View Full Version : Fuel Consumption Help Pls

bigtez
02-07-2007, 08:06 PM
After Dad past away a bit over 18mths ago his boat has been sitting gathering dust. I have always thought it a bit big for me to handle on my pat however I have recently been getting a mate to fish with me. So my question is how much fuel, roughly, would it go through in a days fishing in the bay, mostly bashing the bottom snapper etc.
The boat is a SeaRanger 5500 (Yalta 189 hull) that was built without the cabin and converted to a centre console. It has a 150hp EFI Merc which I think is about a 2002/03 model. It has only done 49 hours and it is a shame to see it go to waste as a garden gnome. If I can possibly afford to fuel it occasionally I think we may keep it rather then sell it.

Terry

russ81
02-07-2007, 08:11 PM
Hows it going mate
I recently got rid of a 2002 140hp Merc 2 stroke carby model and going from Redcliffe to Tangalooma and back then scooting up to Bribie and back i used to go through 120l of fuel
I dont know if that will help you any though

Russ

Tailortaker
02-07-2007, 08:58 PM
G'day Mate,Sorry I cant help you with the fuel consumptiion question but I hope that you can afford to run it as it would be a shame for you to have to sell your fathers boat. Good luck.
Tailortaker...

peterbo3
02-07-2007, 09:14 PM
Terry,
If you are fishing in the bay, all I can suggest is fill it up, go over to Tangalooma or Bulwer, come back to Redcliffe & fill it again. This will give you your fuel burn for a known distance at a certain RPM & will be a guide only.
I doubt if you will be bankrupted by running the boat on a regular basis. Plenty of crew available on this site who are happy to share costs.

Deiter
02-07-2007, 09:30 PM
Hows it going mate
I recently got rid of a 2002 140hp Merc 2 stroke carby model and going from Redcliffe to Tangalooma and back then scooting up to Bribie and back i used to go through 120l of fuel
I dont know if that will help you any though

Russ

Hey Russ, I thought you said that trip would use about 1/2 to 3/4 of your tank (120L isn't it?) ??? what gives??:-/

Damo

bigtez
02-07-2007, 10:03 PM
I would love to take it for a run to tangalooma and back but we have drained the tanks and I would rather not fill them again just to have the fuel go stale and the next bloke that owns it have to go through the same drama draining them again.
I am 90% sure the boat will end up being sold and I am clutching at straws. Being newly married with our first bub due this thursday I think it will be out of the question for the next couple of years.

Can't hurt to dream.

Roughasguts
02-07-2007, 11:27 PM
As a pretty rough guess I would say it would do around 1 Mile distance to 1 Litre in fuel consumption.

Ron173
03-07-2007, 07:23 AM
Mate,

Why would you sell it, your dad would want you to keep it and use it. You wont be making payments on it, so your only cost is a bit of rego and the fuel.

The motors almost new, and whilst wont run on an oily rag, I doubt it would break the bank to go out once a month or so with a couple of mates, who will split fuel cost anyway.

When bub grows up you will have a decent boat to use, when if you sell it you may not be able to buy one again.

I'd keep it for sure, especially if it was sentimental, but use it too.

Hope you choose wisely

Ron

03-07-2007, 08:03 AM
I agree with Ron, apart from dealing with boat ramps, IMO the freedom a boat gives for an entire family can only be beat by a helicopter. If you other half is even slightly interested they make for the best bonding I have found. Work on 35L/Hour as a mucking about minimum for fuel consumption, flatout 60L+.

03-07-2007, 08:17 AM
Good advice from the fella's.
It may also come in handy when the stresses of life get to you.
With a new wife and baby (bless there sweet little heartshttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/smiley.gif)it doesn't hurt to have such a great hobby as boating and fishing to help relax and unwind occasionally.
Or as my missus seems to think..... "my escape from reality"http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gifhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif

bigtez
03-07-2007, 08:37 AM
I already have a 395 wAlly Craft that does everything I want it to do at the moment. I also have a VQ Statesman that dad and I built as a project car which holds a lot more sentimental value for me then the boat. When you add the cost of that too the cost of the family car and add in the cost to run another boat then you can understand why dollars will be stretched to the limit.

Roughly how many hours running time would be in a trip out from redcliffe.

Terry

trueblue
03-07-2007, 10:58 AM
35 to 50 minutes run from Redcliffe to Tangalooma depending on how fast you go and what the weather is like. My 130 Yammy 2 stroke uses at least 50 litres to go there and fish about the place and come back.

Ron173
03-07-2007, 01:14 PM
I already have a 395 wAlly Craft that does everything I want it to do at the moment. I also have a VQ Statesman that dad and I built as a project car which holds a lot more sentimental value for me then the boat. When you add the cost of that too the cost of the family car and add in the cost to run another boat then you can understand why dollars will be stretched to the limit.

Roughly how many hours running time would be in a trip out from redcliffe.

Terry

You never mentioned you already had a boat, your post read like this was your only one.
I guess that changes things a bit.
Under those circumstances I would prob sell one of them, but not before closely scrutinising my present and future uses and requirements of my boat.
Maybe you should sell your allycraft, as there are now 3 of you?

Ron

bigtez
03-07-2007, 04:33 PM
The tinny is fantastic for the sort of fishing I like to do, ie hitting the creeks and chasing bream and flatties on lures. However I do plan to upgrade later next year to a 470ish side console that will be capable of some bay work on the not so good days as well as get up the creeks and possibly do some comp fishing. I have also been getting out to the redcliffe reefs chasing some snapper (without any luck so far) which is the only reason I have considered keeping it. Perhaps it would serve someone better that will use it.

Terry

honda900
03-07-2007, 09:28 PM
BigTez,

a lot of us have done the family thing and it is hard when your young and money is tight. Given that the boat is not going to cost too much to hang on to and the fact that some times just getting away from home can be a great stress reliever, you should consider keeping the boat. just remember not every trip needs to cost you $100, do some smaller trips, get your mates to chuck in and as your family gets a little older, you will find that they will enjoy it as well.

Honda