View Full Version : When is a Snapper a Snapper??
27-06-2007, 04:00 PM
Gidday again all,
I've had this discussion with a few blokes over the ages and I was wondering what your opinion and/or theory is on the subject of when is a Snapper a Snapper and not a Squire.
Please leave what you consider a Snapper or Squire and the reasons why.
Also leave the way you mainly fish....plastics or stinky bait
I hope this will be fun thing to do and all bickering will be light hearted. ;D
I'll start the ball rolling...
A Snapper is a Snapper when they are hard to get in the standard landing net.
I used to think a Snapper had a knob on the noggin' but since I've frequented this site I've seen some impressive Snappers without a knob on the noggin'. It must be a Bay thing.
And a Squire is a Snapper in the making. IMO anything with dots is a squire and needs about 2-3 years under it's belt to be able to be called a Snapper.
ie to me..... a baby member of the Snapper family is a Squire just the same as a baby member of the dog family is a pup and a baby member of the sheep family is a lamb etc
So start cutting me down....;D
Ooh, please leave snapper pictures and stories too :)
I didn't vote as I call everything a squire! Mainly just to irk Peter!;)
With my PB STILL sitting at 42cm :'( "squire"but when Peter comes home with a new PB of 52cm "snapper" I still called it a squire - just to stir him up! ;D Now he calls everything a snapper! :)
I probably would too - if I ever catch one big enough! ;D
Janine
rubba
27-06-2007, 04:14 PM
mate i like a snapper with a nob and looks like an old man mate
Seahorse
27-06-2007, 04:25 PM
if it over 35cm its a keeper and a snapper.
Taste should be same.
no use non stinky bait but not plastic.
Hope to get more snapper this saturday
greg
Seahorse
27-06-2007, 04:27 PM
and one more thing. When fish is near the boat and u hear me scream" holy SNAPPING duck shit" then it must be a snapper
onerabbit
27-06-2007, 04:28 PM
Dont think it really matters how big they are, cockney bream, red bream , squire etc.................................they are all snapper when they are born ( hatched ).
Are you sure it's not all just a marketing ploy???
27-06-2007, 04:28 PM
I went with they are all snapper option, the dont fit in the landing next option, well I only have a tiny landing net.
27-06-2007, 04:34 PM
I had decreed about a year ago that 60cm is the point on Ausfish that they can be refered to as snapper.
part of my reasoning was around the South Australian rules where they are allowed a certain amount of "pinkies", and a certain amount of snapper. The SA dpi rules use 60cm as the snapper size.
Any snapper that I have seen that is 60cm looks like a snapper to me.
5 kilos is our target for off shore, any thing under that is a "snappery squire", really still a squire
Brian
B_E_N
27-06-2007, 04:58 PM
its a snapper when its has its knob, coz there the bigger ones, even a bump ill call a snapper but the smaller squire will still have a round shape to their head. plus they call them snapper coz they will snap you off more times than not! and ive seen plenty of BIG snapper with pretty blue dots on them so that cancels that out. i think you can tell when to call it a snapper and when not, theres no size where they are a true snapper coz some develop different to others, i think when their head gets bigger and its body shape changes from bream like almost, to that snapper shape, blunt front tapering back, my opion anyway.
ffejsmada
27-06-2007, 05:00 PM
Threads similar to this have been done to death haven't they?
Anyway here's some pics of real Snapper!!
27-06-2007, 05:18 PM
They become snapper with age the age is when they hit double figures ie 10lb anything else is a squire and needs to BLOODY WELL GROW UP!!!
Jack
sambos
27-06-2007, 05:47 PM
tough questin to answer .i judge every fish on its look .they need to show signs of maturity.some some signs may be a knob or large top lip or sheer bulk,however every one is different.You can just pick adults (snapper) from adolesents(snappery squire ) after looking at plenty.Definately nothing under 3kg.
