View Full Version : Rodeo v Hilux v Navara

aw65
21-07-2007, 08:32 PM
Hi,

I am looking at a 4x4 and like the look of the Rodeo, Hilux and Navara in the diesels. What are the pros and ons of them. Is it better to stick with a manual or go the lazy way with an auto. I will be towing a boat and also a camper at different times. (starting to build a trailer thanks to Shano)
aw65

gawby
21-07-2007, 09:11 PM
Mate, i am a rodeo man and carn't speak enough about them,

If you are looking new take all of them for a drive and if they have a towbar pull your boat with them and see what you think yourself. If the caryard is worth its weight they wont have a problem with it.

We all have different opinions on the brands you mentioned and are all quality vehicles. Personal choice comes down to the end of it all.

My choice of order is Rodeo, Navara then Hilux.

Let me tell you they are all selling well, i move new cars for a living around Qld and we have been that busy it's not funny. Makes you wonder where they are all going.

Graeme

mr_stinker
21-07-2007, 10:24 PM
as a young bloke had hi luxes now have landcruisers they might cost a bit more but through all the years have never and i say NEVER let me down and my cars get flogged i tow a 3.5 ton plate to fraser all year and beach launch and this ute loves it i:m not saying other brands can:t im just saying what this brand does either way hope it all goes well

21-07-2007, 11:24 PM

Whatever you do get a turbocharged model.

I love my rodeo, only thing I believe has let it down is clearance/height... would love some room to put a set of 31's or 32's under it.

BenDover
22-07-2007, 07:41 AM
Basically, the rears all the same (leaf springs) and so are the fronts (almost). My honest opinion is hilux is a base model 4x4 and navara's and rodeo's are cars that have been converted to 4x4's. :). I know that will rattle some cages here but thats what i think when i look at them. Ive never seen any rodeo or navara do any good 4x4ing (apart from beach work) but yeah they are basically all the same and just pick the 1 you like most (the newer models im talking about). If your going older models then difinately go the lux.
BD

Go a patrol or cruiser if ya want a real 4x4. ;D

BGG
22-07-2007, 08:34 AM
And for beach work, go the auto. Makes life soooooooooooooo easy!!

Meherio
22-07-2007, 04:59 PM
Love my New Auto TD Lux, Towes my 2.2T boat sensationaly. I traded down from a 2004 V8 Landcruiser Sahara. I was worried how the old girl would go, but it pulls harder then the Sahara. The only thing wrong with the Lux are the seats took me a little while to get used to them and a few visits to the back cracker, but I'm used to them now. Cut my fuel bill in half, towing the boat in the sahara I used 35L/100km, in the Lux it's 14L/100km and with out the boat 8L/100km.

Brumby
22-07-2007, 05:17 PM
You don't say what size boat you're planning on towing, but unless something changed recently, the Navara has the legs on the other 2 for towing capacity. If that isn't an issue, I'd have a hard time going past the Hilux.

aw65
22-07-2007, 07:18 PM
Thanks for the replies. Just down to money by the looks of it. http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/icons/icon6.gif
aw65

Wahoo
22-07-2007, 07:24 PM
if i was buying it would be
Navara
Rodeo
Lux

hilux are haveing a few probs with alloy head in the turbo diesel and main bearings after 100,000k

bastard
22-07-2007, 07:49 PM
Id go the hilux.

22-07-2007, 09:15 PM
Basically, the rears all the same (leaf springs) and so are the fronts (almost). My honest opinion is hilux is a base model 4x4 and navara's and rodeo's are cars that have been converted to 4x4's. :). I know that will rattle some cages here but thats what i think when i look at them. Ive never seen any rodeo or navara do any good 4x4ing (apart from beach work) but yeah they are basically all the same and just pick the 1 you like most (the newer models im talking about). If your going older models then difinately go the lux.
BD

Go a patrol or cruiser if ya want a real 4x4. ;D

yep, you'll rattle a cage or two all right.

Don't know how you figure a Lux will be better than Nissan on " other " than beach work, when the LUX, does NOT have LSD's. ( as do the standard Navaras ) Please explain ???

