View Full Version : First aid kits on boats
Fish Guts
09-07-2007, 07:58 PM
Hi Ausfishers !
With fishing often taking place in some fairly remote and sometimes often the not rough conditions offshore. And with medical assistance in some locations, even offshore from moreton, may take a minimum of 45 minutes to arrive, it has got me thinking about how many ausfishers equip there boats with a well stocked general first aid kit.
I myself have been very slack and have not got a decent first aid kit, and will be getting one this weekend.
After all i think the most frustrating thing that could happen whilst at sea is having an emergency take place on your boat, or someone elses for that fact, without the neccessary equipment to render urgent assitance.
I pose the question, that if the poll shows that not many of us do not carry a general first aid kit (not just a box of bandaids and a panadol in the console), should MSQ add a first aid kit to current safety requirements for offshore going vessels ?
thanks in advance
Fish Guts
09-07-2007, 08:05 PM
good suggestion FG...but how many know how to render the requried first aid?
09-07-2007, 08:16 PM
I think the most inportant thing to have in your first aid kit is bandages, bandages and lots of bandages, they can be used for alsort of things, stem the flow of blood, imobilise a limb, imobalise an inbedded object etc. I have all the normal things, panadol, bandaids, bandages, saline soultion, thermal blanket, Those stickon stitches, trianglular bandages, Couple of ladies pads (these were sugusted on a first aid coarse for large open wounds to stem the flow of blood and used as packers before bandages were applied), sissors, tweezers. Lots more too. It was put toghether for me by an ambulance paramedic years ago and I have just replaced what has been used over time. It all fits in a small container about 250mm x 200mm x 100mm
09-07-2007, 08:18 PM
good idea to do regular 1st aid course and update every few years, must update mine. You never know it maybe a member of your family you save.
Yes definatly St john's make a fishing first aid kit with the fisho in mind with some basic instruction's on hook removal etc.Having being a guide for a few year's the Senior first aid course is cumpulsary and re-freshed every 2 year's it's also a good idea for most of you guy's to do if your not within 1/2 hour or so of medical help.As it maybe your son/daughter or best mate that benifet's from it.Dan....
Fish Guts
09-07-2007, 08:55 PM
very good point you make. however i think the addition of a first aid kit, regardless of prior training, could make the difference when it all turns pear shaped.
Dan - good to see the st johns one on the market aimed at fishos.
fish guts
Steve B
09-07-2007, 10:14 PM
Very good thread.
I am a paramedic and until recently have been a bit slack in carrying a first aid kit in the boat!!. I now I have set one up. I also carry a major setup in the car.
Blaze has listed everything you will probably need. Only thing I can also reccommend is a QUALITY set of side cutters for trebbles. I've plucked a few trebbles out of peoples limbs up at Monduran!!! Eye pads. If you get a hook or anything penetrating one eye, cover BOTH eyes. when one eyeball moves so does the other. Heaps of pads and bandages, saline, good bandaids, space blankets (look like a big sheet of alfoil) great for keeping wet people warm. Some kind of burn GEL(silverzine or aloevera GEL.) make sure you use heaps of cold water on burns FIRST to take the heat out of it. A bottle of Stingoes or the like for midgies and sunburn. If I travel north I usually take a bottle of vinegar incase someone gets hit by a stinger! Also good for hot chips.:D I also carry asprin and panadol. Asprin is the FIRST thing we give people with chest pain, chest tightness or anything resembling a heart attack. EARLY asprin AND URGENT medical treatment of chest pain decreases severity or even stops a heart attack. The pain you feel is your heart dying!!! it doesn't grow back either. Anyone out there who has had one knows what i am talking about....just thought I would throw that in there as a lot of fishermen (myself included;) ) have the risk factors ie: blokes, smoke, drink and could be a bit overweight!!!:D
Not trying to upset the St john guys, they do a great job, but you can set yourself up much cheaper if you buy a cheap tackle box or tupperware container to suit your needs, then go to a medical supply store and stock it yourself. You can get exactly what you need alot cheaper. Sometimes the pre packed first aid kits have heaps of extra stuff you dont need. Most medical supply stores will help you set it up too.
