View Full Version : The secret is out!!!!! Tailor Hotspot

whynott
01-07-2007, 06:21 AM
Well the secret is out!!!!!!
A couple of us made our way down to Narrowneck last night, and on the way down on the highway, we saw heaps of cars carrying surf rods with the same intentions as us.
When we got to Narrowneck about 4.30, there were about 30 fisherman already playing the waiting game.
Here are just a few:

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/Narrowneck/100_0706Medium.jpg

Close to shore, the birds were working.

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/Narrowneck/100_0707Medium.jpg

All was quiet until just after dark, and thats when the Tailor came on the chew. The amount of people chasing them had increased to about 60 all with the same idea as us. Memories of Fraser.
We bagged out in just over 2 hours. :D :D :D :D
Some had good size to them. Out of all the Tailor we caught, not one had to go back due to being undersized.
It was all over by 9 p.m.

Graham.

whynott
01-07-2007, 06:27 AM
I will post a pic of the fish before I clean them as they are on ice at the moment, as we got home too late last night to clean them.

01-07-2007, 10:45 AM
Great report! Many thanks! :)

chief
01-07-2007, 04:41 PM
Great report and some nice pics, especially the one with the birds over fish, cheers

whynott
02-07-2007, 05:49 AM
Nice feed for us.
Here are a few.

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/Narrowneck/100_0709Medium.jpg

Graham.

jez and suze
02-07-2007, 06:23 AM
im staying down there on the weekend so i hope there are still a few hangin round.....do they tend to stay there most of the season?
were you using raiders or pillies?............jez

Fishing_Freddy
02-07-2007, 06:32 AM
Sounds like it could be a good tailor season of the beach.NIce looking catch,might try to get a feed while I'm holidays.
Ken :beer:

T1
02-07-2007, 07:55 AM
I'm definitely pulling the Waders out this week! (Been saying that for 3 weeks now...)! Great stuff!

Graham, was N/Neck the only place? Could you see anyone up further towards the S/Pumping Jetty?

Take Care T

BLOOEY
02-07-2007, 08:03 AM
Nice feed well done.Personally can't stand fishing shoulder to shoulder.But good on ya for sticking it out.Ben

aussiefool
02-07-2007, 08:06 AM
could someone please let me know the size and bag limits for tailor in qld please

Silent
02-07-2007, 08:17 AM
could someone please let me know the size and bag limits for tailor in qld please
Legal size = 30cm
Limit bag = 20

Cheers Silent

aussiefool
02-07-2007, 08:46 AM
Legal size = 30cm
Limit bag = 20

Cheers Silent

Thanks mate ...... same as NSW then

timddo
02-07-2007, 08:48 AM
where the hell is narrow neck

Pistol_P
02-07-2007, 09:17 AM
Looks like a good tailor season hey???
Everyone is getting into them.....?

munna1
02-07-2007, 01:57 PM

Thats what I want to know.

3rd degree
02-07-2007, 02:06 PM
North of Surfers but South of Main Beach, where the chicane is during Indy!

masterdusky
02-07-2007, 02:55 PM
Ive bee nfishing there also, but will try to find a little less populated spot lol

What surprises me is the amount off guys bagging out and then coming back the following night ot do the same ??? well within the law but :(

snapperm8
02-07-2007, 03:42 PM
haha great stuff the fella out the back with the boat woulda been getting into them easy without the fuss of the other 60 blokes lol. great stuff there

cheers dave

mako101
02-07-2007, 03:59 PM
Thanks for the tip I`ll be there!.
Great shots too, makes me want to move back down there!.

:) Bloody nice.

deegee
02-07-2007, 04:14 PM
Tim / Munna, Its a stretch of beach between Southport and Surfers on the Gold Coast. There is an artificial reef just offshore. If you have a Brownies Beacon to beacon, look at grid ref B4 on map 90. Acces is via Main Beach Parade.
Shouldn't be hard to locate at the moment, just look for the fibreglass forrest on the beach.

Cheers, Deegee.

u.r.s.4
02-07-2007, 05:24 PM
fraser on the gold coast.

whynott
02-07-2007, 05:50 PM
All the fish we caught were on pillies.
I did not see anyone down there spinning.