27-06-2007, 06:11 PM
Knob or blunt looking noggin
Cheers Chris
snasman
27-06-2007, 07:12 PM
I was always taught as a young fella ,it wasnt a snapper till it had a bump on its mellon.Thats the standing rule in my boat
27-06-2007, 07:32 PM
So if I read the results of the survey thus far you fella's and ladies are trying to tell me the first picture is a picture of a Snapper?? :-/ (he was released after the picture ;D)
For me, that's a baby squire (pity there wasn't a name for a smaller version of a member of the snapper family then squire)
The next is the cook's catch which I'd class as borderline nobby (he's lost the spots and starting to get colour and the bump on the noggin') and the last picture is a medium size knobby (the fish that is not the other thing in the picture. That's me ;D)
Keep the theories coming all.
I'm really enjoying this and the pictures are great especially the picture of the nobby's in the net. Sad but interesting :)
27-06-2007, 07:37 PM
I didn't vote as I call everything a squire! Mainly just to irk Peter!;)
With my PB STILL sitting at 42cm :'( "squire"but when Peter comes home with a new PB of 52cm "snapper" I still called it a squire - just to stir him up! ;D Now he calls everything a snapper! :)
I probably would too - if I ever catch one big enough! ;D
Janine
It all depends on whose boat you are in Herm!!;) ;D ;D
is it a snapper with a bump?:-/
this fish was only just legal in NSW and look at its knob
Stew is standing about 3m behind the fish;D
Murf
27-06-2007, 08:27 PM
Hiya Finga.
I would definitely call Cass' fish a snapper.
They all taste like snapper to me!
Recent convert to plastics, but I won't be leaving the bait at home just yet!
The esky is a 240 ltr model.
trevcob
27-06-2007, 08:58 PM
I think 3 kg and up sounds good .
Over the first beer it's a squire...
By the fourth it's a snapper...
after six it's friggen moby dick!
Gotta have a bump on the noggin
SeaSaw
27-06-2007, 10:29 PM
I used to subscribe to the bump theory .... still do really .... but I got one that went just under 7kg and had no bump at all. Hard to call it a squire at that size.
27-06-2007, 11:10 PM
They become snapper once their capable of mounting a female Snap Her ??? and thats around the 30cm mark
27-06-2007, 11:20 PM
That one net full of snapper represents about the total of the pictures that we see from happy anglers in a year on Ausfish. Makes ya wonder what all the fuss is about in relation to amateur fishos in Moreton Bay. :-/
For me, that's a baby squire (pity there wasn't a name for a smaller version of a member of the snapper family then squire)
The next is the cook's catch which I'd class as borderline nobby (he's lost the spots and starting to get colour and the bump on the noggin') and the last picture is a medium size knobby
Finga, I am pretty comfortable with your description, although when I talk to non-fishos, I call all of them "snapper". It is only when I talk to fishos that I call the majority of what I catch, "squire".
....and of course, I am a bait fisho. :)
onerabbit
27-06-2007, 11:23 PM
Crap, nice pics ffejsmada,
& yes, it has been done before,
little snap,
ok snap,
nice snap,
NOW THATS A SNAP............
Freeeedom
28-06-2007, 04:51 AM
In New Zealand, where they are as common as bream are here, they do not develop the knob on the head no matter how large they grow. Does that mean that Kiwis can't catch snapper?
Cheers Freeeedom
gleeeza
28-06-2007, 08:11 AM
I don't care what you call them I just love to catch them. An iconic fish where I grew up and without exception when I went door to door for $2 a platey no one gave a crap what we called them(Long,Long time ago).
Who doesn't love to nail a beast!!! but who really looses sleep if you don't. I will take a little red any day over an empty fish box.
Cheers Glenn
28-06-2007, 08:15 AM
you only catch squire in QLD so I guess all our fish are Snapper! and the bump on their head as absolutely no bearing on size, I caught a 12KG model with a perfectly rounded head, but have got a 3KG one with a huge lump, so forget the silly bit of reasoning.
