View Full Version : $20 Rod Rack

Mad-One
05-07-2007, 08:44 AM
HI Guy's just thought I would post a couple of pics of the rod rack I made yesterday when I was bored. Because I live in a rental I can't put racks on the wall so I made a stand. I looked at the ones in the tackle shops and thought well I can build one cheaper so I did. Went to Bunnings and bought the timber for $17 plus the screws I already had so all up cost approx $20 and an hour and a half of my time. All I need to do now is varnish it.

Cheers Mad

B_E_N
05-07-2007, 08:57 AM
looks good mate well done, you wanna make us one?? :D

Tailortaker
05-07-2007, 09:12 AM
Good job mate, if you want to build some to sell I'm in..
________
Lovely Wendie99 (http://www.lovelywendie99.com/)

Mad-One
05-07-2007, 09:16 AM
I might just do that guy's......Will let you know when I have some made

Cheers Mad

Crumbo
05-07-2007, 11:27 AM
Awesome rod rack mate. They look just like the ones we use at work!

deathstar 3
06-07-2007, 06:17 AM
Great looking rod rack there. If you do few I'll put my name down for one.

jez and suze
06-07-2007, 07:57 AM
i made one a few weeks ago like that......yours is a hell of alot prettier than mine!

harry_h01
06-07-2007, 08:36 AM
Mate, top idea and design.

If you are going to start making them and selling them, I'm in.

Harry

07-07-2007, 07:34 AM
Looks like a wood-work rod rack M&G day needs to be organised.
I have some plans for one type if anybodies interested.

Madone's design allows for more rods though and easier to move and less material to use and mine allows it to sit in the hallway as it only sticks out about 80mm :)
The big spaces in the middle allow reels to be left on rods

murf
07-07-2007, 07:53 AM
top rack mate

I made one like Finga's a while back out of she oak slabs I had lying around, I wish I had the plans before I worked it all out myself, thanks Finga

Cheers Murf

Mudguard 92
07-07-2007, 11:41 AM
Nice rack mate - You should put some groves in the bottom board for the rod butts to sit in.

Cheers - James

DR
07-07-2007, 01:21 PM
here's mine. 300mm sq holds 12 rods. perfect for the corner of a room

murf
07-07-2007, 02:18 PM

what a top design, I like it

what have you put around the top to hold the rods in?

Cheers Murf

Mudguard 92
07-07-2007, 02:21 PM
Yea - Nice job mate

James

DR
07-07-2007, 04:49 PM
what a top design, I like it

what have you put around the top to hold the rods in?

Cheers Murf

it's a plastic tube from Bunnings..:)

Mad-One
08-07-2007, 07:58 AM
Gee Finga I didn't go to those lengths I just built it from my head but a good idea if the missus lets ya have the rods in the house.
Dr thats a nice rack also very neat.
Thanks guy's for all the comments if I build some more I will post them on here.
Probably end up like my trailer every time I build one I sell it cos someone wants one and I always end up not having one when I need it

Cheers all..................Mad

bass-pirate
08-07-2007, 05:19 PM
Awsome work, i am inspired lol. Im going to make one now!! I already have one that i made when i was in yr 5 but its looking a bit shabby now and is a fairly dodgee design. (im currently in yr 11) so im going to make a new one!!

cheers, Bass Pirate

Wahoo
08-07-2007, 05:24 PM
some nice rod racks there, i have found this one on another forum, easy as to make and you can keep adding on

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/rodnreelstorage-1.jpg

Fafnir
09-07-2007, 10:57 AM
Just a suggestion, if you do want to build a model with groves in the bottom rail, is to get a piece of timber same width as the ends, drill out your holes on both sides and then cut down the middle of the two row of holes. The two outside pieces become the bottom rails, the middle section sits at the top.

I made one like this myself a couple of years ago, but it's not finished anywhere near as well as yours. It has a bit of a lean on it, but it's functional.

Fafnir
09-07-2007, 11:02 AM
Also turned an old computer desk into a rack the other day. Was going to throw the desk out when it dawned on me that it could become a rod rack. The wheels on the bottom come in handy too.

BGG
09-07-2007, 11:24 AM
The windy weather must have got a lot of us thinking about fishing related things when we couldn't actually fish. I knocked this one up 2 weeks ago. I looked at the commercially available ones at tackle stores and thought that the $110 price tag for a fairly rough product was a bit rich. I'll happily make these for anybody if we can agree on a reasonable price.

09-07-2007, 11:34 AM
Some ripsnorters there fellas :)

MM, I had to do that plan.
I'm like you...get the idea in the head then a search in the shed to see what there then bung it together.
The plan was for others :)
They took longer to do then the rack itself :(

Mad-One
10-07-2007, 03:56 AM
MM, I had to do that plan.
I'm like you...get the idea in the head then a search in the shed to see what there then bung it together.
The plan was for others :)
They took longer to do then the rack itself :([/quote]

Thats why I never do plans cos they take to long.;D
Some great workmanship by people on here it would be amazing what you could do if you could get all that skill in one place think of the $$$$$$$$$$$$$ to be made. I have always believed that anyone can do anything as lng as they put their mind and common sense into it

Cheers Mad

10-07-2007, 06:27 AM
Thats why I never do plans cos they take to long.;D
Some great workmanship by people on here it would be amazing what you could do if you could get all that skill in one place think of the $$$$$$$$$$$$$ to be made. I have always believed that anyone can do anything as lng as they put their mind and common sense into it

Cheers Mad
Oh so true MM...
I don't reckon the plastic tube and pipe coupling wouldn't take on though...has anyone priced those fittings lately...cheaper to buy the set of rods I'd reckon. :P

How many are interested in building a rack??
The only reason I ask is I have a ton of tools here and they take virtually no time to build (if you have the right gear) and thinking (out loud) if a couple want to build one I'll have a building morning so you fella's can knock a few up.

12-07-2007, 07:16 AM
That could be interesting Finga.

12-07-2007, 12:44 PM
That could be interesting Finga.
Why's that??
:)

Wahoo
12-07-2007, 02:34 PM
Oh so true MM...
I don't reckon the plastic tube and pipe coupling wouldn't take on though...has anyone priced those fittings lately...cheaper to buy the set of rods I'd reckon.

as a tradie and work on some big sites all you got to do is ask a plumber for a bit of this N a bit of that and wella........ done ;D

13-07-2007, 06:16 AM
Why's that??
:)
Because I might take you up on the offer ;)

13-07-2007, 04:45 PM
Because I might take you up on the offer ;)
Anytime :)
(but not this week-end)

Bob H
13-07-2007, 07:28 PM
if anyone north of brissy who would like to make one i also have all the gear to build them and welcome anyone to a rod rack building day ,which could be organised , if anyone interested. bob h

14-07-2007, 07:08 AM
Good on ya bob.
Did you get a lathe??

Bob H
16-07-2007, 10:38 PM
yes mate, haven,t been fishing since ,will have to leave it for a while. bob

17-07-2007, 06:02 AM
Gees I'll be ins trife if the cook sees that picture.
Workshops are supposed to be messy is the story I keep trying on her.