View Full Version : Good braid on ebay
Deiter
29-06-2007, 06:11 AM
There has been the odd post going around about ppl buying braid off ebay only to find it is much thicker than the stated and a crap weve in general. I too have had this experience and got fair stuck into one seller who tried to tell me that my digital verniers were lying and i didn't know what i was talking about, even though the 30lb line i bought was thicker than the 80lb platil i have on my heavy rig.
Well, i couldn't help myself the other day took the plunge on some jigging braid (multi-coloured). After i won the auction i emailed them to say i wanted to come and measure it before i payed as they were in Brisbane at shailer park.
What a refreshing change to be told that it would be fine, infact they encouraged it, as they wanted to make sure that that they were accurately describing their products.
Long story short, i took my verniers down and everything was spot on. I even checked the rest of their range and it was right too.
THese guys are also keen fisherman, unlike the some who are only importers out for a buck.
Here's the link if anyone is interested.
http://myworld.ebay.com.au/deepbluesports
Damo
29-06-2007, 06:51 AM
Damo..........i went to that bloke at Shailer Park the other day and picked up a 500mt spool of 50lb multi coloured braid fror jigging.................. nice people, great to fdeal with. Highly recommend them.
I am no braid expert but just running it through my fingers, it fellt good........i am happy you had the same experience and I feel better knowing the braid seems good.
I will dcertainly buy his braid again.
PS: Hows ya bum for grubs????????/ Please explain ;D
29-06-2007, 06:56 AM
G'day Deiter, have to admit I love an Ebay opportunity!
Nearly bought some mono of these guys last week but held back and bought off another seller from Melb.
DBS don't give any specs on their mono re diameter, whereas the mob I purchased from did.
Must admit I was happy with what I bought, it was certainly as described, thin and with very little stretch.
Great to see some ethical sellers on Ebay!
Deiter
29-06-2007, 10:10 PM
Bit of an update. Loaded my spool tonight, even counted the 50 odd colours on (bit anal, i know), and low and behold, seems the label on the spool of line may be incorrect after all., coz i still have about another 500m of line left!!!!Should have been 1km of 50lb, not 500m.
Mike, interested to see how you went???? Also, did you see the poppers they are selling soon?? big suckers, designed by and will be sold under Brad Smith's name i am told.
Damo
30-06-2007, 07:16 AM
HAvent as yet Deoter, doing it today, will let you know tonight mate
30-06-2007, 07:48 AM
Damo..........i went to that bloke at Shailer Park the other day and picked up a 500mt spool of 50lb multi coloured braid fror jigging.................. nice people, great to fdeal with. Highly recommend them.
PS: Hows ya bum for grubs????????/ Please explain ;D
You bugger. You didn't call in the say gidday :'(
I don't smell anymore...I had a shower ;D
30-06-2007, 07:54 AM
I actually started mine the other day Dieter, but couldnt get it al on, had to wind it back off. Had to much mono on as backing. will do it today and let you know
PS: Scott, didnt call in cause I thought you were coming here this weekend..........just joking mate
RimSki
30-06-2007, 02:15 PM
couldnt get it al on, had to wind it back off. Had to much mono on as backing.Answer to ya problem:
Spool Braid first then top up with Mono, using a battery drill with a long bolt and nut attach a spare line spool (like what the line comes on) and run the mono off, use a second spool and run the Braid off, run the Mono backing back onto the reel then the Braid,..... perfect fit.
Alternatively Run the Mono and Braid off the reel together, then reverse it onto another spool, then onto the reel.
RimSki
ffejsmada
30-06-2007, 02:37 PM
Answer to ya problem:
Spool Braid first then top up with Mono, using a battery drill with a long bolt and nut attach a spare line spool (like what the line comes on) and run the mono off, use a second spool and run the Braid off, run the Mono backing back onto the reel then the Braid,..... perfect fit.
Alternatively Run the Mono and Braid off the reel together, then reverse it onto another spool, then onto the reel.
RimSki
Yeah, I did this the other day for the first time. No worries, worked really well.
Totally eliminates the guesswork for how much backing is required.
I tied the braid and backing together the first time i loaded the spool, then transferred to my spare spool. Simple.
Jeff.
dodgyone
30-06-2007, 08:48 PM
I managed to get a couple of the spools of Varivas Braid cheap before everyone realised what they were worth.
