View Full Version : Bass on fly Tournament

flyfisho
24-06-2007, 11:36 AM
Hey guys I just thought I would put this post up letting everyone know about our clubs intention to host what I think is Australias first Bass on fly tounament.:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

You can check out the preliminary details here http://www.saltwaterflyfishers.org/pages/competitions/lake-macdonald-bass-on-fly.php
see what you reckon , it would be good to gauge what sort of interest we are goning to get for the organisation of the event.
the ball is definatly rolling and we are possibly looking at hosting it around November this year.
any ideas or input wouyld really help.

Sniper
25-06-2007, 08:22 PM
Hey Chris. Looking forward to it. Count me in. September is a great time for Bass in SEQ as they are getting nice and fat and more active, apparently.??? Hopefully. Keep me informed.
Billyboy

edleigh7
25-06-2007, 08:27 PM
G'day chris.... i would love to be in that mate....the only thing is i don't have a boat:'( . Am i the only person on Ausfish that doesn't have a boat;D

What about some sort of buddy system or something? Or do people who have boats are not keen on taking strangers (even if they were Ausfish members:-/ ). I've always had mates that have had boats...or fish from the bank. None of my mates in QLD have boats ...maybe i should find some that do;D

Ed

flyfisho
25-06-2007, 09:08 PM
Thanks for the suggestion Bill , September is a great time for Bass on the sunny coast , it would be somthing to consider if we can get things moving quick enough.

Ed,
the comp will more than likely be for two people too a boat ( the guy who's boat it aint being the non boater) this will be for insurance reasons , so when we get a little closer to the set date maybe put a post up here and see if someone can take you on board

Sniper
25-06-2007, 09:21 PM
Ed, I've got a 435 Hornet Trophy up for sale that is perfect for the smaller electric dams on the sunny coast here. Just a suggestion.
Bill

edleigh7
25-06-2007, 10:52 PM
Ed, I've got a 435 Hornet Trophy up for sale that is perfect for the smaller electric dams on the sunny coast here. Just a suggestion.
Bill

Sniper....PM me the details, photo etc and i'll have a chat to the missus::) ::) ;)

Only thing is we have a camper trailer and i can't tow both at once unless i can put it on the roof of my 4WD or camper trailer (if i made up racks)??? What length is it?

Yeh thanks Chris...i'll do that when the time comes closer:)

Ed

B_E_N
26-06-2007, 10:20 AM
ed, when i get off my arse and get my boat license i might be able to take ya cept we dont have an electric on it, but ill try and get some bass practice in before i agree to any tournament, ive gotta learn to fly fish yet! :)

edleigh7
26-06-2007, 11:31 AM
ed, when i get off my arse and get my boat license i might be able to take ya cept we dont have an electric on it, but ill try and get some bass practice in before i agree to any tournament, ive gotta learn to fly fish yet! :)

B_E_N...i was just about to PM u and ask that very thing?;)

I have only got back into fly fishing myself, after an eight year abscence....i know the basics but that is why i wanted to make the Toga school this weekend, hopefully Sunday. After this weekend i will be going up to Borumba (in the next month) with one of me roofing mates who has told me he has a boat. You are more than welcome to come, i'll PM you the details. He doesn't fly fish but is keen to throw some lures.

Chris....is Lake Macdonald more accessible to a land based fisho like myself? Or is it like Borumba, need a boat/canoe??

ED

B_E_N
26-06-2007, 03:22 PM
sounds good ed, im only just getting into flyfishing, when i got my rod about 4 years ago i didnt know anyone that i could learn off so i lost interest pretty fast, but now that i have access to heaps of info from others on here im starting to get back my enthusiasim. lets just hope this rain stops so we have a chance to fish at boorumba this week!
ive gotta get busy and finish off rebuilding my fly rod- hope it will look ok because i wasnt able to get the thread i wanted so i had to settle with metalic copper, pretty boring but fingers crossed it will look half decent on the brown blank! mgith post a pic tomorow of the progress.

flyfisho
30-08-2007, 06:10 AM
We now have the go ahead from the relevent authorities and we are full steam ahead.
The Date for the Comp will be 03/11/07
Entry forms and other marketing details will be available within the next week or so .
Whatch this space !!

Tropicaltrout
05-09-2007, 07:01 PM
Yep Sounds a good idear but electric waters only are tricky and from the toga on fly comps have always produced plenty of bass so I would love to see it at Borumba... I can see why maccy is a good choice, close and shore guys can work some of the banks. what about upper Noosa River base camp at harry hut? wild bass comp, theres a thought.

TT

Sniper
06-09-2007, 06:22 PM
Most of the Bass up in the Noosa would have been flushed downstream with the amount of rain we've had of late. Plus, having a comp on Noosa may put a lot of stain on the native population. Borumba is an option, but Macca's has some good fish in there, well, there was before the flood anyway, and has a grea surface bite. Comp is on track, now just got to sweet talk the fish into playing the game for us.
Bill

bassbuster
07-09-2007, 08:31 PM
Hi Chris,
Well done to all the people putting this one together. I'm with the SEQFF's. Our next club meeting is on the 18th of Sept. We have a crew going up for the Toga comp, so no dought we will touch base there. Maccas sounds like an interresting spot. Given that it is electric power only, Can you leave your petrol donk on, up, and tank out on the Dam?
Keep up the good work.

Jeff:D

coola
07-09-2007, 10:00 PM
i'm keen for comp; waiting for more info/rules, regs etc.
coola

flyfisho
08-09-2007, 08:49 AM
Thanks for the interest guys , myself and our clubs sub commitee are finalising details this week . I can tell you that it will be run on the sunday now (the 4th of November) and we have secured our first major sponser - GALEFORCE BOATS - with their support we will be giving away a boat , again we will have more details by the end of the week . Also this event will be affiliated with the ABT so keep an eye out as I will post details as soon as they come about.

Jeff , you can leave your motor on , but under no circumstances are you allowed to fire it up - we will be keen to see some of the Goldy crew there ,as always bragging rights are on the cards;)

wheezer
08-09-2007, 10:10 AM
mate i hope things improve once it settles down here, there aren't alot of fish being caught after the run over the spillway.....

flyfisho
22-09-2007, 05:28 AM
Hi guys just another update . Thanks for your patience we will have all details finalised (rules , entry forms ect.) by mid next week.
There has been a change of date to , you can check it out HERE (http://www.saltwaterflyfishers.org/pages/competitions/lake-macdonald-bass-on-fly.php) .

flyfisho
25-09-2007, 09:55 PM
Finally we have the
RULES AND ENTRY FORMS (http://www.saltwaterflyfishers.org/pages/competitions/lake-macdonald-bass-on-fly.php)
Thanks again for your patience guys . There is also camping available on the waters edge , but we will have to book . any one keen for that , so we can guage numbers ?

Sniper
26-09-2007, 08:14 PM
Chris, you know I'm in. Will be rolling out the swag at the scout camp grounds with you guys.
Bill

Sniper
06-10-2007, 05:26 PM
For anyone who is interested in fishing this tournament, rules and entry forms are available at the following link
http://www.saltwaterflyfishers.org/pages/competitions/lake-macdonald-bass-on-fly.php

Chris will be away for the next week or so, but anyone with questions regarding the tournament can forward their enquiries to me and I'll try to help out where I can.
Bill

Leigh77
07-10-2007, 07:27 AM
A Bass fly comp is a great idea...just throwing something different out there for the guys to fish!

But I must say that it isnt the first Bass fly comp...the Australian Bass Association ran some a few years back (and yes, fly was the only form of fishing allowed!). I dare say that other clubs/assoc's have done so as well.

Sniper
08-10-2007, 10:03 PM
Sorry to all if Leigh77 is correct in regards to other associations running bass on fly only comps. Not sure if the others were open to any fly angler such as this one.
In regards to camping at the scout camp, we have just been advised that this will not be possible at this stage due to the grounds being totally booked out by someone. Sorry for any inconvience. If camping does become available, we will advise as soon as possible. Again, sorry for the inconvience.
As for whether you can fish alone or there needs to be two in the boat, we will be discussing this at the next meeting which will be held very shortly. Will advise as soon as a fir decision is made.
Hope to see you all there
Bill

Leeann
09-10-2007, 01:08 PM
I've fished the Bass on fly comp at Hinze Dam a couple of years ago so it's definitely not the first :)