23-07-2007, 09:49 AM
check out the ford ranger. they are different car compared to the old couriers. and well priced. i was sceptical at first, but drivin plenty of them now and im super impressed with them. im a toyota man, but buy a ranger before a hilux!

bastard
23-07-2007, 07:21 PM

Don't know how you figure a Lux will be better than Nissan on " other " than beach work, when the LUX, does NOT have LSD's. ( as do the standard Navaras ) Please explain ???

Dear lucky phill maybe you should read it again,he said hes only seen navaras and rodeos performing on the beach and never of road,he thinks all the new independent cars are the same and that only the solid axle front end hilux is any good.Didnt the pig pen teach you anything?;D .

23-07-2007, 10:00 PM
Ive never seen any rodeo or navara do any good 4x4ing (apart from beach work

This is the part of the quote that had me interested !!!!! ::)

Yes, the Pig Pen did teach me one thing......

It taught me the never to trust a person who's inteligence matches the alcohol content of the can in his hand !!:-X

Refering back to the above comment, maybe Brett could enlighten young Ben as to the capability of said Rodeos and Navaras in 2wd... hill climbs !!!

gawby
24-07-2007, 07:47 AM
This is similar to a post i commented on the other day about using a bit of common sense and now we have Quote,"Dear Lucky Phill maybe you should read it again."
I ask you, should the reader make sure he has read it properly as well.
Ive never seen any Rodea or Navara do any good 4x4ing. (apart from beach work). I think that means that the Rodeo and Navara has failed in other aspects of 4x4ing other than beach work as his comment.
All new indipendant cars are the same, wrong, what was said was Navaras and Rodeos are cars that were converted to 4x4s. Maybe i have read it wrong but i think i have read it right.
Graeme

24-07-2007, 04:41 PM
Yes Graeme, you read it right as did I.

In your avatar I saw your location. Wonglepong, sounded dodgey, but looked it up. You would have some good 4 x 4 tracks out that way ???

And in the end, I suppose the 4WD is only as good as the driver contained therein !

bastard
24-07-2007, 05:17 PM
This is similar to a post i commented on the other day about using a bit of common sense and now we have Quote,"Dear Lucky Phill maybe you should read it again."
I ask you, should the reader make sure he has read it properly as well.
Ive never seen any Rodea or Navara do any good 4x4ing. (apart from beach work). I think that means that the Rodeo and Navara has failed in other aspects of 4x4ing other than beach work as his comment.
All new indipendant cars are the same, wrong, what was said was Navaras and Rodeos are cars that were converted to 4x4s. Maybe i have read it wrong but i think i have read it right.
Graeme
I read it like this as well and think everything he said is true,you could debate all day over this topic and go no were, so as long as your happy with your 4wd that is all that matters.:)

gawby
24-07-2007, 05:37 PM
Bastard, you are right, as long as you are happy with your 4x4 that's all that matters at the end of the day and i can tell you that i am very happy with my Rodeo.
Over the years i have driver a lot of different 4x4s and put some of them in places you wouldn't even dream of, not saying that i am the best driver but a 4x4 like Phill said is only as good as the driver.
Some time back i commented about looking for a lost horse tailer in the outback and we were dropping out police landcruiser over creek banks, 3mt drops and burring the bullbar into the creek bed and then coming up the other bank and out on two wheels to save hours of bypass when time was againts us. I learnt a lot about 4x4ing out there in some of the most unforgiving country. I still learn every time i go off road. Wow, what a beat up for me...........................
We found the horse tailer nearly dead but he was alright.
Phill there probably would be some good 4x4 country around here so i should make some enquiries and have a 4x4 day out here sometime.

Graeme

24-07-2007, 06:55 PM
Sounds good Graeme, keep us informed on your " enquiries "..

24-07-2007, 07:12 PM
It's about time we had a meet and greet at a serious 4x4 location phill!! Maybe Buggy could come with that landy of his? Fancy insulting Gq's

bastard
24-07-2007, 08:15 PM
It's about time we had a meet and greet at a serious 4x4 location phill!! Maybe Buggy could come with that landy of his? Fancy insulting Gq's

IanOrganise it and set a date i think its a grate idea,can you try and pick a windy weekend though.:D

bastard
25-07-2007, 05:11 PM
Hey Finding time, have you put any more thought into a serious 4wd meet and greet?.

