View Full Version : Happy Times !
26-06-2007, 07:14 PM
Col and his team at Fisher have been putting my new 600 Maxi together of the last few weeks. Here is a few few pics from the build process and I will post a few pics of the finished artwork in the next few weeks. It has been about 18 months off the water for me since selling my old Sportfish and saving the dosh to get just what I wanted this time so I am looking forward to be back on the bluewater.
I cant recommend Fisher Boats highly enough. The whole process has been a pleasure with nothing being to difficult to fit out. If you are looking at a new boat take the time to go and see Col and look over the factory and have a look at the various boats under construction. From what I have seen on the net lately there is a lot of difference in how a platey is made especially under the floor :o
26-06-2007, 07:19 PM
Bit of sponsors product ;)
seatime
26-06-2007, 07:20 PM
look'n good Greg, centre cab?
the fish should be getting nervous.
whoops, posted B4 2nd pics
Wahoo
26-06-2007, 07:23 PM
very nice so far Greg, ok now...... what motoa color of boat, how big is the tinny, com;on dont let us hang LOL,
congrats Greg
26-06-2007, 07:36 PM
What colour for the hull greg ? ;D
26-06-2007, 07:43 PM
Damo - you already know shhhh ! :-X;)
Daz - DF150 going on the back :P
Wahoo
26-06-2007, 07:47 PM
Daz - DF150 going on the back :P
ahhhhh , i was just told a rumor that a nasty color "200" is going on the back;D;D:P
27-06-2007, 06:32 AM
Hey Greg,
I was passing early last week and dropped in for the first time. Col and Max were very approachable,took me for the grand tour round the workshop. I am guessing one of them was yours..........3 were underway. Looking at the pics i recognise the kill tank on the port side.
Also got to see Spin Doctor close up the same day.....cracker of a boat.
You are right, the detail in them is terrific, no wonder they are a good boat. MAybe mid next year for me.
Good luck with the new boat mate, its a ripper.
Achjimmy
27-06-2007, 10:00 AM
Col and his team at Fisher have been putting my new 600 Maxi together of the last few weeks. Here is a few few pics from the build process and I will post a few pics of the finished artwork in the next few weeks. It has been about 18 months off the water for me since selling my old Sportfish and saving the dosh to get just what I wanted this time so I am looking forward to be back on the bluewater.
I cant recommend Fisher Boats highly enough. The whole process has been a pleasure with nothing being to difficult to fit out. If you are looking at a new boat take the time to go and see Col and look over the factory and have a look at the various boats under construction. From what I have seen on the net lately there is a lot of difference in how a platey is made especially under the floor :o
Hi Nice looking boat.
What are the tubes under the motor mount for? Ballast at rest?
Rgds
Wahoo
27-06-2007, 07:39 PM
hi Greg
at what stage is your boat at, is it now ready to paint?
i dont no how old these pics are, i like the idea of the hatch/storage on the port side, keep up dateing as it goes along, i like watching a great boat being built
27-06-2007, 07:42 PM
Hi Nice looking boat.
What are the tubes under the motor mount for? Ballast at rest?
Rgds
Jim - spot on they are ballast tubes
27-06-2007, 07:46 PM
hi Greg
at what stage is your boat at, is it now ready to paint?
i dont no how old these pics are, i like the idea of the hatch/storage on the port side, keep up dateing as it goes along, i like watching a great boat being built
Daz - first pic is only about 4 weeks ago. All the hotwork is done and it is off to the painters this week.
Port kill tank is in front of transom door for toothy critters - lead them straight in the back with no gaff while on the move. Col's off-set transom design is ideal for that.
27-06-2007, 07:56 PM
This pic probably shows set up better
sid_fishes
27-06-2007, 08:09 PM
mate , it all looks good, to col and crew, congrats on another well built/designed boat. keep up the pics as i too like looking at what is being put together buy the best boat builders in the place sid
27-06-2007, 08:15 PM
Col's off-set transom design is ideal for that.
Hey Greg any chance you could elaborate on this "offset transom" I am a little bewuildered by this statement??