DEFINATELY do a first aid course QLd Ambulance service runs a good course, so does the St Johns service. Good first aid DOES save lives
Just on another note, The media has been bantering around that the average non medically trained person can be sued if they do something wrong helping a sick/injured person with basic first aid. That is a load of CRAP. EVERYONE is covered by a 'good samaritan act' which basically says if you 'try your best' to help someone with BASIC first aid who is needs medical assistance (ie CPR, haemorrhage control etc) you can not be sued for trying to assist even if the person dies or deteriorates whilst you are with them. Unless you attempt some major medical proceedure which you know nothing about and are not qualified to perform.!!
Dont be affraid to call the ambulance (000) if you get hurt or ill whilst out fishing. If you have no signal on your phone, 000 uses any companies repeater (testa, optus etc) so you should get thru, or radio VMR ahead and they can contact QAS. generally we can meet you at any boat ramp. The time saved could matter. Now days we have all sorts of live saving and pain relief drugs and equipment.
If you want any more info, feel free to PM me.
shano
09-07-2007, 10:47 PM
good idea!
09-07-2007, 11:05 PM
Great thread, Ive just started compiling mine from my work first aid kit. Another very good thing to have is a CPR mask. If you have to give it to someone you don't know then it's in YOUR best interest to have one. You dont want someone elses vomit or blood in your mouth. Blaze the pads are a great idea, a couple of tampons are a good idea too for large puncture wounds as when they swell they provide their own form of pressure. I'm trying to work out a way to keep my kit floatable. I've been toying with the idea of a sealed unit that I can attach to an inflatable life jacket.
These kits should be for all boats IMHO. I'm planning on making a trip to the Gulf next year and will have a basic one for the boat and a very extensive one for the camp that include everything up to IV bags.
Cheers Chris
10-07-2007, 06:43 AM
I have one in each boat, the kitchen and each of the cars...they're part of the safety gear for us just like a life jacket and spare wheel and brace.
I'm fairy lucky. To keep my sparky's ticket I have to have a first aid refresher every-now-again with the Ambo's.
You've all forgot to mention the roll of insulation tape...amasing what you can bandage up and how you can stop bleeding with the bottom of your shirt and a roll of insulation tape.
Saved me walking back to the truck more then a few times when I was working to stop the claret coming out:)
seatime
10-07-2007, 06:58 AM
There are some very good suggestions above. I've done a few first-aid courses as part of work, advanced first-aid for shipmasters, defibrillation, CPR, etc.
Senior first-aid cert now lasts for 3 years, CPR 1 year. There are new CPR proceedures that make it simpler and easier for first-aiders. I'm currently going thru their processes to be a St John instructor.
A couple of points;
carrying first-aid kits is a 'duty of care' responsibility, and therefore would never be included in safety gear requirements.
with 'duty of care' first-aiders should never administer medicines like panadol, the patient needs to consent and choose to take a medicine.
SteveB makes a good point, there has never been a successful prosecution against a first-aider anywhere in the world, ever. First-aid can save lives.
side cutters & neddle nose pliers are invaluable, a waterproof container is a must, sharp scissors, tweezers, dressings, heaps of triangle and bandages, tape, saline, freshwater. gloves and CPR face mask are a good idea too. soap to wash your hands too.
ointments, creams, antiseptic aren't needed.
Chris Ryan
10-07-2007, 08:48 AM
Can I just add to SteveB's comment about 000 on your mobile. It is actually better to use 112 as this is the designated emergency number for mobile use.
My father is a first aid instructor with Royal Life (as well as he used to do St John, but also still does Red Cross) and I agree with the comment of doing the course and staying updated. Not just for boating but for your family and friends as well. If at least you get a CPR update - things have changed there and you always do compressions now, even if there is a pulse on a collapsed patient.
Anyway, that's my 2bobs worth. Tight lines.
Puff
seatime
10-07-2007, 09:24 AM
spot on Puff,
calling 000 on a mobile will only work if you have reception from your service provider. 000 is a Telstra service. try it first, if no reception, use 112.
112 is the emergency number to use with a mobile phone, this is the number that will access the closest transmitter (not 000), whichever service provider that may be. 112 is an international emergency number.
http://emergencycalls.acma.gov.au/calling_emergency_services_from_mobiles.htm
Steve B
10-07-2007, 10:58 AM
Puff, Steve,
Yeah thats right about 112 on mobiles. i forgot to add that!! The new CPR changes make life alot easier for first aiders. The QAS has implemented extensive changes regarding Resus, with the emphasis on comressions, compressions and more compressions!! + a whole stack of other stuff. Steve (gelsec) has a point about the administration of medictions. And the CPR mask are a good idea too. If your ever in the unfortunate position with an unconsious, non breathing person, and you are not willing to do mouth to mouth (to be honest I wouldn't unless I had a mask) just do chest compressions compressions and more compressions and dont stop until ambulance arrives. Its the effective compressions which save more lives than the breaths. resus studies have proven this, to the point where they almost were going to take out the breaths altogether.
Scott , love the insulation tape idea;D I've seen some funny patch up jobs over the years most very effective.
I can just see it now. All the wives and girlfriends out there saying 'where are all my tampons and pads gone??" "Sorry love, just stocking the first aid kit for the boat";D OR blokes telling the checkout chick "seriously....they are for my boat!"
Heres another one, HOT HOT water for catfish spikes (as hot as you can stand it). Had a lady couple of months ago with a 10lb catty spike that went thru her hand. I cant recall seeing someone in so much pain for a long time!!
Cheers steve
Should start a new thread - whats your best fishing injury, pics inclincluded!:D
seatime
10-07-2007, 12:12 PM
IMO the big plus of this thread is it has highlighted the value of having an up-to- date first aid course under your belt.
All CPR courses should now include the new proceedures. The standards have been set down by the Australian Resuscitation Council.
No more checking for a pulse, hard for even highly trained medicos to do, now you're "looking for signs of life", no signs, start with 2 breaths then 30 compressions, and keep going till the ambo's arrive. compressions won't hurt if their heart is already beating. it's a single person operation now, if there's 2 people, take turns.
try and get breaths in if at all possible, compressions pump blood, and blood needs oxygen, but a poisoning could be dangerous for mouth to mouth and nobody wants vomit in their mouth. a mask could be made with a thickish plastic bag. other option would be to only go fishing with your wife or girlfriend, or someone elses wife/girlfriend, then m2m shouldn't be an issue.;)
wessel
10-07-2007, 01:54 PM
Started out my" first aid career" many moons back thanks to the governments consription millitary service back in South Africa. They trained me to shoot them first and then how to put a bandage on them. There wa snot much to treat if you blew them up:-X
After my millitary service, I ended up in civilian life as a paramedic and eventually ended up in the back of a helicopter. I have had some great times, but also I witnessed the worst of times of others that they themselves would rather not want to remember.
To this day, whenever I am faced with an emergency, there is three things that still sticks in my mind.
Is my skin going to get any holes in it?
Air goes in and out
Blood goes around
Any variation on that is bad - help the body to do what it is supposed to be doing.
The idea of all this training creates confidence in your abillities. It teaches you how to think and what you should be thinking of to help the situation get better.
With that knowledge and confidence you can help make a positive outcome in the life of some-one else.
All that knowledge is not of much use when you do not have the tools to sort out the basics. And that is where the rails sometimes come off. You want to sort out the basics. Like Blaze, Dan Gelsec etc have stated in one form or another - keep the kit simple and keep it at hand.
One last thing, green stuff coming out of a person is always a good sign that there is a bad smell on its way;D
Wessel
sunny
10-07-2007, 01:54 PM
Absolutely agree with what everyone says above. Have a first aid kit AND know how to use it. I have a standard pack that always goes with, although I think I might include one or two ideas from what I've read above.
