View Full Version : Brissy River Snapper on SP's

plaztix
06-08-2007, 10:47 AM
Well, have to say..................... I'm hooked.

Never targeted snaps on Plaztix before but after yesterdays results, well the pics clearly speak for themselves:D:D

Caught 5 keepers over about 2 hours and my mate got busted off by 2 monsters.

The biggest we boated was just over 60cm and was pulled from deep inside some structure, with a bit of skillful (even if i do say so myself) one foot steering , to get him out away from the barnacle covered pylons. Good fight on light gear.

Will be targeting them more regularly.

jackextracter
06-08-2007, 11:07 AM
Nice mate,very nice.cheers

slyman
06-08-2007, 11:16 AM
Great stuff plastix! They are great fun hey! 60 is a damn good fish on light gear. Thanks

simon

plaztix
06-08-2007, 11:50 AM
I was using 8lb braid and 10lb leader. Probably not really light in some peoples mind, but to land the 60cm+ model i was fighting what i thought was a losing battle around the pylons for a while. Once i got him into the open water every 5 metres i'd get off him he'd take back 10.

I have always found that fish caught on sp's fight harder (same as any type of lure caught fish really) opposed to bait.

In all the years i've fished for snapper thinking that they prefer bait, i've never caught one over 48cm. 1st outing chasing snapper on SP's and bang, biggest and best grin on my face to go with the biggest and best snapper i've ever caught.;D

reelchippy
06-08-2007, 11:56 AM
Great report nice fish

beefaman
06-08-2007, 12:26 PM
Awesome stuff mate. They go hard on the light line.
Well done

06-08-2007, 12:34 PM
Would you mind telling us which SPs did the deeds for you ?

T1
06-08-2007, 12:42 PM
Great work PLAZ! Gee the river is firing at the moment! Don't discount the bait for the BIG Snaps... SP's are great but a well presented piece of flesh still remains extremely deadly...

Take Care T

ffejsmada
06-08-2007, 12:47 PM
Well done Plazo, top effort mate.;)

Jeff

plaztix
06-08-2007, 01:04 PM
Would you mind telling us which SPs did the deeds for you ?

The majority including the big one (and a bream) fell victim to 85mm squidgy flick baits. I was using flash prawn on a 1/4 oz 3/0 jig head, my mate and his mate were using the same but in blood worm colour.

A clear green glittery power bait (cant remember what it was called) about 5 inches long also landed a nice and tasty 40cm squire.

Tried a few different gulps, no luck in raising a scale with them though.

Be interested to know what everyone else is catching them on as well.

bayfisher
06-08-2007, 01:16 PM
There is no doubt about it snapper are absolute suckers for well presented soft plastic. Top effort!!!

Cheers Chris

chief
06-08-2007, 02:05 PM
Great fish mate ,well done i wish i could get there tosarf... Dam

mickstar001
06-08-2007, 02:26 PM
Well done Plaztix nice catch there. WARNING as you have probably learnt they become very addictive!

Mickstar

lumox
06-08-2007, 02:49 PM
another convert good to see well done on a good catch. river is firing at the moment

plaztix
06-08-2007, 03:22 PM
Yeah the rivers the go with all this clear water in the bay at the moment.

Mickstar - addictive indeed, i've been chucking plaztix since i was 10 (almost 20 years ago) when i nailed my first monster flattie (50cm +) at the fishermans island bridge. My old man was stunned when i walked back with it under my arm and have been a big fan of lure fishing since.

Just for some reason never tried to target snapper cause haven't caught many with hard bodies. I mainly target fish i have caught on hard bodies with sp's knowing they take lures.

Have to say i'm happy as a pig in poo with my first snapper on plaztix outing. i think the bait fishing outfit will sit in the shed for the next few months........

06-08-2007, 04:35 PM
Thanks for the reply

Russ

OB1
06-08-2007, 04:43 PM
Well done Plaztix,

There is some great fish in the river but they are not always easy to land especially over 60cm

Ollie

juju
06-08-2007, 05:06 PM
Theres some bait shops that will see a downturn in $$ unless they stock Sps

385EXPLORER
06-08-2007, 05:37 PM
Yeah good show plaz,big smile indeed,
explorer

Houndslair
06-08-2007, 05:42 PM
great fish well done

06-08-2007, 07:56 PM
Great work PLAZ! Gee the river is firing at the moment! Don't discount the bait for the BIG Snaps... SP's are great but a well presented piece of flesh still remains extremely deadly...