BGH05
26-07-2007, 02:23 PM
Go The Bravo....:)

wamjam
27-07-2007, 09:17 PM
Gday aw65
Mate Iv'e got a 99 rodeo duelcab and I like it a lot but it does sh#t me how low it is and you cant do much with the front end to lift them up.If clearance is not a problem the rodeo might be OK.
wamjam

27-07-2007, 09:58 PM
Serious 4Wd' ing.

The Nissan is still recovering from cruiser park. :'(

Although, It's been to Fraser and back, to bundy and back, ( since the drowning ) no issues.touch wood.

WE need a place that has a water crossing or two, some steep stuff, forest and camp sites, maybe even a rocky creek crossing !!!!!!!

And it'll have to be within an hours drive of Brisvegas GPO, can this be done ?

27-07-2007, 10:08 PM
Levuka!!! not forest but Rain forest!! Seriously once you go there you'll be back!;) It not the dust bowl that lcmp is

Bastard it's the windy weekend that i'm worried about:P It has to be before early Oct as the billy season starts then;)

Hornet Trophy
27-07-2007, 10:16 PM
As an ex mechanic in a Toyota/Nissan dealership, I got to work on both the current models.

They both have their Pros and cons however I always said I would get a Hilux over Nissan then when the new job allowed for any car i want I got a turbo Diesel Hilux.Great fuel economy,power and O.K off road The only thing I can fault on the hilux is the brakes when towing they are useless.

From experience the Navara is a great car up untill about 70000 Km's after that they tend to get problems. Been off the tools for 12 months now maybe they have improoved but i spent alot of time fixing things on the 3.0 litre turbo diesel Nissan.

Cant comment on the Rodeo a relative of mine has got one and loves it.

catfishkid
27-07-2007, 11:24 PM
Go the hilux,they hold their resale value better.

28-07-2007, 12:34 AM
As an ex mechanic in a Toyota/Nissan dealership, I got to work on both the current models.

They both have their Pros and cons however I always said I would get a Hilux over Nissan then when the new job allowed for any car i want I got a turbo Diesel Hilux.Great fuel economy,power and O.K off road The only thing I can fault on the hilux is the brakes when towing they are useless.

From experience the Navara is a great car up untill about 70000 Km's after that they tend to get problems. Been off the tools for 12 months now maybe they have improoved but i spent alot of time fixing things on the 3.0 litre turbo diesel Nissan.

Cant comment on the Rodeo a relative of mine has got one and loves it.

Bugger I've just racked up 79K on the Navara :( time to buy a Toyota ::) LMFAO ! :zzz: :zzz: :zzz:

I appreciate your comments but my D22 has never missed a beat yet ;)

murf
28-07-2007, 09:36 AM
Gday aw65

if towing heavy loads check the gear ratios in 1st and reverse as mine are way too long legged after putting on larger dia tyres to get ground clearance. to do a steep hill start with a big load it puts a hell of strain on the clutch

I would buy the auto for towing if I buy another one as I do a lot of beach work towing the boat/van.

also check that you can put it in low range 2WD for reversing and driving in tight spaces on the tar/concrete, mine dont do this and it is a pain sometimes.

when the going gets tough in the soft sand the new generation turbo diesels have all the power you could want, but to start off you have to slip the clutch (not real good) or drop the clutch and spin the wheels (not so good on soft sand) turbo lag is a bitch as well down low in the revs but I recon the auto would be a dream as it beats the turbo lag and gradually puts power to the wheels.

it all comes down to what you want to use it for, what $ you want to pay etc, just make sure you get an informed decision before you fork out big money.

hey Phill are you saying my Lux doesn't have a LSD?

cheers Murf

28-07-2007, 09:59 AM
Yes, Paul.

Unless something has changed recently !!

Anyway, all good info coming in.

I too, have heard about 3.0ltr turbo diesel's having issues ( nissan ) but only in the patrols and they have the intercooler on. 'spose it depends on who you talk to.

For instance, a mechanic at a city dealership would more likely see and deal with completely different issues than mechanic at a country dealership. 2 differents driving and ' work ' conditions.

Then again the Nissan has a timing chain that doesn't really need replacing as opposed to the Lux's ( belt ) every 70K. ????

It's all a personal thing. :o ;) :P :P

My decision was made on:-

Price,
Towing capacity,
KW,
servicability,

in that order.

Yes, Paul, I have manual hubs and would never entertain the thought of self locking/ auto hubs. Love the idea of low range 2WD for pulling boats up ramps etc etc.

