View Full Version : quiet night off gladdy.

warti
29-07-2007, 03:59 PM
Went out for a few hours in the arvo near the shoals, heap of hussar, a few spangleys, 1 red and a big grassy(pic attached), Tide was running like a mongrel dog.

29-07-2007, 05:30 PM
hearing that warti i went yesterday at 10 30 fished secret spot till 9 this morning shit loads hussar got 1 red 60cm 4 grassy's big suckers 7 tuskies 1 good cod 1 frying pan snapper 1 spanish 1metre and one spottie
give me couple hours will post pics

jake_snapper_king
29-07-2007, 07:01 PM
some good fish too bad the weather did perform

warti
29-07-2007, 07:18 PM
Yeh i tried somewhere different as well. Seems to be some good grassys around at the moment. Got one the same size a couple of weeks ago but got a few redthroat and some decent stripeys. Different spot.

mangomick
29-07-2007, 07:58 PM
Tried the shoals myself Friday arvo through to saturday morning.
Had to work hard for a feed. Busted up several times.
I hear one bloke out wider ask his mate how he was going and mate replied "just getting ready for a cook up and were having steak and sausages ;D ;D
Tried Eugenes Pots during the night and nothing biting there and tried two and sixpence saturday morning and just a couple of undersize wire netting cod taking baits.
Big Tiger shark created havoc at one stage during the night. Might have accounted for a period of no fish
Apart from a heap of undersize grassies didnt sight a good one all night and we moved around a bit chasing what we did get

Wazzup01
29-07-2007, 09:55 PM
I headed out last night down bustard head way and came home with 3 snapper to 4.5kg's, 2 stripeys, and one average grassy. Fished hard all night to catch these. Landed everything we hooked. Tried for a Mac around the rocks this morning and didn't even see a scale.
Still good to get out there again though.

Wazza

rat_catcher
29-07-2007, 09:55 PM
Yeah we went out Saturday afternoon and got back around noon today too. Trolled around Barren at sunset Saturday for nothing and then headed out wide to Johnson Patch and Douglas Shoals. Had to work hard at it overnight and only got a few Red Throat, a bunch of Hussars and one Venus Tuskfish. Got an undersize Red Emperor though that went back and was hoping for his bigger mate, but it didn't happen. Headed back to Barren this morning to troll again and once again got nothing!

It was quite sloppy out at Douglas Shoals this morning, but once we got back to Barren and then inside the Keppels it was almost glassed out with day boaties everywhere!

perko
29-07-2007, 10:31 PM
Any news on the boat that went belly up at Douglas Shoals on Saturday?

30-07-2007, 06:03 AM
We were 30 odd k's off barren rat , the conditions were pretty sloppy on sunday morning but they weren't too bad , we did have a pod of dolphins where we were stick around mainly a half finned cow and her calf for a good 8 hours frolicking around the boat , the calf kept circling the boat and then she'd shoot off thousand miles and hour then come back , never seen them do that before, all in all i didn't heat to many good reports as of yet.

mangomick
30-07-2007, 02:24 PM
Nice haul
I think I've seen that red before. Is it made of plaster of paris:P

30-07-2007, 09:06 PM
Hey mick,
I BETTER SEND YOU ANOTHER PHOTO MICK YOU'VE FORGOTTEN WHAT HE LOOKS LIKE MATE
HERE BUDDY

rat_catcher
30-07-2007, 10:04 PM
Any news on the boat that went belly up at Douglas Shoals on Saturday?
There is a post in the 'General Fishing Chat' area that has some information about it.

rat_catcher
30-07-2007, 10:10 PM
We were 30 odd k's off barren rat , the conditions were pretty sloppy on sunday morning but they weren't too bad...........

Apart from three trawlers, there was only one other boat out there anywhere near us. What type of boat do you have? I might see you some time out on the water.

..........all in all i didn't heat to many good reports as of yet.
Agreed. I was in Barra Jacks today and they had only heard bad reports too. Apparently Flat was like a carpark overnight on Saturday there were so many boats anchored up there for the night, but not a good report from any of them!

mangomick
31-07-2007, 05:52 AM
Hey mick,
I BETTER SEND YOU ANOTHER PHOTO MICK YOU'VE FORGOTTEN WHAT HE LOOKS LIKE MATE
HERE BUDDY

Photoshops a good program isnt it;D ;D ;D

31-07-2007, 07:38 PM
Photoshops a good program isnt it;D ;D ;D

I'll have to give the editor at the Observer a ring and put some more pics in mate
And hey you can talk how many cpoies of the QFM mag did you buy last month :P :P :P :P
Cruise craft explorer Rat i'll PM ya next weekend we'll line something up seeing your around the same area's.
I see the navy survoyer boat out and about near barren and towards hummocky sunday morning, i also see the trawlers out and about they must of all being slow netting seemed to be not much miovement during the night where we were.
cheers mate

rat_catcher
31-07-2007, 10:18 PM
Cruise craft explorer Rat i'll PM ya next weekend we'll line something up seeing your around the same area's.
Yeah sounds good. I am hoping to get out Saturday afternoon and stay overnight someplace and be back home by noon on Sunday. All depends on the weather as I am NOT going if there is still any Westerly in the wind!

I will most likely be heading ENE of Barren to a few spots I have out there, but I am also keen to get some serious trolling done for some Spaniards.

01-08-2007, 05:53 AM
we only got a metrey spano on staurday and dropped one same size on sunday, i'm stuffed for this weekend have my kids, weather looks good , with a bit of northerly in it, see how ya go mate

sik008
01-08-2007, 04:24 PM
we were out douglas shoals sat morning when the boat tipped over....
It was bout 2 nm away from us and could just see it....Heard mayday mayday this is ric.....then the batteries went under.....We got there just after another boat had and cause we were bout to leave anyways we sed we will take em back....Took em back to boyne and dropped em offf...

cheers alex

01-08-2007, 06:16 PM
Good on ya Alex
Hope if anything happens when i'm on the water some one is quick to get me too
Sh!t scared of sharks

rat_catcher
01-08-2007, 09:41 PM
.....i'm stuffed for this weekend have my kids, weather looks good , with a bit of northerly in it, see how ya go mate
No worries. I am thinking there might be some Westerly in it this weekend too, so maybe not worth the effort after the lack of fish last weekend. Where did you get the Spaniard?

rat_catcher
01-08-2007, 09:43 PM
we were out douglas shoals sat morning when the boat tipped over....
What type of boat was it and how did it actually happen? I haven't been able to get the true story from anybody yet! You sound like the closest person to the scene that I have found yet.

Good on you for taking the guys back! We have to look after each other as you never know when you might be on the other end and taking a swim yourself.

02-08-2007, 06:21 PM
Yep looks like there will be some westerly's with her mate and that mongrel southerly like last weekend, Am between idea's at moment may take kids chasing squid will know tomorrow night, Got the spano on some ground 30 kms off barren. I hear they are getting some spotties at moment but right on dark, that was iron pot yesterday , last night there were 2 70 cm spotties caught inside the harbour so mate who knows with the macks at moment, My father took his tinnie for a run down this end of the islands wedge and divide but got diddly sqat, tell a lie 1 grinner. Will keep ya posted mate

rat_catcher
02-08-2007, 10:05 PM
Yeah I heard about the Spotties around Iron Pot. A friend of a friend bagged out in 45mins apparently! The problem is they are there one minute and gone the next. We trolled around Barren at dusk on Saturday and then again mid-morning Sunday and got nothing on the troll.

03-08-2007, 08:08 PM
I'll take the kids out in the afternoon see how weather holds in the afternoon, Only to chase some squid thou.

cletus
03-08-2007, 09:51 PM
hey guys went out thursday night just got back pretty slow going thurs night few stripeys. Had to hunt around but got a feed of trout, red jew an parrot once the sun came up friday morning so the reefies are back on the chew and loads of reds to 54cm doh! didn't see any macks at all but plenty of boats at iron pot an finlays. Hey jt you would be suprised at the quality of trout that come from around where you squid.

rat_catcher
03-08-2007, 10:59 PM
I'll take the kids out in the afternoon see how weather holds in the afternoon, Only to chase some squid thou.
Yeah no worries. Will catch up with you next time. At this stage it looks like I will be going with the neighbour in his smaller centre console flicking lures for the mackies around Iron Pot and Ritamada.

04-08-2007, 09:16 PM
How did ya go today?
We got back to harbour at 740 pm left at 340 ended up with some great squid will post pics tomorrow haven't cleaned them yet still in esky

davez104
05-08-2007, 08:35 AM
Hey cletus, sounds like you did alright. Where did you get yours? I was up at pinnacles thursday night, came back in Friday morning, only got a heap of hussar, 1 moses and 1 grunter about 60cm. Only hooked up to one fish that felt pretty good but got sharked on the way up :( Weather was beautiful though, 36kn all the way back to the harbour.

rat_catcher
05-08-2007, 09:04 PM
How did ya go today?
Didn't end up taking the boat out. The neighbour and I took the kids and flicked slugs off the rocks around the harbour wall. Ended up catching nothing but had a good feed of fish and chips before heading home! ;D

Hopefully the weather is good next weekend for a trip out wide.

06-08-2007, 08:15 PM
Hearing that mate will keep ya posted
weather is ok so far for friday saturday but that can change