Sniper
09-10-2007, 07:26 PM
Ok, its been established that its not the first of its kind. As Chris wrote at the beggining of this thread is what he thought was a first of its kind. But thats not the point. Be great to get as many competitors along as the more competitors, the larger the donation to the stocking group will be.
Bill

flyfisho
27-10-2007, 06:27 PM
I have some regrettable yet important information about the Bass Tournament

Recently Lake MacDonald had six foot of water flowing over the spillway around a month ago, this coincided with bass spawning times and as a result, the catch rates at Lake Macdonald have been pretty bloody ordinary and may take some time to recover. We (the event organisers) have reluctantly made the decision to move the event to Lake Borumba on the same day .
This decision is still based on permission from Sun water which from all indications will not be a problem . Borumba is not an electric only dam and you can use a combustible engine, so in turn, some of the rules will change.
This was a tough decision and one we wish we didn't have to make , but seeing as though the Bass had not read the script and proceeded over the fence we now think the event would be better for the competitors and the sponsors if some fish were caught. This in turn should see that the event will be a success in the future.
By the way Borumba has been fishing very well for Bass of late, another advantage is there is accommodation in the form of cabins ,caravans and camping at the dam , this sure to highlight the social aspect a fair bit as a lot of people will no doubt camp there to save the drive on Sunday morning.

I apologise for any in convenience, we would appreciate your feedback.

Borumba is only a half hour drive from Lake Macdonald.

flyfisho
27-10-2007, 11:31 PM
You can pay on the day
The rules and entry forms will be updated on the club website ASAP

Tropicaltrout
28-10-2007, 08:50 PM
Well done fly fisho for all the effort into this aswell as sniper for keeping everyone posted. Borumba opens it up for the angler without electric outboards aswell.

Regards Nath

flyfisho
29-10-2007, 02:46 PM
I agree Nath it does open it up to more people its just a shame that Maccas has gone that way . We will be donating to the Lake Macdonald Fish stocking Association as we (the club ) are non profit .
We have had an awesome response to this comp so far , it should be an excellent turnout
Here is some revised details and the new rules (http://www.saltwaterflyfishers.org/pages/competitions/lake-macdonald-bass-on-fly.php).

Hope to see some Ausfishers there . ;D ;D ;D

coola
29-10-2007, 09:01 PM
Hi flyfisho and co well done for a hard decision I think it's the best way to go, hope others intrested in comp recieve the changed details. I'll be there saturday.

COOLA :)

Sniper
31-10-2007, 08:19 PM
Coola, great to hear. We've had a great response so far. The fish are on the chew too. Just hope that they read the right script for the weekend with some big bags weighed in.
See you all there
Bill

bassbuster
02-11-2007, 06:00 AM
Hi Chris,
We should make the camp ground at around 2100 hrs saturday eve. Hope ther is no problem with the late arrival. Kate and I can't get out of brissy till 1830 hrs. In the Rules they refer to wearing a PFD while the boat is hooting along. I didn't catch if it had to be be a bulky PFD1 type or Less bulky type approved PFD type. Can you clarify this on for me.
Catch up 2morrow eve.
Jeff and Kate.:D

flyfisho
02-11-2007, 07:27 PM
Jeff,
I wonder If Sniper is available as he had a big part in draughting the rules .
IMO I would wear the ones you have to carry by law , like you said its only while you are on the plane . I am going to wear the big Banana's. (Did some one say Banana's, as a mate of mine says "Being superstitious is unlucky" )

tiges
02-11-2007, 08:25 PM
Good luck with it Chris, hope everyone gets onto some good fish.

spook76
03-11-2007, 02:45 PM
hello there all and to who know me,
i wounld like to wish you all happy wand waving 2morrow wounld of loved to fish the comp with you all but work has come first again,,im posting this for a bit more luck for jeff and kate not like jeff will be needing it!!hope you all do well!!
and flyfisho good on you for doing this comp!!!
cheers from kruger

flyfisho
05-11-2007, 12:55 PM
Well it went off without a hitch, and thanks to all those who competed. We had 27 competitors for the first bass on fly Tournament. The event would not have been a success without the help from our sponsors who provided some excellent prizes.
Results
1st Place Chris Adams 2/2 2.065 kg
Minn Kota 55LB Bow mount Riptide, Flyangler subscription, Buff Headwear,
2nd Place Geoff Volter 2/2 1.790 kg
G. Loomis 8 WT Crosscurrent, Flyangler Subscription, Buff Headwear
3rd Place Carl Bernard 2/2 1.685 kg
Scientific Angler striper IV Fly line, FFF Casting Lesson
BiG Bass Geoff Volter 1.200 kg
Scientific Angler Striper IV Fly Line
Lucky Door Prize’s
Vaughn Coulston - Galeforce Saratoga Boat
John Haenke - fly fishing Guided trip supplied by Tie N Fly Outfitters
Everyone who entered also received a few sponsors stickers and a copy of Fly angler Magazine.
I will post photos of the event through the week. The Full results will be on the club website in coming days.
On behalf of the Saltwater Flyfishers Association Sunshine Coast Inc Thank you and we sincerely hope you enjoyed the first of this style of event and hope you all can make it to the next one
:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

bassbuster
05-11-2007, 11:44 PM
To all the north coast crew, congrts on a job well done. Great to see the ladies on the water. Looking forward to the next bass on fly day.

Bassbuster. (SEQFF,s);D

tiges
06-11-2007, 06:32 AM
That's good that it went well Chris, and congrats on the victory. Shame the victor didn't score the boat, but you're going OK with what you've got already. Actually since you've already got such a fine big arse electric on your boat, you should probably donate the one you won to......I don't know, maybe a mate who could do with an upgrade from his motorguide. Have I ever told that you're a really good bloke.;D

Sniper
06-11-2007, 07:49 PM
I think Chris should maybe donate it to someone who showed him where the fish were. Silly me for doing that. lol. Congrates Chris on your win, and Voltzy and Carl on there placings. Would like to know if Carl is going to give himself the FFF lessons? That would be great to see. And to coola on winning the Galeforce Saratoga boat. Bugger, was only 1 ticket away from it too. Thems the breaks.
Well done to Chris for the time and effort that he put into getting this comp off the ground, and to the sponsors for supporting us, and lastly to all the competitors who turned up on the day. Was a tougher bite than was expected but still a great day. For those who couldn't make it this year, we hope to see you all there next year.
Bill

flyfisho
07-11-2007, 08:22 AM
Bill you know what they say about nice guys LOL ... Nah thanks Mate you have a great knowledge of that lake and I Had you as the dude to beat , but anyway.

Thanks to Bassbuster (Jeff) from SEQFF we have some pics to show , it was a great event and will be continuing in the future.

flyfisho
07-11-2007, 08:25 AM
And a special mention about Kate Forder who managed her first fish on Fly during the comp well done Kate, thats what its all about :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

coola
09-11-2007, 09:26 PM
:) Hi flyfisho & co.
Firstly I Would like to THANK the club, organisers and all the sponsors of this top little event, it can only get bigger. Unfortunately no bass for me but luckily I managed to catch the biggest Saratoga (Galeforce "that is") on the day, great prize.
AND TO GALEFORCE BOATS THANKS FOR BEING A TOP SPONSOR .
look forward to next comp!
PS. hey sniper :'( sorry about ya ticket I was only one fly away from catching a bass!!!
Thanks again COOLA :) :) :) 8-) .

thumbs
11-11-2007, 12:55 PM
Hey Chris

Well done - both on organising and on winning the comp.

I think we'll have to get more involved next year and give you a bit more competition!!http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif

On another subject - a little while ago I thought i saw a post from someone who was doing some activities with kids and was looking for old fly gear. Do you recall seeing anything like that?

Jeff

Sniper
13-11-2007, 08:07 PM
Vaughn, I could have been 100 tickets away from winning the boat. Yours was the lucky one to be pulled out. Well done. Pitty you didn't land any legal bass for the comp. The little buggers didn't want to play the game for everyone. Next time though. You going on the club trip next weekend?
Bill

coola
13-11-2007, 09:26 PM
Hi Sniper
Yes at this stage we will be there about 2.30pm sat. earlier if possible. hopefully the toga will play the game, see ya there.
COOLA