28-06-2007, 09:07 AM
Over 60 is a Snap to me
Under 60 and above 40 a squire and great eating
Under 35 are rats
28-06-2007, 09:27 AM
When is a snapper a snapper?
When it's born!
28-06-2007, 09:35 AM
they are ALWAYS a Snapper, they are BORN "Pagrus Auratus" and they stay that way, the DO NOT change species with size or age, just get over it, a small Whiting is the same as a big Whiting, we do not call them anything different, their latin name (true species identity) does not alter!! end of story!
Hi Finga,
After many a debate sometime ago on this topic with the guys i fish with,we came up with any fish over 50cm has lived for at least 7 years and therefore is well on its way to becoming a mature fish(SNAPPER). Anything under i would call a squire.(my veiw only)agree or disagree,each to their own.
Happy Snapper/Sqiure Fishing Ausfishers ;D
Cheers Voda <:{{{><
28-06-2007, 11:25 AM
Yep I agree a snapper is always a snapper but we commonly call juvenile members (or different stages of developmental)of a species by a different name ie pup-dog, kitten-cat, lamb-sheep, babies, toddlers, teenagers, pains in the --se, adults, geriatrics etc.
And according to the Queensland Government (would they be wrong on something as critical as this??) a juvenile member of the snapper species is called a squire and there are definite differences between the stages of physical development.
http://www2.dpi.qld.gov.au/fishweb/2532.html
By the sounds of it a snapper is getting out of the squirey stage when the dots fall off and a few other things start to happen (at least in QLD).
Any opinions on this?? :)
Keep the theories coming and also what you use to catch the buggers ie plastics or bait.
Cheers Scott :)
Adamy
28-06-2007, 11:50 AM
Threads similar to this have been done to death haven't they?
Holy crap!! no never seen that piccy before - thats a lot of SQUIRE;D;D
They become snapper once their capable of mounting a female Snap Her ??? and thats around the 30cm mark
I get it::)
Adam
oddbudman
28-06-2007, 12:48 PM
Snapper, Squire they are the same thing. I tend to find myself using the names interchangeably.
Snapper are the ones you bother to take photos of ......the bigest of these fish had the smallest knob .
bluefin59
28-06-2007, 04:50 PM
this is a snapper in my books i use the 50cm theory anything under we call squire even though they are all snaps technically according to d.p.i from what i gather.....::) ::) ::)
guru2
28-06-2007, 05:30 PM
a wise man once told me you look at the bump on their head if they have one it is a snapper if they dont it is a squire
if I catch it then it is a snapper....;D
anyone else gets one....only a squire::)
Brucie Boy
30-06-2007, 03:00 PM
Call me old fashioned but I think they're all called Squire until they can't fit into a standard landing net...but they all taste the same...I will use smelly bait but I prefer plastic
......the bigest of these fish had the smallest knob .
nah, only fishos that think BIG snapper are the only ones called snapper have the small knobs... a bit like men in red sports cars, it's called compensation..:grin::grin::grin::grin::grin::grin:
Martinb
30-06-2007, 07:42 PM
everyone a snappers a snapper from the day there born and theres no change in that.
the only time a snapper isnt a snapper is when you dont release it.
Martinb
30-06-2007, 07:44 PM
nah, only fishos that think BIG snapper are the only ones called snapper have the small knobs... a bit like men in red sports cars, it's called compensation..:grin::grin::grin::grin::grin::grin:
oi mate look at the voting poll and you'll find your answer
sambos
30-06-2007, 10:26 PM
the only time a snapper isnt a snapper is when you dont release it.[/quote]
it still is come to my house where having snapper for tea.
and its well over 3 kg
01-07-2007, 07:49 AM
I had a brain wave last night whilst not able to sleep.
I reckon I know why the poll shows a lot of people (that voted) don't distinguish/recognise the difference between a wee little tyke of a member of the snapper family AND a grown up member of the snapper family.