I've been on boats were there's been a scuba diving accident and if it wasn't for the trained first aiders, at least one of my friends would have been dead now. Scuba accidents tend to be a bit more serious than the average fisho's accident, but nasty things do sometimes happen, and its a good idea to be prepared.
Aside from the serious stuff, nothing saves a fishing trip like being able to patch up smaller cuts and hook ups.
10-07-2007, 02:04 PM
I realise that the CPR proceedures have changed but I was unaware of the "compressions even if there is a pulse thing" There's no chance you'll see me compresing on a chest of someone that has a pulse!!!!!! Of course you check for a pulse!!!! So during the DRABC proceedure what happens after you find there is no breathing and the breaths have been given???? There are other area's to find a pulse but if you cant find one (and there is one there but it is so weak you can't find it) then yes for sure the compressions are not going to hurt. But if there is a pulse the compressions are the last thing you want to be doing!!!!
Cheers Chris
Fish Guts
10-07-2007, 02:30 PM
Very good thread.
I am a paramedic and until recently have been a bit slack in carrying a first aid kit in the boat!!. I now I have set one up. I also carry a major setup in the car.
Blaze has listed everything you will probably need. Only thing I can also reccommend is a QUALITY set of side cutters for trebbles. I've plucked a few trebbles out of peoples limbs up at Monduran!!! Eye pads. If you get a hook or anything penetrating one eye, cover BOTH eyes. when one eyeball moves so does the other. Heaps of pads and bandages, saline, good bandaids, space blankets (look like a big sheet of alfoil) great for keeping wet people warm. Some kind of burn GEL(silverzine or aloevera GEL.) make sure you use heaps of cold water on burns FIRST to take the heat out of it. A bottle of Stingoes or the like for midgies and sunburn. If I travel north I usually take a bottle of vinegar incase someone gets hit by a stinger! Also good for hot chips.:D I also carry asprin and panadol. Asprin is the FIRST thing we give people with chest pain, chest tightness or anything resembling a heart attack. EARLY asprin AND URGENT medical treatment of chest pain decreases severity or even stops a heart attack. The pain you feel is your heart dying!!! it doesn't grow back either. Anyone out there who has had one knows what i am talking about....just thought I would throw that in there as a lot of fishermen (myself included;) ) have the risk factors ie: blokes, smoke, drink and could be a bit overweight!!!:D
Not trying to upset the St john guys, they do a great job, but you can set yourself up much cheaper if you buy a cheap tackle box or tupperware container to suit your needs, then go to a medical supply store and stock it yourself. You can get exactly what you need alot cheaper. Sometimes the pre packed first aid kits have heaps of extra stuff you dont need. Most medical supply stores will help you set it up too.
DEFINATELY do a first aid course QLd Ambulance service runs a good course, so does the St Johns service. Good first aid DOES save lives
Just on another note, The media has been bantering around that the average non medically trained person can be sued if they do something wrong helping a sick/injured person with basic first aid. That is a load of CRAP. EVERYONE is covered by a 'good samaritan act' which basically says if you 'try your best' to help someone with BASIC first aid who is needs medical assistance (ie CPR, haemorrhage control etc) you can not be sued for trying to assist even if the person dies or deteriorates whilst you are with them. Unless you attempt some major medical proceedure which you know nothing about and are not qualified to perform.!!
Dont be affraid to call the ambulance (000) if you get hurt or ill whilst out fishing. If you have no signal on your phone, 000 uses any companies repeater (testa, optus etc) so you should get thru, or radio VMR ahead and they can contact QAS. generally we can meet you at any boat ramp. The time saved could matter. Now days we have all sorts of live saving and pain relief drugs and equipment.
If you want any more info, feel free to PM me.
Steve,
Thanks for sharing your knowledge. Just wondering what you ambo's see as probably the most frequent type of marine accidents that occur ?
fish guts
Kiktz
10-07-2007, 02:39 PM
Good Topic Fish Guts,
We only carried the bare essentials up until the sanctuary cove boat show.
