View Full Version : Fuel Economy: HILUX
fennza
24-07-2007, 02:57 PM
To All,
Just after the fuel economy of any 4x4 Toyota Hiluxs from owners. Wanting to know the difference between the 2.8L non-turbo models, the 3L turbo diesels, and diesel v petrol. Preferably from around 1995-2003.
Don't care about performance: if i wanted performance i'd buy a sports car.
kind_cir
24-07-2007, 03:47 PM
Have a 92 solid axel front dual cab stye side with bull bar, winch, side bars, rear bar & step, canopy, roof racks, long range tank, rear draw system, dual battery system, 50l fridge, 40l water tank and 32in mud tyres. As you can see it has a fair amount of heavy gear on it and big tyres to knock around the the fuel ecom.
On a recent trip to Cape York with 2 adults and 1 child, plus all camping gear and supplies, with full water and fuel tanks, it used 15l per 100km.
On trips up to fraser each year for 4 days towing a unbraked camper trailer under 750 kg in soft sand. Average for such a trip is 15l per 100km
Around town and high way use 12-14l per 100k and sometimes as low as 11l all depends how it's loaded and how hard I drive.
It's a 2.8l diesel with aftermarket safari turbo running 10 psi boost gaining air through a safari snorkel and hi flow K&N filter. Pushing gasses out a 2 1/2 in exhaust with no mufflers.
One thing I have noticed over the years is petrols will tend to burn up to 50% more fuel when pushed through soft sand or up and down hills or when fully loaded. A deisel however will only use up to 20% more fuel.
Diesel prices usually stay put for long periods when petrol prices jump eraticly both sides of diesel prices. Diesels are heaps dear to fix if something goes wrong usually due to lack of servicing, but will do 500000km easy + heaps more when a petrol will give up the goast around 300000km but are cheaper to fix.
Change the oil and filter every 5000km on a deisel and every 10000km on a petrol for trouble free service. And keep clean fuel going into a deisel with fresh filters every 10000km and regualr checks of the water seperator.
Deisels will run under water when a petrol coughs and stalls when it's spark gets wet. But a petrol will win a race against a deisel any day.
Diesels will wallk up and down hills better in low range and with ease copared to a petrol.
Take advantage of the Gov's $2000 LPG rebate for cheaper running of a petrol with more range at the expence of a very slight loss of power. However take the Gov's $2000 and put LPG onto a deisel for the same power gains as a aftermarket turbo 20-30% with longer range and decrese in servicing. Or add it to an already turboed rig and you may just be in with a fighting chance against a race with a petrol.
liltuffy
24-07-2007, 03:51 PM
Hey Fennza, I've got a 2000 model 3 litre straight diesel. It's a twin cab with a big alloy tray and canopy. On average I get about 9.5 km per litre, occasionaly getting 10 km per litre. It doesn't make too much difference between highway and city driving and I'm happy with it.
catfishkid
24-07-2007, 08:50 PM
I have a 2000 dual cab hilux with 3L dieel and aftermarket (DTS) turbo,boost compensator and 2 3/4" exhaust.I run 31 10R 15 BFG all terrain tyres.
I have a 100L fuel tank and get approx 800klms per tank.
It has plenty of torque and is very good to drive on highway as well.
Cheers craig
G'day mate i had a 1995 sr5 twincab and used to get about 600ks to a tank of 65ltrs (i think) and i also had a 2.4 1986 model which got 500ks to 55ltrs this is based on average driving for both vehicle's were good on fuel i thought.Dan........
I have a 2002, 2.7litre 4cylinder petrol hilux 4X4 trayback, and with the gear i carry for work all up weighs in at around 2 ton. Last time I checked I got around 400 km from a tank. Plenty of grunt on the road and in the deep sand.
woo I just turned silver lol
Brett1907
03-08-2007, 08:52 AM
In our 1993 Single cab tray back with 2.8Ltr diesel we get around 10L per 100km. This is with between 500 - 1000kg load and working on earthworks sites, so 4WD is used. The clock say 335 000km, but the clock wasn't working for around a year so it is more likely closer to 400 000km.
2003 Dual cab tray back 3.4Ltr V6 petrol 14L per 100km. Not as loaded and not as much offroad.
2006 Dual Cab with all the gear on it gets around 15 - 16L/100km. It weighs over 2 tonne and I'm not light on the go fast pedal.
Checked with my mechanic ( who also owns 2 fuel stations) and he reckons a petrol is cheaper in the long run. You have to take into account the extra purchase price of a diesel, more expensive servicing and repairs and the fact that diesel now costs more than petrol.
Herby13
03-08-2007, 10:16 AM
I own a 1999 space cab hilux 2.7 petrol and i can get only bout 500kms out of normal unleaded but when i put preimium in it i get 600kms easy. My mate has a 2003 3.0TD hilux and he can't even get 600 out of a tank in his.