I reckon most of those that vote ALL are snapper use plastics.
Gees I don't eat plastic food and fish aren't that dumb. But of course some may be unhappy and want to commit hurry curry (is that right?? or is that the fast Indian chew and spew??)
We all know the majority of people that use plastics ARE YOUNGER then the sticky bait brigade and as such like all those trendy things like designer bottled water, doof doof noises coming out of the car, ubeaut $2000 coffee makers, patterns on top of coffee and of course plastic bait.
They also call their meals brunch, lunch (if they have it) and dinner.
And as such they are more likely to be on a computer that has internet access and thusly more likely to vote on this poll.
Whilst the down to earth plodder is out busy catching REAL snapper (not those baby ones I refer to as squire) with his/her STINKY bait. No time for all that nancy fancy stuff. We drink water out of the tap, listen to 4BC, drink instant coffee and tea made with loose leaf tea in a teapot and of course the only topping on our beverage of choice is the crumbs from our homemade Anzacs after we've dunked them.
And our meals are brekky, dinner and tea.
Definitely no time for the idiot net let alone polls on the idiot net.
The real fisherpersons know the difference between babies and real fish just the same as he/she knows that real reels don't go ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ZZZZZZ.
Ta Webby. I didn't really know what the go was with that. I thought they all had crook keyboards or the fight of the fish was that piddle poor the person had gone to sleep, or the person concerned had a sleep disorder and keeled over at the drop of a hat sound asleep (I thought we had an apademic on our hands :()
They go rumdba, rumbda, rumdba as the handles whack on your fingers and palm as you let line off the spool of the good old Alvey.
If and when they (the plastic brigade) catch a REAL knobby they'll soon know the difference.
I suppose if all you catch are the little ones you don't know any different :-/
Then again I might be all balls up
What do you have to say to that all you young whipper snappers??
Cheers and have a pleasant day
Scott :)
oi mate look at the voting poll and you'll find your answer
yep, looks like 50% own red sports cars.;D
jake_snapper_king
01-07-2007, 12:56 PM
when its legal
hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
01-07-2007, 08:27 PM
oi finga i dont use sp's
there is a juvenile and a grown snapper but who says there any different we dont call humans different because they have grown up,
just nicknames like toddlers but the the scientific name for a snapper is "Pagrus Auratus" and that explains everything
one name one fish.
Cheers Chris
hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
01-07-2007, 08:31 PM
yep, looks like 50% own red sports cars.;D
OK
yeah i own a red ferrari f50 mate.;D
i tow my new boat with it.:)
01-07-2007, 09:06 PM
oi finga i dont use sp's
there is a juvenile and a grown snapper but who says there any different we dont call humans different because they have grown up,
just nicknames like toddlers but the the scientific name for a snapper is "Pagrus Auratus" and that explains everything
one name one fish.
Cheers Chris
And the proper name for a silkworm is Bombyx mori but how many would be able to distinguish between the stages of development of the one species.
Here's an experiment....Grab a silkworm. Bung in front of some 4th graders and ask what it is.
They'll say a silkworm....duh.
Imagine the looks of 4th graders if you said that the silkworm eating the mulberry leaves in front of them is in fact a moth (the adult version of the Bombyx mori). But if you explain the stages of development all would be good in the land of the 4th graders.
And the proper name for a human is Homo sapien.
We all call an mature version an adult and a new born version a baby and one in the stupid stage of development a teenager.
They're not nicknames they're distinct stages of development that every member of the species have to go through.
When was the last time you heard someone say oooh look at the little human instead of baby when a juvenile member of the human species googgle and make funny noises
Or bloody humans instead of bloody teenagers when they (a group of humans aged in their teens) do something stupid.
So maybe we should be calling a baby version of the species Pagrus Auratus a squire and a mature version of the species old man snapper or knobby?? .