Take Care T

T's going soft!! Ahahahahah Sorry mate, it's true, bait still accounts for some VERY nice fish.

But Plaztix, well done mate, I have to echo what you have said, I too spent years trying to catch decent Snaps with nowhere near the same success as when I started using plastics, and once you know what you are doing ( which you obviously do ) your PB will keep improving.;) But hey, if you never catch bigger than this, it's all good fun trying isn't it??::)

plaztix
06-08-2007, 08:22 PM
Yep, just cant believe my PB was smashed the 1st time i used plaztix for snapper.

The funny thing is i have used sp's for years targeting other species and only caught a hand full of squire. As soon as i target the buggers with something i thought wasn't really suited to them, i get the rude awakening that maybe i've been wasting my time with bait.

I still cant wipe the smile of my dial...........60cm........... oh yeah and it went 3.4kg gutted. Missus was spewing i used her nice shiny kitchen scales. hehe

Solid fish i thought?? how does that compare to others around this size?

DD
06-08-2007, 08:48 PM
top report plaz plenti of gusto when they hit on the drop realy wakes ya up huh,good s##t

06-08-2007, 09:00 PM
Solid fish i thought?? how does that compare to others around this size?

Hard to beleive it was only 60cm at this weight. Myself and Foggy landed pigeon pair Snaps at river to mud comp recently. They were both 63cm fish, but both under 3KG mark. Yours was a porker that's for sure! :o

Mattg68
06-08-2007, 09:07 PM
Very nice effort Plastix, I'm not suprised your still smiling. The plastics do have there place but I'm still with the opinion that it's 50/50 (plastic/bait). There's plenty of posts up here with plastics catching bugger all so there not the one and only magical solution. I love the convenience of them though, carry them around in the car with very little stink factor & plenty of variety too. If there not biting on plastic sometimes bait is the way to go. Maybe fish are like most people, who wants to eat the same sh!t everyday.

Anyway, top effort again Plastix & here's to many more.

T1
06-08-2007, 09:14 PM
T's going soft!! Ahahahahah Sorry mate, it's true, bait still accounts for some VERY nice fish.

Ahhhh, dear SCALEM! My PB Snap remains to the old faithful fillet de mullay :-X ... Ok so the Threadie & S/Mack fell to the placcie but the latter was pure fluke ;)! Nonetheless, lets see if i can hang on to a brute this Sat and see if i can bust that PB...;D

Will be in touch towards the end of the week - final coat of paint just went on the boat and i'll whack all the stickers on by the end of the week so she'll be like a virgin again :o !

Take Care T

Tetsuo
08-08-2007, 01:44 PM
Hey plaztix, I found the same thing, targeted snaps on bait with no success. First time on placcies got a 58 at coochie on a sunday arvo! At xmas we drifted between a flotilla of bait fishers and cleaned up-40 legal squire in two days (all released) whilst the baiters got no bites. (at curtain)
Keep up the good work!

ddobson
09-08-2007, 08:05 PM
Cheers on the reds they are there just hard to find the hungry ones.

plaztix
09-08-2007, 09:41 PM
Dunno whats goin on with everyone else, but we had some more luck this morning. Had to see if my 60+ on my first snapper/sp's outing was just a lucky catch.

With the poor reports i've been hearing from everyone who's tried wello, mud, peel lately thought i'd try a spot just outside and sort of between st helena and green where i have boated a few nice squire on bait before, It paid off big time.

On the water at 5 and had an esky full by 8. yee ha

When the sun rose we noticed there was a slight cloudy waterline right where we had been drifting, i imagine this had a fair bit to do with our catch. perfect conditions, slight current, cloud cover, zero wind, sunrise = fish in the boat

Best went 58cm. I have to say, plaztix for snapper should be illegal:o :D

Will post some pics when i have downloaded them

Pistol_P
09-08-2007, 10:59 PM
Yeah I couldnt agree more....
The soft plastics on snapper seems far more addictive than throwing them at flatties etc.

snapperbug
10-08-2007, 07:44 AM
I also agree, I can't get enough at the moment.