Levuka hey Ian................. well, I'll have a squizz online and see what;'s doin !!

28-07-2007, 10:16 AM
Serious 4Wd' ing.

WE need a place that has a water crossing or two, some steep stuff, forest and camp sites, maybe even a rocky creek crossing !!!!!!!

I know just the place. It has some magnificent river crossings with crystal clear streams that hold good fish. There's the odd mountain to climb if you and probably the most prisitine forest in the world.

It's called South West National Park and I'll start organising the M&G now if you want Phil.

murf
28-07-2007, 10:19 AM
this is a nissan trying to keep up with reel 4wds :P

I must admit it was amazing how far he got with it before it broke. (he has broken it a couple of times now) the LSD works realy well in the Nissan

28-07-2007, 10:42 AM
Murf you must be familiar with this view when the going gets rough owning a Hi-Lux :P ;D ;D ;D

murf
28-07-2007, 10:52 AM
Murf you must be familiar with this view when the going gets rough owning a Hi-Lux :P ;D ;D ;D

what is the photo of? I have never seen anything like it before;D

Cheers murf

murf
28-07-2007, 10:56 AM
a mate just traded in his 3yo Navarra for a Ford because he did a windscreen and when he went to get it replaced for rego it was rusted out in the pillars:o

and yes I am shocked, he does do a fair bit of beach fishing but doesn't do the salt water creek crossing that I do all the time.

Murf

murf
28-07-2007, 11:53 AM

the LUX, does NOT have LSD's. ( as do the standard Navaras ) Please explain ???

I still can't find where you got that info from Phill, My Lux has a LSD standard, the 2WD version maybe?

I will give you from what I have read that the Nissan LSD are better than the Hilux especially when they are screwed up a bit;)

Cheers Murf

28-07-2007, 01:02 PM
I still can't find where you got that info from Phill, My Lux has a LSD standard, the 2WD version maybe?

ICheers Murf

I believe the new hi luxs have what toyota decribe as a lsd, but it's the biggest piece of junk out there, you really would be better with nothing;) Now the nissan has an lsd but compared to a locker it'd nuthing!;D I put front andrear lockers in the patrol at 18 000 km's and have never never looked back. i would have broken the vehicle to many times with out them , that all lockers really do , just save your vehicle from tree's gullies and rocks

28-07-2007, 08:50 PM
I haven't seen anywhere that it mentions a LSD on Lux.

This is from Toyota themselves.

http://www.toyota.com.au/TWR/content/static/13289.pdf

It appears that from March 2005 onwards, Toyos have decided to have LSD's as standard in their Lux's.

About time they caught up. ;D

phill

murf
28-07-2007, 09:23 PM
I haven't seen anywhere that it mentions a LSD on Lux.

This is from Toyota themselves.

http://www.toyota.com.au/TWR/content/static/13289.pdf

It appears that from March 2005 onwards, Toyos have decided to have LSD's as standard in their Lux's.

About time they caught up. ;D

phill

my 97 2.8d DC had a LSD standard too but the 1980 models I had to upgrade:)

try this one

http://www.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehicle/Specification/0,4668,1598_544_329,00.html

there is a DVD that 4WD Monthly have just put out with a test on all the D/C utes, it will be interesting to watch

cheers Murf

catfishkid
28-07-2007, 09:32 PM
My 2000 lux has factory lsd,however i have front and rear air lockers now and you cant beat real traction.:)

29-07-2007, 09:31 AM
Looks as if Toyota have LSD come and go as they seem fit.

back to the question..........what was the question ?

Why doesn't anyone want a Lada ????

29-07-2007, 10:03 AM
I washed the Nissan yesterday and must have put too much water on it. This morning I went to the driveway and the Nissan had grown.. :o :o

Phill 8-)

29-07-2007, 10:18 AM

I am very used to that view Damo..cos those things in the pic are always stopped ...must all break down..oh well I just drive around them...hehe

bassgirl
29-07-2007, 01:17 PM
[quote=Meherio;656205] The only thing wrong with the Lux are the seats took me a little while to get used to them and a few visits to the back cracker, but I'm used to them now.

I could never get used to the seat in the Hilux Ute..... by the time you get to your fishing spot.... your back is killing you even before you throw a line in!