To me an offset transom would involve the engine being mounted to the side of the center line of the boat:o
27-06-2007, 08:27 PM
Garry - not to do with the engine position but if you look at the transom pics you can see the distance on the starboard side where you could step onto is significantly smaller than in front of the transom door on the port side. I chose this option over the standard transom which would see the door extended to the rear to the same point as the starboard (does that make sense ? :o:o:o)
Wahoo
27-06-2007, 08:37 PM
so there is a bung in the port killtank, is that why there is a drain pipe out the back of transom?
27-06-2007, 09:01 PM
Daz - Yep they both have their own drain ;)
27-06-2007, 11:44 PM
That is a great looking boat/tank/57chev lol. I bet he's got a nice waiting list.
I'm no boat builder but wouldnt sealing off the back of the whole transom/pod do the same thing as far as ballast goes? Or if this is done also, are the tubes there in case the rear section gets a hole in it?
Cheers Chris
chris_s
28-06-2007, 07:37 AM
Hey Greg, nice looking rig mate. Its a very exciting time isn't it, watching it come to together from the ground up. Some times the wait is unbearable. I will have mine back from the painters next week, can't wait. Hey good luck with it all mate and congrats.
28-06-2007, 07:47 AM
Thanks Chris- look forward to seeing your pics when she is back. The wait has not worried me at all (especially when it is windy ::)). In fact my Sportfish took a lot longer and it's great to head up to the factory each week and see things come together. Each week I was surprised at just how far along she was coming.
Lovey - not 100% sure what you mean but the ballast tubes run a bit over 3/4 of the entire boat length.
goldie 70
28-06-2007, 07:29 PM
Greg,
You will knot regret it one little bit.. To Col and the boys another super job.....
goldie 70
28-06-2007, 07:37 PM
happy fishing Greg.........Just thought (tease) I would give you some NT Joy;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Wahoo
28-06-2007, 10:08 PM
Hey Greg
in the 3rd pic of post #1, is that a new type of bait board on the port side of that pic ?
LOL only kidding ;D
29-06-2007, 07:40 AM
Daz - By hoisting a main sail on the hard top and putting the fan on 3 I could slow troll very cheaply 8-) was just an option I was kicking around with Col ::);D
Goldie - that middle pic of the sunset/rise is a cracker
Wahoo
29-06-2007, 09:27 AM
LOL,
cheers mate
04-07-2007, 11:10 PM
Platey Porn - she should have some clothes on now :P
04-07-2007, 11:24 PM
Ready for a coat of Greg special ;D ;D ;D
Bring it on !
crazboutfishin
05-07-2007, 08:45 AM
Greg, Congrats on your new boat. Im surprised the wait hasnt been hard. It was killing me!!! Every time i went up there with dad it made it that much harder. haha. But trust me its worth it. These machines are incredible. Just last tuesday on the way back from Barwons we were doing around 25-26 knots in half a meter to a meter chop in our 6.8 maxi (Spin Doctor) and it did everything beautifly. After she gets painted you'll start to feel the wait. haha. Congrats again.
Crazy
Mad-One
05-07-2007, 10:00 AM
Nice boat Greg and well worth the wait by the sounds of it. Not long now and you can hit the water
Cheers Mad
Wahoo
05-07-2007, 04:20 PM
im sorry Greg but the new colour of the boat and the colour of the mota is not going to match;D
Clyde
05-07-2007, 10:28 PM
Greg,
Hope all goes well, we can understand your excitement. Dad picked up his 6m Fisher 'Dabula Manzi' (Zulu for cuts "through the water") from Col and Ralph last month.
It certainly lives up to its name and never in our 25yrs visiting Rainbow and fishing out of a 14ft centre console have we caught fish like we have and so easily done so in this boat.
I'm glad the old fella went for a 175 to carry the "family" (4 South Africans and me) to the good grounds (where the redies are etc). Seems we have dreamed to catch fish like these for a long time and with this boat the dream is finally coming true. What a difference a fantastic boat like this makes.
She'll be back in the shop next week for a new all weather cover, first engine service and a few tweaks, back in time just for my holidays next weekend.
John,
Hope you get to hear about this, awesome boat, hope to catch s??*t loads of fish with you.
Greg,
What colour and engine size did you go with? The colour changes on the water and they all look awesome. Have had a few beers this evening before catching up on Ausfish tonight and adding this comment, all the best as I'm sure the wait you've gone through will be worth it, as it was for us.