I bought one of the $160 first aid kits that were near the mercury stand.
It had near every thing that I would be able to use. Which would hopefully
be enough to see us safe to shore to get proper assistance.
Safety on the water is something that you should never muck around with.
Its all too late to say I shoulda.
Aj
seatime
10-07-2007, 02:52 PM
I realise that the CPR proceedures have changed but I was unaware of the "compressions even if there is a pulse thing" There's no chance you'll see me compresing on a chest of someone that has a pulse!!!!!! Of course you check for a pulse!!!! So during the DRABC proceedure what happens after you find there is no breathing and the breaths have been given???? There are other area's to find a pulse but if you cant find one (and there is one there but it is so weak you can't find it) then yes for sure the compressions are not going to hurt. But if there is a pulse the compressions are the last thing you want to be doing!!!!
Cheers Chris
didn't actually say "even if there was a pulse" said look for signs of life first.
sorry if I wasn't clear, it's hard to find a pulse, or it could be very low BP. giving compressions won't harm a person if their heart is beating though, as you compress the chest not the heart itself.
the standard from ARC now is not to check for a pulse, because a false read could be taken. the new CPR course will tell you why.
Steve B
10-07-2007, 03:54 PM
Fish Guts,
Mostly trebbles, Lacertions from knives etc, PFO (pissed,fell over!) fractures from fall etc and useless water skiers falling off and hurting themselves!!!
About the CPR and not checking for a pulse. Basicly as gelsec said, if they are not breathing and not consious start CPR (30:2) No pulse check. 99% of patients that are not breathing and not consious have no pulse!!! The reasoning behind not checking for a pulse with unconsious, non breathing patient is the fact the pulse check proceedure delays compression. Compressions keep your mean arterial blood pressure up which in turn perfuses the heart, brain and other organs, essentially keeping them alive. If you stop compressions for whatever reason the pressure drops and so does perfusion. Studies have shown the general public have a less than 50% strike rate of finding a pulse (carotid) first go (doctors, nurses and Ambos aren't much better either) and all subsequent attempts only delay vital compressions. Chris, I have to correct you a bit. if you cant find a carotid pulse (neck) then you wont find one anywhere else. The carotid is the strongest one (highest pressure), therefor if its gone, so are the othes sites. As for breaths, True oxygen delivery from a breath is very minor. Firstly there is only 21% o2 in the atmosphere we breathe. An expired breath contains approx 17% O2. provided you have correct airway aligment which is very difficult to do on real person (easy on a dummie) all these factors seriously deminish o2 exchange to the blood in the lungs. If you not doing compressions then that blood wont circulate anyway. Hence the new emphasis on compressions at 30:2 and no delays doing pulse check. The resus council has made it simpler for first aiders because it IS a scary situation to be in, and very few people get it right under pressure, in a real situation. BUT any attempt at early CPR is better than none at all.
I wont go on any longer because there is HEAPS more important things people can talk about regarding first aid and first aid kits.
Cheers steve
Dignity
10-07-2007, 05:40 PM
Fish Guts,
I wont go on any longer because there is HEAPS more important things people can talk about regarding first aid and first aid kits.
Cheers steve
don't stop - I'm learning heaps
IMO it should be part of your safety gear just like life jackets or EPIRB....
Foxy4
10-07-2007, 07:16 PM
Wow this one really has me thinking over time now. I do carry a basic first aid kit on my boat. But will be looking into something a little better for both Car and boat real soon.
Fish Guts
10-07-2007, 07:22 PM
IMO it should be part of your safety gear just like life jackets or EPIRB....
yep i agree. It could only be a good thing.
Wahoo
10-07-2007, 08:26 PM
yes i carry one in the boat, and the same one comes with me when we go camping
and yes i agree with blu
Rod Fishing
10-07-2007, 08:40 PM
I always carry one wth me. the other friday when i went out my deckie had a hook go through his finger, after i cut the barb off with pliers and pulled it out I had the nesecary equipment, (first aid kit brought from that first aid stand in Stocklands Townsville) to give the first aid nessesary to keep him from being in too much pain before we got back and he could go and see a doc to have a tetness shot.
