View Full Version : Weekend Report - GREEN, BLUE & BUST OFF!

T1
30-07-2007, 07:44 PM
Hi All

FRIDAY NIGHT

After a hot session a few weeks earlier, Myself, little bro 'Lil Willy' and his mate, ALB78 and 2 mates decided we'd head down for another crack at some 'green' fish! Got there about 5ish and were greeted to waves that were standing up beyond what we expected! It wasn't long before we realised that it was going to be near impossible to even cast beyond the shore break, with strong southerly sweep thrown in for good measure! We worked the casts as it got dark but was nigh on useless so we sat around and fished in tandem in case they came in to the white water. Eventually, as the tide dropped, ALB78 finally got 1. This gave us some hope but really, it was false alarms... I managed to finally land one, and so did Lil Willy with ALB getting another couple in between. Lil Willy and his mate eventually got the sh%ts with being pounded for no return and gave in while I decided to keep ALB company a little longer... As i was bidding Willy farewell, i decided i'd have a smoke - when ALB pulls in 2 in quick succession! I head back in and 1st cast, another fish! Oooohhh maybe they're starting as the tide was midway out. Nope, as was the trend, coming through in 1's & 2's and i eventually called it quits while ALB stayed on. Talking to him afterwards, he ended up with 6 and a 2.5kg Aus Salmon! Persistance pays but i can tell you that i was quite sore on Sat from battling the surf and push for over 4hrs on Friday night :( !

SUNDAY

Met up with long time mate SMERDO who finally finished his Uni commitments (and graduated officially today ;) - well done old mate!). We hadn't had a fish for a while and i was keen to try out my new Garmin 72 GPS. At the ramp at 5 and ran into CHIEF and Garrett - nice way to greet the morning! Destination Mud as zipped out of the Brissie and to a spot that SCALEM was nice enough to give me - a starting point (as my MUD successes aren't too flash). Well, we found the ground and started our drift lines with the odd little Snap hitting the decks (and duly returned - i was after the BIG one). Well, at 7ish, BANG ZZZZZZZZZZZZ before swimming towards the boat then turning and taking off at a great rate with extremely solid headshakes ZZZZZZZZZZ woo hoo ZZZZZZZZZZZ as i thought my prayers were being answered! 'Smerdo, pull in the pilly rod! We're going to have to chase this one!' as braid peeled off! Then the heartbreak - PING! AAARRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH The 12lb leader just didn't cut it unfortunately with the brute either chewing through the leader or the leader was frayed by it's gills - the end of the leader suggested either were a strong canditate!

Nonetheless, with hope eminating feverishly, the boys in blue show up. 'G'day fella's! Just checking your gear' one constable yells. No problem before his partner pipes up and says 'Are you T1?' 'Ummm yeah, why?:-/ ' 'You'd recognise that head from anywhere!' he says. 'Are you on Ausfish?' 'No' he says, 'I just read the reports'! Hmmmm interesting! Then he proceeded to tell his mate about the 'dirty big threadie' that i caught in the Brissie (and like that was 14months ago)! Nonetheless, they checked us out and i ended up with an Infringement Warning! Bugger me but the numbers on the side of the boat belonged to an 8m boat that was cancelled in 1998! Never thought to reconcile the Rego sticker with the numbers on the boat... Oh well, at least they were good about it and as i'd been thinking of the giving the old girl a coat of paint, now i'll have to seeing i have to go to the effort of peeling off the numbers, cleaning it, and putting new ones on it! This weekends project ;D and after this weekend, look for my boat but in white!! I did ask them if they could lend me a Sim Card but they didn't have a spare one :P ! At least they had a sense of humour... (I told you guys i wouldn't write anything bad about you...;) )

We continued fishing (after they held us up for nearly half an hour), but not much action about. We went in close to look for some Tailor - nothing! Headed to the western side into deeper water - nothing! Back into the wharves for the final hour before lunch - lots of bait fish but no interest in the SP's or the pillies! So, with a bit more hope at Mud for next time, we called quits at lunchtime and packed it in. Ended up being a nice day on the water and the GPS was tops! Can't believe it's taken me this long to get one...

So, after some hours over the weekend, the total take home catch read 3 Tailor! But another few things learnt and TOP company on both sessions! Had a ball and a good laugh! And that's what it's all about!!! ;)

Take Care T

30-07-2007, 08:10 PM
Another entertaining read from T. Shame about the bust off mate. Mud just has not been too kind to you huh? Just keep persisting and I know the big one will be having its photo taken with you. If not just ask Scalem for a loan of one of his from out of his freezer. :P

30-07-2007, 08:14 PM
Well, at 7ish, BANG ZZZZZZZZZZZZ before swimming towards the boat then turning and taking off at a great rate with extremely solid headshakes ZZZZZZZZZZ woo hoo ZZZZZZZZZZZ as i thought my prayers were being answered! 'Smerdo, pull in the pilly rod! We're going to have to chase this one!' as braid peeled off! Then the heartbreak - PING! AAARRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH The 12lb leader just didn't cut it unfortunately with the brute either chewing through the leader or the leader was frayed by it's gills - the end of the leader suggested either were a strong canditate!

