View Full Version : body lift
dagwood
05-07-2007, 05:55 PM
hello all i have recently purchased a 3inch body lift for my 1990 dual cab hilux i was wondering if any1 new anywhere around brisbane that would be happy to fit it for me at a reasonable price or tell me how much work it would be for me to fit it myself?
cheers Chris
bastard
05-07-2007, 06:39 PM
3 inch is way to high and also illegal so i dont think you will find any body to do it,it is easy to do though,you will need a steering shaft extension which you can by from snake racing,you will also need to bend your gear stick with an oxy,at 3 inches i doubt your radiator hoses are long enough,put in a 2 inch lift and its easy.Also youll have to lift up the bull bar or the cops will get you.:)
Tailortaker
05-07-2007, 08:47 PM
Yer mate 3inches is illegal, law is 2inch body,2inch suspension, you will need to do your steering, hoses including fuel, you will destroy your unies and you'll need to mod your gear stick and bull bar . Most hiluxes can just cope with a 2inch body lift but a 3inch is really pushing it sorry.
________
Honda S2000 specifications (http://www.honda-wiki.org/wiki/Honda_S2000)
05-07-2007, 09:52 PM
do a search mate, quite a few threads on what you can do in Qld,
mike
BenDover
06-07-2007, 06:47 AM
gday dagwood, I take it you have poly urathane blocks?? I would NOT fit them to your truck if i where you! 3 inches is way too high and you will find not very comfortable at all... Ive fitted a bunch of them before in a few trucks (i use 2 inch alloy blocks) Way better and no slop. And bastard is pretty much right. 2 inches is much much easier. And you wont have to change much eg.. lengthen steering shafts, change radiator hoses/ petrol cap hoses. You can grind out your gearbox well instead of bending your gear shift. And as its not illegal you wont have to lift your bullbar either. I never did. Have fun mate.
BD
Leigh77
06-07-2007, 07:59 AM
You will still have to get the body lift approved though...2" may be legal, but it still needs approval!
MY-TopEnder
06-07-2007, 09:25 AM
3 inch is way to high and also illegal so i dont think you will find any body to do it,it is easy to do though,you will need a steering shaft extension which you can by from snake racing,you will also need to bend your gear stick with an oxy,at 3 inches i doubt your radiator hoses are long enough,put in a 2 inch lift and its easy.Also youll have to lift up the bull bar or the cops will get you.:)
He's right... 3" is way too high, and you won't find anyone willing to do it for you. To do a body lift you need to apply to QLD transport, have them approve the bolts (8.8 rated) and the blocks. You then need to do it, take the car in completed and have them inspect it. Alot of stuffing around.
With 3" you'll need to extend fuel filler hoses, brake lines, radiator hoses, and steering shaft. You'll need to check the body around the transfer lever, and also the gear stick.
2" is alot easier to do... you can get away with the steering shaft and everything else... as Bastard said though you'll need to cut and lift the bullbar.... you can be lazy and leave it like i have but yeah best to do it.
Its a prick of a job to do without a hoist too... you have to jack pretty high. Basically you have to jack high enough to unload the suspension, then another 3" on top of that... and some of those body bolts can be rusted pretty badly.
Good luck with it.
bastard
06-07-2007, 08:01 PM
Yer mate 3inches is illegal, law is 2inch body,2inch suspension, you will need to do your steering, hoses including fuel, you will destroy your unies and you'll need to mod your gear stick and bull bar . Most hiluxes can just cope with a 2inch body lift but a 3inch is really pushing it sorry.How does a body lift destroy unies
::)
snapperm8
07-07-2007, 02:45 PM
Well im pretty sure dagwood wasn't asking if they were legal or not he was just asking who could do it for him... they are quiet simple to do yourself but as a few people have mentioned you would need to do a bit of modification. otherwise ring around ask 4x4 shops.
cheers dave
BenDover
07-07-2007, 03:16 PM
i have seen an old f- truck with a 5" body lift, he drove it down the coast and got to do 1 lap on the esplanade before the cops and main roads got him and he had to get it towed all the way home. By morning it was standard again. But i had a good look at it and he did it all correctly and safely by the looks of it..
dagwood... I still wouldnt go more than 2 inches mate and dont use polyurathane blocks. Their crap and add bounce and body roll to your cab. Redrill out bolt holes and use 12mm (not the standard 10mm) high tensile bolts and use a normal nut and then a nylock after it as i have popped a few just nylocks before. and dont bother with the inspections of main roads etc.. Do that if they pull ya over and say whats this, because thats all they will do anyway. But they have never even seen any body lifts on anyone i knows trucks...
