View Full Version : Ice Configuration
Splash
03-07-2007, 08:29 AM
Hi Team.
What ice configuration is best for keeping fish as fresh as possible over a 12 hour period in very hot/humid conditions?
I am told block ice is good but slurry mix is best.
This will determine the type of ice box I am chasing.
Splash.
03-07-2007, 08:56 AM
block ice will last much longer, and if you want to keep them for that long, the very best way is to have a salt water slurry, chill the fish, wait for a while (maybe half an hour or so) clean them and put them carefully in another esky with some maybe crushed ice still in a bag, fish left in water for a long time (12 hours) even if it is a slurry tend to go all kind of soggy and the eyes even go cloudy (they still taste OK, but if that setup is not an option, then make yourself some big block ice (a couple of buckets of water in a freezer) and even better is to make salt water ice if it is not too much messing around for you.
Splash
03-07-2007, 09:02 AM
That's a great idea Noel. Thanks.
Is this how the pros work?
Should the fillets be stored in bags when put into the chill box?
So - basically have two(2) setups - slurry box and chill box. Sweet. Is this how you work and what other tips can u provide in this case?
Splash
03-07-2007, 09:13 AM
yes, put the fillets in a bag, do not let flesh sit in water, even better (in my opinion) is to not fillet the fish untill you are ready to put them in the fridge or freezer, (can be inconvenient) but if you really have to make sure the fish is not too fresh before you fillet it, other wise the flesh goes all sort of tense and can even curl up, you need to have had the fish dead for long enough for it to be stiff (rigor mortis), another often over looked thing is to try to store your fish nice and straight, because if you have a curled up fish and you force it flat later to fillet it, you break the flesh and it will be all bruised and will not keep as long.
03-07-2007, 09:18 AM
two boxes is a good way to do it, but it takes up a lot of space of course, the reason behind it all is that when you catch a fish, you put it in the slurry (and bleed it if you are that way inclined) and it will chill the fish right "to the bone" when it is good and dead, you can gut it and scale if you do not skin your fish, store them nice and straight in a good clean ice box, away from all the crap and bits and pieces from your "kill/slurry" box and that way you avoid cross contamination, then fillet at your leisure at the ramp or camp or where ever it is nice and handy and comfortable.
Deiter
03-07-2007, 10:52 AM
just a thought, but i was under the impression that you are not permitted to fillet your catch at sea unless for immediate consumption. I have also heard that fillets of legal length are ok, but cannot confirm.
Sorry to sidetrack.
Damo
03-07-2007, 11:07 AM
yes, that is correct in NSW, I also guess it is in QLD as well, so I guess that sort of sorts out the fillet and bung in your esky, and makes it better to do it at the ramp as it is then Legal. I am not too sure how the long range Charter Operaters get around all this, because they fillet your catch to take home.
03-07-2007, 11:23 AM
Good point Deiter,
Splash,its well worth reading up on the regs in regards to what you can and cant fillet or skin.
Noel,not sure about filleting at the ramp and placing them back in the esky in the boat,either.I wonder if this could be a problem if fisheries pull you up exiting the ramp car park ?
As for ice I am somewhat less technical than noel.
I reuse the 2 and 3 litre juice containers that the kids empty.
I usually take between 12 and 15,these also double as drinking water.
A few adjustments and evenly distribute the bottles and the fish as they go in (200 litre esky).
I've left the fish for up to three days like this and never had a problem.
Geez mate you've rebuilt the motor, the boats been all decked out,got the gps and sounder.Now ice and esky time,so it sounds like you are finally ready to go fishing.Good luck!!
03-07-2007, 11:46 AM
you can fillet at the ramp (thats why there is cleaning tables) but do not clean them actually ON the ramp of course, I always do mine the next day after a night in the fridge or esky, they fillet beautifully and are nice and firm, but sometimes it just cannot be done that way, and the containers are a good idea as well i used to use them, but found that a bucket of saltwater ice will last for yonks.
Splash
03-07-2007, 01:51 PM
Thanks boys.
In GOVE, you are not allowed to clean fish at ramps - crocodiles. So, at sea would be ideal for us. On average. how long do u wait before rigor mortis sets in for fish whilst sitting in Slurry?
I will choose the 2-box option (slurry box and ice/chill box) - even if space is sacficed somewhat.
Currently sitting in an internet cafe in Port Douglas - lapping up the warmth..
Splash.
03-07-2007, 02:53 PM
gees half your luck, you will find the time a fish takes to go stiff and be properly dead will vary a bit, but what happens is when you catch a fish it is "floppy" after it dies it is still floppy, but not too long after it will go stiff, after that it can be processed in whatever manner you like, if you wait untill the next day, the fish will be nearly floppy again.
Splash
03-07-2007, 05:49 PM
Thanks Noel.
A sort of related question...
Is fiberglass ice boxes better than polyeurathane plastic for keeping ice as ice and optimising fish freshness??
SPlash
Seahorse
03-07-2007, 07:51 PM
i usually put 2 bags in my 70litre evakool. stay out all day, then when i come home take bags of ice out and refreeze. would not lose anymore than 20%.
only box to buy. brilliant. have had 70 lit and 120 litre for years and years. still like new.
greg
Splash
04-07-2007, 09:48 AM
Seahorse - your thoughts on the rubber seal tape on these units?
How do they handle the knocks?
Splash
wheelerdog
04-07-2007, 10:07 AM
Good point Deiter,
Splash,its well worth reading up on the regs in regards to what you can and cant fillet or skin.
Noel,not sure about filleting at the ramp and placing them back in the esky in the boat,either.I wonder if this could be a problem if fisheries pull you up exiting the ramp car park ?
As for ice I am somewhat less technical than noel.
I reuse the 2 and 3 litre juice containers that the kids empty.
I usually take between 12 and 15,these also double as drinking water.
A few adjustments and evenly distribute the bottles and the fish as they go in (200 litre esky).
I've left the fish for up to three days like this and never had a problem.
Geez mate you've rebuilt the motor, the boats been all decked out,got the gps and sounder.Now ice and esky time,so it sounds like you are finally ready to go fishing.Good luck!!
i do the same with the bottles, works fine. I wouldn't consider 12 hours to be a long time though. a good ice box will keep fish that long without getting too scientific
04-07-2007, 10:15 AM
the only difference in them that I reckon is the nice finish on the glass one, I have a poly one in the boat and it is all ratty and scratched but is still as strong as the day it was built, whereas the glass ones seem to be twice as bad after a bit of bashing around.
Seahorse
04-07-2007, 06:13 PM
splash.
my eskies are at least 6 years old, been on heaps camping trips and goes with me on every fishing trip, and thats every weekend and still have the original seal.
i wouldn't consider any other, eventhought i have never owned a plastic but cannot imagine could be better than the evakool.
i know they are bit dearer but certainly can take knocking around. i cleaned mine yest arvo and i forgot to put away and is still sitting on driveway.
i better go and do it now.
greg