View Full Version : Flush bag crap

flyfisho
08-07-2007, 03:03 PM
I don't mind telling you how pissed off I am at the moment with these flush bags from BCF . they just don't do what they are meant to . What adds to it is that beacuse I am on tank water I will now have to put it on the garden.
You will see in the pics that it doesn't sit upright like its meant to , and that it no where near covers the entire leg of the motor as advertised >:( >:( >:(
Not happy Jan
do yourself a favour and cut down a plastic drum instead of wasting $50 on this crap , or stick to the muffs

russ81
08-07-2007, 03:24 PM
Hows it going mate

I have had the exact same problems a complete waste of money

Russ

bayfisher
08-07-2007, 03:34 PM
There is something definately wrong there, I have one of these bags and they stand up 'fairly' straight as long as they are on fairly flat ground otherwise they tend to lean. I place mine right up against the hull and trim the motor almost right down so it sits as straight as possible, I then only fill it up as far as I need. I have found mine much better then muffs and quieter with the only downside being the time and amount of water needed to fill one.

Cheers Chris

Dezzer
08-07-2007, 03:47 PM
I got one from Sundown, a different brand and from memory about the same price. It works a treat. It supposedly doubles as a sea anchor but I haven't tried that yet.

08-07-2007, 03:51 PM
I got one from a guy on E-BAY that makes them on brisy northside and they are very well put together and stand up like a groom's todger. It is very thick material and has pvc legs and brass fittings. It leaks very slowly at the seams, and I am going to stick seam seal on it to stop that if I can. Would be 3 times thicker material than the BCF stuff.

TheSaint
08-07-2007, 04:28 PM
I got one awhile back used it twice & think the muffs use less water & do a better job personally..

Makes a good beer esky tho for parties..

Ron173
08-07-2007, 04:40 PM
Take it back and tell them its useless and get a refund.

Ron

seatime
08-07-2007, 05:42 PM
I use the cut down 220lt blue pastic drum, fits the Jono 140 perfectly, pressure out of telltale is no different to muffs tho, so reckon muffs will do the job if engine is still warm.
there was a post a while back about sucking in exhaust air bubbles from the prop when using a drum, I've found this to be unsubstantiated, and has never happened thru any tests that I know of, or have conducted personally. drums are the way to go, if you've got the water to spare IMO.

Sea-Dog
08-07-2007, 06:02 PM
Why not build your own flush tank.

I made mine from a few bits of ply, some fibreglass, el-cheapo wheels from crazy clarke's and a few screws and brackets from Bunnings.

It's not perfect - the wheels need to be larger if using on the grass and could probably do with an extra set, so wheels are nearer to the ends.

It does bow outwards a little when full, so I may glass a bit of 2x1 around the top of both sides to stop the bowing outward.

All the ply was hit with a few layers of resin before assembly. All seams have been reinforced with glass tape/matt.

Screw holes have been sealed with glass. It doesn't leak a drop.

It could even be left under the spout from the gutter to fill up.

I have even run a 115 HP outboard in gear with a few revs in it for a test and very little water came out.

I have yet to install a drain tap in one of the corners. That could be used for fitting to a high-pressure water blaster for cleaning the boat.

It is a bit big for what I need - so it does take a bit to fill up.

Shorter would probably be better. At least with the length the way it is, I can tilt the motor fully up, push the tank into position and then lower the motor without the prop hitting the back of the tank.

seatime
08-07-2007, 06:15 PM
Sea-Dog, sounds like the kinda tank a service dept will use for testing in-gear (rectagonal). not needed generally. 2 centos.
at home, IMO all you need is the muffs if you're close to the ramp and the donk's still warm, or a flush drum/bag to run it till the thermostat opens & freshwater gets to the top passages.

ashh
08-07-2007, 06:29 PM
I use to use the tap at the ramp at the seaway to flush, but the council have put a stop to that by removing the taps >:(

If Im coming home from a late night fish there is a little servo near home that closes at 8pm, and with no one around I can use my muffs with their tap thats next to the fuel pump. Saves waking the missus and neighbours too.

When I do flush at home, I have an old wheely bin that I have modified, I cut the front panel out about half way down from the top of the bin. Works a treat!
Saves wasting the water onto the driveway and I then give it to the missus to wheel around the garden and water the plants :D

haggis
08-07-2007, 07:45 PM
I bought a ninety litre storage container from bunnings which has wheels on , the wife made a little platform to sit it on , I catch the cold shower water which fills the container , i lower the leg into the water and let it run for around ten minutes and then re use the water to clean the boat . the container cast around twenty bucks and is fairly strong .
cheers fae haggis ........................

seatime
08-07-2007, 07:55 PM
haggis, just make sure there isn't detergents in the flush water, not good for the alloy cooling passages! plain freshwater is best.

haggis
08-07-2007, 08:07 PM
thanks for the tip gelsec , the water I use is straight out of the shower head before it heats up so there should be no detergents in the water . not sure what will happen when we are using toilet water though .
cheers fae haggis...................

RobGoesFish
08-07-2007, 09:19 PM
mate, is it relatively new? Take it back, tell them you dont like it, that is useless and get a refund