Everyone is correct in saying that Pagrus Auratus is always a Pagrus Auratus but the rest of the names are just common names (or just nicknames) just like a bloke with no hair is called boldy in Brisbane but he maybe called curly in Sydney.
Every point of reference I have on the bookshelf recognise these different levels of development of the Pagrus Auratus with the 'Australian Fish Guide' 2nd Edition says this about the Pagrus Auratus formerly the Chrysophrys Auratus know as Snapper but "Also known as schnapper, Pink Snapper and Pinkie. With increasing size known as Cockney Bream, Red bream, Squire, snapper and ultimately 'Old man Snapper'".
In Queensland the government also recognises these distinctions of development between tiny tots and mature versions. Why don't we?? (At least in QLD). Their description is taken from Grants.
barkers creek
03-07-2007, 01:27 PM
iv seen 14kg snapper with out bumps on the head ..i mean 14kg squire :((
Martinb
03-07-2007, 02:48 PM
so you practically just said it then.
slight changes in a fish doesnt change the fish alltogether its still one fish.
03-07-2007, 05:46 PM
Cannot see what the argument is all about, a Snapper is a Snapper wether its 2 inches long or 200 inches, just like a Bream is a Bream, you wont find size or limits for nothing else except plain old "Snapper".
And thats all you have to worry about, not its spots,colour or bumps or humps or wether it swim forward or backward.
boombah
04-07-2007, 02:27 PM
Hi All
Bump or no bump...whats the diff.....it doesnt seem to worry the kiwis as their snapper are bumpless....saw a pic a few years back of a snapper caught in a commercial net that was estimated to be 60 lbs.....thats one hell of a squire....
Shaun
when i catch it ITS A SNAPPER ......when you fluke it .. its some sort squirey bream thing you wont eat it would ya??
Martinb
05-07-2007, 10:28 PM
when i catch it ITS A SNAPPER ......when you fluke it .. its some sort squirey bream thing you wont eat it would ya??
OK
what are you trying to tell us Bigb
Martinb
05-07-2007, 10:34 PM
everyone who doesnt say All snapper are snapper" have obvisouly never caught a snapper before
catch one and when your pulling it up you'll say "ive got a snapper".
hookuzup
07-07-2007, 09:55 PM
I voted the knob on the head 35cm two small i throw them back at around 40cm its a pain to clean them but thats just my opinian all of yours may or may not be differant. the size limit should be around 40cm there worth kepping then. most of the time the really small well not really small but around the 50-55cm marks is when the snapper-squire have the massive knob i will try to get some photos in of some big snapper and little snapper
Cheers "Hookuzup" (68cm flattie)
hookuzup
07-07-2007, 09:58 PM
Martinb your write you no when you have a snapper a big bugger they will move your boat they fight so hard you no when you will have a snapper.
The little 35cm there Squire baby try the stonkeres
Cheers "Hookuzup" (68cm Flattie)
jonez
07-07-2007, 10:30 PM
[quote=hookuzup;647942]I voted the knob on the head
Your Wrong,
A Snapper is A snapper ok.
They Eat the same they look the same.
little differences doesnt change a fish.
So your saying your not the same person because youve grown up.
little changes doesnt change a fish.
Snapper {pagrus Auratus}
theres only one scientific name {Pagrus Auratus} and thats just about wraps it up.
Cheers Jonez
snappersnatcher
13-07-2007, 09:14 PM
im from new zealand and over there you cn catch a fish thats 3 inchs long or one that tips the scales at 30 lb and aside from size they all look like snapper from day one. Same fish i think snapper
pennman
15-07-2007, 10:01 AM
Heck you fellows have it easy over there. Here in the states we catch 8 kinds of "snapper" all with differing catch and size limets. All are members of the lutjanus family. We do catch a single member of the pagrus family ( pagrus pagrus) Looks very similar to pagrus auratus you catch. No bump though.