If you are going down there, I hope that you have as much fun as us.:D :D :D

Graham.

manchild
02-07-2007, 06:06 PM
Look for tower 38 its right front of it.
George

pontiph02
02-07-2007, 07:07 PM
http://maps.google.com.au/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=narrowneck+gold+coast&ie=UTF8&ll=-27.974392,153.409309&spn=0.074589,0.11673&z=13&om=1

masterdusky
02-07-2007, 07:16 PM
whynott, I was spinning as were a few others, using the slider lures makes great fun and easy to release the fish :D:D

02-07-2007, 07:20 PM
Ive bee nfishing there also, but will try to find a little less populated spot lol

What surprises me is the amount off guys bagging out and then coming back the following night ot do the same ??? well within the law but :(

Masterdusty

I commend your conservation minded tone in your reply, but really, there's one major ingredient that fishos are having fun with, and that's the westerly wind that has been blowing for a few days. Let the boys make hay while the sun shines I reckon, they might dissappear tomorrow and they will be much harder to find once conditions change. It's the age old contention between beach fishos after tailor, some don't like crowds and think too many anglers will spoil their chances of getting their share, but others welcome each other with a cheerful smile because they know that more baits in the water is better because it burleys up the water, keeping them on the chew.

Catch a few for me will you?

Have fun!!

angler
02-07-2007, 07:24 PM
back in 1972-3 they were standing shoulder to shoulder on the edge of the road at narrow neck and fishing in 6feet of water at high tide.

Paddyinoz2006
02-07-2007, 08:18 PM
What are slider lures. I was spinning with radars with two single hooks and releasing most fish problem was that i found that hook ups are so good it was damaging the jaw of the chopper tailor when i was trying to get the hooks out especially when two hooks have struck. Any good tips of a better way to rig my lure so I dont damage the fish so much?

munna1
02-07-2007, 08:54 PM
Thank guys your not wrong about the fibre glass forrest, went for a fish there tonight and caught a feed then left. Got bitten off a few times too, 15kg leader proved not to be heavy enough.

dynamicspot
02-07-2007, 08:54 PM
Top fish there graham looks like a big improvment fron the last time we hit inskip

maztez
03-07-2007, 07:18 AM
Narrowneck is on the GOLD COAST south of the pumping jetty and north of SURFERS PARADISE .I have heard that most beaches from MIAMI north are producing good catches of tailor.
cheers Terry

masterdusky
03-07-2007, 11:35 AM
scalem I dont really mind the cowds a little sarcas mthere ;) tailor on + shoulder to shoulder fishing, what concerns me more is the fact I see some of the same guys night after night aiming ti fill there buckets, tailor doesnt freeze well, and really who can eat that much fish, say u go out 5 nights a week, 10 tailor a night.... .50 fish !!!1 damn thats a of fish...... :D:D

jim_bream
03-07-2007, 05:01 PM
What are slider lures. I was spinning with radars with two single hooks and releasing most fish problem was that i found that hook ups are so good it was damaging the jaw of the chopper tailor when i was trying to get the hooks out especially when two hooks have struck. Any good tips of a better way to rig my lure so I dont damage the fish so much?
SLIDERS are lures made by SLIDER (See ausfish usernames) who is abit of legend up Teewah Beach way, one of the most knowledgeable fisho's (and a damn decent sort too) I have had the pleasure of knowing. Email him and he'll organise a few of these bad babies for ya. Almost impossible for a tailor to headshake these lures, damn clever (simple) design.
jimbo

alleycat
03-07-2007, 06:10 PM
I hit narrow neck this morning, its easy to find just head south of the seaway until your right in front of the purple building, also take some pillies or whitebait as well, we got 8 this morning on lures then nothing but the bait guys were still getting a few.

ddobson
03-07-2007, 07:29 PM
My wife was down the coast today on holidays and rang and told me of hundreds of men lined up south os the spit ready for a night of tailor. Boats were out in WAITING AS WELL. Just another tip off.

BILLSMITH
03-07-2007, 07:41 PM
nice catch mate, took me old man there last nite for a bit of a go. same deal they only came on the chew after dark. we both had a ball. go get'em boys.........