We have recently bought a Navara ST-X auto (turbo diesel) & it tows the boat no worries up the hills, way better than the Hilux. And the seats are more comfortable, too. Mainly bought it towing the boat, especially with the dams being so low, your really need a 4x4 to get your boat & trailer out of the water. And for carrying the camping gear. (We don't take it 4 wheel driving). So, if you want comfort & staying on the speed limit towing up the hills, go the Navara!

big moose
30-07-2007, 06:20 PM
having just invested much time on the same question the choice for me came to the rodeo, navara was winning till i discovered that 2007 navaras have dropped the 3litre for a 2.5 and wrung an extra 10kw out of it can't be good for reliability luxs dont even come into the equation with their 2.2t tow limit
regds moose

31-07-2007, 09:06 AM
G'day moose,

recent tests (4wd monthly etc) have shown the same misgivings as you about the new navaras - they also have cooling fins on the rear diff??????
Dunno what I'd buy new - looked recently and didn't like anything - might have to backtrade next or buy a 130 rover.

Phil, lsd in hilux have been around for ages - std on the sr5's and an option on the standards up until the latest model run. I reckon I got at least 20k out of my last one:-[ . But it is there.

The t.d. rodeos (last model) boost very early, and lag at takeoff is not there. They run out of puff at about 3500 rpm though.

Brett1907
03-08-2007, 07:13 AM
OK, a few facts.

Phil, new Hiluxs' DO have an LSD in the rear, not sure about the front though.

Ben, it is surprising where Phil can take that ute of his. 2WD up a couple of hills that I wouldn't have though possible without 4WD. I was very impressed, we were really moving and it was FUN.

4WD Monthly just finished their 4WD Ute of The YEAR!! Here are the resuts, all utes were diesel.

The only obvious downfall of the Mazda/Ford is the intercooler tank sits BELOW the radiator support, so is just asking to be ripped apart. All you need though is a good Bull Bar which protects it.

1 Mazda BT50
2 Ford Ranger
3 Toyota Hilux
4 Mitsubishi Triton (4&5 may be wrong way around, can't quiye remember)
5 Holden Rodeo
6 Nissan Navara

Now if anyone knows what these guys do to test these utes they won't argue with the results.

The NAVARA was the ONLY ute to suffer MAJOR damage. A rock ficked up and COMPLETELY BROKE OFF the drain plug of the transfer case. This is a MAJOR weakness in NEW Navaras if you are interested in even moderate 4WDing.

Check out their website for more info.

I would still go the 'lux though, It looks better and the Mazda/Ford doesn't come in a V6 petrol.

grizz80
04-08-2007, 02:27 PM
hilux wins hands down unbrakable

04-08-2007, 03:28 PM
I wish they had of put the 130 Land Rover defender up against them. I think it may have whooped them off road. While they are very basic and undoubtably the ugliest 4wd on the market they sure do well off road and tough as nails. They are pretty good on fuel at about 12L/100km, 1.4t payload and around 4t tow capacity not sure what the new ones are though. I was always a Hilux man but as the next 4wd I buy will be for offroad use I will be buying the 130 Defender.

Outdoor Guy
05-08-2007, 08:25 AM
Dont know why these three brands are always in the limelite
I personally drive a triton had one since 98 and it's still goin
got an 05 model now and its great wouldnt bother with the others to over priced for me
just my 2cents worth, like has been said take em all for a drive

bastard
05-08-2007, 06:46 PM
I thought hiluxes were unstoppable until today,i was going to my local shops to by some metho to smoke my tailor when my daughter and i decided to drive over some dirt mounds without stopping to look on the other side ,so we ended up resting on the gearbox cross member with no wheels on the ground,just goes to show even with the best of everything you can still get stuck,lockers dont help when your wheels are off the ground,had to walk home and get the wife to pull me out in her jeep with pink number plates,was the most embarrasing day of my life,not to mention the people watching.:-[

06-08-2007, 02:20 PM
You make me laugh Bastard.

Years ago as an apprentice I had a daihatsu f50 with welded diffs etc.

Thought I'd show everyone how good it was by driving over a newly dumped truck load of dirt.

Hit it too slow, ended up looking like a cherry on a cake sitting on top with no wheels touching.

Took ages to get it down again - shovel job.

Still, if you don't try you'll never know.

C.J.