If you dont carry one your an IDIOT
thank rod.
10-07-2007, 08:50 PM
Guts,
A top thread ;)
It's got me thinking I have got (SFA) sweet flamin all ;D
An upgrade is in order !
Damo.
Fish Guts
10-07-2007, 08:56 PM
black rat,
yea i think its something easily overlooked. I thought the poll's results would be the complete opposite, but looks like i may be wrong, which is great. Theres never much publicity out there in regards to offshore fishing pertaining to first aid kits being a MUST. Think it deserves a bit more of airtime in the safety brochures that MSQ publish ?
food for thought anyway
fish guts
STUIE63
11-07-2007, 08:42 AM
The poll results are I think very good at 11% not having one I thought it would be much higher. This thread will even reduce this number further well done Guts
Foxy4
11-07-2007, 01:08 PM
Defiantly have me looking at Upgrading my First Aid kits for both the Car and boat. Should be like the Fire Extinguishers and also kept up too date.
11-07-2007, 03:49 PM
I learnt the hard way, fishing on my own near tangalooma, decided on a swim, stepped on a stingray !! owwwwww :(
No 1st aid kit, blood everywhere, had to use a fishing rag wrapped over my foot to stem the blood.. And the pain driving the boat back to Cabbage tree creek..
That was years ago now, and it taught me the valuable lesson on keeping the right gear on board.
Excellent thread.
seatime
11-07-2007, 04:01 PM
venomous stingray stings are similar to catfish, stonefish, bullrouts & crown of thorn starfish as regards treatment - as hot a water as you can stand.
maybe carry a thermos of hot water.
Dignity
11-07-2007, 06:46 PM
Keep one in the car, one in the boat and have an extra that travels with me most places. The extra one includes medication that may be required. Have checked the one in the car and it has been seriously raided of panadol, bandaids etc so better fix it up. Both my First aid kits are crammed with bandages and I thought of reduceing the number but after reading a couple of posts think I will leave them there. I believe there is a special rating first aid kit that is available for offshore sailers, anyone got any details on that.
rat_catcher
11-07-2007, 10:36 PM
This is an excellent thread and definitely worth a read a few times. I have a full first aid kit kept in my 4wd for when offroading and also another kept in my boat. We even have one in the house and it is amazing how many times it gets used with a couple of kids around!
I agree hooks through skin is probably the most common injury when out fishing.
Fish Guts
12-07-2007, 06:56 PM
Thanks for everyones input, proved to be a very infomative thread, especailly thanks to steve b and gelsec for a brush up on some first aid procedures.
fish guts
Steve B
12-07-2007, 09:07 PM
Thanks fishguts. It's really good to see how many fishos have a decent firstaid kit and a good knowledge of basic first aid. I spose most fishos are parents....always patching something up.:)
cheers steve
Fish Guts
12-07-2007, 09:38 PM
the benefits of first aid kits.....they even pull chicks !
an incentive if ive ever heard one.
fish guts
thatp1g
12-07-2007, 10:23 PM
speaking of chicks...
best thing i ever chucked in my own first aid kit is a bunch of sanitary pads.
Those things are marvellous for knife sticks...
You know when you cut half your finger off trying to fillet something or chop up some bait... or is that just me.
1975fflh
17-07-2007, 04:55 PM
I work in one of the top ten railway stations in NSW and have to requalify every two years in first aid, and see some pretty horrible injuries, usually due to pissed idiots on escalators.
I have a first aid kit in car boat and home and they are usually over packed.
The kits that you buy are the absolute minimum for a first aid kit.
it is much cheaper to go to wollies and buy a water tight contaner like a lunch box with a seal and two or four clips ( about $5) and stick in extra baand aids some micropore type tape various size wound dressings and a good pair of scissors as well as some dettol or similar and some bandages of various types as well as what you normally get in a first aid kit.
your local chemist will help or look up in the yellow pages for a medical supplies place they will help as well and be cheaper as theysupply the chemist.