03-07-2007, 10:36 PM
scalem I dont really mind the cowds a little sarcas mthere ;) tailor on + shoulder to shoulder fishing, what concerns me more is the fact I see some of the same guys night after night aiming ti fill there buckets, tailor doesnt freeze well, and really who can eat that much fish, say u go out 5 nights a week, 10 tailor a night.... .50 fish !!!1 damn thats a of fish...... :D:D
I hear ya mate, personally, I agree. If I gave a fish each to every single relative and every friend, I think 50 fish might just about do it ( only the relatives, I have no friends!!;D ;D ;D )

But it's their choice.... maybe they have bigger families and circle of friends than me, it's not my right to judge anybody that catches within the bag limits unless I individually interview them and ask the question - "hey mate, are all those fish going to be consumed or put in the freezer?" No point in worrying about it unless I ask the question.

_Dan_
04-07-2007, 07:32 AM
I wouldnt think that was too bad, 50 tailor a week. As most of you would know before the limits, many people would take double that in one session.

Personally nothing wrong with taking a few choppers, when the big boys come through they will be harder to find.

I have used sliders also, i went to a certian shop yesterday to grab another couple and they said they hadnt been able to get a hold of Lindsay, but they now sell the slug for the slider seperate and you can make them yourself with plastic coated wire, they were about $5 for the slug.

T1
04-07-2007, 07:48 AM
Any reports from last night (Tues night) from the coast?

Take Care T

murf
07-07-2007, 06:35 AM
Well done Graham, a bit of fun in that lot

who needs to go to Fraser when you can catch a good feed like that on the Goldie;)

Cheers Murf

beachie
08-07-2007, 07:24 AM
I hope all those fishos are going to leave some for us up here. No wonder it's been a bit quiet. Has anyone got onto good size and numbers on the Sunny coast?

beachie
08-07-2007, 07:51 AM
Not yet Pete. They seem to be takin a while to get up here. How about yourself.

whynott
09-07-2007, 06:30 AM
Well, went and spent a few hours there last night.
Only caught a total of 6 and they were just legal.
Looks like all the chat about them moving on is correct.
I did not see many caught at all last night.
At least i can say that I have had my fair share, and it was good fishing when I posted the first report in this subject.

Now to get ready for the onslaught in a couple of months chasing the greenbacks at Fraser.

Now that is fantastic beach fishing.

Graham.

beachie
09-07-2007, 03:31 PM
i'll be headin out fri night. i will keep you all informed when they come a swimmin by maroochy on their way to Fraser.

Beachie

whynott
10-07-2007, 06:07 AM
On Sunday night, there was very little white water in the surf.
Maybe that had something to do with the fish being scarce.

Graham.

stoker
10-07-2007, 07:25 PM
narrow neck is just below main beach on the gold coast

fishel
11-07-2007, 09:00 AM
Thats what I want to know.

You need a Beacon to Beacon. Lots of vital locality info in there. It is between Surfers and Main Beach.

Eleanor

RobSee
11-07-2007, 03:28 PM
My girl went out and got 13 in about 1.5 hours just before dusk on monday afternoon. She went out by herself in our Galeforce 4.8. A few other boats ventured over near her as if to confirm with themselves that it was a chick out there getting a few.

We cleaned and filleted them on Monday night. Then she forgot to get rid of the frames on Tuesday morning, so it was up to me to dispose of a bucket full of tailor frames and guts this morning.

I tell you - it was a smell that could outlast religion! I was then unable to eat breakfast, and only managed to have a bit of lunch just now...

Slider
13-07-2007, 11:28 AM
Dan, you'd hope that with the fax, mobile, landline and email details of mine that he has he'd be able to get me one way or another. Not to mention I run into him twice a week on the beach. Anyway Sliders are available and emailing me at ldines@bigpond.net.au works fine.

Kinda scary the number of fish that would have been taken over the week at Narrowneck given that all of those tailor would have gone there to spawn. Doesn't mean that every fish is taken before spawning but there certainly would have been a lot of fish that didn't get the opportunity.

Lindsay

whynott
15-07-2007, 06:09 AM
Check this site out for the latest beach conditions:

http://www.coastalwatch.com/templates/default.aspx

Might go tonight for a little while.

Graham.

JRJR
28-07-2007, 10:25 AM
Last time I fished there I couldn't hook up and hold a single fish on a 4/0 hook gang hook.(a few weeks ago) Looks like they are getting bigger now.

shorty 01
28-07-2007, 10:54 AM
what a night well done

davo