Look out Rainbow (fishing comp - first time with a boat we can sleep in and catch fish all night!!!)
Saludos,
Clyde
05-07-2007, 11:05 PM
For colour i reckon go a sort of burnt orange, and maybe put a marlin stencil on the side.;) It will be a original you'll never see another around like it:D
06-07-2007, 06:28 AM
Clyde,
have you guys ever spun for Mackerel down at DI Pt itself in your old boat. I rember one guy doing it there with a centrepin reel. Seems you SA guys really know how to use them and must have better reels than Alveys. I have heard they have bearings in them and you get some pretty good casts going. This fella had something like an old Seafarer with twins I think and no bimini or anything. You just mentioned your last boat was a CC though. I think I saw a centrepin reel on your new boat the other day. How did you go? We did pretty good that spot there in the afternoon.
Clyde
06-07-2007, 04:29 PM
Smithy,
Sure did turn out to be a great afternoon. We got a couple of fish but spent more time trying to get hours up on the motor and play with the new toy.
The reels you saw on the boat we only use for bottom bashing. I have never tried casting with them to be honest. Some have bearings and some are bushed.
Have caught plenty of mackerel off DI but never by spinning.
I'm headed back down next week so hope we get some good weather.
Clyde
11-07-2007, 09:17 PM
She is back from the painters with some new clothes.
No more sunburnt orange paint left Ian ;)
Clyde - do you like that colour ;);D;D;D;D
Tim_N
12-07-2007, 08:40 AM
Getting there now Greg.
Chris Ryan
12-07-2007, 11:15 AM
That colour looks great Greg. Not far away now :)
Puff
Wahoo
12-07-2007, 07:12 PM
the boat is looking good, blu is good
are you going to get some blu pin stripeing for your mota so it dont look out of place??;D;)
(kidding mate)
have you worked out what sounder / GPS you will be running?
you dont have to answer in that order ;D;D
12-07-2007, 07:46 PM
Really coming along now!!!
That colour scheme looks the goods, even matches the winch!!!!
Will be an excellent camouflague colour outside ;)
12-07-2007, 09:34 PM
Thanks guys - it is all coming together well.
Daz - will be running a Furuno 585 with a thru-hull 600w trany (new ducer set-up on the boat by Col) and Lowrance 7200C Globalmap with Zuke engine interface kit. Also be running Reelax gunnel mount outriggers and Canon Downrigger :P:P
Wahoo
13-07-2007, 07:12 AM
Thanks guys - it is all coming together well.
Daz - will be running a Furuno 585 with a thru-hull 600w trany (new ducer set-up on the boat by Col) and Lowrance 7200C Globalmap with Zuke engine interface kit. Also be running Reelax gunnel mount outriggers and Canon Downrigger :P:P
LOL
Greg you will love the 585........... but why are you going with the 7200c and not the gp7000:-/
13-07-2007, 07:48 AM
Mainly for the NMEA 2000 interface and Navionics Charts. Either would be good but thats the main reason I went this way. Save on fuel flow gear as well as all the other info you can get off the Zukes connection.
7200C can also have radar if I chose to much later on :P:P:P
17-07-2007, 05:07 PM
Up to Caboolture today for a look see. Getting very close now.
First pic shows how clean the transom is with the QL tabs and thru hull transducer set up - nothing else to go on the back except the engine :P:P
Wahoo
20-07-2007, 09:06 PM
Up to Caboolture today for a look see. Getting very close now.
First pic shows how clean the transom is with the QL tabs and thru hull transducer set up - nothing else to go on the back except the engine :P:P
the boat of yours is coming along very nice 8-)
in saying that have a real good read on the 4212 or the 5008 ( Garmin ) i only wish i did at the time, kick myself now, or you can buy my 3006 at a great price ;D
20-07-2007, 09:13 PM
Daz - I am still waiting for my Lowrance ::)::)
Got to take Kajiki home for the weekend to put some stuff in and hopefully when USPS delivers the GPS and interface she will be finished next week :P:P
To say I am rapt is an understatement. Col and the guys have delivered again
20-07-2007, 09:17 PM
2nd mate ready to go ;D
Seat boxes came up a treat too 8-)
Water pics next week ;)
Wahoo
20-07-2007, 09:27 PM
them last pics are GREAT, congrats on a fine looking boat, well done
just hope "one" day i will be down your way and you will invite me for a fish ;D;D;D
and same if your up this way any time
PS: do you need a bricklayer for your new shed;D
love the name also........... Pacific Blue marlin ( Kajiki )
Ninja
20-07-2007, 09:36 PM
Still ugly mate;) .