I do think members of the lutjanus family taste better.
crazy charlie
15-07-2007, 03:38 PM
Gday to all,
I havent read all the pages of the thread so Im sorry if I repeating the same info but heres my two bits anyhow.
In SA we use the term ruggers probably on par with what u guys in the eastern states would call squire. Except we would probably call most fish up to around 3 kg a rugger, over three kg heading to 4 kg they lose that round bream shape and become more slender which is when most fisherman I know would call it a schnap.
In the end it doesnt matter what you call them as long as you have the photo for proof I call it a great day, heres a couple of snapper photos I thought u may enjoy
Any excuse will do. :P
Notice the lump, unlike the pussy soft infection some old fish get on their nose this was a rock hard skull deformity, could be hereditary because I have caught ruggers ;D around two kg with similar deformities already developing.
15-07-2007, 04:31 PM
I can feel a set of "mine is bigger than yours" pictures coming on. ;D ;D ;D
flyfisho
15-07-2007, 08:48 PM
CC ,
That would have to be in the running for the uggliest snapper I have seen
15-07-2007, 09:25 PM
I can feel a set of "mine is bigger than yours" pictures coming on. ;D ;D ;D
Excellent. One problem though...I'm out before the fun even begins :-/
minno
15-07-2007, 09:38 PM
I thought it went like this.
First stage is pink bream. Then squire, and then when the hump appeared, its called a snapper?
Then again, I guess all three are.
minno
1975fflh
19-07-2007, 02:19 PM
needs the bump on the head to be called a snapper
bayfisher
19-07-2007, 03:06 PM
needs the bump on the head to be called a snapper
In moreton bay you can sometime catch some pretty big fish without the bump on the head.... your telling me this is not a snapper?
their all snapper in my books but the little ones are also squire and the big ones with bumps are knobbies;D
anyways thats my 2cents
Cheers Chris
Tailortaker
19-07-2007, 03:20 PM
I voted that they are'nt a snapper untill they get the knob on the noggin which means that i havnt caught one yet:'( only caught squire but thats ok because I know that I'll get one someday...Gives me something to strive for and a good excuse to go out fishing, I'm on the hunt for that first big "SNAPPER" ;D
________
RECALL PAXIL (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/paxil/)
Chrome Dome
19-07-2007, 03:53 PM
In the Brisbane River, a 60 cm won't have a knob, whereas in some other parts of Australia a 40cm snapper will...
I say a snapper is a snapper of any size. You say tomato, I say tomarto...
A couple of those Squire in the esky in the image on page 2 of this Thread look a little small.
When I fish, if anything is quite a bit smaller than the previous fish caught (legal size or not) it goes back into the drink. Perhpas he caught those 2 small babies first. It's hard to judge looking at a photo.
Recently I fished with a mate who is by far a more experienced fisherman and has been fishing for many many years. He had just caught 4 good size Squire and started to pull in undersize fish. he was throwing them back at first but when I took my eye off him to make a phone call he must have got tired of catching small squire and threw one into the Esky. I didn't know this until I got back home. It was 30cm, well under size. I was well pissed off as that is the second time he has done this.
Despite having a stick on Ruler inside the boat he never measures, just goes by the , "That's Pan size" Rule.
The time before he was using undersize Squire to slice up and use as bait, got back to shore and found a small 'baby' squire in the esky that he forgot about and just threw it into the water. That's twice he's arrived back at the boat ramp with undersize fish and still no fisheries to check. How many times before has he done the same when I haven't been there with him?!
How many people are pissed off , after reading this?! I won't be fishing with him again. There are a lot of people out there who break the rules.
I have other people do the same to me. I had somebody once catch a heap of trevally and didn't want them and just threw them all back into the water dead. I saw somebody do the same off the long Bribie Jetty but threw them on the sand.
Seems people get in some sort of trance when it comes to catching fish when they are really on the bite and don't really want them but just want to keep catching them and catching them.
These people like my mate sling off at other people yet do the same themselves.