First aid kits are always overpriced as we pay it for the peace of mind, but the kits usually contain bugger all that is usefful for anything other that a minor cut or sprain.
another good thing is an ice pack you can get instant ice packs for about $10 that you just pop and bingo ice pack, great for sporting event or throw a soft lunch box cooler in the esky can get them at woolies they go in the lunch box to keep the food fresh ( $3).
1975fflh
17-07-2007, 04:56 PM
shit what a rave and I bloody misspelt a lot as well.
groverwa
25-02-2008, 05:47 AM
Gday
For those still with a CDMA fone - it is important to note that 112 will not work on their phones, and that they should use 000 in an emergency
Yes, I have a basic first aid kit in the boat, ute and car. The ute one has a rubber bandage in case of snake bite when I go bush
Also, remember that the humble dunny roll can be used as a pressure pad also
Wahoo
25-02-2008, 08:52 PM
we just topped our F/A kit up, also adding a bottle peroxide, great for cleaning cuts
26-02-2008, 08:37 AM
Fantastic topic, thanks to all for their great contributions, extremely interesting and important reading.
Definitely way past time for a boat first aid kit!
Have monsters at home and in the work vehicle, now one for the tinny!
Cheers!
Shagga
26-02-2008, 08:38 AM
I carry one in the car and one in the boat all the time. First aid course is a bonus as long as you do the refresher on a regular basis.
tin can marlin
01-03-2008, 08:00 PM
Hi fish guts this is a credit to you for bringing up such an important subject. Well done keep up the good work. Regards mark
SgBFish
01-03-2008, 08:14 PM
What a great thread.
I recently redid my St John Senior First Aid course and it has all changed.
You don’t check for pulse before starting CPR. If they aren’t breathing you go straight to CPR until you are relieved or can’t continue. Access to a defibrillator is also critical your chances of a meaningful recovery drop by 10% every minute from your heart going into fibrillation until hit by a defib. In other words after 10 minutes your chances are slim.
On another First kit front everyone should have in their kit an immobilisation bandage for life threatening stingers. These are Box Jelly and Irukandji jellyfish etc that can kill you. You treat them as you would a snakebite. If the venom gets beyond the persons limbs they are all but gone.
This very important.
MikeH
01-03-2008, 11:24 PM
Might pay to keep the First Aid book in the kit as well if there is room. I also keep a small bottle of Betadine Antiseptic Liquid on board.. Not necessarily in the First Aid Kit, usually in the tacklebox... I'm always using it on line cuts on my fingers .. or anything that puts a hole in me .. helps things heal a lot faster... so I can fish longer and more often.
hoodunnit
01-03-2008, 11:42 PM
Good thread Fish guts, it makes you think about your responsibility as a boat owner.
polky
08-10-2008, 12:21 PM
Couldn,t agree more fish-guts, I beleave you have now made boating alot safer for me and a lot of other fishos. I now have a well stocked firstaid kit in my boat which I didn,t have a week ago, Thanks Polky.
gone_fishing
09-10-2008, 05:34 PM
i have a first aid kit in the kitchen in the shed in the car and in the work ute which i take fishing
even though my certificate is out of date (work ligallity reasons) pretty sad that
and blood makes me quizzy
it better to have around than a oily rag
a most over looked item in any tool kit id reakon
Fish Guts
11-10-2008, 04:26 PM
i learnt the hard way a week ago. put a 5/0 through my right nostril barb and all with a pearlie on the bottom set of gangs to make it even the more interesting. pearlie flapping around pulling on my nose wasnt great. managed to cut the line and use plyers to cut the barb off and took it our the way it came in. bloody hurt. have since purchsed a stomping big marine first aid kit with everything under the sun in it. moral of the story - have a first aid kit on your boat !!
fish guts
Dignity
14-10-2008, 07:16 AM
FG - hard way to do body piercing - should be able to keep your cigarette lighter in the hole that pearlie would have made.