View Full Version : Another plastics recruit /brissie river
chief
04-08-2007, 01:51 PM
Took a mate who is surf/light gear club fisherman for a first plastic session this morning on the river. >:( Dam westerly blowing so we up against it from the start but we soldiered on. You could see the look of enthusiasm change as he had his first ensquirery. Bang Bang and then Hello these things work. No problem finding fish ,it was just that we could only find them from 25 to 34 cm. Although not a successful trip we did manage to Keep a slow flow of fish coming to the boat and enough action to Show that plastics worked . Good to see Garry catch about 10 or so squire and at least nail 1 legal flathead so it was a nice way to spend a few hours . Heaps of bait again with good fish showing but only the small ones on the chew. Ahh well it keeps you coming back ,doesn't it;D Cheers
BLOOEY
04-08-2007, 02:17 PM
G day chief.I think i saw you out there today.I was in the bluefin C- console.Managed one squire and a couple of bream.(saltwater chat)Ben
04-08-2007, 02:25 PM
Chief,
I think you get rewarded just as much as your deckies when you see them use placcies for the 1st time. At least I do, most times I don't care if I catch fish, so long as my rookie does, and it's as good an excuse as any to get out on the water!;)
slyman
04-08-2007, 03:35 PM
Good stuff chief.
simon
chief
04-08-2007, 04:57 PM
Hey Ben, when we had a flick near the passage / river i think i did see you .Two of you in a blue warrior with a c/consl? Any size to the squire you caught mate? We searched every where round the mouth for over 20 squire all up but nothing over 35 but it did the job on convinceing Garry you could catch fish on plastics.
Scalem ,i'm with you mate .I love seeing some one catch their first fish on plastics. Hey but i want to catch fish to.;D
Foxy4
04-08-2007, 05:56 PM
Chief Good stuff yet again.
beefaman
04-08-2007, 11:55 PM
Nice work converting another one Chief
BLOOEY
05-08-2007, 07:20 AM
Yep that was us.Not much size to mine either.Got one 42Cm.Ben
ddobson
05-08-2007, 08:46 AM
Well done i might have also converted one last night after his first plastic sesion and caught cod,tailor and some small squire on a 3 inch prawn and a 4 inch lime tiger. Happy hunting.
chief
05-08-2007, 08:55 AM
Gee mate i would have been wrapped to find a 42 cm model yesterday. Thats a nice set up you have there . good alrounder from river to anything. you'd be useing plastics?Had a strong feeling to have an explore and run upstream round the gateway and fish around that stretch of the river but i didn't go with the gut feeling.I never get good fish with that westerley wind. Catch up next time ben now i know your boat.
BLOOEY
05-08-2007, 10:29 AM
Yeah chief have had the boat for about 6 years now and am still happy as larry with it.Yeah using plastics.Saw a guy pull a real snap from underneath a wharf.See ya out there.Ben
loophole
05-08-2007, 05:32 PM
which wharf?
BLOOEY
05-08-2007, 05:58 PM
Dont know mate was my first trip to the river.The one that did not have a ship on it.
loophole
05-08-2007, 07:27 PM
oh ok thanks was the wharf in the river
Callop
05-08-2007, 07:38 PM
Well done Chief. I hope the commission os good for all the plastics we are buying instead of bait.
Aquarius
05-08-2007, 08:57 PM
Another plastics convert ay Chief.
Nothing better than to see a newbie to plastics fishing hookup on a squire or three for the first time.
Don't worry mate they were the same size throughout the bay today and believe me we covered over 100 kilometres to try and find a legal fish.
Cheers Brent
chief
06-08-2007, 09:13 AM
Ben.. I love it mate ,"the wharf without the ship on it" LOL ;D
Callop.. a few interesting reports around ,thinking of trieing a few of those 5-6 inch plastics
Hey Brent, Good to see a few scattered catches of quality around .There is always next time.
A few of you blokes Know my young son Garrett. Played his first game sunday U/16s after 4 months of phsio and weights and had a blinder scoring 2 trys in 10 minutes but the last effort dislocatted that shoulder again so my old mate won't be fishing for a while and off to see the Orthapedics again. Devastating to the young bloke who only loves one thing more than fishing and thats his Football.