I think fisheries need to get stricter. He's a mate but he needs to get caught to learn his lesson.
25-07-2007, 08:47 AM
Well tell him so
Chrome Dome
25-07-2007, 08:55 AM
That annoys me too.. I have some friends that are the same - I try and show them the way, but sometimes they "stay the course"... I hope, like the people I know, your mate is one of those 95% of people that catch 5% of the fish.
It's always worse when you hear about one of those talented but unscrupulous fisho's raping the waters.
1lastcast
25-07-2007, 12:48 PM
I Think A Snapper Is A Snapper But Little Ones Are Reffered To As Squire And Big Ones Are Reffered To As Knobbies And In Between Are Snapper On The Fisheries Panphlete Isnt The Legal Size For A ( Snapper ) 35cm I Think So Anyway ! Oh No !! I`m Getting A Headache Again Im Going Fishing
When I see him catch a small one now, I tell him as a joke, "That one was only born this morning"
25-07-2007, 07:12 PM
He's lucky he has you for a mate and not me. I'm fairly straight forward and as such I'd be up him like a rat up a rafter.
25-07-2007, 07:13 PM
Ooh I see the knob on the noggin' category is coming up in numbers
My vote is running last. I voted when they loose all the pretty dots :)
Tailortaker
27-07-2007, 02:41 PM
Is this old enough to be a snapper, I think it's a mutton snapper ;D
________
Vapir no2 (http://vapirno2.net)
GHOST-147
30-07-2007, 05:41 PM
A juvenile snapper is a squire. An adult is a snapper. Got nothing to do with the bump on the head. depending on where you are, some areas, adult snapper don't have a bump on the head.
And according to the poll above........ answer....... NONE OF THE ABOVE
Big G
05-08-2007, 12:51 PM
hi,
This pic of Jason from Offshore Marine Master(plate boats) shows my opinion of both snapper and squire.
The one on your left is a snapper, the one on your right is just changing shape. Fish were caught off the Sunshine Coast.
Big G.
Tetsuo
08-08-2007, 08:55 AM
Snapper over about 60cm. I got a 70 from the bay with no knob and have seen 50's offshore with big knobs (on there head).
Go the placcies. First time i tried them on squire I got 20 in 2hrs, best was a 58cm on 6lb in the shallows. Good fun. (its never been so easy since!!)
In vic it's 27cm to 50cm for a pinkie and 50cm and over for a snapper.
The size and bag limit is going to change soon.
So far it's look like it's going to be 32cm to 50cm pinkie and you can keep 5 fish all up .
5 fish to 50cm or
2 fish over 50cm and 3 to 50cm.
At the moment it's
10 to 50cm or
3 over 50cm and 7 to 50cm or 10 all up.
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h198/gozzy_01/knobbynose764.jpg
08-08-2007, 04:35 PM
gees that looks like the ex-mother-in-law :o
minno
20-08-2007, 10:54 PM
I still can,t believe you blokes are going on about this. ;D
Minno
minno
25-08-2007, 07:07 PM
How do you know, if the snapper in question, is a male or a female. Will the hump tell you, whats the go.
Minno
reilly
29-08-2007, 09:36 PM
Check their sientific name its the same there no other listings squire red bream etc etc etc just
Pagrus auratus
Snapper are snapper I love catching them and eating them plate size to my best 10.8kg there all snapper
reilly
29-08-2007, 09:44 PM
How do you know, if the snapper in question, is a male or a female. Will the hump tell you, whats the go.
Minno
Both sexes get head humps but males get it more than females its a genitic disorder Hyperostosis swelling to the bones most probably a disease but no one actuality knows
minno
29-08-2007, 10:00 PM
I didnt know that. Thanks
Minno
flick
04-09-2007, 07:48 PM
Took a mate out last thursday night off the goldie to chase some.
His first one on board is about 40 cm. I inform him it is not a snapper cause there aint no bump. Ten minutes later he lands one at 45cm that dead set has the biggest hump you've ever seen. Looked like a dwarf 8kg fish.