Take Care T

I've been waiting to see how you went T, despite a brief chat between work committments this morning, it's always good to see a post on your trip.;)

I've highlighted where I think you may have picked up one of my bad habits, something to do with using two rods??:P :P ;D ;D But an each way bet??::) ::) LOL

The steam train you hooked was quite the norm at Mud for me for a long time, I think it must have a name like King Neptune or something like that, if you manage to catch him, can you ask for some of my jig heads back?;D ;D

The second thing you can bank on at Mud is a visit from the boys in blue. Always nice for a chat with them, but it's funny how after your 1st visit they know you. I've had about 5 visits over the last 2 years and they still don't know me>:( What gives?;D But I'm not as famous as you LOL

Good report, the hoodoo at Mud will be broken, I am sure of that.

Adamy
30-07-2007, 08:48 PM
Hey T.. thought you'd dropped off the planet mate - was nearly going to call you to see if you were still alive;)

Had a similar thing happen at Mud a year ago with the boys in blue - although the guy didnt recognise me... must not be famous enough - but they chatted about how some of the guys on Ausfish give them a hard time... never really seen that.

Anyway 3 fish in two days... the mojo is gorne mate - better luck next time;D Congrats on the Garmin... considering we fish the same marks you better give me a call and I'll help you fill that thing:P

Adam

Aquarius
30-07-2007, 09:45 PM
Good read there T1.
Pity about the big one that got away but hey there's always a next time.
I'm sure you will get a pb before the end of winter now you can save all those marks in the new GPS.
Cheers Brent

T1
31-07-2007, 07:45 AM
Thanks guys! Not sure about the 'famous' bit! I think it probably had more to do with the 'You'd recognise that head from anywhere!' bit...

SCALEM, yes the 2 rod curse was the reason perhaps, but after seeing yours from the day before, well i just couldn't resist seeing the humble pillie float about the back.

ADAMY, i'm still on the planet - just not sure which one at the moment... We'll hook up soon.

Thanks again POO & Brent.

Take Care T

OB1
31-07-2007, 11:36 AM
Great read T1 and it's comforting for others to read a story of the one that got away - for a change!

Ollie

beefaman
31-07-2007, 12:22 PM
No fish at Mud...stay away 8-)

Tinn
31-07-2007, 01:53 PM
Nice to see someone can get out for a fish but where is the fish ;D

Not to worry you will catch that big one at Mud just give it a bit of time

But from what Beefa is saying I dont know if that will happen for you T1

snasman
31-07-2007, 02:48 PM
Hey T1 ,good read again,I've got the garmin 72 as well and have found this program an invalueable tool http://www.gpstm.com/downloads.php to use with it.You will need to purchase the interface cable if it didnt come with 1 but there only 20 bucks from johnny appelseed, cheers Snas

BAR UP
31-07-2007, 08:20 PM
Hey T1, good read mate. I think i will stay away from Mud, Green, Wello area & leave it to you blokes. I have found some new ground in the northern bay which i'm gunna spend some time to learn how to fish. Was out there last Wednesday & was encouraged with the bottom structure i found. Only caught a couple of 38 to 40 models but i'm sure the biggens will not be far away. Also reckon the Cobia will be around in a few weeks. I will report how i go at my new spot, see ya.

T1
01-08-2007, 08:05 AM
Hey T1 ,good read again,I've got the garmin 72 as well and have found this program an invalueable tool http://www.gpstm.com/downloads.php to use with it.You will need to purchase the interface cable if it didnt come with 1 but there only 20 bucks from johnny appelseed, cheers Snas

Thanks SNAS :thumbsup: ! I'll PM you for more info...

Take Care T

Remo
01-08-2007, 09:47 PM
Funny!! Funny!!

Sorry T , couldn't laughing, I might have a SIM card for you, the Baldy Bro's one.

You don't have time to fish, I thought you would have helping that "ALIEN" friend of yours, set his work shop up!!

Til next time

Ray

T1
02-08-2007, 08:39 AM
Funny!! Funny!!
You don't have time to fish, I thought you would have helping that "ALIEN" friend of yours, set his work shop up!!
Ray

FUNNY REMO! I plead innocent! I simply helped him finance it - if you think i'm getting involved in the set-up, you're dreaming! I can't even get a shelf and 2 doors for my Ent Unit installed - after 2 mths of waiting...

Take Care T