again. Also, interesting to note you still have a coupla Renosky's. I've managed to hoard a couple of old renosky tails as well, and find myself fastidiously patching up torn tails with super glue in the hope of keeping my favourite flattie soft plastics going. :) One day, they'll be gone altogether i suppose, but it's hard to let go, isn't it?! Have found the Bozo shads to be a pretty good substitute, and a fair bit tougher as well.

Cheers Pete, keep up the great work.

Red Bull

Pistol_P
06-08-2007, 06:31 PM
Pete, you finally cracked the 80, well done. Welcome to the club!
There's heaps of lizards further upstream mate.
That's not a bad little spot there where you got those ones hey?
They just sit there waiting for bait to come around the corner.

Cheers, Jeff.

Yeah I finally cracked the 80.....::)
I was stuck on 76cm for ages.........
Yeah its a good spot but its sooooo busy with boat traffic....::)
Some nice flatties there though.
What you been catching?

imnotoriginal
06-08-2007, 07:49 PM
Decided I was sick of the trevally.....:P .

Geez I wish that was my problem! Good report again mate.
Joel

Mattg68
06-08-2007, 08:47 PM
Nice lizards there Pete. Same ol' story mate, it's always the biggest ones that never make it to the boat. Don't ya know the water magnifies what's down below. lol.

laney
06-08-2007, 09:28 PM
nice fish mate, you kill the river i cant wait to get up there in feburary and try it out as i have only just started getting into the soft plastic scene.

me and the tinny will have a few busy days i think.

ashh
07-08-2007, 06:12 PM
great size flattys there mate!

nuggstar
07-08-2007, 06:46 PM
and you did not even ring me to come out. you bugga, top fish mate. i did get a nice bass at lake mac on the week end it went 49cm and was the only fish i got all weekend

beachie
08-08-2007, 05:21 PM
Great report Pete, might have to spread the wings up from Maroochy, been flatty huntin with squidgies and curlies for not much result.

BLOOEY
08-08-2007, 06:07 PM
Good flatties pete,Walking the shore casting softies for flatties is good medicine.Ben

White_Steenbras
08-08-2007, 07:56 PM
Top Flatties mate, gotta love Noosa.

tunapikus
08-08-2007, 08:31 PM
Nice looking happy moment ?