BD
Brett1907
07-07-2007, 08:38 PM
Between My-TopEnder & BenDover, they have it pretty much right. IMO 3" is too high, and whatever you do DON'T use the polyurethane blocks if that is what you have. They MUST be steel or alloy.
What MTE said about 2"being easier is right, but you should still extend your brake lines too. Raise your bullbar as well cause it will look funny otherwise.
What BD said about not getting the lift approved is ok, as long as you don't have an accident. If you do have an accident while your lift is not approved you will have ABSOLUTELY NO INSURANCE. Aslo, if you are involved in an accident that is not your fault and someone is injured you could still be held liable because your vehicle is 'unroadworthy' or has an 'unapproved modification'.
There is a LOT of misinformation out there. I started a thread a while back detailing this exact thing, and I found out that the info I had was incorrect. I spoke to a shop on Thursday who still thought you could only do a 2" body OR suspension lift. These guys do some pretty extreme work, but they still don't know what is legal.
But I have strayed from your original question. I have been told by a few people that 'Northside ARB' do some custom work, they might help out with what you want.
PS: If you or anyone want a 6" suspension lift for a Pre-2005 IFS Hilux I know where you can get one!!!!! YES, I am serious. Just don't ask if it's LEGAL!!!
BenDover
08-07-2007, 07:09 AM
there has been a few superlifts for sale lately brett :).
Brett1907
08-07-2007, 10:59 AM
And I thought I was clever!:'( :-/ :-[
I have 2" poly lift blocks in mine.
Can't understand how they'd cause body roll any more than others?
Mine are solid black plastic - very hard and not urethane - maybe not the ones you guys are talking about.
Brake lines? add that to uni's - and lifting the cab until the springs take up????
The only brake work required should be undoing the handbrake mount under the body near the gearbox.
www.outerlimits4x4.com (http://www.outerlimits4x4.com) has links for lifting details.
I did mine in about 3 hrs - yours will be heaps harder though for the 3" with some fab required to drop the radiator back down etc.
BenDover
09-07-2007, 04:33 PM
Im not sure gbc exactly which ones you have. But the ones we have, that we got from a reputable 4x4 store where crap. And really spongie. You could keeo tightening them foreva and watch them bulge in the middle the tighter you get. So we went to a place and they made us some custom ones out of the best and toughest plastic/polyurathane (something) they had. And i could even feel them spongie in the cab when i went over bumps or cornered really hard. So the best we came up with where solid alloy blocks with a flat bit of impact rubber between them (like 2mm thick) and redrilled the holes out to 12mm not the normal 10mm. As i even popped and broke some of my high tensile bolts hardcore 4x4ing. Even just on a singlecab cruiser. Popped the single nylocks right off and used a normal nut and then a nylock fixed it right up :). The 12mm bolts where way stronger and it was rock solid and perfect in the end!
:)
ps. we didnt have a lift/houst either so we undid the bolts and lossened the steering/ removed the radiator shroud and just used a block of wood and a trolley jack and just kept stopping and checking what was getting tight and what needed to be altered 1 side at a time.
bastard
09-07-2007, 04:53 PM
Hey Bendover ive been trying to send you a pm but my computer hates me.:)
BenDover
10-07-2007, 06:52 AM
Thats cool mate... sometimes it happens!!
Yeah BenD I saw some red ones that looked spongy once.
I put mine in 18+ months ago and haven't touched them since - no crush tubes either (don't tell the mermaids).
Same bloke off Outerlimits has put them in a few comp trucks and they go o.k.