View Full Version : tips for wide cal
yakka
03-08-2007, 03:49 PM
am thinking of going out to wide caloundra have some marks, (more would be better), are there any tips, techniques that will help. will be using pilchards, have no experience with anything else.
thanks in advance
Tassie JR
03-08-2007, 05:46 PM
gidday yakka we drift out there we have tried anchorering but the anchore dont hold, just fish with your pilchard about 10 meters off the bottem using 5/0 gangs with a ball sinker (size of sinker varies on current) you can also use the paternoster rig with 5/0 to 6/0 hooks just cut your pilchards in half. hope this helps.
good luck tassie JR
goona
03-08-2007, 07:47 PM
Yakka,
Find a lump but get there before first light not sunrise by at least half an hour anchor uo current by 20 to 30 meters and berly up with old pillies chook pellets etc. We have had very good success in this area using this method. Once the sun has been up for about an hour it is generally all over
Goona
I like the 60 to 65 meter ground, not a lot of big stucture, more 2 or 3 meter bumps.
Drift fish with a ball sinker, 3 x 7766 6/0's ganged together, sinker to suit the current and just drift it down. There are some good fish to be gad on the tide changes, regardless of the time of day
Brian
jake_snapper_king
05-08-2007, 09:32 AM
Yakka,
Find a lump but get there before first light not sunrise by at least half an hour anchor uo current by 20 to 30 meters and berly up with old pillies chook pellets etc. We have had very good success in this area using this method. Once the sun has been up for about an hour it is generally all over
Goona
he has got it down packed make sure the burley is fine so they dont fill up on it make sure ur bait is precenttible and looks nice :) send it down in the trail of burley i find when i use the bait runners i keep it loose so every time swell comes it lets out some line i find its works better cause when u keep hearing the sound of drag go u know something is looking or taken a interest with it:) bait=squid(big succkers at moffets beach u can get one with ur eyes closed 5 mins spent in the northen corner is worth it)=pillies make sure there good ones=slimmies well they just go off=live yakka as well:) good luck