Basshunter
01-07-2007, 09:58 AM
Just wondering what brand braid it was or does he only sell the one type
01-07-2007, 12:50 PM
Just wondering what brand braid it was or does he only sell the one type
Details as follows off spool label:
Rainbow Braid
Deep Blue Power Tackle
24kg 0.34mm dia.
500mts
Ultra Sensitive Super Tuff PE Dyneema
Technicolor, different colour every 10 mts
Feels good running it through the fingers. Dia. as marked. I counted 54 colour bands when spooling reel up, so guess i got a bonus 40 meters ;D
I paid $46.50 for the 500 mt spool. Bargain in my books.
Heres his ebay store
http://stores.ebay.com.au/DEEPBLUE-Online-Fishing-Superstore
Kick my butt and tell me if i shouldnt put this up Mods, and I'll edit it out of the post ;D
Feral
01-07-2007, 07:25 PM
Thanks for the info!
Although I tend to stick with my favourite spiderwire, I just get it from USA sellers on Ebay, a heck of a lot cheaper than through the shops here! Fireline is also available from USA sellers quite cheaply (best to watch there postage, and go for the 1000 to 1500m spools, keeps postage costs to a minimum)
With care you can get a 1500m spool of spiderwire delivered to your door for under $100 Australian.
adriang
02-07-2007, 04:28 PM
I bought some braid from Deepwater Fishing on ebay last week. I for the 6lb stuff called Blueware Fishing Blue Steel Dyneema Braid. . Basically I think it is crap, and I'd not reccomend it. Used it for the first time on Sat night, and it is very 'loosely knitted', and seems to be very prone to fraying, and I've no idea what would be causing it (checked the reel and rings, but it's a brand new outfit, and I'd be p****d if it was).
I actually contacted them this morning, asking them if they had a bad batch or something, and they said that is the way it is, it is not $50 quality line.
I got it for about $20 including postage and so on for 200 metres, and from what I've compared with some others, I should have got the stuff that was 25% off at Kmart.
Feral
02-07-2007, 08:12 PM
BLuewater fishing's blue braid is crap, also about 5 times thicker than they advertise. They have some yellow stuff that is not to bad if you get it cheap!. It actually is about the right thickness, but does tend to hold a lot of water (not nice using on a cold night, you get a shower as you wind in!)
Also I had another look at that mob with the multi colour braid, they dont seem to advertise a line diameter for it on their site? How did you know what size it was supposed to be Deiter?
Deiter
02-07-2007, 10:16 PM
BLuewater fishing's blue braid is crap, also about 5 times thicker than they advertise. They have some yellow stuff that is not to bad if you get it cheap!. It actually is about the right thickness, but does tend to hold a lot of water (not nice using on a cold night, you get a shower as you wind in!)
Also I had another look at that mob with the multi colour braid, they dont seem to advertise a line diameter for it on their site? How did you know what size it was supposed to be Deiter?
It was on the listing.
I got burnt by the Blue Steel crap aswell. Stay away.
moater
03-07-2007, 02:23 AM
Methinks vested interests somwhere ???
Deiter
03-07-2007, 11:18 AM
Methinks vested interests somwhere ???
Nah mate, couldn't be further from the truth. I found what i thought was a good honest product amongst the dodgy ones and thought i would share it with anyone who might be in the market.
If you have your suspicions, don't buy it - i won't lose any sleep.;)
Damo
03-07-2007, 12:55 PM
I almost bought some of that jigging braid last week but got scared off by not being able to touch it, thanks deiter for the heads up, now how to bid against all this extra competition!:)
Feral
03-07-2007, 07:37 PM
Here is a good example of brand name stuff from th estates
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=010&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=200121816845&rd=1&rd=1
It was about $25 Australian delivered last I looked at it. I reckon it will go well under the $100 Australian it would cost you in a tackle shop here.
03-07-2007, 07:56 PM
This thread is a bit of an eye opener for me as I am looking to buy some 80lb braid and I keep looking at ebay but I dont know what to buy.
I would really hate to buy a roll and spool it up only to ruin an entire fishing trip because it is crap and too big a diameter (reason for using the braid is smaller diameter(deepwater fishing)).I would rather pay good money to somebody that is selling a quality product.
Is that multicoloured stuff available in 80lb.Is there any others that can be recommended(vested interests aside Deiterhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif)