View Full Version : About time i found a "spot X"

Aussie_Angler
29-07-2007, 05:53 PM
Met up with my brother at Wynum ramp after work on Friday arvo and after netting some mullet in the marina we heading out to Mud for a overnighter. Made it to eastern side just on dark, but apart from a visit by the water police the first hour or so was uneventfull. We decided to make a move and attempt some drifts along the western side and after a while without so much as a bite we both began naming the reasons why tonight was not going to be any good, "to fuller moon, to slower current (no run no fun), to clear of water and everybodys 2 favourite excuses for everything "the drought" and "the price of petrol". Suddenly my rod sprung to life and changed shape to a pleasing bend, but due to a dodgy drag the line snapped and i must say so did I (I apoligise 4 my language to any other boats within a 10 mile radius of Mud that night) to frustrate me even more, it was only a matter of minutes b4 my brothers rod doulbled over and that sweet sound of a screamin drag could be heard and after a good fight a beautiful 79cm (6kg) Snapper was laying exhausted beside the boat, with my hand moving towards the gaff i heard the words "dont you even bloody think about it, us the net !!. Some how i dont think he trusts my gaffing ability;D . With fish in boat there was high 5s all round and the spot was quickly entered into our new GPS and a drift was set up over the same spot. not long into the new drift i got a serious case of deja vu with my rod again taking off and the drag again failing causing the hook to pull (don't worry i am now the proud owner of a new reel). while i was re - rigging my line my brothers rod again took off with the drag screaming and the fish not showing any sign of slowing. After another great fight a 81cm Snapper emerged (its a beutiful thing watching a fish of that size emerge from the deep in the moon light). We continued to fish until 6:30 the next morning but didn't get much apart from a few more undersize squire and a couple of grinners. Both fish were caught on the turn of the high tide using unweighted butterflyed mullet in 11m of water.

Aussie_Angler

SNAPPAFLICKA
29-07-2007, 05:57 PM
Great Fish Mate Best Ive Seen From Mud For A While Great Effort

29-07-2007, 06:38 PM
Top fish there. Certainly better than most of us have been doing around Mud.

Dorado
29-07-2007, 06:41 PM
Wow! What a great catch! Some awesome fish there, well done!
Dorado

29-07-2007, 06:47 PM
great fish, well done guys, must of been the parents of the ones we got today,;D

loophole
29-07-2007, 06:51 PM
great fish would love to catch a snapper of that size around mud good onya boys

loophole
29-07-2007, 06:53 PM
great fish there i would love to catch a snapper that big around mud would have fought hard.

29-07-2007, 07:02 PM
A couple of good fish like that sure makes a trip worth while eh? Congratulations fellas. Great looking snapper. I had to be content with squire for dinner. It's a tough life but someone has to do it. Great report. :thumbsup:

juju
29-07-2007, 07:12 PM
Great fish there.....i keep going out looking for spot x....reckon if i drift around that place enough one day ill find it.....we had a vist from the police the same nite down at harrys...

Murph77
29-07-2007, 07:52 PM
Awesome snapper fellas, well done. Probably won't be too long til your out there again to blood the new reel hey?

29-07-2007, 08:09 PM
Now you have to buy a bigger BBQ to cook the buggers on ;D
Nice story and great pictures as well.
Cheers fellas :)

tanglefoot
29-07-2007, 08:24 PM
Top stuff boys.
Fish dreams are made of there

ddobson
29-07-2007, 08:46 PM
Now my question of which side of mud produces more big snapper is confusing again after being told the east is better and now your story of absolute beauties on bait. Being on the west side makes me wonder if they are coming from the brissy river or the north either way very big fish to have to fillit. Cheers boys.

richieboy
29-07-2007, 09:00 PM
Thumpers boys. Nicely done. Certainly some of the biggest from Mud I've heard of lately. The fish even comes complete with knob on head and all! Great pics,

Richie ;)

Adamy
29-07-2007, 10:37 PM
Just add my congrats to all that - you certainly deserve it although if you're like me you're still kicking yourself about the gear failures and the ones that got away. Better blood that new reel quick!

Well done boys those snaps are stonkers alright and dont they go well in the shallow water?!!

Adam

Slime
29-07-2007, 10:53 PM
Coupla great looking fish there guys. Well done!

30-07-2007, 02:43 AM
Great fish! Great Report! Great pictures!

Well done!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

bluefin59
30-07-2007, 04:49 AM
Fantastic fish there mate on the smelly stuff as well congrats mate .....matt

Is Don Is GOOD
30-07-2007, 07:08 AM
Good stuff blokes, HAVE TO NAIL A FEW MORE NEXT WEEKEND!! Got the gear ready!... ;D

Donnan

lumox
30-07-2007, 07:27 AM
well done two great fish and who knows what got away! that will keep u going back for revenge im sure. what rod, reel line were u using? the smallies iv caught have fought hard can only imagine what they fought like. well done again

bayfisher
30-07-2007, 08:03 AM
They're some great fish from around Mud, definitely better then most people including me have been doing from around Mud

Cheers Chris

JOE BLOW
30-07-2007, 09:05 AM
I knew i should of went out with you's that night aussie angler, kicking myself for it now but like IS DON IS GOOD said we will be seeing you out there next weekend if something doesn't come up to put a halt to my fishing for a third week in a row. good on ya m8.

mickstar001
30-07-2007, 10:14 AM
Thats a ripper well done mate. Id be sleeping with that GPS nice and close to your bed thats for sure. Well done!

Mickstar

slyman
30-07-2007, 11:00 AM
Wow what a pair of bruisers!! Great stuff thanks for the report.

Simon

chief
30-07-2007, 03:10 PM
Wow, You won't forget that night for a while,Fantastic