fly_1
22-07-2007, 09:19 AM
Mate, looks great, but I hope you realise thats the 3rd "kajiki" on the coast now???
22-07-2007, 04:02 PM
Mate, looks great, but I hope you realise thats the 3rd "kajiki" on the coast now???
Trent - Surprised there are not more around with the name but it wont worry me too much as I keep fairly quiet on the radio 8-)8-)8-);D
Daz - no probs !
fly_1
23-07-2007, 06:04 AM
It wouldnt bother me either, its a great name, and the new toy looks bloody great. Look forward to seeing it down the ramp.
Trent
Clyde
29-07-2007, 09:33 PM
Greg,
Is that a 150 or 175? What's your top speed?
We've just had the old mans out (same size colour etc) for the Rainbow fishing comp. A real pleasure to fish from and great to sleep in when you need a kip on the overnighters.
Clyde
sea raider
30-07-2007, 08:07 AM
:sleeping: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzz!!!!!
30-07-2007, 09:45 AM
Nice rig Greg, congratulations...I know you've waited for some time. You have proven the age old adage, patience is a virtue.
When are you gonna cover her with blood and guts????
what a great result
30-07-2007, 02:10 PM
Clyde - DF150 on the back which spins out to just over 35 knots - thats plenty for me.
Rhys - yep very happy with her. Just been doing a few local runs but hopefully weather will stay good and will be able to get a good shot at some scales.
Searaider ??? - sorry to bore you - if you dont like the post - dont look and dont bother posting a comment - simple hey ????.
DAVE_S
30-07-2007, 06:47 PM
looks very nice greg i,ll have to have a chat with you about your fuel management might fit one on mine gee lemons a hard to find up your way :)
Wahoo
31-07-2007, 02:57 PM
Searaider ??? - sorry to bore you - if you dont like the post - dont look and dont bother posting a comment - simple hey ????.
not to worry Greg, look at the avatar searaider has:-X:-X;D;D
goldie 70
31-07-2007, 09:34 PM
Greg,
Just out of curosity, How many K's/ Lt are you getting???????
Goldie
31-07-2007, 10:31 PM
Goldie - havent run right through the rpms for the fuel numbers but will PM you when I do.
Cruising at around 4000 rpm for 21 knots sips 18l/hr for 2.18km/litre :P:P:P
trolling @6-7 knots burns around 5l/hr
Daz - LOL thanks mate it's no skin off my nose - I am very happy with her
31-07-2007, 10:59 PM
looks great mate! Have a chat to Birdy about polishing the exposed aluminium, alot of work but it looks great;)
And as far as Sea raider goes he just fell asleep to the plesant sound of the suki!! Might need to fire up one of those noisy, stinking, e-tecs to wake him up!!
goldie 70
01-08-2007, 07:52 AM
I have got some problems with fuel usage then as I am only getting about 1.3k's/ Lt cruising @4000rpm - 4500
01-08-2007, 08:24 AM
Goldie - it is amazing how little throttle adjustment can improve/decrease fuel usage. With the instant reading from the EP-20 interface I am changing the way I used to drive a boat. Previously I just did it by ear so to speak and placed the throttles were I thought was best. By driving with gauge I cruise a little slower than I used too but the $$$ benefits are worth it.
You'd have some big tides up there to battle against too - the difference in going with/against the tide is substantial.
goldie 70
01-08-2007, 01:55 PM
This was only tested out last weekend on the neap tides and it ws as flat as a tack. So real there should not be that much of a difference.
sea raider
13-08-2007, 09:05 AM
Hmmmm!
People in Glass houses shouldnt throw stones Greg!!!!
Now, let those who have lived without sin cast the first stone!!!