I was left scratching my head.
jim
carpel
07-09-2007, 01:17 PM
when it melts in your mouth and is juicy without being soppy, its a snapper.
When your talking to your mates about your catch;) .. Nagg
no chicken tonight
10-09-2007, 12:24 PM
u call other peoples fish squire and call your own snapper. i think thats the way it works.
but seriously, i belieive there are 2 sub species here on the east coast. one can get very large before it develops any bump and also has a slightly smaller eye. the other will develop a large and somtimes even deformed looking bump at a much smaller size. this one also has larger eye.
Nowhere Bob
12-09-2007, 02:02 PM
N C T, A very interesting call.
Not being a big time offshore fisherman I dont have the experience to comment. Photos of catches seem to back up what you say. Big prominant hump on fish barely 4 or 5 kilos, other times a smallish hump on 10 kilo fish....
I think there may also be a similar geographic sub population of Dusky flathead.
I think it would help the Icthyol, Ickyolog, Fish geeks if we would all start taking a more or less standardised photo. These days with Digi - who cares - it doesn't cost $, you can still take your big smile & big fish shots, but we have the opportunity to actually document them, almost as good as genotyping samples & otoliths but heapso cheaper.
Eg: Single Full fish, lying flat on brag mat, or similar easily read measurer.
I propose all snapper over 7 kilos be photographed on my plate immediately before my consumption.
;D
Flattie Assassin
12-09-2007, 02:05 PM
If it hasn't got a knob then it's a squire in my opinion.
catfish55
15-09-2007, 08:28 PM
when its born acording to the authorities
candogu
08-12-2007, 05:22 PM
They are all snapper to me!!!! Because I can't spell the other name:-[
Noel
10-12-2007, 11:11 AM
It seems to me that we are talking about a acontext sensitive noun, depending on the situation and who you are speaking to what word you use.
I caught a nice little snapper:thumbsup:
You caught a runt squire.:huh:
the one that got away.
to self.... stinkin' little rat:brood:
catchin anything?......just lost a nice little squire.:cool4:
to the missus......nearly landed a good sized squire.....mongrel busted me off.:uhoh:
down the pub.....got busted off by a decent snapper this morning:beer: :smug:
After several more.....It was huge red knobby:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :drunk: :shocked2:
What ever you call it...... if its legal it's welcome in my esky... if itys too big for the esky, i'll throw it back.;D
now can anybody tell me where they are on the bite and who is doing a good price of BIG eskies;D ;D
10-12-2007, 01:38 PM
the knob on the Head has absolutely nothing to do with sub species, age or the size of it's eyes, they are all Snapper, they are born that way and do not change species with age, end of story ,except in QLD for some reason you guys have Squire, might be something to do with being unable to except science or something!
Snodger Sniper
13-12-2007, 02:18 PM
if it over 35cm its a keeper and a snapper.
Snodger Sniper
13-12-2007, 02:19 PM
There is only 1 species!!!! They are all snapper...derrr
Rodman
22-12-2007, 01:13 PM
Guys
A snapper is a Snapper no matter what its size. Fisheries do not recognise a fish called Squire.
So dont get caught saying tht the undersize snapper is a Squire as you will definiately get a on the spot fine.
Ken8-)
22-12-2007, 03:44 PM
Fisheries do not recognise a fish called Squire.
Ken8-)
Yes they do.
It's a juvenile member of the Pagrus auratus family
shayned
22-12-2007, 05:00 PM
;) Aren't they all really schnappers???????
Only when you eat one and wash it down with a glass of Schapps;D
shaneomack05
22-12-2007, 09:52 PM
theyre all snapper. just different bloody names. thats it!!!
i've only caught them on bait at the moment but i'm starting to give them a go on the sp's. cant wait to land that first SNAPPER. doesnt matter what size either. i'm gunna claim it. haha
shane